Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit

All the components needed to create your own Hawken rifle. Heavy 29" octagonal barrel, adjustable sights, walnut stock, case-hardened lock, adjustable double set triggers, and solid-brass trigger guard, hook buttplate, forend cap, ferrules and ramrod fittings. Instructions included.Twist: 1 in 48".Weight: Approximately 9 lbs. Caliber: .50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Review 1 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Purchase

Date:March 19, 2011
This kit is NOT for a beginner. That said, it is complete and the results can be great. You need skills in metal polishing, chemical finishing, wood working and finishing, general mechanical skills, and experience with the workings of a gun. If you are lacking in these skills or the associated tools, you will not be satisfied with this kit. Also, you need to plan on some time; a minimum of 30 hours of hard work to hand sand the stock, inlet the stock, finish the stock, finish the barrell, test fit the flintlock, trigger, and barrell, etc. And it is not for kids for their first gun. I would recommend this kit to anybody with the skills, tools, and time to make a great gun. If you don't have these then buy a complete gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pottstown, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Kit

Date:February 23, 2011
All the parts fit but need attention if a quality rifle to be produced. Must blue metal; file, sand and finish stock; file, sand and buff brass but what a rifle - beautiful!
This was so much fun, I will probably buy another and do it again but better!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hanover, pa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice kit

Date:February 20, 2011
excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cody, WY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deal

Date:February 12, 2011
Fun - High quality kit. The kit was complete minus the items needed to finish the wood or metal. I used the barrell browning instead of blueing to make it more authentic for the era. The Walnut stock they sent was the most beautiful piece of wood I have ever had in a gun and I have owned into the hundreds. I finished the wood with Tung oil also because it made it more authentic. The brass was easy to finish. All of the parts were easy to assemble and went together just like they were supposed to. I did move the set of triggers back a little to make the reach correct for me when assembled. The hair trigger is adjustable, but I found it to be just right as it was already set. The flintlock is a blast to shoot - it doesn't kick very hard but does have a loud K-BOOM. I would reccommend cleaning the flint with some denatured alcohol since it comes in a bag with the hardware and gets some oil on it. Also you might want to fire the rifle several times with powder only in the barrell and then swab it out with cleaner and a dry patch to make sure all of the oil is out of the barrell. Have fun! I sure like mine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: holand ma
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

its ok

Date:December 27, 2010
the drections ware bad like realy bad but its kinda self explaitory it wen together nice i wasmissing one screw the stock takes alot of sanding to get fulsh with the brass peaces but all of the hassle is woth it this gun is beautiful if bun up right mine is amzing wil buy another wen the time comes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice!

Date:December 24, 2010
Purchased this rifle for my son last year for his 12th birthday and put the kit together between October and November. It went together with ease. Shot it for the first time last week and am quit impressed. I own a T/C Hawkens myself and I have a hard time seeing any differnce between the two. If your buying the kit over a complete gun for cost reasons, I sugest you buy the preassembled gun. It might cost you more in the store but when your your done with browning or blueing the barrel and all the other small stuff it really costs about the same. this was fun to put together as a project with my son, but make sure your willing to spend the time. total time with browning the barrel was about 24hrs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Central Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but

Date:December 13, 2010
Its a straight shooter but took a lot of hand work to get parts to fit. I guess that added to the pride of finishing a beautiful rifle. Sighting it in took a minimum of time. First shoot in the field dropped an 8 pointer in his tracks. Using a flintlock will make you a better hunter. I was concentrating so hard on holding steady through the flintlock firing lag that I didn't get the usual buck fever jitters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

good for hard parts...but...

Date:February 28, 2010
if I have to do it over again, I would have purchased the complete, finished rifle. The fit and finnish of the kit is BAD (I got the Flintlock Hawkens kit). I understand that it is a kit, I have built a few before, but this one was the worst! The rough cut was all off, and the screw holes were ALL half a screw off. It made it difficult to redrill and put in a screw. PLUS, half of the screws broke before they even had a chance to tighten up (that was even with pre-drilling). The barrel tang rough cut was REALLY far off, and cut at such a bad angle, I have a HUGE GAP. I'll probably end up filling it or putting a brass inlay all around it. The barrel doesn't even fit square with the tang (makes me nervous to shoot it).
I browned the barrel, but the underrib is aluminum, and painted black, so unless I strip it and paint it, it doesn't match anything else. It'd be ok, if you blued everything, but I wanted brown. So that looks goofy. (one of the screws to attach the underrib didn't even come threaded, so I have to try and find one a a local hardware store, in addition to all the screws that broke off in assembly) It would probably be best to purchase this kit if you wanted to build a rifle with your own stock or one from a blank, the one supplied was POOR! The wood was ok, but everything was cut WAY TOO FAR off to even really be usable. This one will probably end up being a wall hanger on the inside of a closet, or somewhere where you had to look at it from 10-15' away.
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, I wouldn't buy another one, I should have just purchased the complete built rifle. I have been happy with everything else I have purchased with Cabela's, but I won't ever buy a kit from them again.
Just my honest, opinion....hope it helps save someone the many headaches I had with this kit.
I gave it two stars for the hard parts: Barrel, lock, trigger set. The rest I will probably find somewhere else and build this thing again, or leave it to collect dust in the corner of the closet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good kit, fun project

Date:October 6, 2009
I am handy but not an expert craftsman. Some screw holes needed to be filled & relocated, the most significant one being on the butt plate. I had to shorten the barrel rib & rework the wood here & there. The barrel rib was a surprise; perhaps it was intended for a different kit. But in the end, as others have suggested, it's the reworking & finishing that makes a project one's own. I sanded the wood very smooth, but not like glass (glassy finish shows flaws & use too easily), & sealed the wood with coats of natural tung oil. After some research, I decided to spray the barrel with flat brown rust-resistant paint; it makes a more durable and practical (if less "authentic") coating than bluing or browning, & it looks great. I replaced the steel screws with solid brass wherever they were used to fasten brass parts. Then I tried it out. The touch hole isn't quite centered on the pan, but evidently it's close enough; using the supplied agate "flint," the Hawken performed flawlessly. In this age of electronic mysteries, it's nice to make something that looks good, that works, that you can see how it works, & that you have a hope of repairing if need be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brownsville, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quality Construction

Date:September 4, 2009
I just received my Hawken flintlock, and after fitting all of the pieces together before finishing, I can say that the in-letting was done exceptionally well. The materials are excellent, and the wood is beautiful. Is this a $1500 dollar kit? No. This is a work horse, a shooter. It can probably be displayed on the wall in between seasons, but mine is going to spend it with my other hunting rifles in a case. Why? Because I didn't buy it to be a wall decoration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

you should also buy bluing and stock finishing kit

Date:August 30, 2009
The Flinlock kit is great... it includes all the parts you need to build your rifle. however the included directions only show you how to assemble the rifle. The barrel comes unblued an you will need the blueing kit to finish it. this kit give you great directions to blue you barrel. same with the stock you'll need the stock finishing kit to finish the stock this also has very detailed instructions... i wish there was a note to buy these additional items before i had to come back and reorder the blueing and stock finishing kits. overall great kit and fun to build
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Woodbury,TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed

Date:July 10, 2009
I got my kit via a popular shipping venue 6-29. I have built several black powder firearms. This was the most enjoyable of all of them. With little mechanical skills you should be able to create a beautiful great shooting smoke pole. Perfect for a father and son project. You will do yourself a favor by purchasing english flints. The agate flint provided with the kit is good for show but does not perform as well as the english flints that can be found at various black powder suppliers. A small hand held rotary tool will make the inletting task of the stock a much easier job. If you over size the screw holes through out the wood stock just a little and fill with wood glue before final installation of provided hardware I don't think you will break any screws off as I had no problem with. Just think ahead of what you do. This thing fits together like a puzzle. Hope this helps
Be safe,
John B.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Green River, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Smokepole

Date:July 3, 2009
This was my first Kit, but by no means will it be my last. I spent about 2weeks working on it a few minutes to an hour each day, the brass takes a lot of work, it comes pretty rough, but that is what makes it mine, the work I put into it. If it all came finished and "drop in" I might as well buy the completed gun. My stock is better looking than any finished guns I've seen. The small steel screws were not very good, I broke two off in the wood, eventually they will all be replaced.I suggest to any one building this kit the do the same, and also get some good english flint right from the start, dont waste tine with the flint that comes with it. It looks Great and shoots Great, and I have pride in the fact that I built it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just Got My Rifle Kit

Date:June 29, 2009
Just got my kit today. After an inventory I found all parts there. I have built several kits, rifle and pistol, and a matchlock .68cal musket. All was fun. Details forthcoming.
Be Careful,
John B.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hawken flintlock kit

Date:March 17, 2009
this was the second cabelas kit that I have built. the first was the hawken 50. cal percussion. like the first the one I found the kit to be a pleasure to complete. every kit is different and each will have its own style. these kits only require basic mechanical skills to complete. these wind up being "one of" and will be familly treasures. Oh allmost forgot, they are great shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:January 26, 2009
My wife surprised me with this kit for Christmas 08. I started working on it Christmas day. The instructions aren't much, but there are plenty of people around who can help. Ask on internet or local gun clubs etc. There is alot of sanding involved. Start with a coarse sand paper to get the shape. The brass butt piece didn't line up 100% so it was necessary to redrill holes. Steel screws come with kit to screw into the stock, after assembly when you are sure the holes line up the way you want, buy brass ones. I recommend Birchwood Casey Blueing kit for the barrel and tang latch. Also Birchwood Casey stock refinishing kit. I had to do a little bit of inletting for the barrel, trigger assembly, and hammer. But this was a minor job. The stock in my kit was a very nice piece of wood, when done the finish work, it came out really beautiful. Take your time, don't force things together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Father/Son Project

Date:July 8, 2008
We were pleasantly surprised when our kit arrived in only 2 days with regular shipping. All parts were present with an extra of some of the smaller or easily lost pieces.
The walnut stock was a beautiful piece of wood cut and shaped very close to the final product. All parts fit well and all screw holes alligned. We sanded for about 4.5 hours and smoothed the trasitions from wood to metal parts with a rotary tool. We did break off one screw in the stock but ended up with a beautiful project that was very easy to build.
We took the gun to the range on the 5th of July for the first time. I can't even describe the joy of shooting this gun after having put it together yourself. My 13 year old son was delighted when small groups of people came by to see the gun and watch him load and shoot. The Range Chief provided history lessons to the onlookers and kept repeating that " you would not have celebrated the 4th of July if it hadn't been for this gun." I don't know if that is accurate but I do know that this is one of the best things my son and I have ever done together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenixville, Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Kit

Date:September 20, 2007
I was very pleased when I opened up my 50 cal kit. I was impressed that all the parts were there and in good shape. I have built guns before so this was quite an easy project. The thing was, that once I started to build I couldn't stop. It is a great looking gun and I could not believe how acurate it is. I think that a first timer would love this kit. The thrill and satisfaction of building your own gun is beyond words. I highly recomend this kit for anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jefferson GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for a first time builder

Date:June 8, 2007
Great for a first time builder. This kit was easy for those who have worked with wood and metal before. If you do not have that experience it might be a challange.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Unfinished Flintlock Rifle Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hawkins .50 Caliber Kit

Date:March 20, 2007
All in all this is a fun kit to build. Since this is the first black powder kit I've ever made I am not sure if the problems I faced are normal or the exception. The end results were well worth the challange and time spent on this Hawkins flintlock. Here are the problems in no real order; the instructions are brief to say the least and are almost worthless except for the diagrams which shows what goes where; the stock of the rifle must of had over 1/4 inch extra wood on either side of the buttplate. I used a wood plane and belt sander for the intial shaping. The screw hole for the top of the butt plate was drilled off center by 1/4 inch so nothing lined up. I had to fill and redrill the hole. The patch box was a real chore to get to fit, there was a noticable gap between the metal and wood. I ended up working the outer edges of the brass to expand it to fill the gaps. The problem with that is you move the metal one spot and then the entire thing warps a little giving a space somewhere else. I think it took almost 4 hours to get it close. The stock is walnut but not any type I know, in the defense of the wood the piece that came with the kit had some very beautiful grain which I was able to bring out using a americian walnut stain. I finished the stock with 4 coats of hand rubbed paste polyurethane with a final rub down with 00 steel wool. I don't think a high gloss finish would look proper on a period piece like the Hawkins but each to his own. The brass still had casting lines in it so filing and emery cloth was needed. A 1" belt sander and buffing wheel really made short work of shaping and polishing and I would recommend using them if possible. I also spent a far amount of time polishing the barrel before using the Oxpho-blue solution from Cabela's. Started with 320 wet/dry and worked down to 600 then buffed with red rouge. The blueing turned out better than I hoped for but took over 2 hours to get it even. From what I could see from the picture on the box the barrel was blued without any polishing done so this was an extra step not really needed. During sanding I used dummy hardware to hold the brass in place so the supplied hardware didn't get all beat up. Ended up not liking the look of steel screws holding on the brass hardware so switched over to brass screws instead. Also had problems with the steel screws breaking off in the stock so decided to just get rid of them and use my own. All the inletting work for the trigger, flintlock and barrel was beautifully done, they all fit nicely in the stock with no sanding needed. All in all the problems assembling this kit were minor and easy enough to work thru. Taking your time with it and thinking each step thru first is the key to ending up with a real nice Hawkins Flintlock. Can't wait to get mine down to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21