Customer Reviews for .30-06 OUTDOORS David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

.30-06 OUTDOORS David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge

Today’s black-powder shotguns from Cabela’s capture the classic lines and romance of the fowling pieces of yesterday. But our double-barrel black power shotgun features a chrome-lined barrel for use with steel shot. The 12-gauge model uses screw-in choke tubes for greater flexibility and come with one of each of the following: X-Full, modified and improved cylinder chokes. Go from doves to turkey in seconds by changing chokes and charges. Deep, slick bluing, engraved locks and checkered American walnut stock. A Cabela’s exclusive from Davide Pedersoli. Barrel length: 28-1/2". Weight: 7 lbs. Available: 12-ga., 10-ga.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Review 1 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli Black Powder 12 Gauge Shotgun

Date:October 15, 2012
I received my double barrel Pedersoli 12 gauge and was very pleased with wood fit to barrels and balance and pointability! Very nice looking shotgun!
Sam
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bestest & funest

Date:July 16, 2012
I got this shotgun for Christmas 1996 and have been very happy with it and it's performance. Great gun in excellent shape. Only replacement was the nipples with stainless steel ones and have had great fun with this Pedersoli black powder shotgun ever since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Uionville, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotgun

Date:April 16, 2012
This is truly one of the best looking blalckpowder shotguns I have ever had in my hands. I love the american walnute stock with the inlaid caseharden inlaid scroll work. This gun shoots good also. Just killed my first turkey with this gun and it worked great. I was using #6 shot ,1.25oz with 90 grains of black powder. Killed him at 30yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Red Mesa Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shotgun

Date:November 12, 2011
I bought my Pedersoli 10 ga sxs 14 years ago, and I was beyond pleased when it arrived, one beautiful shotgun to say the least. And it has never let me down in all the years of hunting with it, mostly turkeys and water fowl, I liked it so much I bought another Pedersoli 32 cal long gun, and it to is great in looks and shooting, I'm now on the waiting list from Cabela's for the 50 cal Rocky mountain Hawkin, also a Pedersoli with the maple stock. There are 2 companys you can't beat, Pedersoli, Cabela's ,for no body stands behind there products like Cabela's, thats for sure!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli double

Date:April 7, 2011
Excellent shotgun! Patterns are great and its cheap to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern Vermont
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice gun

Date:January 31, 2011
This is only a preliminary review - as I have not had a chance to see if the gun shoots to point of aim.
However - the fit and finish overall is beautiful - and the balance and handling are much better than I expected. The checkering is well executed with nice sharp diamonds. The blueing is even and dark - very pleasing. The stock and forend finish looks like it is hand rubbed oil, and very nicely done. The buttplate is steel and smooth, with a deep blue finish - I like that too. The barrel rib is not matted on top, but is smooth and shiny just like the barrels - not a plus - but liveable.
Two things could be done - and this gun would get a 5 rating from me.
One - the choke tube in the left barrel was almost impossible to get out - and once I got it out I discovered that the threads - either in the barrel or on the choke tube are very rough. I have cleaned the threads in both and run it in and out a few times and it is some better now.
Two -( And this one is very minor)- the outer edges on the trigger guard are not smooth and rounded like they should be. They are quite sharp feeling. Not good on a gun of this price range.
The mechanical function is perfect and it does go bang and makes lots of smoke. I will let you know soon - if it shoots to point of aim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 10 gauge by Pedersoli

Date:March 8, 2010
Very nice shotgun. Only reason it isn't 5 stars is that there are a couple of finish issues under the barrels near the ramrod guides. Can still see a bit of the weld/solder where it could have been buffed more before bluing. Will not affect it's function and is still beautiful overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South East Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome shotgun!

Date:January 8, 2010
I bought the 12ga and its very well made. Metal to wood fit perfect, locks perfect, function again perfect. I have over 45 years of experience with black powder firearms and have an extensive collection so I know the real deal when I see it.
With the chrome lined bore and using plastic shot wads I was getting devastating shot patterns on ducks with steel shot. I tried Lee slugs in it and they worked fine and ditto for buckshot and any lead shot.
After two trips duck hunting here in Alaska with it I no longer take my Rem 870 Wingmaster for ducks or any of my modern shotguns because I was just taking ducks out of the sky like mad with this shotgun.
I had only one small gripe and that was where the sling swivel can be mounted on the barrel, it was just too small for standard sling swivels and very weak looking. But other than that it’s a winner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:December 25, 2009
I bought the 12 gauge model in Feb 09, the overall impression was great, fit and finish was better than I expected, and now I hunt exclusively with it. everything from Quail to Swans have fallen to this muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AZ quail huners
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Black Powder .20 ga Shotgun

Date:December 7, 2009
Great shooting double; however, you need 18 ga. wads to bring out its best. I bought the wads from Circle Fly Wads and suggest you do as well.
Forget modern plastic wads. They do not obturate in this shotgun and will deliver sub-standard velocities and atrocious patterns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Blackpowder shotgun

Date:October 8, 2009
This is fun to shoot. For more consistentcy in firing replace the factory nipples. The finish is average to good. As soon as I got the gun to fire consistently I was breaking targets.
I plan to hunt with it this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Norht Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The perfect gun

Date:August 11, 2009
I have enjoyed my 20 ga. from Cabelas then Bought a cva 12 ga. I am now ordering a 12 ga. from Cabelas. These are just better made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very fun

Date:November 3, 2008
This gun works great for upland game birds.
Tips:
Buy the Wads, Overshot & Overpowder Cards. The overpowder cards are the thicker cards.
If you use anything other than cylinder or improved cylinder chokes, you'll have to remove them between shots to get the shot cups to go down. Not a problem if you're hunting turkey, but a bigger problem if you're hunting for upland game birds.
Cleaning tricks from "Little House on the Prairie" series of books: Use hot then boiling water to clean gun.
1. Remove cap nipples, and insert nipple side of barrel into bucket of hot water. Run patches through each barrel. The patches will eventually act as a pump, sucking water into and out of the barrel through the holes that the nipples screw into. The water will likely be pumped to the top of the barrel, so be careful.
2. Then (very carefully) do the same with a pot of boiling water, again using the jag and patch as a pump. This will clean up the gun very quickly, and it will also heat up the barrel, so be careful and use a hot pad or gloves. However, the hot barrel will evaporate the water after it is removed from the pot.
3. Remove from barrels from boiling water, drain down nipple holes, and run a patch down each. The barrel will be so hot that the water is likely to already have evaporated, but run a series of one or more patches down each barrel, until the last patch comes up dry.
4. Use patch with bore butter or similar down barrels. Don't use oil, as it will just make future cleaning more difficult.
5. If you have it, use compressed air for the holes between the barrels on the nipple side of the barrels. You can also use oil here, too.
6. Make sure everything is dry. You might want to put some gun oil in the holes between the barrels. (But don't use oil in the barrel).
7. Before loading, run dry patches down barrel to remove excess bore butter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Finger Lakes, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:October 30, 2008
I just bought the 12 ga model and I love it! It is well made, although the stock was made from a piece of inferior wood. With standard loads the gun shoots about a foot low at 25 yards. By dropping the shot load and raising the powder charge though, the pattern came right in. Don't expect much from the instructions. You'll have to do some research to get the right info.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bullard Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

12 gauge

Date:October 25, 2008
I like the gun but disapointed with the fit and trim. I was looking a better I guess. It doesn't hurt the hunting just not up to par. The starter kit shot wads are way to big they hold 2 1/4 ounce of shot that is twice as much as the gun can handle.
It is the hit at the gun range. I look forward to hunting with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Black-Powder Shotgun Review

Date:October 14, 2008
The Gun is beautiful! It is loads of fun to shoot! The only complaint that I had, was that it came slightly damaged from cabela's. It looks like whoever screwed in the chokes, dinged the edge of the barrel. Other than that, I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gilbert, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:October 13, 2008
This is a great shotgun... fit, finish, and function are excellent. It has also added some new interest to my clay shoots as well! I can't wait to hunt some birds with it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ROSAMOND,CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

12 GA. PEDERSOLI SXS SHOTGUN

Date:July 28, 2008
THE SHOTGUN WAS WHAT I EXPECTED. THE FIT WAS VERY GOOD. VERY WELL BALANCE. AT THE RANGE, I FIRST LOADED IT WITH 80 GRAINS OF PYRODEX R/S AND EQUAL PARTS FOR THE SHOT. THE SHOT WAS EITHER 6 OR 7 1/2 (WAS BULK AND FREE) . LEFT BARREL IS I C, RIGHT BARREL MOD. FIRST SHOT DEAD CLAY BIRD, SECOND SHOT NO LUCK. AFTER SHOOTING I NOTICE MY RIGHT WRIST WAS BURNING A LITTLE ( I SHOOT LEFT HAND) . I FOUND OUT IT WAS THE CAP, FRAGMENTS HITTING MY WRIST. THE NIPPLES HAVE VERY SMALL HOLES. MAYBE THATS THE PROBLEM. I GOT NEW NIPPLES AND DRILLED THEM OUT, SHOULD TAKE CARE OF PROBLEM. I SHOT THE GUN WITH WOOL WADS AND PLASTIC WADS. BOTH SHOT REALLY GOOD. TRIGGERS A LITTLE HARD BUT NOT TO BAD. JUST NEED TO GET USED TO THEM. OVERALL I'M VERY HAPPY WITH IT. CAN'T WAIT TO HUNT WITH IT. ONE LAST THING, THE HOLE FOR THE SWIVEL ON THE BARREL IS SMALL. I HAD TO GRIND SWIVEL TO FIT IT. I HAVE ALREADY RECOMMENDED TO MY FRIENDS . A VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AAA+++

Date:July 10, 2008
I have purchased all of these in the series 10,12, and 20 Ga as well as shotguns by cva and pietta. The only one i use is the 12 ga cabelas Pedersoli which i purchased years ago when it was first cataloged and was sold with 5 choke tubes. This shotgun will consistently shoot patterns equal to any of my shotshell shooters whether it be my pumps, autoloaders or o/u! It has never failed me in all these years and it has performed and achieved some pretty amazing shots. While i found the 10 just too heavy and the 20 a bit light on the power end i can recommend any of these and i often do. If you want a light gun that swings smooth as silk and patterns above the 85% mark when called upon to do so i highly recommend the 12 ga gun as an all around bp shotgun and for birds up to turkey using a full and extra full combo even with the lighter shot charge it will cleanly take these birds out to 40 yds though the power may be fairly low at these ranges it will certainly throw plenty of shot into the birds head and neck at these ranges and in fact my longest shot was a misjudged 55 yds and there were 8 pellets in the kill zone! If on the other hand you are a waterfowler you can never go wrong with the big ten. And anyone who has used the twenty on Quail will surely vouch for it's effectiveness. Pick one up and figure out your shot charge and wad column for each intended purpose and keep a record of your loadings and patterns with each and your shell shuckers may collect more dust than meat on your future outings! Enjoy!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for David Pedersoli Black-Powder Double-Barrel Shotgun - 12 Gauge
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Shotgun

Date:September 28, 2007
This is probably the finest shotgun I have ever owned and that includes centerfire. I have the 10ga and talk about a versatile gun. Most people who buy the 10 will want it to fill the role of the modern magnum 10ga but that is not it's purpose. It should basically be used like a 3" 12ga. IT IS NOT A MAGNUM, IT IS A JOURNEYMAN! It will do it all from doves to turkeys to deer. So just remember it is more like a dremmel tool than a sledge hammer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23