Customer Reviews for .30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

.30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand

This right-handed percussion rifle uses #11 caps. It has a hefty 29" octagonal barrel with a 1-in-48" twist which delivers excellent hunting accuracy. The clean, functional lines suit traditionalists, while our fully adjustable sights appeal to serious hunters and target shooters who demand the utmost in accuracy. Top-grade walnut stocks with brass trigger guards, curved buttplates, forend caps, ferrules and ramrod fittings make a handsome package. Color case-hardened locks contain hefty coil springs. Each rifle has a safe, solid hooked breech and latch pin for easy barrel removal and cleaning. Adjustable double set triggers are also standard. Calibers: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Review 21 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle

Date:December 3, 2007
Overall, this rifle is a good base rifle for the blackpowder enthusiast that enjoys the simplicity and nostalgia of a sidelock. I have owned mine for nearly 5 years now and have very few complaints at the present time. At first my rifle had some ignition issues with the stock #11 nipple, but a conversion to musket caps solved them with great results. This rifle is very accurate and consistent, and with the addition of Creedmoor sights I can now "reach out and touch" whatever I am shooting at. The double-set triggers are a definate plus, and with some minor gunsmithing can be set to be extremely sensitive to prevent pulling off target. Overall, this rifle is a good substitute for the more expensive brands, and my shot groups have done more than recommended this rifle to all my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:December 26, 2007
they're accurate dependable and if you take care of your rifle it'll last a long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Hawken

Date:December 31, 2007
I've owned my .54 Hawken for over 15 years. A neighbor had a Lyman's Great Plains Hunter in the same caliber. The proof markings on the barrel indicate that these were from the same factory but mine was significantly less expensive. He ended up buying one like mine for his brother. Still shoots great with better accuracy from round balls vs. conical bullets. I use black powder and have dropped a number of does with it out to ~90 yards; have yet to have one run on me more than 20 yards or so. I plan to shoot a hog with it after deer season ends in a few weeks. Great rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pasadenda , maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hawkens blackpowder

Date:January 7, 2008
i havebought two 54 cal hawkens i am left handed and have no trouble shooting 150-200 yds with this rifle. anyone who would like to shoot blackpowder old style this is the the one to buy!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 Cal. Hawken Percussion Rifle

Date:March 24, 2008
This is my second Cabela's Hawken rifle, the first was a .54 cal., and like the first, this one performed flawlessly. I did recommend it to a friend who is now the proud owner of the identical rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bossier City, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle .54p

Date:May 11, 2008
What a rifle! It is the talk about by everyone at work. Looks great on the wall, shoots just as good as it looks! Wife wants me to get the flintlock version next for a matched pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:June 2, 2008
very nice gun shoots very well no problems with it thinking about buy a flintlock now you guys sell top of the products keep up the good work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:September 7, 2008
I have owned this gun for many years in .54 caliber percussion. It was the first black powder gun I purchased. This has been an excellent gun. Superb fit and finish. Beautiful wood grain on the stock.
After reading some of the other reviews, I wanted to state my opinion. This rifle has a 1 in 48” rifling twist rate. This gun will not shoot sabots very accurately, but round balls are excellent and a close second are maxi ball conicals. I don’t think I’ve found a more accurate black powder gun yet. I shot my first black powder buck with it at 97 yards. If you want to shoot sabots, buy an inline with a fast twist rate.
There are only a couple of things about this rifle that I would want changed. I agree with some of the other reviews that the rear sight adjustment screw moves way too easily, causing unseen adjustments. I replaced mine with a williams adjustable and they work great. The ramrod is wood and doesn’t hold up well with water cleaning. I replaced mine with a blown fiberglass unit. Also the ramrod didn’t want to stay seated well from new. I cut off the pocket clip from an old pen cap and glued in the inside of the ramrod pocket of the stock and that works well to add a little friction to hold it in place. I also agree with the wedge pin fitting loose. Mine might be a little worse as I removed all my brass hardware and high polished them. Putting a slight bend in the pin in a vise fixed that issue as well.
Though this sounds like too much tinkering, I still think this gun is worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Normantown,WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent rifle

Date:September 8, 2008
Rifle has an excellent finish and overall appearance. The lock has a good crisp feel and break at the trigger. The barrel has excellent rifling and good deep bluing. The stock has a good grain and wood to metal fit.The brass is well polished, it looks great. This is a good quality rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: American Falls ,ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trim 54

Date:September 26, 2008
Most beautiful Hawken rifle i ever seen and the price was good.Poorman's TC in my eyes and alot better than Traditions Hawkens. I 'm hoping it will put some elk on the table this year in Idaho
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HAWKEN

Date:September 29, 2008
Beautiful rifle that carries well and comes to the shoulder easy. Hiked for hours with the rifle and took a high mountain mule deer with 1 shot. Attaching the barrel to the reciever was tough. It could have been fitted better. Other than that it was well built.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Porum,OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Hawken Rifle

Date:October 22, 2008
The gun is very nice, and shoots good. The only flaw is the factory nipple the caps don't go off all the time. Save your self some time and order the Knight red hot nipple at the same time you order your new Hawkens rifle. You should be pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Munford, Al.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a gun

Date:October 26, 2008
I have had one of these rifles for several years. I Fired my deceased fathers rifle today, which has been charged and stored since 1988. It fired like I charged it today and with out any hesitation. For those of you who don't know charging a muzzle loader is when you put in the powder and bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Zealand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hawken

Date:November 4, 2008
Recently
purchased one of your traditional Hawken rifles... By far the most
beatiful piece in my armory. Style and craftmanship at and affordable
price. Thanks Cabelas,
Reuben, N.Z.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southeast Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice rifle!...

Date:November 4, 2008
The only difference between this rifle and the Thompson Center is that you'll pay twice as much for the Thompson Center... I'm a very particular person and have not found a single flaw in the craftsmanship of this gun. I highly recommend this rifle to anyone that's interested in owning a Hawken!. Thanks Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Tn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

# 1

Date:November 15, 2008
This rifle is great to shoot. I could not believe the accuracy right out of the box. Excellent product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vincennes, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First gun I ever shot

Date:November 21, 2008
this was that first gun that i ever shot, and let me tell you, i did not want to put it down. i would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a high quality shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miles City, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Rig

Date:March 1, 2009
This is my first black powder rifle and I love it. It shoots very well. I have shot 2 rabits 1 at 25 yrds. and 1 at 75 yrds I feel it is very acurate. I did change the percussion cap to the muskit nipple and I also think this works much better. Great product.
I cant wait to go deer hunting this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:March 15, 2009
The replica hawkens gun is everything that I had haoped for in a muzzleloader. Shooting .50 caliber round balls and 110 grains of powder I get very good groups out to 80 yds and can put 3 consecutive shots inside a pie plate at 100 yds. Great gun would recomend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Right Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For the price, GREAT shooter

Date:May 1, 2009
This weapon is beautiful to see in person, and a great shooter, very accurate.
One note, use Remington Caps. I had problems with ignition, sometimes needing to use 2-3 CCI caps. Once I changed the nipple out and turned to Remington #10 you are ready to go.
Also this thing shoots conicle bullets like no one's business.
Very happy with this rifle. I also have the Great Plains rifle, and I would say that for shooting both are about equal, it really comes down to your personal feel and looks. This Great Plains of course longer/heavier, this one I think prettier.
Also as this has the 1/48 twist you can shoot RB and Conicle, where the Great Plains is at 1/66 just RB, unless you get the hunter version.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 56