Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver

Due to a lack of raw materials, the South was forced to reproduce the famous 1858 Remington out of brass. This revolver has a blued cylinder and octagonal barrel. Barrel length: 8 in. Overall length: 14 in. Weight: 2 lbs., 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
63 out of 63(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first BP gun

Date:January 11, 2012
This is the first BP gun I purchased and I can tell you that it's a good one. The 8" barrel is a bit long, but after a while you got a feeling to it. I accessorized this gun with the .22LR Kirst converter and it fitted right into it.
You need a bit more time to clean the Brass parts, but no big deal to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finely crafted pistol

Date:December 9, 2014
After buying 2 of the stainless steel version of this pistol, I decided to get my main guy's on my crew this piece for Christmas...So I bought 3 more! The workmanship of these reproductions is amazing and I know they and there sons will have them for generations to come. This I say with the utmost certainty...Frank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reloading made easy

Date:September 10, 2013
I have for years used my Navy Colts. On getting the Remington Model 1858 New Army revolver I am ready to mount my Navy Colts on the wall. While I love my Navies reloading was always a pain even with space cylinders. With the Pieta Army Remington reloading is a relative breeze. It took a while to develop my motor skills for changing cylinders once I got it down I am very pleased with the Army design and ease of use. I highly recommend getting spare cylinders.
In regard to shooting it is as big as the Walker Dragoon 1842 however the cylinder takes much less powder. It shoots fine and accurately. The barrel length makes bulls eyes easy at fifty feet and up to 100 feet. You will in the black in most cases and with practice.
I have the brass frame model which means you are not to use a conversion kit for taking cartridges. This brass frame means it is the Confederate model. Brass was used as it was easier to manufacture. The brass frame has a brass strap above the cylinder giving the pistol extra strength. None-the-less I am happy with the design and results in shooting. While it may lack the beauty of the Navy Colts it makes up for beauty with ease of use. It was so satisfying to use that I bought two.
I shoot open sights and prefer not using special marksmen sights which are available for it. Heck if you can't hit with the open sight and require a special rear sight perhaps you should think of more modern guns.
Unlike the Navy Colt the sight is a simple grove along the top frame which lines up with bead above the muzzle end. The Navy Colt uses a groove on the trigger some like a v.
Both the Navy Colt and Remington Army are what I call pointers. You point more than aim. A Civil War period revolver was certainly a one time use gun as you would have to change cylinders to shoot more than 6 times-thus Josey Wales would use two dragoons, 2 pocket revolvers and two others I think Army Remingtons.
I like the caliber .44 but be sure to use a round that is slightly larger in order to reduce the chance of multiple chamber discharge. You should still use wax or grease over the chambers to avoid multiple chamber discharges.
I highly recommend the New Model 1858 Remington Army revolver. I am very pleased with mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:June 11, 2013
I gave Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver to my husband for our 30th Wedding anniversary... I put the revolver in a display glass top box w/custom tag on the front. My husband was so surprised and really LOVED his gift.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

new shooter

Date:May 13, 2013
I recieved my 1858 pietta as a gift. Being new to both handgun, and black powder shooting I did a great deal of study. I must admit I was concerned with this gift. After opening the box however I realized the 1858 pietta was a well made quaility firearm. After a life time of shooting high power rifles I must say this is one of most enjoyable weapons I've taking to the range. In the future I plan on buying more products from pietta.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a happy customer

Date:April 2, 2013
these Pietta's are very nicely made replica's and I have since -wise purchased 3 more of these quality Italian firearms
A good purchase for the beginner Black powder shooter , or the collector that has a coffee table display piece .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

To Cool

Date:March 7, 2013
Just received my 1858 revolver. The shipping was quicker than expected and the fit and finish was up to my expectations.
Since this is my 1st BP purchase I will make sure to do all of my homework before heading to the range to give it a try.
I would not have purchased this item except for the positive reviews that I read on this and other sites and the fact that Cabela's pricing beat the competitors hands down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What I expected

Date:March 5, 2013
This is exactly what I expected. Got this gun to display and to hold history i my hand, (even though it is a replica). Was a little stiff. Have had it a week, took some time to get the whole cylinter releas to work, for see no poblems. Some day hope to shoot it, but for now pleased with what I got.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Added this gun to my collection

Date:February 26, 2013
This gun compliments my 1858 Union gun.
I have not been disappointed with any of the black powder guns from Cabelas. I have 7 now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice and Brassy

Date:February 23, 2013
I love how this revolver looks
and i understand you need to use much lighter loads in this.
With that said i decided also to get the
Pietta 1858 Buffalo (bison) as well,
in stainless Steel
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pistol

Date:February 8, 2013
I've had this pistol for about a month and it is a pleasure to shoot. I know this is hard to beleive but the first shot from 20 yds. holding half post was dead center. Windage was perfect. This is a great made weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome pistol

Date:February 5, 2013
Pros:
Well built
Accurate (tested out to 25yards)
Easily handles 30gr pyrodex p loads
Good looking pistol
Cons:
Long creepy trigger pull (a little filing and buffing takes care of that)
Weight (heavy)
Front sight hard to see on dark objects
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Black power revolver

Date:October 31, 2012
First time using a black power pistol. Very fun and unbelievably accurate . Very happy with purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta 1858 ew army texas .44 brass frame

Date:September 11, 2012
First BP pistol i have ever shot and owned and it has quickly became one of my favorite guns to shoot. Accurate and extremely fun to shoot. Only downside is cleaning it. I decided to buy another BP pistol and found out that its common for Brass frame BP Pistols to stretch and damage overtime. They make a conversion cylinder to shoot .45 long colt,but a brass ed framed cannot take the added recoil. So if you just buying one to shoot every now and then for fun,reenactments or wall hanger this is an excellent gun. But if you plan to shoot it alot or want to convert stay away from brass frames.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb black powder revolver

Date:May 17, 2012
I now have two 1858 New Army revolvers. One each Union and Confederate. Both are nicely made, strong revolvers. as a Civil War historian i can appreciate the history behind these guns.They are great dead-on shooters. I am very happy with Cabela's service and will definitely buy from them again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good cap and ball pistol

Date:April 13, 2012
Received this pistol 4 days after ordering, good service with the standard shipping rate. Intend to use it both as a "woods carry' gun and for Cowboy Action Shooting. Have been shooting it for 2 weeks. Very fun gun to shoot! Good accuracy, easily hits 6 inch target at 35 feet offhand, groups about 4 inches, probably a lot better from a rest. I wouldn't hunt squirrels with it, but for CAS or coyote duty it is great.
I let the brass discolor and take on the 'used' patina, looks very nice. I had read in a couple places that the brass frame will distort with a lot of use, but in asking I've found a lot of people in shooting forums who've put thousands of rounds through theirs and it still works great. I think the key is not to try and use the absolute maximum loads you can stuff in, but you don't have to use mouse loads, use moderate loads and it will last a long time.
I use number 10 caps, and .451 roundballs, although judging from the loading force needed with .451 balls either .454 or .457 balls would be ok too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome shooter

Date:January 30, 2012
Bought this one and brass 1851 for decorative and shooting use. Very happy with both.
This one arrived flawless. Finish and fit were way better than I expected. While the '51 balances and feels a little better in my hand, the '58 is by far the better shooter. Groups tightly and consistently. Higher center of gravity than the Colt, and generally more mass in the hand probably helps me keep on target.
Using #10 CCI caps from a pen capper, They are snug but don't fall off. Started with 28 grains (Pyrodex P) and have worked down to 18 to match loads for the '51 without any decrease in accuracy at under 50 yards. Even at 28 gr. there was almost no noticeable recoil. Home cooked 451 ball and Hornady 454 shoot equally well. Homecooked lube and felt wads with cream of wheat filler give me good charge compression at the lighter powder loads.
I'm using Wonder lube to lube the cylinder pin and nipple threads and Ballistol to clean. This gun cleans a little quicker than the '51 even though it seems to shoot a little dirtier. The barrel to cylinder gap is larger than the '51's. Overal the '58 has fewer parts for a complete diss assembly. Have learned to relube the cylinder pin after about 4 cylinders to keep it sliding easily.
While both the brass '58 and the brass '51 are pretty decoration pieces, this is the one I'll shoot if anyone's watching since it makes me look gook on paper too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GUN HAS REAL BRASS

Date:January 27, 2012
This 1858 New Army was the first brass frame revolver that I bought and I was very pleased with it. I use it for plinking while on deep woods hikes and on the range. It is very accurate, surprisingly so. I use #10 caps only for all my cap and ball pistols which proves to work better. Yes, the brass is harder to clean but I use Metal Glo Polishing Paste which shines it up like new with little effort. It locks up tight and I have had absolutely no malfunctions with it. I liked the looks of the brass so much that I ordered the 1851 Confederate Navy brass .44 caliber revolver. However, if you're planning to buy a caliber conversion kit then purchase a steel frame one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Watauga, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love mine

Date:January 12, 2012
Shoots great, works fine, takes more work to keep the brass shiny other than that I like it as much as my case hardened steel model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Brass Frame .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Monterey, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Epic

Date:January 12, 2012
I bought this for X-mas after buying the 1858 New Army Buffalo Brass. Easy to handle, feels great and almost as accurate as the Buffalo. The cylinders are interchangeable between these two. If your thinking about it---buy it. Pure shooting pleasure. Get extra cylinders and the stand. Soooo worth it. Remington #10 caps, 454 balls, Cabelas BP revolver wads, Pyrodex Pistol Powder, Pendersoli Revolver powder measure and the Pyrodex powder spout is nice. You'll be knocking cans down at 25 yards. And it feels good in a holster on your hip. Thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 63