Customer Reviews for CLAM OUTDOORS¿ Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CLAM OUTDOORS¿ Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters

Delivering more fishable area and loftier headroom, the Bigfoot design is the perfect solution for ice-fishing parties of varying sizes. The XL2000 and XL6000TC are made of extra-tough, 600-denier fabric, and the XL4000T is made of Thermal Trap™ technology fabric that retains heat and reduces condensation. The XL6000TC features a thermal cap which retains 15% more heat than standard shelters. The XL2000 and XL4000T each come with four ice anchors and tie-downs to secure the shelter during windy conditions; the XL6000TC comes with six ice anchors and tie-downs. All three designs come with super-duty, flex-tested 11mm poles, an oversized skirt for ample snow banking and an oversized carrying bag for easy repacking. Imported. Available: Bigfoot XL2000 – Comfortably fits up to five anglers with 56 sq. ft. of fishing space. Dimensions: 90"L x 90"W x 80"H. Weight: 35 lbs. Bigfoot XL4000T – Comfortably fits up to six anglers with 64 sq. ft. of fishing space. Dimensions: 96"L x 96"W x 82"H. Weight: 42 lbs. Bigfoot XL6000TC – Comfortably fits up to eight anglers with 112 sq. ft. of fishing space. Dimensions: 96"L x 168"W x 82"H. Weight: 58 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Review 1 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ice Dad

Date:March 19, 2014
Bigfoot shelters are very nice, great for the weekender and more. Although roomy not quite what is advertized.
I have the 4000 and after chairs, fishing equipment, heaters and or lanterns, there is really only room for three to fish. My boys love it and I'm happy also, the thermal version is well worth the extra drain on the wallet when you hit those cold nights on the ice.
Set up is easy along with take down.
One negative, they give ice anchors for the shelter but do not give you an adapter to install them with.
Clams only mistake in customer service! Don't make us spend more for easy set up !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:March 18, 2014
Great product. Makes fishing with family and friends a lot easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Clam 4000

Date:February 10, 2014
I was excited to use the Clam 4000 for the fist time after having smaller pop ups before. When I went to open this up something didn't look right but I kept popping it open. Once up I was left scratching my head as something was wrong, the unit was inside out and there was so much pressure on the poles. One pole snapped and one corner was wedged so tight that it would not completely fold back up. I attempted to see if I could flip the unit so correct side was out but it was definitely inside out. The Clam rep was even at the store the day I purchased and showed me how easy it was to use. I was a believer. I guess I was the one that received a unit that was built at the end of the day right before employee went on vacation. Debating if I give Clam another try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad I bought it

Date:January 1, 2014
Doors are a little tough to zip shut, and the zipper pulls are junk, but otherwise I'm really happy with the shelter. The carry bag is great, and even by myself I can get it back in the bag pretty easily. I'm glad I went with the 4000 because I can fish with friends or by myself with plenty of room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Review Revision

Date:December 26, 2013
During the first use of the shack 3 of the zipper pulls broke off. I called Clam and they sent me enough new zipper pulls to replace all of them on the shack and the carry bag. The new ones were cord on a key ring. Have used the shack several ties since then with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD HUT

Date:December 25, 2013
Very satisfied with this hut. Simple setup oversize storage bag is great. Fits nicely on front rack of my atv so I have plenty of room in my sled that I tow behind. Primarily use for cooking the 2 burner stove I use heats up the hut nicely. Material is durable and if stored properly should last awhile. Like other reviews zipper pulls are junk. Not unusual to be fishing in Maine at 10 below 0 and wind at 10 to 20 and hut stays put.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Durability Issues

Date:November 6, 2013
I bought a Clam and was extremely happy with it for the first two seasons. Very easy to setup and plenty of room. The issues started the 3rd season. When settting up for the first time out after only two seasons of use, the fabric tore in 3 different places, rendering the entire shelter useless. For the cost, I was very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST HUB ICE SHELTER ON THE MARKET

Date:February 19, 2013
THE NEW CLAM BIG FOOT ARE SIMPLE TO PUT UP AND TAKE DOWN BY YOURSELF, HAS A OVERSIZE BAG TO CARRY THE SHELTER IN. I HAVE HAD OTHER HUB SHELTERS THIS IS FAR THE BEST ONE.I HAVE USED IT ABOUT 10 TIMES NOT A SINGLE PROBLEM,BUY ONE AND TRY IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:February 12, 2013
This is a nice big warm shelter. Plenty of space for three or four big guys with holes and gear. Pops up and down very smoothly. The only down fall are the zippers. After receiving the shelter I set it up in my living room and right away brook my first zipper. After the first time on the ice I lost two more. Although inconvenient not a deal breaker. Because other than the zippers this is a great shelter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Broken poles every use.

Date:February 12, 2013
We received the first one and when we popped the top up broke it broke and the pole put a hole in the tent. We exchanged that one for another one and had issues when setting it up with one of the sides not poppling out correctly and the pole broke on that one. Hopefully the third one will be better as soon as we make it back to Cabelas to exchange it. We do love how easy it is to set up and how spacious it is. Also very lightweight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shack !!

Date:February 12, 2013
This is a great shack with plenty of room for 3 anglers and if holes are drilled correctly you can fish 4 comfortably!! The insulated fabric completely keeps the frosting up on the inside away !! The only issue ive had is that the pulls on the zippers are weak and 3 have already broken after just two times on the ice, although it does not effect the function of the zipper itself !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bigfoot XL4000T

Date:January 12, 2013
JUST GOT OFF THE LAKE FIRST TIE OUT WITH CLAM XL 4000T
SET UP 10/10.....OVERSIZED CARRY BAG 10/10
EASE OF OPERATION 10/10
THERMAL ABILITY 10/10
ZIPPER PULLS 2/10
CARRY BAG HAS LOTS OF EXTRA ROOM FOR A SHOVEL,5 RODS & STILL ROOM FOR MORE,BAG MEASURMENTS 6 FEET LONG X 1FOOT X1 FOOT ,POP UP WORKED WELL & KEPT US WARM ,A PERFECT MATCH FOR THE BIG BUDDY HEATER .ZIPPER PULLS ARE CHEAP & BROKE FIRST TIME USED BUT CAN BE REPLACED BY A CABLE TIE WRAP CLAM NEEDS TO USE RUBBER INSTEAD OF PLASTIC .STILL A FINE PRODUCT VERY HAPPY WITH XL4000T
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:January 8, 2013
Purchased and ice fished around christmas 2012. Set up took a couple minutes from removing 4000T from extra large heavy duty carry bag to standing up with four walls pushed out. Really easy.
Size is huge. Fished four male adults no problem with full gear, electronics, table, etc. Four included pockets for gloves, hats, etc were helpful.
Thermal kept inside warm, was around 0-5 degrees and with big buddy heater, was not cold.
Ice anchors were put in(though not needed) since very little wind. Was concerned about not having bottom floor with feet directly on ice, but feet never cold directly on snow.
I would purchase this again or recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice, but not perfect

Date:December 31, 2012
The shack was impressive with the exception that 3 of the 8 door zipper pulls snapped off. The weather was only 20 degrees F, so I would have expected them to be a bit more rugged than that. Otherwise it was easy to set up and kept us warm with just a couple of laterns for heat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Pop-Up, The XL4000T Thermal Big Foot.

Date:December 27, 2012
This the best built pop-up on the market. Sorry Cabelas, even better than the store branded ones. Stays warm, too, with a Mr. Buddy heater. Lots of room for 4 people, plus the Vexilar and camera holes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy/Quality

Date:December 16, 2012
I would not buy any other ice house (in it's class) on the market as of today. It's made well, big on the inside (the walls make it more roomier), easy to set up by yourself, fits in a car, HOLDS THE HEAT, and many other reasons.
Time to fish....See ya!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clam Outdoors™ Bigfoot Ice Shelters
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thing is HUGE!!!!!

Date:December 3, 2012
This house is a giant on the inside. It looks to be made with some heavy material. Fold down well, might need a larger sled to haul it though.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.