Customer Reviews for ION Ion Electric Ice Auger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

ION Ion Electric Ice Auger

The world's first high-performance electric ice auger. Powered by a 40-volt lithium-ion battery and a planetary gear transmission, the Ion Electric Ice Auger can drill up to 40 holes on nearly two feet of ice on a single charge. The light weight makes it a pleasure to use. Other highlights include an on-and-off self-locking switch with electronic safety delay and momentary quick-stop brake. Manufacturer's two-year warranty on auger; one-year warranty on battery. Includes 12'' auger extension – making it capable of drilling through 48'' of ice. Auger length: 36". Sizes: 6" - 21 lbs. 8" - 22 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Review 1 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

like a hot knife through butter

Date:February 20, 2014
first holes i ever drilled were through holes that had been previously drilled and frozen over and my friend and i could not believe how this auger cut faster and smoother than any gas auger either of us had ever used. if this ion proves to be durable in both battery life and all the plastic housing etc it will prove to be the best auger ever in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:January 18, 2014
This auger is the best thing since sliced bread. I had polio. Have 3 bulged discs in my neck, and three shoulder surgeries. There is no cranking and no muss and fuss. It's light and very efficient. It helps me to continue to do what I enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW

Date:January 4, 2014
One word...incredible! Use it in my Ice Castle ice house and no smoke lingering, incredibly fast and light and worth every penny. Only one problem...don't use it in front of other fisherman cause they will all want to try it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i am impressed

Date:December 26, 2013
drilled with jiffys for years. this as fast if not quicker. clean break through bottom of hole. unlike my jiffy 9in. great product. powerful unit. I have 8in
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great!

Date:December 12, 2013
This is a great machine. Bought this last year and looking forward to using it a lot again this year. I fish Lake of the Woods and this little baby had no problem tackling 40+ inches of ice! I would highly recommend this auger to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:November 30, 2013
i purchased this auger last season. love it! its light quiet, starts on the first pull of the trigger every time. as afr as a charge I keep a power converter in my vehicle it charge the battery as needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great but need to pay attention.

Date:September 10, 2013
This auger does indeed work well. The biggest thing to keep in mind to get the most out of the battery is to mind how vertical the auger is when drilling. If you're a bit off of perpendicular it does somewhat noticeably take more out of the battery. Also, this is a suprisingly fast cutting auger and it's important to let the blades do the cutting and not lean on it. I have probably drilled 450-500 holes(not on one charge obviously) last season on mine and only a couple of times I wish I had another battery on an outing. I would recommend going to a hardware store and picking up a bubble level to put on the top of the head to keep you true to the ice especially as the ice gets over that 16-18" mark. Had a number of gas augers of different brands and eras and am not looking back. I don't miss the weight, the messing around with gas..what type, supposedly having to start them once a month in the off-season, dealing with carb replacement kits etc. If you like to walk to those places unaccesable by vehicle this is your best bet. Keep in mind that this auger weighs about half of what the jiffy propane auger does. (21 vs. 40 + weight of propane tank) and the battery can easily be placed in an interior pocket to keep warm or lessen the weight of the auger while transporting in and out. I have drilled easily 20-25 holes through 18" of ice on a 5 below to 5 above day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ion Electric Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:December 24, 2012
Last week I was fishing near Bemidji, MN with a friend who recently purchased an Ion. I have seen this new product at Ice Fishing Expo's but was curious to see its actual performance out on the ice in actual cooler temperatures (10-20 degrees F). The first day we drilled approximately 40-45 holes in ice ranging from 5-7 inches. I was thoroughly impressed with the torque and power of this electric auger. I didn't notice any signs of "slowing" down until around the last 3 holes. At that time it began to stop halfway into cutting the hole after the auger began binding more and more. It was extremely light and mobile as it is quite smaller in length (possible issue when faced w/ ice greater than 18''?). In addition, it was nice not having to smell exhaust in the houses.
So, here's the long and short of it:
Pros: lightweight, no exhaust/fumes, no noise
Cons: limited use (~40 holes) on single charge, may pose problem for thick ice (>18") as the length appears to be shorter than mechanical augers (Jiffy, StrikeMaster, etc.)
In my opinion the ideal consumer of this product would be:
- one who owns a cabin on a lake that they will ice fish (as they will readily be able to charge the battery at the end of each day)
- one who rarely "hops" around the lake searching for fish and rather settles on a known hot spot requiring minimal drilling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.