Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

One of the most popular cap-and-ball, single-action revolvers ever made, the 1860 Army .44 was a mainstay in the Civil War as well as the weapon of choice for Texas gunfighter John Wesley Hardin and other gunmen. Pietta's replica 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver boasts a brass trigger guard, color case-hardened steel frame, round barrel and walnut grips. There's also a naval battle scene laser-engraved on the cylinder. Barrel length: 8”. OAL: 13-3/4”. Wt: 2 lbs., 10 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(181 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 181 reviews
5 Stars
138
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
171 out of 181(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Review 101 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: coventry, RI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great looking gun.

Date:April 6, 2010
fit and finish are excellent. lock up is good and tight ,loading lever is smooth. shoots straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Open Frame Colt Revolver

Date:April 5, 2010
The only thing not positive about this pistol is how hard it is to remove the barrel wedge in the beginning. It is very tight and takes a good rap with either a steel or nylon punch. The specimen I received had perfect fit and finish. I have no complaints at this point. Have yet to shoot it, but do not expect any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: AL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"BIG FUN"

Date:March 19, 2010
This is my first bp gun and it's the most fun. Only thing better would be two of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Retired Army Officer live in Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army Revolver .44 Caliber

Date:March 17, 2010
I am by no means a BP expert, but this is a great shooting BP revolver. It comes with certain built in flaws like all of these revolvers. But if you will take the time to completely dissassemble the revolver and use some diamond bit files and 600 grit sandpaper you can make this revolver even better. Remove all the burrs on the hammer well of the frame, bolt, and the hand. Soften all the sharp edges on the revolver and use a round toothpick with 600 grit to smooth all the screw holes. Look at how the bolt is hitting the bolt wells in the cylinder if the cylinder wells are showing marks where the bolt comes in contact with, then the bolt needs to be adjusted by removing some of the sides on the bolt so that it fits snug up in each cylinder well. The next problem you will have is the STOCK SCREWS that protrude on the sides of the frame. If you are not going to put a stock on the revolver these screws are a nuisance. To replace the screws, take two spare nipples and using a dremel tool cut the nipple end off and insure the screw part will go in flush with the sides of the frame. Sand the ends with 600 grit to make smooth. Insert the modified nipples in the stock screw holes and you will have a well modified colt army 1860. Smooth to the touch. While you are removing BURRS take a light and look up in the well of the frame where the hand goes. Remove all burrs in this well, you will be surprised at how smooth the action will work after you do this. One of the first springs to break on this revolver is the hand spring, you might wish to consider modifying the hand spring with a replacement spring and plunger, which will require drilling into the frame where the backstrap fits. But if you remove all the factory BURRS on this gun you will be amazed at how good it will feel and how smooth the action is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Goshen, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta Colt 1860 .44, excellent

Date:March 15, 2010
This Colt 1860 was the fourth revolver I ordered from Cabelas. The previous ones were simply perfect (Remington 1858 - 2X- and Colt 1860). I received this one and to my big dissapointment I returned it: wedge would not get out, scratches and marks on the barrel, I was not sure about some rust... a lemon... these things happen... Just four-five days after I returned it I received a brand new one. Quality? Excellent. No scratches, no marks, perfect timing, beautiful finish. Flawless. I have several Uberti (1861, 1851, 1862, Dragoon) and I have to say Pietta quality is right now at the same level or, I would say, even better... About Cabelas? IMPRESSIVE, great customer service!!! Fast, reliable, 100% satisfactory. Thanks Cabelas!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Orleans
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army Revolver

Date:March 4, 2010
In a word - AWESOME!!! The fit and finish is perfect. Revolver indexes perfectly. Have not yet had a chance to take it to the range but will do so soon. One minor detail. Powder loading data from Pietta vs. powder loading data from Cabella's disagree. But even Cabella's heavier charge is still under what I would call a heavy load. Will start with Pietta's load and work up to Cabella's recomended load. And go on from there. If you ever wanted to try one of these, now is the time to get one while they are on sale. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army

Date:February 28, 2010
I bought two of the 1860 Army's about a week apart the first one came apart with no problem wedge pin came out easy, The second one was a bear to get lose. After working on it for about 20 minutes it came lose. I worked the pin back and fourth seemed to work out well.I took both of them to the range shooting at 25yds they are very accurate. I shoot better with these than i do my semi auto. For the price they can't be beat. Thanks to Cabelas for having these on sale saved around one hundred bucks.Be sure and get a good nipple wrench as these two can be hard to remove the first time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dont let the wedgepin cheat you out of a GREAT GUN

Date:February 20, 2010
Ive got it ,ive shot it and its a sweet gun..Yes this gun has a tight wedgepin no doubt but if ya use a piece of hardwood and loosen it up with a wooden mallet it comes out just fine.I take my guns apart and clean them before shooting.Ive got the 1851 REB pietta and have switched the barrels and shot them both with a perfect fit since they are both on the 1851 frame the cyliders are switchable due to it being to the exact same cylinder .I switch the barrels and use the spare cylinders all the time ,This is a $350 dollar piece at all other sites ive been to if they are in stock .The original was not only the last gun Sam Colt made before his death but was a favorite during and after the cival war. Historical fact, not opinion . Favorite of John Wesley HARDIN also fact .Check it out! shoots sweet1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome

Date:February 8, 2010
I have yet to fire this gun, but just the way it looks and feels in my hand is absolutely great.
I own a number of different BP revolvers from Cabelas.
This and the shorter barrel version are my favorites.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Knoxvillwe, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta Model 1860

Date:February 6, 2010
WHY, WHY, WHY does Pietta seat the barrel wegde so TIGHT. All models and all sources have the same problem. I've seen the Pietta video and they ARE NOT working with a new gun just out of the carton. The risk of damaging the gun is too great....next ones I order I will have the supplier remove wedge before shipping. Otherwise they make a nice gun for a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 44 cal 8" barrel

Date:January 28, 2010
Bought a pair of them for use in a "train robbery" that took place 8 - 10 times a day. They performed quite well and the children were mesmerized by the facts that these were the guns used by the Union Army Calvary in the Civil War. I have no idea how many rounds I put through these guns but it had to be over 500 for each weapon. I use "wax" bullets so the barrel wear is insignificant but the works and cylinder required little more than daily cleaning. only problem was the loading bar latch fell off during one show - easily replaced and "peened" in place.
Awesome and fun, A BLAST TO USE!!!! LOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clovis, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT!

Date:January 6, 2010
Great gun tempting to buy another!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 ARMY

Date:January 5, 2010
Shot this baby today and was very pleased,very accurate, actually surprised me how accurate it was.easy take down,wedge was tight but thats what you want,more you shoot it the better it will get to get out.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Old Army

Date:January 1, 2010
I ordered the Old Army around Thanksgiving and the shipping was pretty fast considering it came from Illinois and I'm in Colorado. The gun was a great deal for the money. As with all Pietta Colts the wedge needs a little work not only to remove the first time but to get to fit properly for shooting. Lock up was tight and the fit and finish of the grips was very good. I also have the Remington 1858 and the workmanship on that model was excellent. Cabela's consistently has the best prices, sales and promotions. Cabelas's regular prices are usually cheaper than the competitions sale prices. I'm very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army Revolver-Tight tolerances but good value

Date:December 19, 2009
Overall the revolver looks great. It took some work (probably too much) to separate the barrel from the frame after the wedge was removed. The fit was too tight and required sanding and filing of the cylinder pin to correct. Now it is fine and shoots well and disassembles correctly for cleaning or to install another cylinder. Great value despite the necessary adjustments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Coast, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The most fun pistol I own.

Date:December 16, 2009
I have been shooting pistols since 1977 and it may be the novelty factor of my first black powder revolver but this is my favorite gun to shoot right now. I bought it because it was on sale at an exceptionally good price from Cabela's and have been to the range 4 or 5 times with it with 100-125 rounds fired. The fit and finish was excellent. I needed a pin punch to get the wedge out the first 2 or 3 times but it has broken in nicely. I use 30 gr. Pyrodex and Hornaday .454 swaged balls. I used CCI #10 caps because they were all I could find and they are very tight fit so I have ordered #10 Remingtons. I recommend you get the starter kit as I have bought everything in it eventually at a higher price. I have also ordered a spare cylinder so I can shoot more between loading session. A loading stand that holds the gun or the cylinder makes that task much easier. Highly recommended for lots of shooting fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: ROGERS, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

PIETTA

Date:November 24, 2009
THE 1860 ARMY IS REALLY ONE OF THE FINEST REVOLVERS EVER MADE. THE PIETTA VERSION IS NOT, THEY NEED SOME QUALITY CONTROL, LOOSE PLUNGERS, BROKEN WEDGES, BADLY TIMED CYLINDERS, POORLY FINISHED GRIPS. I HAD TO RETURN THREE OF THEM TO GET A HALF WAY DECENT REVOLVER. GOING THROUGH ALL THESE REVOLVERS I FELT LIKE TOCO IN THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY. CABELAS WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT THIS MATTER, THE MANAGER OF THE STORE DID ALL THEY COULD. BUT THE BOTTOM LINE IS, PIETTA IS NOT UP TO CABELAS STANDARDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California foothills of the Sierra's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jreb2

Date:November 18, 2009
My grandfather had a drawing of this pistol and he gave it to me when I was young and it hung on my closet door as I grew up. Now I own that beautiful pistol, what a thrill. It arrived in a timely manner, was well packaged, and was in beautiful condition. I havn't fired it as I have no black powder. Some day I will have to get some powder and shoot it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic!!!

Date:November 17, 2009
I ordered this gun as an early Christmas present and received it today. The gun is beautiful with no imperfections.
Shipping and Customer Service are first rate!! Will buy another again. Thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: The 50th State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ya get what you pay for

Date:November 6, 2009
Per the scale, three stars = average, and for the price that is exactly what it is. A bit disappointing when compared to the five-star reviews but just fine for what I paid for it. It’s pretty well put together everything seems tight and functional. The wood is very pretty but you can see where it had been filled. The brass trigger guard is scratched in places and there are some rather disappointing machine marks on the frame. I'm going to take this out to the range and make a lot of noise and smoke with my kids. They will love it!!! Bottom line, I'm not unhappy with this pistol but fit it and finish is nowhere near what I expected after reading the reviews. I would recommend this to a friend with the explanation that you are getting a fun toy and by no means anything more than that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 101-120 of 181