Customer Reviews for IRON TALON Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

IRON TALON Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle

Blue Ridge Percussion Rifles feature a drum and bolster system. These precision-rifled 39" browned octagonal barrels with 1 turn in 48" (1-in-65 in .54 cal.) twist deliver exceptional precision with patched round balls, plus the .45 and .50 caliber will handle conical bullets surprisingly well. Locks are color case-hardened. Adjustable double-set triggers. Buttplate and trigger guard are polished brass.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Review 1 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first Muzzleloader

Date:October 25, 2011
I own two blue ridge percussion rifles: one in 54 caliber and one in 36 caliber. Both shoot extremely well from an accuracy standpoint and the 54 caliber handles patched round balls or conicals "surprisingly well" as the ad says. Both guns are good looking with nice walnut stocks. I only give these guns a "4" rating because of the trigger pull. When hunting, I don't like to have to use a set trigger, but on these guns the pull is so hard it makes accuracy difficult unless the set trigger is used. If you're looking for a light-crisp trigger pull without the set trigger, pay more and get the Rocky Mtn Hawken. That gun is an ultimate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southwest New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge percussion rifle

Date:August 12, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by the workmanship on this rifle.
The metal to wood fitting is almost perfect.
The wood is European walnut with a nice figure and authentic finish.
The accuracy suggests that Pedersoli makes good barrels.
My only complaint is for the sights.
As delivered it shoots way low and there is no provision
for adjusting the sights except for filing down the front sight.
I am planning to replace the sight with a tang sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon outback
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun to shoot

Date:October 21, 2009
But you got to to do your home work to make em shoot good. Mine is in .54 and was bought for elk hunting. This was about my 7th or 8th muzzleloader. Two years of work and there are no heavy slugs this 1 turn in 65 barrel will shoot well. Stick to a round ball! I have just done a limited trial with the "Ball-et" from Buffalo Bullet Co. and they do seem to shoot better then other slugs. Maybe good enough for hunting.
Do not take just a hand file to the range and expect to get the front sigth cut down in a short session. 3/4 of the front sight needed to go away before I got close to the bulleye. The rear notch is too narrow for the front sight once it is filed down so slim down the front sight or widen the rear sight notch.
This gun looks just like the two Italian "Fronteer" rifles I own and shoots about the same. I wish it had the curly maple stock the others do, but the price reflects that difference too. I love the long barrels after 30 years of shooting Hawken style rifles. I have considered the accuracy only fair and will be getting some Hornady balls to try after reading the other reviews. This gun gives you that old time feeling!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun Difficult Sights

Date:January 31, 2008
This rifle in .32 caliber percussion is a very fun rifle to shoot, simple to disassemble for cleaning, and proven deadly accurate for even squirrel hunting. However, the traditional buckhorn sights were difficult to sight in and required honing on the front blade to achieve the proper sight picture. Other than that, it is a new favorite rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge Rifle is a Shooter

Date:December 30, 2006
The Blue Ridge Rifle is a real shooter with the right combination. I purchased a .54 caliber Blue Ridge Carbine for Deer hunting and it would group five shots in one enlarged hole at 75 yards. It did NOT shoot the patch and balls well, but the conical bullets shot like a dream. It is a very light gun which was great for hunting in the higer country of the Rockys, but you paid for it with your shoulder at the range.
Highly recommend the gun for the traditional muzzleloader hunter, that prefers a look, other than the Hawkins style long gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anza, California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

surprised

Date:August 1, 2011
On recieving the rifle I was surprised to see it was made by a promenant Black powder gun Manufacturer.
The craftmanship was great and the rifle shot as if it was a hand made target rifle. This was my sixth blackpowder rifle and turns out to be the best one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:August 29, 2012
I had mine out at the range last week hitting 1/2 gallon milk jugs at 50 yards no problem. Turned quite a few heads from other shooters. Can't wait till deer season. If your are a traditional BP shooter get this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Shenandoah Valley, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge Rifle

Date:November 28, 2011
I purchased my Blue Ridge Rifle shortly after Cabela's added it to their inventory, I am guessing in the mid 1990s. I found that it did not find it able to shoot conicals - not even able to hit a large site in target at fifty yards.After about 100 rounds or so, I gave up on the rifle. Then one day almost a year later, I decided to try a patched round ball, using a .020 lubricated patch. I bought the rifle because it was able to shoot 3F black powder. I never found an issue with the sites and hit any place on the target that I aimed. Since then, I have taken several deer at over 100 yards and I don't even hunt with my Hawken any longer.
One problem I did find was the ramrod was weak, breaking it on the second outing with the rifle. Thankfully I had a brass rod for target shooting and was able to continue. I bought the longest fiberglass ramrod I could find and put a 14 inch brass extension rod on the end in order for it to be long enough. I would recommend this rifle to anyone and warn that you try various bullet styles and powder. I don't shoot pyrodex due to several misfires when hunting and had to watch several large bucks run through the woods. I would also recommend trying both pyrodex and black powder and shoot what you feel comfortable with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gillette,Wy
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellence as usual

Date:April 30, 2011
Bought the Blue Ridge rifle in .54 caplock and it is everything I had hoped it would be. Have been shooting Black Powder since 1969 with everything from pistols, shotguns and long rifles. This one is a real keeper. Wood to metal finish is excellent, the balance is superb and it shoots almost without having to aim. Extremely accurate, Should do well in the Elk season here in Wyoming. Highly recommend this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, UT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent rifle.

Date:January 26, 2011
I purchased this percussion 54 cal. nearly 8 years ago now. I have shot it a lot and have carried it hunting several times. This is a superb quality rifle. I bought this one because of my 36 cal. flintlock version that I have owned for 12 years. Workmanship is amazing, quality and handling characteristics are above reproach. I will be buying more of these rifles. They are easily among the best rifles made today. Price is very reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oak View, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge Percussion Rifle

Date:January 11, 2010
Nice Pedersoli made rifle. Once sighted in I was able to get a good pattern. Would like to have had spec's, like nipple thread and such sent along with the gun but was able to get it over the phone. Will be changing to adjustable rear sight and lower front sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:October 20, 2009
What a beautifull rifle! I love it!!! Got mine in .32 cal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge Rifle

Date:September 1, 2009
This is a fun gun. It 100% in all aspects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge Rifle in .36 Caliber

Date:March 28, 2009
I have had my Blue Ridge for nearly 10 years and am very pleased with it. If you buy one, be patient in sighting it in. Mine shot very low and to the right. I had to file the front sight down considerably; probably the reason the front sight has so much metal.
In correcting the windage, I used a brass drift to gently tap the rear sight to the left (the direction I wanted to move the point of impact) and the front sight to the right (again, this will correct the windage to the left, even though you are moving the front sight in the opposite direction). Just play with the front and rear sight, gently working them in opposition until you are shooting a tight group at 50 yards.
The lock and speed of ignition is excellent, specially when using a 3/4" English black flint.
Perhaps the gang at Cabela's could produce a short video on sighting in these weapons. It is not a difficult job and once it is done, the satisfaction in being able to accurately hit a bull's eye at 100 yards is unbelieveable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beaverton,Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Ridge Percussion 54 cal

Date:June 13, 2008
This is the first Black Powder Firearm that I have ever purchased and I'm pleased to say that I am very surprised at the accuracy. My thoughts have always been that the Traditional Style Black Powder Firearms weren't very accurate, I now stand corrected since shooting this one. At 50 yards I placed 3 shots in a quarter size hole with:80grs Pyrodex RS / .530 Hornady Round Ball / .010 lubed Patch and No.1075 plus Dynamit Nobel Primers. I started out with Speer Round Balls and never achieved anything smaller than a 3 inch group. Next will be at the 100yrd Range. I'll write an update on that one too. I'll be Hunting Deer and Elk this Season with this Rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest black powder wielding Trout Bum.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classy and effective

Date:February 4, 2007
I bought a .50cal model for hunting in NW Wasington. Took a pretty 4x4 Whitetail. The stock has beautiful swirls and very dense. The fit to the metal is tight and straight. The 39" barrel makes it extremely accurate and very eye catching. Using 90 grains and a cold swaged Hornady ball, I have been averaging a 4" group at 100 yards. Nice Balance. I love the slender curved stock. I am quite pleased. Capt. Larry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Blue Ridge™ Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fun

Date:November 22, 2006
Excellent workmanship, fine finish, and loads of fun to shoot. Mine shoots best with 90 gr of 777 and a swaged Hornady round ball - 2" groups at 50 yards are the norm. I have to wear a mask when hunting, otherwise the deer would see my teeth. I can't get the grin off my face when I carry this thing into the woods. It gets a lot of attention at the range, too - brings back memories of Fess Parker as Daniel Boone.
Use caution with the double triggers. The primary trigger will still release without using the set trigger. This is not the case with some other double sets. After set, a light touch to the primary trigger sets it off.
Michigan has a shotgun only area that allows front loaders. I bought this specifically for that reason - no more tenderized shoulder from shooting hi-velocity slugs through a rifled break action shotgun.
Don't let anyone fool you - a .50 round ball creates a big hole and a lot of internal damage, though it may not exit. Best to treat like a bow and shoot broadside. Deer fell to patched round balls long before the centerfire bullet came along.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.