Customer Reviews for MITCHELL Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel

MITCHELL Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel

This legendary spinning reel just got better! The Mitchell 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel exemplifies a heritage of innovation and advanced technology, enhancing the joy of fishing through simple design, user-friendly features and proven quality. The advanced polymetric body is stronger than conventional polymetric and graphite materials, enabling this reel to withstand years of hard fishing. A 10-bearing system with instant anti-reverse ensures immediate hooksets, and high-performance gearing offers perfect gear mesh, smoothness and durability. The multidisc drag system provides precise adjustment and consistent performance. Bail Halo is designed for increased strength, durability and reduction of line twist to deliver flawless casts and retrieves. Sturdy aluminum handle and spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
36 out of 43(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2016

Spin sway

By
Country: United States
Province: Alberta
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This reel is the smoothest reel I have owned
It is one great reel
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016

Super Smooth

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Super smooth reel for the money. Another one of Mitchell's quality products. Mitchell also offers a $10 rebate on this reel making the value even better. I have 3 of these reels and love them all, they are my go to reels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2015

My fourth Mitchell reel

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have owned a Mitchell 300, 302, and 304 reel (circa 1980"s) and found them to be well made, sturdy, smooth and reliable. The new Mitchell 300 Pro Series is no disappointment. It too has all of the original features. Unfortunately for me, my grandson loves it also. I haven't used it much. Guess I'll have to buy my fifth Mitchell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2015

disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
in the last two years my wife and i purchased 10 mitchell 310 pro fishing reels. suddenly notice 5 of them have developed line snagging cuts in the bail arms.
if it was only one or only one person who experienced this problem i would say it was human error. but being both of us experienced this problem i'd say its a product
defect. really disappointed in the quality of these reels. we made a very expensive mistake buying so may. beware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2015

Almost what I expected

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been a 300 Mitchell reel fan for 40 years. Grew up with the old 300. This new 300 was very good except for not as smooth engaging after a cast as I would have expected. Great reel for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

This Reel Rocks

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Smooth, light weight, and dependable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2014

Awsome reel !

By
Country: Romania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
For this price this is a very good reel.Good material, nice design and it's perform flawlesly.I am happy i could order this Mitchell 308 PRO US model, cause it's looks better than Europe one.And the order arrived faster than i expected, in less than 2 weeks.
Big + for this reel and for Cabela's customer service !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

Great Reel for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great reel, smooth, easy casting, I am going to buy another one. Wish it had an extra spool included.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2014

Great reel

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Smooth drag, also great for saltwater and fresh water!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014

Smooth reel

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Reel was smooth and just as comfortable pulling in 10" walleyes as 26" walleyes. Very nice reel for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Best Mitchell 300 EVER!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've had several 300's over the years and this new model is not only head and shoulders over the older models, it is the best reel I've ever used. I bought it for a 3 day trip to Devil's Lake, ND and it worked flawlessly, handling 60-70 walleyes, white bass, and northerns up to 15 lbs. I would recommend this reel for almost any freshwater fishing. I plan on using it for large trout in Wyoming next.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014

Great reel for the money!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased 2 reels that were twice the price and failed me during this past year in Canada. That's when I picked up the Mitchell spinning reel and never put it down again.. I landed many Northern Pike over the 40" mark with it and it performed flawlessly... It also casted smooth as silk and out casted many others that my friends were using... All said, I am extremely happy with this reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2014

Great performance!

By
Country: Canada
Province: Saskatchewan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'm a fishing outfitter with Cabela's in Canada. I own 3 of these reels. On a week-long trip to Besnard Lake in Northern Saskatchewan last week, these reels performed flawlessly, whether I was catching walleye or big jack. I can't wait to try them on big rainbow in Lake Diefenbaker this summer!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014

Very good reel for the money.

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Decently fast gear ratio, great drag. I am anticipating it may need to be cleaned more than some others I own though. Time will tell. For now, excellent performance thus far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

Mitchell 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I haven't decided which rod to mount the new reel to yet. Will send photo of 1st fish caught !! ;^)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014

Best features for the price!

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The reel I purchase was too little, I needed a large one and I will return it to Cabela and get the bigger one soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

Had to return it.

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I received the first reel in the mail. It cranked with friction with un-eveness. The spool had internal rubbing. I had to pay $$$ for shipping to the manufacturer to get a replacement one. The reel got expensive this way. The SECOND new one is fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013

very nice reel

By
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased the 310 pro. this a very well made solid reel. was skeptical of the eva nob, but its well made. Machined aluminum handle is very nice as well. The rotor halo is very strong and drag appears decent. Overall just very quality craftsmanship, much better than a lot of the junk reels on the market. I love this little reel and will get a work out with some jumbo perch through the ice this winter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013

Nice reel

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
LOOKS AND FEELS GREAT. I HAVE NOT HAD THE CHANCE TO USE IT YET THIS YEAR. LOOKS LIKE I WILL NOT USE TILL NEXT SEASON. SORRY I CAN'T GIVE ANY MORE INFO RIGHT NOW.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mitchell® 300 Pro Series Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013

good deal

By
Country: Serbia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
For money you pay , get a awesome gadget! I` ve given a four stars only for final processing lever machines. Generally, too poor and very unusual combination of gloss varnish handle with reel body made in polymer..
Smooth gear,good balance ,reliable drag,great retrieve!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 22