Customer Reviews for CBE Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CBE Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle

Handling this rifle generates images of exotic places and hunts for dangerous game. It is perfectly capable of handling tricky situations when a quick second shot is needed if your quarry is a whitetail deer or even something larger and more threatening. This high-quality double rifle has barrels regulated to point of aim at 75 yards, fully adjustable double folding rear leaf sights and ramp front, and oil-finished, select European walnut stock. Twist rates are 1 turn in 24" for the caliber. Lock, top tang and trigger guard are polished and engraved. Overall length: 45-1/4" Weight: 9.3 lbs. Caliber: .72, .50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Review 1 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

50 cal. Kodiak Muzzleloader

Date:May 5, 2012
I've been working with German & British double rifles for about 20 years now, and own a few. I was wanting a knock around double, something I wouldn't have to be quite so careful with and I have had a love affair with muzzleloaders for close to 40 years.. After reading and doing a lot of checking with others who own one I took a chance on this Pedersoli Kodiak. The rifle isn't much when compared to the doubles I'm used to working with. It's heavy, not what one could consider balanced at all, the triggers reminded me of dragging a chain down a gravel road, fit and finish are barely ok and the nipples are terrible. For the price and it being a production rifle I didn't expect a Best quality double.....but I expected more than what I got. I've had to do a LOT of work to the locks to get the triggers almost acceptable. The sear and tumbler were both being bound up and had to be relieved.
I have a lot of experience regulating doubles with the loads so what the heck, let's see where it shoots. All loads were fired with Ffg black powder and my home made lube consisting of castor oil and beeswax mixed 50/50. As mine is an older rifle it has 1-48 twist. I tried RB's first and with 80 grs. they crossed over 3 inches at 25 yards. At 50 yards they crossed over 6 inces but grouping was fine with both barrels. Holes touching at 25 and approx 1 inch at 50. Obviously round balls are not going to make a hunting load, or any other load. The good news was that for elevation both barrels were within 1/2 in. of each other. I then borrowed a mold from a friend that casts a maxi-type projectile of 370 grains. This would shoot slower and hopefully bring the barrels together. I dropped the charge to 70 grains but had to use a .025 card wad over the powder and a newsprint wad between the card wad and projectile before any accuracy was gained. That particular load shot well except that the barrels are still crossing at 50 yards by 2-2 1/2 inches. I have since ordered a custom mold that will throw a projectile of 450 grains of straight lead and will be .85 in length. The added weight should finish bringing the barrels together. If such is the case I will have a knock around double.
My honest opinion.......the rifle is a club.....but it's a lot of fun and I enjoy working with doubles and especially muzzleloaders. It has added to my educaiton. It will be of great help if you know how to make a double shoot. If both barrels are on for elevation they can usually be brought together with loads and shoot to one rear sight, as it should be. If they're off by much on elevation...well, there are tricks but I won't go into them here. I wouldn't recommend the rifle to anyone who doesn't have experience with double rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Double Barrel Rifle

Date:November 27, 2006
This gun has turned out totally useless for hunting, I like the looks of it so I have returned the gun twice for replacement. The problem is the same on the third gun I have now is that the barrels are not aligned at all. I have my own target range and have been shooting for 50 years and muzzleloader deer hunting for 15 years.
I have replaced the sights many times with more precision sights and have experimented with every bullet, sabot and powder combination and can not get any good accurracy or the barrels to shoot together to the place of aim.
I took it out and shot it recently using 100 gr of Triple 7 FFG with an MMP Sabot and the 250 Gr Hornady SST .50 caliber bullet. Benchrest shooting at an 8" black bull at 100 yards with a green fiber optic front sight and a Lyman rear peep the best I could do was a 2" group with the right barrel 7" to the left of zero and the left barrel shot a 4" group 6" to the right and 12" high from zero.
Getting really disgusted again, since I wanted to use it for deer hunting this year, I tried to sight it in at 50 yards which turned out to be an equal disaster.
This gun is totally useless for deer beyond 25 yards and what really irks me is the catalog add that said that the barrels were regulated to the point of aim at 75 yards. It looks nice though...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kokomo, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent Double for the Money

Date:January 6, 2010
My double .72 arrived under the Christmas tree this year. I've had my eye on this rifle since it first came out. First impressions were quite good. It's very substantial, appears to be built solid, and the trigger pulls are nice. Interestingly enough, the inside of the barrels have a strange greenish stain on the steel, prior to shooting. The outside barrel blueing was a tad mottled if you held it in the right light too. Not bad, but for the $$$, it should be better.
As for shooting, my rifle left a bit to be desired as well. Both barrels shot very high at 50yds, even with the rear sights adjusted to the max, roughly 8" high for the right barrel and 10" high for the left. A new front sight was installed that was 0.100" taller and this remedied the problem. Another issue was that of barrel regulation. It's nowhere close to being regulated at 75yds. Both barrels were crossing well before 50yds, even with a large range of powder types and charge weights. No big deal, as the two rear sights are independantly adjustable for each barrel. After all the adjustments were made, I am however getting the 550gr roundballs touching the same 1" dot at 50yds from both barrels.
Overall, this is a fun, decently built blackpowder double for the money. With that being said, there were some flaws that would likely be rectified by the fine customer service at Cabelas, but I chose to just fix the issues myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kodiak Express

Date:May 18, 2009
Overall I think it is a pretty good rifle. The finish and looks are what you would expect from a Davide Pedersoli rifle. I have only taken it out and shot it twice (about 40 rounds). Many reviewers said they had problems getting theirs to shoot a a group (both barrels regulated at 75 yards) at 75 yards. I got mine shooting a 31/2 to 4 inch group (Pedersoli claims 15 cm at that range, a little less than 6 inches). Some of this I think is related to the triggers, which are not that nice, they are hard and different. The sights are just okay, mine shoots high at 75 yards with all of the adjustment as low as they will go (i can open the slots and it will work or I might just change them). I am shooting triple 7 with power belts. It is most accurate with 295 grain bullet (more so than the heavy bullets likely due to the 1 in 24 twist rate). I still need to experiment they charge ( 80 grains so far works pretty good). However, until I work on the triggers it is a mute point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.72 Big Bore

Date:January 22, 2007
I bought the .72 caliber in 2002. I didn't really believe the claims of "regulated for 75 yards" when I bought the gun- you're not going to get a regulated double rifle for under $1,000. As expected, the barrels shoot nowhere near the same point of impact, but that's OK because it comes fitted with 2 folding rear sights. I use one sighted for the right barrel and the other sighted for the left barrel- which is obviously how the manufacturer intends the gun to be used or they wouldn't fit 2 rear sights to the gun. Flipping one rear sight down and flipping the other one up for the second shot only takes a second and is a whole heck of a lot faster than reloading a single-barreled gun. I had to get a taller front sight for the gun because it shot 1.5 feet high at 50 yards with the rear sights adjusted all the way down when I first got the gun. I installed a higher front sight from Lyman (it takes a little stoning of the sight base to get it to fit the European dovetail, but it only takes a few minutes to do) and have had no problems with the sights since. I use a 140 grain equivelent of Hodgdon 777 and get a chronographed muzzle velocity of 1,500 fps with the 550 grain balls. NOTE: the round balls that Cabela's sells for this gun ARE NOT ROUND and don't shoot well because they're egg-shaped. I bought a .715 inch round ball mould from Lyman to cast my own. Accuracy (with the Lyman balls) is about what I've always gotten from other traditional-style muzzleloaders shooting round balls, about 4 inch groups at 100 yards. I've shot 4 deer and 3 hogs with this gun and terminal performance is outstanding. Blood trails are much better than most blood trails I've gotten from .50 caliber smoke-poles and I get complete penetration on deer and sow hogs from any angle no matter how much bone is hit, and the lead balls expand to over 1 inch in diameter. On large boar hogs, the expanded balls stop under the hide on the off-side because of the thick gristle plates the big ones have over their shoulders, but the internal damage and blood trails are still impressive. Of the 7 critters I've shot with it so far- 3 deer and 2 hogs dropped in their tracks, 1 deer ran but didn't make it out of sight before dropping, and 1 large hog made it out of sight (ran about 100 yards). The reason I got the .72 caliber was that I was tired of looking for blood trails on my hands and knees when using a .50. I'm very impressed with the performance of the .72 caliber round balls and the loaded second barrel is a big plus. I plan to use this gun on every muzzleloader hunt from now on because of the great terminal performance. My single-barrel .50 caliber will gather dust unless I go on a hunt in a state that doesn't allow double-barrels. Reasons I gave it 4 stars instead of 5: 1) barrels not regulated (again, I expected that for this price), 2) needed higher front sight, 3) stock needs to be sealed better. About the last point- I missed a buck this season because of rainy weather after the season began. I re-checked the zero and both barrels shot way low because the stock had absorbed moisture and changed the bedding pressure. That's the first time point of impact has shifted like that during the season and a little thinned polyurethane on the stock inletting should ensure that it's the last time. This is not a gun that will come out of the box ready to hunt- you will have to tinker to make it shoot right, so make sure you allow enough time before your first hunt with it to work out the wrinkles. But the results are well worth the tinkering. I really like this gun and I'm glad I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rifle

Date:April 2, 2013
I purchased the double barrel 10 ga. last year and found it to be a great shooter, so decided to try the double rifle. It is also very well made and a nice looking gun. Fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deal

Date:December 27, 2012
Outstanding value !! Well made - no flaws. Had it examined by a VERY good gunsmith who was astonished with the quality and workmanship. This fine double will spend many hours afield pursuing hogs and deer. As always Cabelas delivers what they advertise - that's why I'm a loyal customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Choctaw, Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.72 Kodiak

Date:November 2, 2009
I have the .72 version and loaded with 140 grains of 777, .010 lubed patch and cast Lyman's .715 pure lead round balls in regulates prfectly . Some reviews are saying these don't regulate, but this one is puting both barrels using one sight into one ragged hole at 50 yards. I did have to replace the front sight with a lower one as the original one was too high and it shot about a foot low. One other thing is you need to throw away the nipples that come with it, they are too soft. I installed 2 primer conversion units that use a 209 primer and it shoots every time. Heck ,I would take on TREX with this one!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Kodiak Express Double Rifle

Date:October 19, 2009
I bought this in .58 caliber. I found the barrels to be regulated at 50 yards using pyrodex and 555 grain maxi-balls. The groups were good at about 2 inches at 50 yards. I recommend changing to after market nipples.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

double

Date:August 17, 2009
I have on of these in .58
You will be lucky if you get one that is regulated!
Pedersoli sells them as unregulated, hence the double back sight. Idea is to dial in a sight for each barrel.
Some guys hit a luck and get one that groups well from both barrels, but many don't!
Mine were pretty good for windage (+/- 1.5 inch at 40 yards) but "out" for elevation (+/- 4 inches at 40 yards).
You may also need to experiment with different bullets to find the one that the gun likes!
I now regulate my loads and the gun groups very well at forty yards - one big ragged hole! I shoot a heavy minie (490 grains) from the right barrel and a lighter "plains" style bullet (415) grains from the left!
Have taken many warthog with this rifle.
Ignore the claim that the gun is regulated, and experiment a little, and you will get an excellent close to medium range rifle!
I agree that one should pinch the cap for the barrel to be fired second!
NB - do not try and zero from a bench - double rifle barrel harmonics don't respond well to this! i sight in from tripod shooting sticks with on the fore end supported! this was not my idea, I got it from a web site on double rifles!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Danville, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's kodiak express rifle

Date:June 16, 2009
This rifle is made with a great amount of attention to quality. Fit and finish is very good as well as accuracy.White tails and boar are in trouble now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Washington desert.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

72 caliber Kodiak

Date:August 18, 2008
My generous friends gave me one last night and we had a great time with it.
We shot about 24 lead balls through it and about 12 shotgun loads. The lead balls were at point of aim and within a couple of inches of each other at 25 yards offhand, which is good enough for me.
I was useing 70 grains of Pyrodex P and there was still enough energy to split small logs.
Shooting skeet with it was a little harder, but we did manage to bust a few.
There were a few misfires from the right barrel, I think it's because of either some fouling, or the fact that Pyrodex does not light quite as well as Goex.
The quality of the stock does not quite match the quality of the barrels.
The inside of the barrels is not mirror smooth by any standard, it's a little rough, but that may be normal for this type rifle.
Trigger pulls were fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: rural northwest Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kodiak Express

Date:May 21, 2008
I had admired these for several years ,then a trip through Mn. in 1998 I found one in 58 caliber just like my civil war replica Zouove, I broke down and bought one. I changed the nipples to use musket caps and shoot a 58 caliber minnie ball with 47 grains of FFG black powder. the same as my NSSA load. this rifle will roll a Pop can at 50 yards in the field with either barrel, and go through a whitetail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pickens, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kodiak .72

Date:October 21, 2007
The fit and finish is fine and it is a very well made and stout rifle. Cabela's is the best for replacing items, and it took going through several rifles to get one that has both barrels regulated in accordance with the stated 55-75 yards, but the third one is absolutely on target. It shoots both barrels into one hole at 25 yds and both barrels into 4" at 50 yds. This is with 545 grain round balls over 110-125 H777 powder. This will take anything on the North Americam Continent when properly loaded. Outstanding product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Alabama.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Cal Kodiak Double Express Rifle.

Date:August 18, 2007
I Have wanted one of these rifles for about 20 years now, and finally this past spring ('07), I purchased one in .54 caliber. The rate of twist is 1in24". I've only shot it at the range so far, and I worked up a load of 120 grs. of American Pioneer 3-Fg loose powder under a 405 gr Powerbelt hollow point bullet. Let me say this; the barrels on mine ARE regulated, as I shot at 25, 50 & 75 yards respectively. With this load, and sights adjusted, I put 2 rounds (one each bbl) about 1 & 1/2 inch high, and dead above 10-ring, about 1" apart. At 50 yds, with the front (rear) sight, the next two rounds were dead-on, and only about 3/8 to 1/2" apart. The rear (rear) sight was set for 75 yds, the first shot hit at appx. 7 o'clock, between the 10 & 9-ring. The second shot (right bbl) bisected the first shot. I was using a rest, and ran a bore-brush between the 2nd & 3rd string. Despite the 10+ pounds, I'd tote this honey into the woods anytime!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hunter

Date:July 23, 2007
great gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kodiak Express .54 Double Rifle

Date:January 22, 2007
I have had my rifle for a couple on months, and the craftsmanship is excellent. It has made several trips to the range to sight in and work up loads. My .54 has 1 in 65 twist barrels. Newer models have a faster twist. The faster twist barrels will enable one to shoot heavy bullets with more powder and subsequently at a faster speed. However, I think the charges I am using will do anything necessary in terms of killing power. Faster FPS will give flatter trajectory if shooting over 100 yards.
The rifle has two adjustqable (for windage and elevation) rear sights and one front sight. I have experimented with round balls. 310 ballets, and 425 grain hollow-base and hollow-point maxi bullets. Using 110 grains of 777 FF powder, I am able to put shots from both barrels in a 6" bulleyes at 100 yards. With a little more experimentation, I think it will shoot better. It handles all three projectiles well.
One more thing, using #11 caps has occasionallycaused a cap to fly off the unfired barrel when firing the other one. I found the hammer spring adequate to fire #10 primers which stay on better. Otherwise, one may wish to slightly pinch the edge of the cap before using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Davide Pedersoli Kodiak Express Double Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tullahoma, Tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cableas Kodiak Double Rilfe

Date:October 20, 2006
I purchased the massive .72 caliber version of this rifle and it shoots as good as it looks. It is a blast at the range and it draws ALLOT of attention. At 75 yards no binoculars are needed to see the huge hole the 550 grain round ball leaves!!!! I recommend this rifle to anyone for the rifle range or the woods!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.