Customer Reviews for TUF-LINE Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core

TUF-LINE Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core

With reduced drag, MicroLead achieves the same sink rate as standard lead core and can be fished on lighter rods and reels due to its 30% smaller diameter than standard lead-core line. Spectra® fiber braid is also three times stronger than standard lead core and has extremely low drag in the water. Incredible performance for trolling. Spool size: 100 yard, 200 yard. Available: 18-, 27-lb. test.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Review 1 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dye runs when wet! It stained boat seat

Date:July 13, 2014
Not a good choice. It bled dye and splattered different color spray all over the boat the first time I reeled it in. I had to stop fishing to clean up the mess. I will ask to return the remaining 100 yards left on the spool.
I have used Cabelas standard lead core line for many years and never had this problem. Also I don't believe that it has the same depth ratio as the standard thickness line. It does not sink as far down. I do not recommend this line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than original

Date:July 9, 2014
As a charter captain I need and demand gear that works. I use light tackle for large stripers around Cape Cod, Mass. MicroLead line lets me put more backing on the small reels I use to catch stripers and bluefish. This line meets and exceeds all of my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

microlead lead core

Date:September 27, 2013
First time fishing this new line , fishing with three buddys, i out fished everyone 5 to 1. Great line, 10 colors spool easily on my abu garcia 6000. It,s a little more expensive, but worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good alternative to traditional lead core

Date:September 11, 2013
Bought it for great lakes trolling after a friend had to get new reels to accommodate traditional core. Tied a uni knot and it holds great with a small diameter knot. Also spooled on very easily without any issues. No kinks or tangles so far. I have really enjoyed it as an alternative to traditional lead core line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good line good price

Date:September 4, 2013
i bought this line to troll for freshwater stripers.pros spectra fiber braid 3x stronger ,30% smaller ,no stretch,able to use a smaller reel & rod for a more sporting fight.cons when tying backer or leader you need to use knots that will tie with spectra fiber braids, lead seems a little more prone to kinking & fracturing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great improvement

Date:August 27, 2013
This is one of those times were someone takes a good product and makes it better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what I expected

Date:July 30, 2013
It backlashed on the real the first day I used it. After untangling it I noticed the lead sticking through the Dacron. Also it did kink on me. I think it is actually too thin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I should have known

Date:July 14, 2013
Due to the small diameter you can't tie a willis knot with the stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better than traditional lead core line

Date:July 2, 2013
I purchased a 100 yard, 27 lb test spool of this line for trout and salmon trolling on Lake Ontario in my kayak. So far it has remained kink and tangle free, unlike the heavier lead core line that I have used in the past. I like the fact that I can fit more backing line on the reel with this thinner line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great line

Date:June 18, 2013
terrific option to regular lead core
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tuf-Line MicroLead Lead Core
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Lead Core

Date:February 14, 2013
After trying Micro Lead, this is the only lead core line I will ever use! It has a super thin diameter and handles extremely well. You can put it on almost any baitcasting reel due to its diameter. Made with Spectra fibers, it is twice as strong as standard dacron 18 pound lead core. Still has the same trolling dive curve as standard 18 pound lead core.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.