Customer Reviews for .30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

.30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

This right-handed percussion rifle uses #11 caps. It has a hefty 29" octagonal barrel with a 1-in-48" twist which delivers excellent hunting accuracy. The clean, functional lines suit traditionalists, while our fully adjustable sights appeal to serious hunters and target shooters who demand the utmost in accuracy. Top-grade walnut stocks with brass trigger guards, curved buttplates, forend caps, ferrules and ramrod fittings make a handsome package. Color case-hardened locks contain hefty coil springs. Each rifle has a safe, solid hooked breech and latch pin for easy barrel removal and cleaning. Adjustable double set triggers are also standard. Calibers: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Review 1 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a happy gun owner

Date:September 30, 2012
I received my Cabelas 50 Cal. Hawkin rifle as a gift, If it were not a gift I would not buy it. The Brass fittings were not fully polished and the trigger guard had sharp edges. The trigger guard was not polished on the underside and it was sanded rough. The hammer was binding on the stock and needed to be relieved. The lock was not oiled and the set trigger would not work. I really disliked all the text stamped on the barrel, it's so bad that I can hardly read read it. Some of the the text looks it might have been doubled stamped and sightly off center. I have completely disassembled the rifle and re-worked the lock and trigger assembly. I have also re-polished all the brass and applied several additional coats of oil on the stock. The rifle looks and operates much better since I have completed the work. If I were Cabelas I would be embarrassed to put my name on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Louisville, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hawken flunks the test.

Date:November 17, 2006
Hammer and nipple out of alignment on this percussion model. The hammer strike would not consistently ignite the #11 cap. Upgraded to a musket nipple and cap but achieved the same result. I had to return the rifle for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: monroe co. wv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle

Date:January 15, 2007
just wouldnt recommend to any1.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas traditional .50 muzzleloader

Date:January 15, 2013
The fit and finish were nice. As said before, the sights are just passable. I upgraded to a rear Tang Creedmore and an elevated front globe target sight. Now I can hit anything I can see. Works good with balls, great with conicals. The trigger is nice. 8lbs without the hair engaged, 1/2 lb with it engaged. I am giving it 3 stars because the barrel was crooked to the left from the factory. I fixed it because I am set to fi things like this. You may not be. When you get it, remove the barrel and put a strait edge on it and check it out. Return for exchange if warped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: newcastle ,wy
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk ramrod

Date:October 23, 2010
just fired for first time.ran a cleaning patch on a jag in between shots and the end fell off of the ramrod,stuck halfway down the barrel .just glued on.would not recommend ,.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Bullard Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It keeps falling apart

Date:November 15, 2007
I bought this rifle to give the sport of hunting a different twist. That is what I got. I went to the range and it was sighted in. So I went hunting the first weekend of deer season with lots of excitment. While I was walking to the deer stand in the forest the wedge pin was lost. How that happens I don't know. Cabela like always sent off for one in Italy and it will be here in 3 weeks. LOL.... So much for hunting anytime soon. So being the wood worker that I am I made one out of walnut and it works perfectly. So off I go hunting the next week. I am sitting in the deer stand and I look down and low and behold the rear site pin holding screw is missing. So much for that hunt. I always carry two guns now.LOL..... after discharging the gun I was cleaning it and the rod broke it was made out of wood. I must now look at how hard it was for our ancesters to live with weapons like these. If they had as much trouble as I have had it is a wonder man kind ever suvived. The gun is beautiful and when it is not falling apart it shoots wonderfully. I am looking forward to the day that I can take it hunting again with a tool box full of parts to repair it as it falls apart. Cabela's has always taken good care of my needs and they are doing everything that they can to fix the problems with this gun. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NE Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

So So

Date:September 28, 2007
I bought the old .58 caliber version of this rifle. The accuracy was good but this thing weighed a ton and I missed a good deer because the rear sight elevation screw had worked itself out. I will say that Cabelas replaced the screw no charge no questions asked. It no longer comes in .58 which I think is the most useful caliber but even if it did I would not recommend this rifle unless you planned to do a lot of tinkering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun to Shoot

Date:February 15, 2012
Great Rifle...Only problem is the ram rod...Tip came off right away but was fixed with a little super glue...Recommend getting a replacement for the rod if you are going to use a lot...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Absarokee,Mt
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hawken 50 cal cabela's

Date:January 9, 2012
really like the rifle....but... when you get yours the first thing you will want to do is replace the ram-rod... the one that comes with is junk and will come apart right away... rifle shoots great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Hawken

Date:December 7, 2011
I have owned a Cabela's Traditional Hawken for 20 years. It is built like a tank and has taken a deer or two in states with muzzleloader seasons. I have only shot conicals and it is very accurate. I would have given it 5-stars, but it does not like to ignite some powders with the standard #11 nipple. Do yourself a favor and purchase a 6 x 75 replacement musket nipple for consistent ignition. I would recommend this rifle to anyone wanting a traditional Hawken-type muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Granbury, TX
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun (jsut not the ramrod)!

Date:October 6, 2011
I have owned one of these .54 caplocks for more than 20 years. It still shoots center. My only complaint (I've seen the same complaint from other owners) is the ramrod. Throw the original away and replace it with a good synthetic one. You don't glue the ends on a ramrod! You pin them on! I replaced mine after my first practice session when the cleaning jag end pulled off inside the barrel. I bought a hickory blank and made my own replacement. Since then I have bought a synthetic one.
Except for the ramrod, this is an excellent rifle. I have killed elk and deer with it. It was worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one more thing...

Date:February 19, 2011
I forgot to mention in my first review that the ramrod is terrible. It fell apart during my first outing. Replace it ASAP; the T/C universal power rod works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: washington state
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal

Date:October 26, 2010
I purchased this rifle 10/23/10 and after a quick sight in took er hunting !. It was raining [ as usual ] but the gun fired without hesitation and I tagged my dear ! . This gun is accurate !!! , looks good and mounts quickly to your shoulder , she's a bit heavy but I like the heft , balance and feel is equal to the t/c [ for me ] . I recommend this rifle to any one wanting a solid reliable shooter. For you detailed oriented guys : powder = pyrodex rs 90 grns, bullet = 295gr power belt h/p , cap = cci #11 , range 96 yards , the bullet was found just under the hide on the opposite side . So why the 4 rating ?… a small crack just above the wedge pin plate I found after sighting in.I've not contacted cabelas yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Philly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First order of business - upgrade the nipple!

Date:July 27, 2010
Purchased the right handed Hawken #11 percussion cap in .54 cal. This was my first black powder firearm.
Rifle is beautiful, good wood, workmanship and fit/finish seems to be top rate. Getting the barrel on is a bit of a struggle, a very tight fit. Take your time when installing - it seems as though it might be easy to crack the stock if you aren't careful.
I had trouble with the stock #11 cap nipple that came with the rifle. Many misfires - failure to fire after the cap went off. I tried CCI magnum caps and remington caps but the misfires continued. On the advice of another reviewer I upgraded to a hotter musket nipple and the gun has gone 'bang' every time since! I'll save you the trouble of looking, you need Cabela's item #IA-213451, size 6x75MM and a musket nipple wrench. Upgrade and you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 50 cal Hawkins rifle

Date:March 9, 2010
I purchased this rifle a couple of weeks ago. This gun is outstanding, I have been shooting black powder gun's for many years and I have owned many guns. This one is a great buy. Looks great and shoots even better. I had three other shooter's with me and they all really liked this gun. Very accurate with round balls and no hesitation from the time you pull the trigger to the time the ball leaves the barrel. I will own another one. Great buy..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Munford, Al.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a gun

Date:October 26, 2008
I have had one of these rifles for several years. I Fired my deceased fathers rifle today, which has been charged and stored since 1988. It fired like I charged it today and with out any hesitation. For those of you who don't know charging a muzzle loader is when you put in the powder and bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HAWKEN

Date:September 29, 2008
Beautiful rifle that carries well and comes to the shoulder easy. Hiked for hours with the rifle and took a high mountain mule deer with 1 shot. Attaching the barrel to the reciever was tough. It could have been fitted better. Other than that it was well built.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle

Date:December 3, 2007
Overall, this rifle is a good base rifle for the blackpowder enthusiast that enjoys the simplicity and nostalgia of a sidelock. I have owned mine for nearly 5 years now and have very few complaints at the present time. At first my rifle had some ignition issues with the stock #11 nipple, but a conversion to musket caps solved them with great results. This rifle is very accurate and consistent, and with the addition of Creedmoor sights I can now "reach out and touch" whatever I am shooting at. The double-set triggers are a definate plus, and with some minor gunsmithing can be set to be extremely sensitive to prevent pulling off target. Overall, this rifle is a good substitute for the more expensive brands, and my shot groups have done more than recommended this rifle to all my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Cabelas Hawken

Date:December 2, 2007
I have owned my Cabela's Hawken for approximately 10 years. When I received the firearm, the hammer would not line up with the nipple and I had to remove the lock and add a tiny spacer between the wood and lock plate positioned where the hammer is located. This solved the problem.
Ignition was my next problem. Fresh caps would not always ignite. This happened about half the time, and when they would ignite, they would not always ignite the charge in the firearm. I would have to fire additional caps several times to get complete firing. I ordered several additional different types of nipples that were considered "HOT". The best nipple was the "Red Hot" nipples. I now encountered 100% cap ignition, but the charges did not always ignite.
Without the charge always igniting, I found the Remington caps that say "New 40% Hotter". They must be hotter because I have enjoyed a consistent 100% ignition.
It took many trials and errors to solve my problems, but this firearm is extremely accurate. It is a very attractive firearm and I have enjoyed winning many shoots with our muzzleloading club. I truely enjoy and trust this firearm now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 cal hawken rifle

Date:October 9, 2007
The Hawken is a good looking, good shooting percussion rifle. I've had it to the range several times the past few and it's shooting 3-4 inche grups, with iron sights using Buffalo Bullets maxi's with a 90 grain load of Pyrodex. I will be in the woods come muzzleloader season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 56