Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver

This 1858 New Army Police, .36-Caliber is a shortened version of the highly realistic reproduction of the Remington Model 1858. It includes a polished brass trigger guard for style and classic good looks and a walnut grip to complete this timeless pistol. Barrel length: 6-1/2". Overall length: 12-1/2". Weight: 2 lbs., 12 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 1858 Remington Navy

Date:October 13, 2006
I purchased one of these revolvers at the end of September 2006, and found it to be a very well made piece. The Pietta Remington had a good dark blueing with some nice case hardening on the trigger and hammer. The barrel is slightly shorter on this .36 caliber pistol as compared to the .44, but it balanced and pointed well.
At the range there were no misfires, but I found the sights to be high and to the right at 25 yards. In all, groups were in the 4-5 inch range, which is what was expected at that distance.
If someone was looking for an inexpensive Remington copy in .36 caliber, I'd recommend this piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pacific Ocean, Washington State.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army Police Single action pistol

Date:November 15, 2006
This pistol is a particularly fine weapon, fit and finish is really good. With a bit of practice, the spare cylinder change can be done without looking in a mere 3 or 4 seconds. Pistol points and shoots extremely well, naturally heavy in the front, giving a steady feel to the shooting experience. If you are looking for a 150 year old shooting experience, this is THE weapon of choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Radcliff Ky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good

Date:November 26, 2007
This is my first black powder gun and the nicest looking one Ive seen with a more modern design but still has antique qualitys. It functions and and shoots very well and is easy to clean. Cap and ball revolvers have a hidden saftey feature as well, you can load the gun but as long as the caps are not on the nipples you cannot fire the gun so if someone finds your gun loaded they still cant fire it without the caps on the back of the cylinder. At home I keep it loaded and I keep my caps in a seperate location so all I gotta do is put the caps on as If I were loading a modern revolver, thats pretty cool. Its a very beautiful gun for collectors or for those who like shooting and can be good for home defense as well, I dont keep it in the glove box like I would do with my 380s or 9mms since it is black powder so it would be more suitable for home defense. Cabelas service was also great, the package arrived 5 days earlier than expected and the phone support people were great as well and thier products are not junk. I would recommend this gun to anyone and cabelas is a good place to shop for sporting goods equipment online. Peace.......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 police .36

Date:May 27, 2008
I have shot black powder several years and this revolver is well built and accurate.I had alot of fun at the range today with it.This is a good buy on cap and ball revolvers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTHERN VIRGINIA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BLACK POWDER REVOLVER

Date:December 8, 2008
REVOLVER IS NICELY FINISHED. WOOD TO METAL FIT AND METAL TO METAL ASSEMBLY FIT EXCELLENT. TRIGGER PULL FINE. SHOOTS A LITTLE HIGH BUT CONSISTENTLY. WELL WITHIN AIM POINT COMPENSATION WITH A LITTLE PRACTICE. I AM PLEASED. A VERY GOOD VALUE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.36 caliber black powder revolver

Date:February 9, 2009
i like this. good quality and good looks.
a very powerful gun and easier to
carry than the .44 caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent fit and finish

Date:February 21, 2009
Was pleasantly surprised with the quality, fit, and finish. Have 2 black powder revolvers from late 1970's (Euroarms and Lyman), and am glad to see the new repros are of much higher quality. Am now a Pietta fan!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a fantastic product!

Date:March 1, 2009
I had never ordered from Cabela's before, and I was curious as to what my experience would be. It was fantastic! I ordered the '58 Remington, and I was so very impressed with the product! The finish, both metal and grips, was outstanding. The trigger pull is great; the fit and timing seem perfect. I was in awe from the moment I opened the package, which came within less than a week of my order placement. Quality - unsurpassed. Price - unbeatable. I highly recommend this revolver!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: dayton, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nipples

Date:March 2, 2009
I was cleaning the revolver before shooting it. Could not get nipples out. Ruined two nipple wrenches. After soaking in penatrating oil for two days and reworking one of the old nilpple wrenches, finally got them out but had to buy six new nipples. This time I used neversease.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver

Date:April 8, 2009
Good solid shooter, A good sub for cartrige weapons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mediocre at best

Date:April 23, 2009
Soft screws, soft steel, large cylinder gap, clunky in the hand, triggerguard drilled well off center. Poor quality control and materials. Can't hold a candle to the new Uberti forged frame Remingtons, in my opinion. Okay as a beginner gun but that's about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: swansboro, north carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cap & ball pistols

Date:September 1, 2009
these new army black powder pistols are very accurate and super simple to load and shoot. when shells become hard to get or illegal to own you will be very glad that you invested in an antique style weapon. i liked it so much i also ordered a .44 caliber new army pistol with a 5.5 barrel. and the leather holsters are some of the best i've seen on the net. plus cabelas has a very good return policy if your not 100% percent satisfied with your purchase. thank you cabelas! we love your guns!!! and i will be buying more in the future to give as christmas gifts!!! from north carolina!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Annapolis, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun to shoot

Date:October 12, 2009
This is a beautiful revolver. I have the 1851 .36 cal Navy Colt and I wanted another black powder revolver of the same caliber so I can use the same balls, wads and powder spout. I also liked the fact that this revolver's cylinder is removed by just pulling the pin forward. On my Navy I have to loosen the screw, tap out the wedge (have never been able to remove it with my fingers), take the barrel off, and then remove the cylinder. It takes less time to change cylinders with the 1858 New Army Police. In fact, for the future I might get another for Cowboy Action shooting. It is a little tricky getting the cylinder back in, but with practice you will master it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livingston Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 new army 36 cal.

Date:January 16, 2010
I recieved the gun in only a couple days after ordering, and spent much more time than that just doing the research. I even asked other dealers what they thought of Cabela's Pietta pistols. They had bad things to say, but if Pietta puts thier name on it then i figured it should be just as respectable as what the other dealers had. I was right. It is fit and finished very nice. CNC? I don't care. I cleaned up the oil and test fired some #11 caps. then I built a small pine box with a removeable platform to hold the revolver and another platform for loading upright and also places to hold the caps, balls, flask and measure. too much fun. today i loaded up the cylinder with fffg 21 grains and lubed patch and .375 balls. The cylinders could still hold more powder, but i found confusion in the printed materials about loads. The gun fired with a blaze of enthusiasm in the evening, and the kick was mild. Very fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Riverside, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautifully Made..Well Worth The Money!

Date:May 13, 2010
Bought my Remington Police model .36 caliber at the very end of March 2010...arrived within the week! Fit and finish were near perfect! Nipples were tough to remove because Pietta blues their cylinders with the nipples installed so the blueing salts dry up and crystalize in the threads. Penetrating oil and applying some heat along with a good, strong, (hardened) nipple wrench will get them out.
I also purchased a spare cylinder and it was a drop-in fit...timing was perfect...the cylinder that came with the revolver had a barrel to cylinder gap of .006" and the spare was .007"...that's close enough for me!!!!!!!
Haven't shot it yet...I'm waiting for a external cylinder loading device to make loading easier and more consistent.
I now own two Pietta revolvers...a Spiller & Burr .36 caliber and this new Remington....love them both!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beckley WV
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent shooter

Date:August 2, 2010
Only had it to the range once, but all it needed was filing down the front sight to bring the point of impact up...........Thats better than having to make a higher front sight to bring it down which is the case most times............Windage was dead center. Forcing cone looked as good as a modern weapon and timing is spot on.....Cylinder locking bolt and the hand was polished nicely at the contact areas. The cylinder locking bolt fit precisely in the notches............Well satisfied........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol

Date:September 2, 2010
I had an 1851 Navy, and bought this as a companion pistol for my collection. The ease of use and solid construction have convinced me to use this more often than the Colt replica I have. Its a solid pistol, nice looking and accurate, I will and have recommend it and Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent gun - lotsa fun!

Date:December 1, 2010
First impression - the gun has a nice heft and points well but it is too small for my hand. I don't think of myself as ham-handed and long fingered but my pinkie is right off the bottom of the grip and if my index finger is stretched as I like it to be, the trigger is way up the finger near my palm.
I have to get a revolver with larger grips and frame for myself. I was able to hold the case hardened frame 44 cal 1858, also available at Cabelas, and that was better - but still not a perfect fit.
As for this gun that's OK - this one's supposed to be for my wife and it fits her hand well.
First order of business was to completely disassemble and then degrease, clean and lube the gun.
The gun comes apart easily provided you have gunsmithing screwdrivers that fit. Unlike some other reviewers I had no problems taking the nipples off. Inside the gun there was plenty of schmutz behind the trigger guard - it looked like buffing compound and buffing wheel lint. There was even a small ring of lead around the loading plug from where a ball was seated - and one of the nipples was a different color. Presumably it was test fired at the factory (?)
There were also some burrs - the worst of which from the usefulness standpoint was on the very end of the business end of the trigger. It was very sharp. I took a stone to the very end of it and dressed it up a little. The threaded hole for the hammer adj. screw inside the grip had a huge burr - but I don't see a need to do anything with it as it doesn't effect operation, it's hidden behind the grips and removing it would also remove the bluing there.
Other than that the parts seemed pretty well-made and the gun went back together with no problems...there's a mistake in the exploded diagram in the Pietta booklet but I can't remember exactly where. Anyway - it didn't cause a problem in figuring out how to reassemble the gun.
There's also a discrepancy between the Pietta booklet and the Cabelas booklet as to loading capacity. Pietta says 9-12 grains fffg and Cabela's says 22 grains fffg or 17 grains Pyrodex P.
On the range I went through 24 rounds with15 grains of Pyrodex P, felt wad, .375 ball and blob of bore butter to seal the load. The gun cycled perfectly and the trigger pull was crisp and easy.
The only problem I ran into was when I fired my first shot after loading, one of the caps flew off one of the other cylinders. I pinched the caps a bit and it helped but the problem happened 3 times. I'll try different caps but I can't imagine using #11's - not when 10's pop off so easily. I wish they'd pop off as easily AFTER they've been fired ;-)
BTW - when some smart aleck tells you to read the owner's manual before you ask questions - this owner's manual doesn't seem to tell you what size percussion caps to use. It does discuss what percussion caps DO - but not which ones you need for their guns. Ball size - yes; powder charge - yes; cap size - nope.
The sight picture takes some getting used to but overall I'm impressed with the accuracy. Though I'm going to have to file the front sight down to raise the impact point the windage seemed spot on and the groups were better than I get from many modern pistols I've fired.
All in all this is a decent gun at a decent price. I'd buy another Pietta BP revolver in a heartbeat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pistol

Date:February 3, 2011
Very consistent shooter, nice 2-3" pattern @ 30ft
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Police .36 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Made cap & ball revolver

Date:April 7, 2011
The 1858 New Army police .36 cal. revolver made by Pietta is very well made. I was impressed with the machining of the parts. The fit and finish of the revolver is very good. The blued parts show no sign of machining marks and the case hardened parts are also of good quality. The grips are OK for the money but nothing special.
The cylinder timing was correct and repeatable with good lock-up. The critical areas such as the cylinder face and the muzzel were machined square and crisp. The gun shoots low with a standard load but the front sight is sufficently high to allow for correction by filing.
My only complaint was the trigger pull. The pull weight was excessive and the trigger engagement was postive to the point that the hammer noticable moved rearward before falling. I corrected the sear engagement and pull weight but this is not a job for the novice gunsmith. Overall, the revolver is an excellent value and the .36 caliber is cheaper to shoot (and way more fun in my opinion) than the .44 cal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34