Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

One of the most popular cap-and-ball, single-action revolvers ever made, the 1860 Army .44 was a mainstay in the Civil War as well as the weapon of choice for Texas gunfighter John Wesley Hardin and other gunmen. Pietta's replica 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver boasts a brass trigger guard, color case-hardened steel frame, round barrel and walnut grips. There's also a naval battle scene laser-engraved on the cylinder. Barrel length: 8”. OAL: 13-3/4”. Wt: 2 lbs., 10 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 182 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
172 out of 182(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 107 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Review 101 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2010

1860 colt

By
Location: Gillette Wyoming
Nice pistol for the price, had trouble getting the wedge out the first time(broke spring on wedge) but after some filing and sanding is working better. had it to the range and it shoots pretty well but uses #10 caps(#11 fall off).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010

great looking gun.

By
Location: coventry, RI
fit and finish are excellent. lock up is good and tight ,loading lever is smooth. shoots straight
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2010

1860 Open Frame Colt Revolver

By
Location: Maine
The only thing not positive about this pistol is how hard it is to remove the barrel wedge in the beginning. It is very tight and takes a good rap with either a steel or nylon punch. The specimen I received had perfect fit and finish. I have no complaints at this point. Have yet to shoot it, but do not expect any problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010

"BIG FUN"

By
Location: AL.
This is my first bp gun and it's the most fun. Only thing better would be two of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2010

1860 Army Revolver .44 Caliber

By
Location: Retired Army Officer live in Tennessee
I am by no means a BP expert, but this is a great shooting BP revolver. It comes with certain built in flaws like all of these revolvers. But if you will take the time to completely dissassemble the revolver and use some diamond bit files and 600 grit sandpaper you can make this revolver even better. Remove all the burrs on the hammer well of the frame, bolt, and the hand. Soften all the sharp edges on the revolver and use a round toothpick with 600 grit to smooth all the screw holes. Look at how the bolt is hitting the bolt wells in the cylinder if the cylinder wells are showing marks where the bolt comes in contact with, then the bolt needs to be adjusted by removing some of the sides on the bolt so that it fits snug up in each cylinder well. The next problem you will have is the STOCK SCREWS that protrude on the sides of the frame. If you are not going to put a stock on the revolver these screws are a nuisance. To replace the screws, take two spare nipples and using a dremel tool cut the nipple end off and insure the screw part will go in flush with the sides of the frame. Sand the ends with 600 grit to make smooth. Insert the modified nipples in the stock screw holes and you will have a well modified colt army 1860. Smooth to the touch. While you are removing BURRS take a light and look up in the well of the frame where the hand goes. Remove all burrs in this well, you will be surprised at how smooth the action will work after you do this. One of the first springs to break on this revolver is the hand spring, you might wish to consider modifying the hand spring with a replacement spring and plunger, which will require drilling into the frame where the backstrap fits. But if you remove all the factory BURRS on this gun you will be amazed at how good it will feel and how smooth the action is.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010

Pietta Colt 1860 .44, excellent

By
Location: Goshen, IN
This Colt 1860 was the fourth revolver I ordered from Cabelas. The previous ones were simply perfect (Remington 1858 - 2X- and Colt 1860). I received this one and to my big dissapointment I returned it: wedge would not get out, scratches and marks on the barrel, I was not sure about some rust... a lemon... these things happen... Just four-five days after I returned it I received a brand new one. Quality? Excellent. No scratches, no marks, perfect timing, beautiful finish. Flawless. I have several Uberti (1861, 1851, 1862, Dragoon) and I have to say Pietta quality is right now at the same level or, I would say, even better... About Cabelas? IMPRESSIVE, great customer service!!! Fast, reliable, 100% satisfactory. Thanks Cabelas!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010

1860 Army Revolver

By
Location: New Orleans
In a word - AWESOME!!! The fit and finish is perfect. Revolver indexes perfectly. Have not yet had a chance to take it to the range but will do so soon. One minor detail. Powder loading data from Pietta vs. powder loading data from Cabella's disagree. But even Cabella's heavier charge is still under what I would call a heavy load. Will start with Pietta's load and work up to Cabella's recomended load. And go on from there. If you ever wanted to try one of these, now is the time to get one while they are on sale. You will not be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010

1860 Army

By
Location: Missouri
I bought two of the 1860 Army's about a week apart the first one came apart with no problem wedge pin came out easy, The second one was a bear to get lose. After working on it for about 20 minutes it came lose. I worked the pin back and fourth seemed to work out well.I took both of them to the range shooting at 25yds they are very accurate. I shoot better with these than i do my semi auto. For the price they can't be beat. Thanks to Cabelas for having these on sale saved around one hundred bucks.Be sure and get a good nipple wrench as these two can be hard to remove the first time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010

Dont let the wedgepin cheat you out of a GREAT GUN

By
Location: N.C.
Ive got it ,ive shot it and its a sweet gun..Yes this gun has a tight wedgepin no doubt but if ya use a piece of hardwood and loosen it up with a wooden mallet it comes out just fine.I take my guns apart and clean them before shooting.Ive got the 1851 REB pietta and have switched the barrels and shot them both with a perfect fit since they are both on the 1851 frame the cyliders are switchable due to it being to the exact same cylinder .I switch the barrels and use the spare cylinders all the time ,This is a $350 dollar piece at all other sites ive been to if they are in stock .The original was not only the last gun Sam Colt made before his death but was a favorite during and after the cival war. Historical fact, not opinion . Favorite of John Wesley HARDIN also fact .Check it out! shoots sweet1
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

Awsome

By
Location: Portland, Oregon
I have yet to fire this gun, but just the way it looks and feels in my hand is absolutely great.
I own a number of different BP revolvers from Cabelas.
This and the shorter barrel version are my favorites.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2010

Pietta Model 1860

By
Location: Knoxvillwe, Iowa
WHY, WHY, WHY does Pietta seat the barrel wegde so TIGHT. All models and all sources have the same problem. I've seen the Pietta video and they ARE NOT working with a new gun just out of the carton. The risk of damaging the gun is too great....next ones I order I will have the supplier remove wedge before shipping. Otherwise they make a nice gun for a great price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2010

1860 44 cal 8" barrel

By
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Bought a pair of them for use in a "train robbery" that took place 8 - 10 times a day. They performed quite well and the children were mesmerized by the facts that these were the guns used by the Union Army Calvary in the Civil War. I have no idea how many rounds I put through these guns but it had to be over 500 for each weapon. I use "wax" bullets so the barrel wear is insignificant but the works and cylinder required little more than daily cleaning. only problem was the loading bar latch fell off during one show - easily replaced and "peened" in place.
Awesome and fun, A BLAST TO USE!!!! LOL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

GREAT!

By
Location: Clovis, NM
Great gun tempting to buy another!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010

1860 ARMY

By
Location: kentucky
Shot this baby today and was very pleased,very accurate, actually surprised me how accurate it was.easy take down,wedge was tight but thats what you want,more you shoot it the better it will get to get out.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010

Old Army

By
Location: Colorado
I ordered the Old Army around Thanksgiving and the shipping was pretty fast considering it came from Illinois and I'm in Colorado. The gun was a great deal for the money. As with all Pietta Colts the wedge needs a little work not only to remove the first time but to get to fit properly for shooting. Lock up was tight and the fit and finish of the grips was very good. I also have the Remington 1858 and the workmanship on that model was excellent. Cabela's consistently has the best prices, sales and promotions. Cabelas's regular prices are usually cheaper than the competitions sale prices. I'm very satisfied.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009

1860 Army Revolver-Tight tolerances but good value

By
Location: Maryland
Overall the revolver looks great. It took some work (probably too much) to separate the barrel from the frame after the wedge was removed. The fit was too tight and required sanding and filing of the cylinder pin to correct. Now it is fine and shoots well and disassembles correctly for cleaning or to install another cylinder. Great value despite the necessary adjustments.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009

The most fun pistol I own.

By
Location: Central Coast, CA
I have been shooting pistols since 1977 and it may be the novelty factor of my first black powder revolver but this is my favorite gun to shoot right now. I bought it because it was on sale at an exceptionally good price from Cabela's and have been to the range 4 or 5 times with it with 100-125 rounds fired. The fit and finish was excellent. I needed a pin punch to get the wedge out the first 2 or 3 times but it has broken in nicely. I use 30 gr. Pyrodex and Hornaday .454 swaged balls. I used CCI #10 caps because they were all I could find and they are very tight fit so I have ordered #10 Remingtons. I recommend you get the starter kit as I have bought everything in it eventually at a higher price. I have also ordered a spare cylinder so I can shoot more between loading session. A loading stand that holds the gun or the cylinder makes that task much easier. Highly recommended for lots of shooting fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009

PIETTA

By
Location: ROGERS, MN
THE 1860 ARMY IS REALLY ONE OF THE FINEST REVOLVERS EVER MADE. THE PIETTA VERSION IS NOT, THEY NEED SOME QUALITY CONTROL, LOOSE PLUNGERS, BROKEN WEDGES, BADLY TIMED CYLINDERS, POORLY FINISHED GRIPS. I HAD TO RETURN THREE OF THEM TO GET A HALF WAY DECENT REVOLVER. GOING THROUGH ALL THESE REVOLVERS I FELT LIKE TOCO IN THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY. CABELAS WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT THIS MATTER, THE MANAGER OF THE STORE DID ALL THEY COULD. BUT THE BOTTOM LINE IS, PIETTA IS NOT UP TO CABELAS STANDARDS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009

jreb2

By
Location: California foothills of the Sierra's
My grandfather had a drawing of this pistol and he gave it to me when I was young and it hung on my closet door as I grew up. Now I own that beautiful pistol, what a thrill. It arrived in a timely manner, was well packaged, and was in beautiful condition. I havn't fired it as I have no black powder. Some day I will have to get some powder and shoot it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2009

Fantastic!!!

By
Location: South Carolina
I ordered this gun as an early Christmas present and received it today. The gun is beautiful with no imperfections.
Shipping and Customer Service are first rate!! Will buy another again. Thanks Cabelas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 101-120 of 182