Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver

This replica is the deluxe engraved, polished-steel version of the pistol that proved itself during the Civil War. The 1851 Navy was the favorite of Samuel Colt himself. It has a brass backstrap and trigger guard. Barrel length: 4-3/4". Overall length: 10-3/4". Weight: 2 lbs., 5 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Imitation navy.

Date:December 19, 2014
Anybody wishing to try firing a .44 ball with the minimum required 28 grain powder charge on an open top frame designed for a .36 ball anf 18 grain powder charge...be my guest. NOT ADVISABLE THOUGH.
Another non shooting 'Look pretty'. I hate it when they take a Navy [.36 caliber] design and try to force it into Army [ .44 ] specs..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful Gun

Date:November 26, 2014
love the finish and engraving, feels great in the hand and a pleasure to shoot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Re

Date:October 19, 2013
This is a Exact Functioning Replica actually better made then back in the day, it is a show piece extra fine Italian craftsmanship detail Outstanding comes apart same as it would have in 1851 not going to brake on you very Impressed how accurate it is you can use Black powder or Pyrodex , Pyrodex is a safer better alternative and pre measured and simple to use and same results. You will not be disappointed. I recommend Cabala's Fine Black Powder Guns to anyone that loves history and wants too have fun and learn what are Forefathers used back in the day and a have a show Piece that will stun anyone whom sees it displayed I feel they are priced low for what you get my opinion .2013.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 marshall

Date:September 1, 2013
The first review is not correct regarding the frame of the .44 being stronger,it is exactly the same as the .36 1851 model except for the relief cut to clear the larger cylinder. The frame is strong enough to handle the .44 caliber and was used in the 1860 army model. That being said this is a quality piece with well done engraving. The timing on mine was spot on and the action was very slick and required only a slight amount of polish work. All in all a good buy. One worthy addition to consider is an 11 degree throat installed and crown properly cut. these are great performance modifications.This is a great piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

black powder beauty

Date:April 16, 2013
I don't know how it shoots(yet).I can tell you that it feels like it belongs in your hand.The short barrel length (4 3/4"?) makes it easy to point quickly, it is .44 cal so the frame is sturdier than the .36cal Navy. The hole in barrel looks like a cannon ball could come out of it. The quality is evident in how the parts mesh together,solidly. The hammer pull feels solid but not heavy, the trigger is crisp. It is probably polished SS, looks like nickel, the engraving is nicely done,all in all, a beautiful gun. If I was back in the 1860's,I'd be carrying this. Might be worthwhile looking for a conversion cylinder, to shoot it more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow

Date:October 20, 2012
Purchased 2 of these together last week. Actually got them in sequential order. Both are beautiful guns. I would recommend these to anybody. I will not be shooting these they are just to good looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Very Nice Piece of Metal!

Date:May 28, 2012
I have a lot of pistols, DE's chromed, even a Weldon Bledsoe cattlebrands ruger. This little gun is right there on the top of the list in looks and in feel. The Italians produce some beautiful hand works, like Gucci bags, shoes, and I guess from looking at this gun...pistols!!
Its was my first BP pistol, and its not pefect, I had to turn the nipples down a bit to accept #10 caps...not too hard with a drill and 320 grit sand paper. The loading bar bent with a 6" long PVC cheater tube on it, and it tends to jam totally if the wedge is installed too tightly after its fired a few times.
Even with all that, in time I know I will get this gun debugged and it will be one of the most beautiful pieces I have in my safe, and also one of the most enjoyable to shoot. Its beautiful, its accurate, and the feel is just so perfect it makes me want to buy a detailed El Patron in 357 just to be able to shot modern cartridges with a similar gun...
If you are going to buy just one BP pistol, this is it...if you already own a few basic models, this one will make you proud to own it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work of Art

Date:March 28, 2012
Excellent engraving, built solid, top of the line. Too nice to shoot, will keep it unfired. Very good price. Hope it's a limited production to add to the value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Linn, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful pistol

Date:November 14, 2011
I was pleased to see this upon its arrival. It is just a beautiful pistol. Photos do not do it justice. Back grip strap is done in brass and is nicely engraved as well. Doesn't show in photos. Well balanced firearm; easy to twirl for those of us who like getting flashy. I plan on buying the conversion and using this in fast draw competition. I might have to get another, so I can have a matching pair. Superbly done and my new favorite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:May 21, 2011
Very, very happy with this pistol! Finish is beautiful and I enjoy just handling it. This one makes 13 in the collection, most from Cabela's. All have beengreat, but this is one of my favorites.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Navy U.S. marshall .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:April 15, 2011
Hi, 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver, The Photo Does not Show all The Very Fine Qualty of the 1851 revolver- it is just one word ,
Perfect- well worth the money, you will not be disapointed, it is a show peice, the craftmanship is just best I have seen, someone took a lot of time MFG this .44 this. I might buy one more so I have one in unfired condition, I can say when you get yours you will understand what I am trying to convey. Balanced, feels great in the hand and the action is so smooth, be sure to get all the assy from Cabelas they have everything you will need to correctly use this very fine Ledgend and a real piece of History . 2011
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redding, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy.

Date:May 9, 2010
My first black powder pistol. Will not be my last. Went out with my brother and shot. Good thing we only brought a 100 rounds. May have never came home. The pistol fits your hand perfect. The trigger is really smooth. Could not find anything wrong. The shipping was real fast.
I am going to take my wife next time. There is no kick to talk of. Can not wait to buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Revolver For The Money

Date:February 11, 2009
I ordered this revolver earlier this week and it arrived quickly. I have owned two Pietta cap and ball revolvers before and both were great, so I had high expectations for this model. I was not let down.
The 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 is an amazing value. Pietta could probably sell these for double the price, considering the labor in engraving and the overall fit and finish of the weapon. The barrel retention wedge was quite tight, but eventually came out with a few taps from a brass peening tool. But that isn't really a problem. Mechanically, the revolver is rock solid and well timed.
While the historical evidence of this model is thin, the combination of .44 caliber with the 1851 Navy size frame, along with a shorter barrel and classic looking engraving make this a beautiful firearm. Also, this model fits nicely in a standard Colt 5.5" SAA holster which gives it a great, western look.
I highly recommend this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Down South Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:September 29, 2008
Very happy with overall detail and quality,only problem is barrel to frame fit is too tight.The wedge will not fit properly,it will not go in far enough to catch the lip of the retaining spring.Im sure with a little filing it will go in enough but it seems that this should have been caught at the manufacturer during final assembly before packaging.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Poplarville, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 navy

Date:September 22, 2008
I recently purchased the 1851 navy revolver. I am very pleased with the detail of the finish on the gun. I recently went out shooting with some friends. It was slow to load, but fun to shoot. I am a cabinet maker by trade so I just finished a display rack for it. It now sets above my entertainment center looking very nice. Its a great display piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Orleans
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:February 8, 2008
A very nice piece. Well balanced and looks great.I would recomend this pistol to anyone interested in a collector piece as well as a fine shooting piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LONE STAR....JR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW !!!!!!

Date:June 19, 2007
I AM ABSOLUTLY WOWED WITH THIS REVOLVER. THE QUALITY AND WORKMANSHIP IS EXCELLENT.THE CABELA'S 1851 NAVY
MARSHAL IS IN A CLASS OF IT'S OWN REGARDING CLASSY
LOOKS, AND HEFT.
IF YOU HAVE BEEN LOOKING AT THIS REVOLVER AND TRYING TO MAKE UP YOUR MIND, RUN...DON'T WALK... TO YOUR TELEPHONE AND AND ORDER YOURSELF ONE. YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY. THANKS PIETTA, AND CABELA'S.
BEST REGARDS,
TOMMY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Littleton, Colorado -- next door to the Rockies
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun Little Gun, Where Little is Relative

Date:February 9, 2007
This was my second blackpowder pistol from Cabella's and it hasn't relieved my addiction to popping caps and blowing smoke one bit. I like the 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal revolver just as much as its much longer, 1862 Army, younger brother.
If you're not familiar with blackpowder pistols it'll suprise you how long it takes to load six rounds and how quickly you can empty six even though this gun is single action. You probably won't shoot fifty rounds an hour, but it's relaxing and it'll do you good to get outdoors. I haven't found an indoor shooting range that will allow me to fire up this puppy, and even if one did, I wouldn't be able to see the target after three rounds. When shooting with non blackpowder shooters it's best to be down wind from everyone so they don't cough their heads off.
The Marshal is a good looking gun so expect to spend time looking at it and letting others look. It's fairly well balanced so you can spin it on your finger, but for safety sake, not when its loaded.
It's an accurate weapon. I do as well with it as with its big brother (1862 Colt Army). The grip fits my hand the way I like (I'm not a fan of hand cannons.), but some folks might say it feels small. It fits my wife's hand too and she loves shooting the Marshal. Oh, and that's another thing, even though this is a .44 caliber weapon it doesn't kick much, less than a .22 caliber Magnum revolver.
I have two negative things to say about the Marshal. First, the short barrel means a short loading lever. Until you build up calluses in your palm use some padding or make a cheater bar to slip over the loading lever to give you better leverage. The second negative is the lack of little safety pegs on the back of the cylinder between the chambers. They are just raised metal on the cylinder surface that engage a groove in the hammer as a safety device. If the cylinder has these nipples the hammer can be lowered onto one so it isn't resting on a live cap and the cylinder can't rotate until cocked. The hammer on the Marshal has a groove so I may have a faulty cylinder. This isn't a big deal so long as you don't carry the weapon around fully loaded. If you're going to carry the Marshal the best solution is to load five cylinders and rest the hammer on the empty if your cylinder lacks safety pegs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Navy U.S. Marshal .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yakima, WA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alot of bang for a few bucks...

Date:December 6, 2006
Once upon a time, I owned one of these pistols, and to my constant disappointment, I sold it when I moved since I wouldn't be doing gunfight re-enactments anymore.
Well, I find myself getting into single action shooting again, and am back to buying a good pistol to get started with, so I am going with something that has proven itself to me in the past.
The 51 Colt "Marshal" in .44 cal. was my pistol of choice for the gunfight re-enactments we did around Abilene, Junction City, Ft.Riley and the surrounding areas of Kansas, beign both a flashy pistol and a solid performer. The weight made it manageable in all carry positions I tried (including suspender/shoulder holsters), but the shorter barrel length made speed draws not only possible but practical with this model.
Cleaning and dissassembly is something that can be accomplished easily, whether this be your first pistol or your 100th, but like all firearms you will want to leave complete dissassembly to your professional gunsmith of choice.
The engravings are of a quality nature, providing a very unique or fancy look to the pistol, and the combination of brass and stainless steel can be polished to a beautiful luster that makes it an eye catcher to crowds.
The one drawback I have found to this pistol is that the steel screws will lead to extended wear on your brass frame, but that is only if you take yours completely apart as often as I did (3 cleanings after each shooting, with 2-3 practices a week), but this is something that can be easily fixed by a competent machinist or gunsmith, so nothing to be too worried about.
Accuracy was a total surprise on this little pistol, since the rear sight is cut from the hammer and moves every time you cock the pistol for firing, I was convinced that I would be lucky to hit the target backstop, let alone the target. Much to my surprise, this little pistol is able to hold 2-3" groups at 25 meters if you are even a passable pistol shot and shoot with a 2 handed grip (I use modified Weavers)! Firing from wall supported, this pistol will really surprise you, so don't worry about your sights as I did, just make sure to mark the front sight with a drop of paint to make discerning it from the hammer notch a little easier and you will be shooting clays in no time!
Overall, I would give this pistol a 4 out of 5, with the one drawback being the reason for the minus on that scale, but I would happily (and have) recommend them to friends regularly for starting black powder pistols, single action shooting or entry into black powder class pistol events.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.