Customer Reviews for .30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

.30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

This right-handed percussion rifle uses #11 caps. It has a hefty 29" octagonal barrel with a 1-in-48" twist which delivers excellent hunting accuracy. The clean, functional lines suit traditionalists, while our fully adjustable sights appeal to serious hunters and target shooters who demand the utmost in accuracy. Top-grade walnut stocks with brass trigger guards, curved buttplates, forend caps, ferrules and ramrod fittings make a handsome package. Color case-hardened locks contain hefty coil springs. Each rifle has a safe, solid hooked breech and latch pin for easy barrel removal and cleaning. Adjustable double set triggers are also standard. Calibers: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Review 41 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hawken percussion 50 cal.

Date:October 21, 2009
I little trouble getting the barrel into the stock. Nothing a little sand paper couldnt fix. The gun is spectacular.I shot nice groups with a round ball. Still need to try connicles. Just as easy to look at as it is to shoot. This is my first muzzleloader. So if i could figure it out anybody could with this rifle. A+++ is my rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alexander, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

Date:December 29, 2009
It was perfect!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 50 cal Hawkins rifle

Date:March 9, 2010
I purchased this rifle a couple of weeks ago. This gun is outstanding, I have been shooting black powder gun's for many years and I have owned many guns. This one is a great buy. Looks great and shoots even better. I had three other shooter's with me and they all really liked this gun. Very accurate with round balls and no hesitation from the time you pull the trigger to the time the ball leaves the barrel. I will own another one. Great buy..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:April 11, 2010
The rifle was a great shot. The gun shipped fast and was in good condition. It was very fun to shoot and was a great buy. The only problem is that after taking it out shooting it 2 times, we noticed a very small crack in the butt of the stock, we are not sure if the gun came like that or if it cracked while he were shooting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Philly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First order of business - upgrade the nipple!

Date:July 27, 2010
Purchased the right handed Hawken #11 percussion cap in .54 cal. This was my first black powder firearm.
Rifle is beautiful, good wood, workmanship and fit/finish seems to be top rate. Getting the barrel on is a bit of a struggle, a very tight fit. Take your time when installing - it seems as though it might be easy to crack the stock if you aren't careful.
I had trouble with the stock #11 cap nipple that came with the rifle. Many misfires - failure to fire after the cap went off. I tried CCI magnum caps and remington caps but the misfires continued. On the advice of another reviewer I upgraded to a hotter musket nipple and the gun has gone 'bang' every time since! I'll save you the trouble of looking, you need Cabela's item #IA-213451, size 6x75MM and a musket nipple wrench. Upgrade and you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: newcastle ,wy
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk ramrod

Date:October 23, 2010
just fired for first time.ran a cleaning patch on a jag in between shots and the end fell off of the ramrod,stuck halfway down the barrel .just glued on.would not recommend ,.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: washington state
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal

Date:October 26, 2010
I purchased this rifle 10/23/10 and after a quick sight in took er hunting !. It was raining [ as usual ] but the gun fired without hesitation and I tagged my dear ! . This gun is accurate !!! , looks good and mounts quickly to your shoulder , she's a bit heavy but I like the heft , balance and feel is equal to the t/c [ for me ] . I recommend this rifle to any one wanting a solid reliable shooter. For you detailed oriented guys : powder = pyrodex rs 90 grns, bullet = 295gr power belt h/p , cap = cci #11 , range 96 yards , the bullet was found just under the hide on the opposite side . So why the 4 rating ?… a small crack just above the wedge pin plate I found after sighting in.I've not contacted cabelas yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one more thing...

Date:February 19, 2011
I forgot to mention in my first review that the ramrod is terrible. It fell apart during my first outing. Replace it ASAP; the T/C universal power rod works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Granbury, TX
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun (jsut not the ramrod)!

Date:October 6, 2011
I have owned one of these .54 caplocks for more than 20 years. It still shoots center. My only complaint (I've seen the same complaint from other owners) is the ramrod. Throw the original away and replace it with a good synthetic one. You don't glue the ends on a ramrod! You pin them on! I replaced mine after my first practice session when the cleaning jag end pulled off inside the barrel. I bought a hickory blank and made my own replacement. Since then I have bought a synthetic one.
Except for the ramrod, this is an excellent rifle. I have killed elk and deer with it. It was worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Hawken

Date:December 7, 2011
I have owned a Cabela's Traditional Hawken for 20 years. It is built like a tank and has taken a deer or two in states with muzzleloader seasons. I have only shot conicals and it is very accurate. I would have given it 5-stars, but it does not like to ignite some powders with the standard #11 nipple. Do yourself a favor and purchase a 6 x 75 replacement musket nipple for consistent ignition. I would recommend this rifle to anyone wanting a traditional Hawken-type muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Absarokee,Mt
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hawken 50 cal cabela's

Date:January 9, 2012
really like the rifle....but... when you get yours the first thing you will want to do is replace the ram-rod... the one that comes with is junk and will come apart right away... rifle shoots great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dekalb Junction, New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Back to tradition

Date:January 11, 2012
Nice rifle. Shoots truse and is easy to use. Traditional hunting is a great experiance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun to Shoot

Date:February 15, 2012
Great Rifle...Only problem is the ram rod...Tip came off right away but was fixed with a little super glue...Recommend getting a replacement for the rod if you are going to use a lot...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a happy gun owner

Date:September 30, 2012
I received my Cabelas 50 Cal. Hawkin rifle as a gift, If it were not a gift I would not buy it. The Brass fittings were not fully polished and the trigger guard had sharp edges. The trigger guard was not polished on the underside and it was sanded rough. The hammer was binding on the stock and needed to be relieved. The lock was not oiled and the set trigger would not work. I really disliked all the text stamped on the barrel, it's so bad that I can hardly read read it. Some of the the text looks it might have been doubled stamped and sightly off center. I have completely disassembled the rifle and re-worked the lock and trigger assembly. I have also re-polished all the brass and applied several additional coats of oil on the stock. The rifle looks and operates much better since I have completed the work. If I were Cabelas I would be embarrassed to put my name on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas traditional .50 muzzleloader

Date:January 15, 2013
The fit and finish were nice. As said before, the sights are just passable. I upgraded to a rear Tang Creedmore and an elevated front globe target sight. Now I can hit anything I can see. Works good with balls, great with conicals. The trigger is nice. 8lbs without the hair engaged, 1/2 lb with it engaged. I am giving it 3 stars because the barrel was crooked to the left from the factory. I fixed it because I am set to fi things like this. You may not be. When you get it, remove the barrel and put a strait edge on it and check it out. Return for exchange if warped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fun to shoot

Date:February 19, 2013
This black powder rifle is fun to shoot. If you are looking for a traditional style black powder rifle for those muzzelloader seasons or those H.A.M. hunts. This rifle will allow you to be able to add more time in the woods. If you hunt with this make sure you take the time to get familiar with this gun and work up the right load for the game animal you are hunting the .50 is capable of taking anything in north america if you do your part and practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-56 of 56