Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver

One of the most popular cap-and-ball pistols ever made, this revolver was a mainstay in the Civil War and the weapon of choice of Texas gunfighter John Wesley Hardin and other gunmen. This replica 1860 Army Revolver, .44-caliber boasts a color case-hardened frame, loading lever and hammer. There’s also a naval battle scene on the cylinder. Barrel length: 8". Overall length: 14". Weight: 2 lbs., 11 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 162 reviews
5 Stars
123
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
154 out of 162(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 101 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: The 50th State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ya get what you pay for

Date:November 6, 2009
Per the scale, three stars = average, and for the price that is exactly what it is. A bit disappointing when compared to the five-star reviews but just fine for what I paid for it. It’s pretty well put together everything seems tight and functional. The wood is very pretty but you can see where it had been filled. The brass trigger guard is scratched in places and there are some rather disappointing machine marks on the frame. I'm going to take this out to the range and make a lot of noise and smoke with my kids. They will love it!!! Bottom line, I'm not unhappy with this pistol but fit it and finish is nowhere near what I expected after reading the reviews. I would recommend this to a friend with the explanation that you are getting a fun toy and by no means anything more than that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BUFFALO N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 new army

Date:October 20, 2009
excellent gun great aim i hit a group of 5'' 5 out of 5 after practice shooting it shoots a little high thats traditional in contrast the the original!!!!!!!
J.D. HAAHAAAAAA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont Yank with a love of the South
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Colt 1860 revolver

Date:October 8, 2009
This is an excellent piece of workmanship for the price. All metal parts are nicely made and fit tight. Finish is impeccable. Trigger pull is crisp and smooth. Wood-to-metal fit needed a little work. After removing the one-piece walnut grip, about 20 minutes of effort with 400-grit sandpaper and linseed oil got it to feel and look like an extension of the metal itself. As always, the Cabela's sales lady who took my phone order was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army 44

Date:October 7, 2009
Excellent reproduction! Well made perfect balance. Has capacity for shoulder stock. Cut frame and notched backstrap.
Have actually fired the pistol., we (brother and I) find exccellent range , good shot groups and ease of use. Cant understand how the old west folks could do a quick draw!!!
Id match it against a 1911 for aqccuracy, but it takes longer to load.
A fair comparison is aagainst the 58 Remington, the 60 has a greater ease of target aquisition.
Id recommend the shoulder stock , be added to your inventory, it would be a fun addition.
A good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun!

Date:October 2, 2009
I bought this gun on sale less than a week after I bought my Remington revolver from Cabela's. I am as pleased with this gun as I am wth the Remington (read my review). However, as with many others I also had difficulty removing the barrel wedge but do not consider it an issue. A metal punch and hammer, file, cold blue, and a half hour of spare time and the wedge was out and custom fitted to my gun, and looking just like it did when I received it. Compared to modern handguns, black powder revolvers can be maintenance intensive and not for the novice handgunner.That being said, I would recommend the 1860 Colt over the 1858 Remington for first time black powder shooters as the Colt is far more forgiving to fouling, and once disassembled much easier to clean, especially the barrel. While the Remington does have superior sights, the Colt revolver is no less accurate and it doesn't take long to become accustomed to its sights. The much touted superiority of the top strap Remington frame is negated by the fact that given the lower pressures generated by black powder, and the use of modern steel, the solid frame is not necessary and can actually be a hinderance in clearing spent caps from the action that occurs as much in the Remington as the Colt. The oft-cited speed at which Remington cylinders can be removed and replaced is misleading as on replacement the cylinder must be indexed properly with the cylinder hand and aligned exactly in the frame to reinsert the cylinder pin; with the Colt, you just slide the cylinder off and on the cylinder pin. All of that plus the fact that the Colt is a much finer looking gun makes me choose the Colt, and recommend it over the Remington. Which ever, both are a blast to shoot, and if I only had one or the other I would always look forward my days at the range.
Black powder for me of course...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army Experience

Date:September 19, 2009
The quality of the first 1860 Army I received was NOT GOOD.
1. There were scratches or tiny grooves nearly the entire
length of the top half of the barrel, not shiney and smooth as
were the other blued areas of the gun. 2. My son noticed that
the barrel was NOT PARALLEL with the cylinder. In the 8-inch
length of the barrel, the muzzle end was 3/8 inch off-center to
the left. 3. There was rust in the breech end of the barrel. 4.
Inside one chamber, there was rust and goop on the nipple.
5. The wooden grips extended over both sides of the front-
strap resulting in sharp edges. 6. There was a sharp metal
burr on the left side of the frame.
I sent the gun back for an exchange. The SECOND revolver
arrived in fine condition. I haven't shot it yet but it looks and
feels great. Timing and lock-up great. One healthy coat of
polyurathane brought out the beauty of the wooden grips. I
averaged the quality of the two guns and came up with a 3-star
rating. Based on the quality of the SECOND gun, I would
recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Balt. MD. blackpowder only retirement is great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice overall

Date:September 19, 2009
My gun came with no visible defects and looked very good. I had trouble removing the wedge but a sharp rap with a brass drift pin and hammer took care of this. The barrel was still hard to remove but has gotten better with use. I hope it does not continue to loosen up! I coned the barrel to 11 degrees and removed the burr on the loading lever latch( all Piettas seem to have this problem at least the three I own did) and the barrel assembly was good to go. The barrel to cylinder gap was 12 thousands. too much, S/B about 5 thousands. I'm not a machinist so I cut a shim from a diced tomato can lid. After cutting a clearance in the shim for the hand to turn the cylinder, and installing the shim, that problem went away too.
The biggest problem I had, and Cabela's gunsmith was vey helpful after I convinced him I knew what I was talking about, was getting the hammer to set off the number ten caps, no matter what brand was used. I polished the action inside to reduce friction and honed the nipples a touch to help seat the nipples, all for not. A new main spring did the trick and now my 1860 army repro goes bang all the time. I added some brass to the front sight and it hits around the bulls eye if I do my part. These black powder revolvers are fun to shoot and not real hard to work on but are some what of a pain to clean esp after the twenty fifth time or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MORRISONVILLE,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

PIETTA 1860 ARMY REVOLVER DISASSEMBLY

Date:September 15, 2009
I RETURNED THE FIRST PIETTA 1860 REPLICA I ORDERED
BECAUSE IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE WEDGE TO
CLEAN THE REVLOVER. I EXCHANGED IT FOR A SECOND ONE
WHICH HAD EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM. EVEN THOUGH IT'S A NICE LOOKING AND HANDLING REVOLVER IF I CAN'T
SHOOT AND CLEAN IT, I DON'T WANT IT AND AM SENDING THE SECOND ONE BACK ALSO. I CAN'T BELIEVE A CIVIL WAR TROOPER WOULD HAVE TOLERATED THE INABILITY TO DISASSEMBLE AND CLEAN HIS REVOLVER WITH SUCH DIFFICULTY.
I EMAILED PIETTA WITH THE PROBLEM AND THEY WERE VIRTUALLY NO HELP, THE RESPONSE WAS THAT IT WAS EASY
TO REMOVE THE WEDGE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Edgewood, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army

Date:September 10, 2009
Haven't shot it yet. Good looking gun. Can't get the wedge out to check the barrel. Going to try a max load to loosen it up, then I'll use a wedge from my 1851 Navy that blew up instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oh Yeah

Date:September 5, 2009
Haven't shot it yet and I don't know if I can bring myself to do it,
Just beautiful. It's a very fine reproduction and well worth the price. I will probably order another just like it. Have already ordered the remington 1858. I don't see how it could be better than this Colt. A very fine weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mn, Isanti
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderfull 1860

Date:August 30, 2009
Very Well built, Excellent shooting weapon! I highly recomend cabelas black powder weapons. Best price around & I looked all over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ft.Benning,GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army Revolver .44

Date:August 29, 2009
The timing and lockup are great.The bluing and case hardening is deep and beautiful.This pistol has an excellent balance and a natural sight alignment.This pistol is easy to load and a joy to shoot.I suggest purchasing the Candelas Pyrodex pistol pellets made for the cap and ball revolver.They speed up the loading process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Martin County , NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome gun

Date:August 16, 2009
this gun is very fun to shoot and shoots very consistently this gun rocks a 30 grain load of 3FFF pyrodex is all you need and you have plenty of power. I have shot 40grains in it before great gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: millersville Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860army

Date:August 7, 2009
yes i ordered one of these a few years ago and LOVE it
need to crimp #11 primers after twelve rounds i could
hit a 2leader soda bottle at 20 yards lots of smoke and fun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: HOUSTON TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army Revolver .44 Caliber

Date:June 14, 2009
3000 rds in 18 months of abusive ownership I been toten this baby holstered in leather in my pickup all over the Holy City of Houston Texas.
If and when Texas legislature permits open carry it will be on my hip daily
My first 200 rds were kinda all over the place now that i got it broken in it shoots real straight About every thousand rds you have to replace a ''hand&spring '' that indexs the cylinder only 8$ understandable. Been using #11 magnum percusion caps work the best 30 grain loads are real consistent fffg powder also I run a torch cleaning tip through my nipples for reliable ignition
My base pin is a little loose I attribute this to the fact I was using 35 grain loads for the first 1000 rds some times the powder would get a better burn and rattle that peice like it had magnum ammo in it a little scary and too much for the open top design
Been casting my own .454 lead rds
The finish on the gun has taken a beating in high humidty climate its nessecary to keep the gun warmer than the dewpoint or it will rust quickly @ points of wear Rifling in the barrel still in excellent shape even after tha many rounds Always keep an extra hand spring in the cleaning kit
I knew when I bought it It was going to be abused and was skeptical about the quality of the peice It has EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATION An excellent value for the price
yours truly Dirtman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860

Date:May 8, 2009
smooth light trigger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sanatoga,Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

would have been 5 stars, BUT...

Date:April 24, 2009
This is my first black powder gun of any kind. The first revolver I picked up at Cabela's looked good at the store, but when I got it home I noticed some major cosmetic problems. The grip looked like the assembler at the factory put it in a vise and put a big crimp in the wood, then tried to cover it up. It looked horrible. There was also a huge burr on the frame by the cylinder. I could have easliy have filed the burr off the frame, but the crimp was unfixable and unacceptable. I took the gun back to Cabela's they had no problem with giving me an exchange. I looked the replacement over real well and it looked fine. The replacement pistol is gorgeous. The fit and finish it great. This is a sweet looking pistol. The gun shoots about 5" high at 25 yrds with 30 gr of FFFg. If you research the 1860 Colt, you'll find that this is how the originals shot as well. It shoots high, but it shoots very consistant. This pistol is made by Pietta, and I would recomend it. My friend has the Remington 1858 replica, and that too is excellent. I'm ready to buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Little Rock, AR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army .44

Date:April 20, 2009
I bought this Pistol and its just perfect! hadnt shot it yet but its a looker and feels good in my hand.
Thanks Cabella! good packing and fast shipping!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central valley,CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent!

Date:March 23, 2009
This is my first black powder gun and I love it. I'm addicted! I've had it since Christmas and shoot it at least once a week. Two small problems. The first was getting the "pin" out the first time. It took some doing to get it done, but now removes easily. The second problem is the CCI caps, JUNK! Dont buy them to use with this gun!!! Hard to get on and it takes 2 to 3 times hitting them to fire. Remington caps are the ticket.This pistol is a shooter, very accurate. I can shoot it with one hand at 25yds and hit cans most of the time. If I miss its my fault!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army

Date:March 3, 2009
Good gun for the money. Shoots a very good group with 25 grs. of 3F and a .454 ball.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 101-120 of 162