Customer Reviews for POOF-SLINKY Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

POOF-SLINKY Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle

Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifles have large, sure-spark frizzen and ample priming pan. These precision-rifled 39" browned octagonal barrels with 1 turn in 48" (1-in-65 in .54 cal.) twist deliver exceptional precision with patched round balls, plus the .45 and .50 caliber will handle conical bullets surprisingly well. Locks are color case-hardened. Adjustable double-set triggers. Buttplate and trigger guard are polished brass.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Review 1 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Favorite Flintlock

Date:November 27, 2012
The Pedersoli Blue Ridge is an incredible firearm . I believe it to be the best factory made gun of it's type . I own two of them , one is a .32 cal and the other a .50 cal . They both are very reliable , dependable and accurate . It has a good sparking and fast shooting lock when using a 7/8" x 1 " black English flint and 4 grains of 4F black powder in the pan . It is also very easy to dissemble , maintain and clean . There is nothing more you can ask for in a mass produced flintlock . I would recommend this gun to a novice or an experienced black powder shooter .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:October 2, 2012
I have yet to take this gun to the range, but I'm confident that if it performs as good as it looks, I'll be thrilled. Its a beautiful weapon. Hardware shows fine craftsmanship. Stock has beautiful grain & finish. My only complaint is the owners manual is very generic. Nothing at all specific to this particular gun, such as parts blow-up or parts list. Had to figure out on my own how to field strip for cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value smoke-pole

Date:March 28, 2012
beautiful grain patterned stock; however, slight finish blemish on right side (opposite) of cheek rest. with very light prime this flinter fires quickly with ever so small of a lag time. some difficulty adjusting to buckhorn rear sightpicture, she grouped low, but filling down front site put it right in target black spot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cedar Swamp in Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 cal excellent product

Date:January 1, 2012
Purchased the .50 call several years ago. Was immediately impressed with quality, soon found accuracy with patch & ball excellent. I utilize FFg in gun and FFFFg in pan. Only a few fail to fires that were likely my fault. When I stopped overfilling the pan Fail to fires also ceased.
Only concern is with cleaning. It is a bit of chore compared to my other MLs. Particularly, the screws to remove the barrel are not easy to reach. Is there a replacement screw with a Torx head? Very surprised this hasn't been offered yet.
Definately would purchase another if the gun was offered in left hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice gun

Date:March 21, 2011
A bit expensive. The touchhole liner is a few threads too long, easily fixed. The front site is high, but not so high as everyone claims. The biggest problem was the brass hardware which holds the ramrod in place was cracked at the screwhole, which is important because this is the same hole for the screws which hold the barrel on. It is a nice accurate gun, however.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice!

Date:March 19, 2011
So far I have been impressed with every aspect of this gun. Fast lock, great fit and finish, barrel is smooth, wood grain is nice, great browning and the ergonomics is perfect for me.
Would like to see Cabela's bring back the .36 cal and I'd probably get one of those as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, UT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb flint lock.

Date:January 26, 2011
I have owned this rifle for over 12 years now. it is a 36 cal. This rifle is capable of amazing groups at 50 yards. There is a hang-fire with Pyrodex and Clear Shot but when using FFF Goex in the barrel and FFFF Goex in the pan ignition is instantaneous (as fast as a percussion rifle). Fit and function of this rifle are flawless. I am a pretty experienced gunsmith and an avid black powder shooter and I absolutely love this gun. I am very impressed with the balance and accuracy provided bu this rifle. I have since bought another of these fine rifles (54 cal percussion). I plan on purchasing another larger caliber rifle in the flint lock configuration. I love this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTHERN MUCHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.36 Blueridge Flintlock

Date:January 19, 2010
THIS GUN IS A REAL TREAT AND I AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT. THE METAL TO WOOD FIT AND FINISH IS EXCELLENT AND I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO COMPLAINTS.
ACCURACY IS PROBABLY BETTER THAN I AM BUT I BOUGHT IT FOR FUN AND FOR INEXPENSIVE SHOOTING AND HUNTING SMALL GAME AND I WILL GET UP TO SPEED WITH SOME PRACTICE. THE PRIMITIVE SIGHTS ARE A CHALLENGE FOR OLD EYES BUT FUN.
THE BROWNED BARREL IS WELL DONE, THOUGH THE BROWNING JOB IS A LITTLE LIGHT ON THE FACE OF THE MUZZLE.
THE SET TRIGGERS ARE REALLY CRISP AND EASY TO ADJUST AND USE.
THE WOOD IN THE STOCK WAS BETTER THAN I EXPECTED; THE CASE HARDENED LOCK IS FIRM, OF GOOD QUALITY AND WORKS WELL.
PEDRONCELI MAKES THIS WITH A MAPLE STOCK FOR A LITTLE MORE AND I WISH CABELAS WOULD STOCK THAT IN A .32 IN PERCUSSION... I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE ONE OF THOSE ALSO.
IN SHORT: WORTH EVERY PENNY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

blue ridge flintlock

Date:January 14, 2010
i received my blue ridge flintlock in a timely fashion. the wood finish was very nice, a simple very handsome look to it. love the the wood and finish. the only thing negative was that i found one ramrod thimble had broken somehow at the srew so it just fell off when i took off the ramrod. the front one is good, not worth sending back for. took it to the range, the igniton was almost instintaneous. i can't comment on accuracy because i really didn't work on that. i gave it five stars cause the sale price i bought it for was a steal for that quality flintlock, inspite of broken thimble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cleo beagle from maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

blue ridge .54 cal flintlock

Date:December 22, 2009
the blue ridge by d. pedersoli is a great shooter. the larger lock gives instant ignition. after filling the front sight down for a 25 yd zero with a 6 0clock hold,at 50 yds down a half inch and at 100 ydts down 4 inches. this is with prb and 90 gr 2ff goex. this is a great buy for the person who wants to hunt with a flintlock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Blue Ridge flintlock rifle

Date:November 21, 2009
It has taken several years of muzzleloader shooting to take a chance on a flintlock. I love it. For an accurate, light, easy to use flintlock this is the one. For those not wanting to take the time to learn the complications of shooting a flintlock I would recommend the percussion model. One of our match shooters is winning monthly with his. Jim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Cheney, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Blue Ridge Flintlock Rifle

Date:October 25, 2009
I recently purchased a .45 Cal Blue Ridge, Flintlock rifle. This is a sound and functional item and previous experience with earlier versions of this rifle have been fairly good. I'm a retired custom muzzleloading gunsmith and I wanted to expand my collection of loaner rifles to be used when I'm working on another gun. Upon receipt of this rifle I found the lock mechanism to be very stiff and determined that the mainspring was in need of a very slight amount of adjustment as well as the sear spring which need replacement due to it impenging upon the engagement notch on the cock tumbler causing excessive tension upon the trigger. After a bit of cleanup and polish work I managed to tune the lock to where it should have been when it came from the factory. This was the biggest shortcoming noted with this rifle's functioning but it was fixable without major effort.
I also found the front sight to be less than desireable for use in the woods due to the hatchet like shape causing it to be prone to snagging on just about everything everything it comes into contact with. This isn't much of a problem since sight adjustment usually requires some amount of file work to zero the sights and shaping can be corrected at that time. The other item I found less than desireable is the manner in which the trigger guard is fixed to the rifle. It is attached in the front by a screw attaching it to the trigger plate and so poorly fitted to the rifle that it's possible to see daylight between the front tang of the guard and the wood of the stock. It was in no way inletted into the wood of the stock. Neither was the rear tang where it was screwed onto the buttstock. In order to correct this manufacturor's short cut it will be necessary to relieve and inlet the parts into the wood of the stock after inletting the trigger plate about 1/8" into the wood so that front and rear tangs of the trigger guard don't have a pronounced, nailed on appearance. Once this is done it will be necessary to correct the clearances of the triggers because of the change of position. This is a cosmetic change only but if performed there will be mechanical changes that must be addressed for the rifle to perform correctly.
All in all, this rifle is a functional version of a design that has been manufactured by several companies over the years with each one making minor modifications to facilitate production. It will work in it's "as received" condition and perform it's required tasks reliably. It has the potential to be a very good, although not very authentic copy of early southern, woodland, longrifles that were used for everything from deer hunting and hog killing to squirrel hunting (requires head shots). While I haven't fired this rifle yet, I'm confident that it, as with previous versions I've owned will deliver excellent accuracy and service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:October 19, 2009
This was the 2nd Rifle I have received from Cabela's all with points, I got the better end of the deal! It's a great Flintlock Rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I live and hunt in Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

longrifle38

Date:July 19, 2009
I bought your Blue Ridge flintlock rifle several years ago and am very pleased with it. It has excellent finish and handles well. The lock works very good and the double set triggers are very good. I would reccomend this firearm to anyone. I have since bought a matching pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Choctaw, Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First flintlock

Date:June 11, 2009
I just recieved the Blue Ridge Flintlock yesterday and when I opened the box I was stunned!!! The quality of this gun has to be seen to beleive. The lock sparks like crazy and you can hear it sizzel --HOT sparks! I have the 50 cal., it balances extremely well and the double triggers are great. Very much worth the money, I think I'm going to order another one in a different caliber--outstanding!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 Flintlock Match Quality Shooter

Date:December 15, 2008
Far the best for the money. As a shooter, I think simply unbeatable. The trigger is awesome, as are most double set triggers. I added a creedmore rear sight, because I can't see the iron sights anymore, and it is like scoping the rifle. Fit is very good, finish is very good. I shoot patched round balls, and shoot five shots into one jagged hole at 50 yards. Over a sandbag. Hard to imagine a a better shooting flintlock.
It is a pleasure to carry and shoot. It is a pig to clean, as are all black powder rifles that don't have easily removable barrels. But it's easily worth the trouble. I wish I could order different barrels for the rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge

Date:November 24, 2008
In response to the previous review, I agree, it is a good production gun. But, first, brass is very easy to tarnish and give a warm patina that's good in the woods by simply rubbing black powder fowling- just make sure you clean all other parts well. Secondly, wood rods are just fine (and traditional) if used correctly. The best replacement would be a hickory rod of the same size, but if used correctly, the wooden rod is fine. Thirdly, pyrodex or other synthetic powders should NEVER be used in fintlocks. Flintlocks only perform best with real black powder (which contrary to common myth is not more corrosive or harder to clean than synthetic.)
Good, quality gun, though the prices these days are a bit steep.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Blue Ridge Flintlock Rifle

Date:April 24, 2008
For my first flintlock rifle it is Ok, but for what you get it is overpriced. The brass finger guard is not fitted well to the stock it sticks up with a gap, I should have taken it back but did not think about it at the time. I will probly just fix the stock myself. I really do not like the polished brass look, I would prefer to have just blued metal.
The ram rod is a wooden dowel with brass ends and although it looks nice, the stick broke while pushing a ball in about the 6th time and I was not forcing it. For real shooting get yorself a fiberglass rod, save the wooden one for display hanging on the wall or whatever.
The lock works good so far, I use FFFF blackpowder in the flash pan and FF Pyrodex in the muzzle and she will fire everytime with good flint. The rifle will shoot stright and well if you keep your powders consistant.
It's one of those deals I like the rifle but for the price I think it could be better, maybe come with a really nice case, powder flasks, and a fiberglass rod and a wooden one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Florida woods
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great flinter

Date:March 2, 2008
Had this gun for thirteen years now. Bought it in .32 cal., then bought a Green Mountain barrel in .45 cal., put a tang on it, drilled a flash hole and now have interchangeable barrels. This gun is reliable, fantastic lock, well made and fun to shoot! Don't think you can go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cornish, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.36 caliber Blue Ridge flintlock rifle

Date:February 13, 2008
The Blue Ridge rifle that I purchased through Cabelas on-line shop is a pretty decent rendition of the American Longrifle of the 1780's. I did, however, have a small problem with it. The ramrod that came with it did not fit the bore at all, it was too large. As it was made of wood I had planned to dispose of it anyway, and so kept the problem to myself. I fixed this problem with a piece of brass round stock 5/16" in diameter, about 39 1/2" long with each end drilled and tapped at 10/32.
This made the ramrod too small for the ferrules but simply bushing them fixed that little problem.
The rifle shoots well, and has enough height to the front sight to guarranty that you'll be able to file it down to be sighted in with a particular powder charge and patched ball. There is really too much brass furniture and I would prefer Iron, but it is a pretty rifle and I've had no misfires with it. I would, and have, recommended it (in various calibers) to some of my friends, and will probably purchase the .54 caliber variant soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34