Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand

CABELA'S Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand

This left-handed percussion rifle uses #11 caps. It has a hefty 29" octagonal barrel with a 1-in-48" twist for excellent hunting accuracy. The clean, functional lines suit traditionalists, while our fully adjustable sights appeal to serious hunters and target shooters who demand the utmost in accuracy. Top-grade walnut stocks with brass trigger guards, curved buttplates, forend caps, ferrules and ramrod fittings make a handsome package. Color case-hardened locks contain hefty coil springs. Each rifle has a safe, solid hooked breech and latch pin for easy barrel removal and cleaning. Adjustable double set triggers are also standard. Calibers: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Review 1 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2006

Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle

By
Location: Auburn, WA
The Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle is a beautifully crafted rifle. It is reliable, accurate and very easy to clean and maintain. I own a .50 caliber left-handed model and have used it for deer hunting for the last two years with a 100% success rate!! I definitely recommend this rifle to anyone who appreciates high quality shooting equipment at a resonable price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2007

Bought mine in 1992

By
Location: Washington State
Well all I can say is it just keeps shooting better all the time, I have put over 5000 rounds through it and it shoots great.
It was my first Black Powder gun, something to learn on. I have never had a need to move to one of those new BP guns, I do a lot of hunting in wooded areas and most of my shots have been close but a few years ago I was elk hunting and was taking a lunch break and sitting on a log at the edge of a clear cut area. Well a nice bull stepped out of the trees about 125 yards away and spotted me right away. I had a fast minute to shoot and did. He took three steps and dropped like he was hit by a truck. That .54 went in one side and out the other. I love this gun.........I would buy it again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2007

Shoot it

By
Location: Riverside RI
I have had my Cabela's precussion Hawkin for several years. I won our club black powder competition twice and second place once with this fine fire arm. I shot against sabots and every thing you can shoot from a black powder fire arm and still won. It shoots exactly where you aim it. If I missed, it is not the Hawkins fault, it is mine. I would, and have, strongly recommended this fire arm to members of my club who are just begining to shoot black powder. I have so much faith in this fire arm, my next purchase will be a flintlock Hawkin from Cabela's. I have been shooting since 1969 I have owned Springfield 03 A3. Endfields 303, Mauser M98 chambered for .308, and used M14s and M16s in the Army, this is the most accurate rifle of all. I love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Black powder rifle........

By
Location: Eugene/Springfield OR
This is the third Cabela Hawkin Rifle that I have purchased. My first two were "right handed", one a 54 cal, the second, a 50 cal. I have used them hunting and have been very successful with the rifles (one shot kills) Because I am 65 years old, my ability to focus well on the open sights is not what it was when I was younger. I have installed a reciever/aperture sight on the 50 caliber, and will say that these rifles are indeed very accurate. Groups at 75 yds compare with centerfire hunting rifles at 100yds.
This most recent purchase of the "left hand" model, was for a gift to my south-paw son. The Cabela Hawkin is one of the few true left handed black powder rifles available, and I feel having the hammer/cap on the side of the gun away from the face is a very desirable safety feature
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2008

Finely a rifle for lefties.

By
Location: Medford OR
A very nice rifle for the price for sure!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2008

Black powder Rifle

By
Location: Mancos, Colorado
My husband loves the look, the handling of the rifle is perfect . Beautiful wood.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2008

No complaints, great shooter

By
Location: NW Ohio
Everyone seems to mention that this is a great "starter" rifle. I would put it in a category above that. Have had mine for about 6 years with no complaints. I love this gun! The fit and finish is A+ and the accuracy is great. Solid and well built. I don't think you would find a better one for the money. I would not hesitate to put it up against a Lyman or T/C. I have never had any of the problems with mine that some other reviewers have had- misalignment of hammer/nipple, poor ignition, caps not firing, wedge pin fitting loose, etc. I use standard CCI #11 and never any problems. This is made by Investarms in Italy so if you can't get parts from Cabelas it can be a challange getting them from Investarms. I lost a non-functional part and did manage to get one straight from Investarms. This gun comes apart and cleans easily and looks great. Some people mentioned problems with the sight screw coming loose but I replaced both sights (by choice not necessity) as soon as I got it. I had the top of the barrel drilled and tapped (further back than factory position) for a Williams rear receiver peep sight. I had a Williams fiber optic front installed as well. This is a deadly combination and lines up perfectly and fast. I mainly use TC maxi-hunters out of this but plan to experiment with patch and ball when I get time. The conicals are very accurate, hit hard, and in fact dropped an 8pt my first time out with this gun. I also replaced one of the ramrod thimbles with a replacement that has a swivel stud in it. The Browning horsehair sling looks nice on it and functions well. I don't plan on ever needing another muzzleloader to replace this one, it should last a long, long time. Just FYI I use 777 loose FFG in this with my maxi-hunters. It cleans so nice and easy with plain old water. To wrap it up, buy this you will be happy. Awesome muzzleloader!
One last thing- don't get mad at the gun if it doesn't shoot sabots accurately. It is not intended to. The rifling twist is suited for either patch 'n ball or conicals, not sabots. If you want to shoot sabots you should look at inlines instead.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

Very Good Gun

By
Location: Vermont
I have the 54 cal. I use only the swaged Buffalo Bullet Company round balls, CCI caps, and Jim Shockey's Gold FFFG powder. I have had this gun so long I can't remember when I bought it. It had to be when Cabela's first came out with the left-handed model. I did put fiber optic sights on it because of my eye sight. At 80 yards I cut holes. I also own a TC endeaver. I can also cut holes at 80 yards with it. But I have never enjoyed dropping a deer in it's track with that TC as I have with my trad round ball. Don't overload it and she will shoot with the best of them. I have bought and sold a lot of guns over the years. This one will be passed down to my son. Good Shooting!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

Excellent

By
Location: Willard, MO.
Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand is Excellent equipment. I would recommend the left or right handed rifles to anyone who would like a Percussion Rifle.
D.J.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

dont know if i would buy it again

By
Location: Hamden Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
i always wanted one and have shot diffrent ones.i like the old stlye and looks and craftman ship of the gun.but the bottom line of any gun is how it shoots and this one doesnt shoot very good and does not hold a very good grouping.hopeing to try diffrent bullets this summer to see if i can get it shooting any better
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

excellent gun

By
Location: florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have had the hawkens by thompson for a few years now . was it accurate when i first started shooting it? nope..i was using 100 gr of 777and sabboted bullets.so i dug in and went to work to try to find the load and bullet that my gun liked. i finally started making my own bullets and found that my gun liked the r.e.a.l (riffling engraved at loading) bullits that i was casting in the conical shape. then it became a matter of finding the right load.first i increased the load and accuricy got worse then i reduced it and it got better finally ending up at 85 grains and a 350gr bullit. people this weapon is now a tack driver and id put it up against any inline.its built solid and looks nice to boot.take the time to develop a load for this gun and you wont be dissapointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2011

An excellent value

By
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a very good overall value. I did a few things to improve it, though. 1) I bought fiber optic sights by Williams, which really improve aiming. 2) I put a limb saver recoil pad (item #IK-226562 in small size, with silicone glue to hold it on) on it, and then used a lace-up sling (item #IK-210183) to cover the limbsaver. It looks nice, and the combo really take the bite out of the recoil when using heavy conical bullets. 3) I use the mag-spark 209 primer adapter and Federal 209A shotgun primers. No, it won't fire BH209 without a 5 grain black powder duplex load, but 777 works REALLY well! The rifle seems to like heavy conicals-- 350 grain semi-spitzers and 390 grain UL1 spitzer HPs over 70-80 grains of 777, with 1 hole groups at 50 yards!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Hawkens LH .58 Cal.

By
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Born/raised in West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great Rifle, shame that the .58 isn't offered anymore. To me it is the best caliber for Round Ball. Flies good and retains more down range energy due to the 295 grain ball. Have taken numerous deer with it and none of them have traveled more than 30 yards after hitting them. Use 90 grains of FF Pyrodex. #11 Cap with Hotshot nipple. Won Mountain man trophy with it. Extremely accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle - Left Hand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012

Good Looking Wall Hanger

By
Location: Rochester, WA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a really good looking gun that did not work for long. The hammer would not fall all the way about half the time, after about 12 shots it stoped falling all the way all the time. The store swapped out the stock for me. It started doing the same thing and again after about 12 shots the hammer would not hold kock. I've owned an Interarms Cabela's right hand lock and never had a problem with it. Cabela,s store gave me really good service on this bad luck gun and refunded my money on it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.