Customer Reviews for LEW'S Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel

LEW'S Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel

Premium construction includes a deep, large-capacity, machine-forged aluminum spool that will help you cast deep to suspended fish and throw beyond the rocks at the jetty. The strong one-piece, die-cast aluminum frame is outfitted with sturdy graphite side covers. Easy-to-remove palming sideplate. High-strength, solid-brass gearing. External handle side spool-tension adjustment with audible click. Zirconia line guide. External lube port.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Review 1 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2015

good reel

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The reel has performed great
I have caught many bass 5lbs and over and some big small mouth drag is nice and cast smoothly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2015

I'll stick with shimano and diawa

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was tired of checking reels out at stores and having a lews fan come up to me and give me their two cents on how great lews reels are, so when I saw a good deal on this middle of the road reel I figured It was time to try lews out. I was happy when I got it out of the box and found that it was smooth, felt great in my hand and seemed to be well made. I spooled it up for a test run against my older chronarch and way older curado. I had no backlashes with the reel but my ancient shimano's out cast this reel by at least ten yards with little effort using a weightless senko style worm. I also tried a half oz. rattle trap and my dinosaurs blew this reel away. It seems that just like quantum they get everything right aside from casting which to me is the most important aspect of a reel. I returned it to cabelas and as always no hassle. While I was there I picked up a tatula and couldn't be happier. I'll stick with shimano and diawa always.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015

Great Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought the low speed,works great on my Denali cranking rod,will be adding more Lews reels in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

Excellent Bait caster

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is the best and easiest casting reel I have ever purchased. The only complaint is I didn't buy more when I seen it on sale!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

Good reel for price

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The 5:4 works well for throwing larger Crankbaits and Rattle Traps. Only used it a couple of times but will use it a lot when Tournament Season is here. Seems to be constructed well and have had no issues. The price was right on the first one and would probably buy a second if they go on sale again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

Lew's Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Not planning to Fish with it. I am a member of The Old Reel Collectors Association. Added it to my collection. Have both Old and New Reels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014

Great value

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is the second Lew's Tournament MG casting reel I have purchased from Cabela's in the last 2 years. I liked the 1st one so much when an older reel needed replacing I purchased another Lew's. It is very smooth and the anti backlash control works very well and is easy to adjust. I use 30lb braid for line and am very pleased with it. I mainly bass fish with them but it has landed several mid 40 inch muskies that bit my bass lures and the drag worked perfectly allowing me to land and release them. I recommend these reels to anyone that is looking for a smooth casting dependable reel with a good drag for a reasonable price.
Mwal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014

Smooooooooth........

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is my second Lew's MG reel, both are on Duckett rods...one cranking and one topwater casting.
One reel is 6.4 and the other is a 7.1 gear ratio. Both are extremely smooth and cast with little effort.
These outfits were purchased from Cabela's and I'm completely satisfied.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

2nd Lews reel but won't be last

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is the second Lew's reel I've purchased in the last few years, and I'll never buy another brand again. These things cast unbelievably.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014

Don't go fishing without it.

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
One word----terrific. Great for beginners and pros.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Lew's Tournament MG Casting Reel

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I purchased this reel to replace a damaged US reel. With all the proper adjustments it is a fantastic casting reel. It is extremely smooth and has excellent back lash control. I can cast my lighter lures with this reel without worrying about casting into the wind. It is extremely light and actually casts better than my Johnny Morris reels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

Great reel....

By
Country: Panama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased 2 of these and they are excellent reels. They are very smooth, cast excellent, feel good in your hand and are very good reels at any price yet very affordable.
I also own 2 LewsTournament Pro reels and all they are all matched up with Lews Tournament SL Speed Stick rods with micro guides. All 4 combos are wonderful to fish with.
I'm 64, have been fishing since I was 4 years old and have never fished with equipment that even comes close to these Lews combos..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2013

Best new reel in years

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This reel is so smooth you can cast a 1/4 ounce lure into the face of a windy day.I have owned many high end bait casters but none can match this Lews MG casting reel in that way.Also very tough compact construction and easy to adjust magnetic spool.
Great smallmouth bass reel.Excellent value,I am going out next week and buy another one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2013

Best Reels money can buy

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased the Tournament MG as a replacement for my Quantum reel. I needed a reel that can cast anything from the lightest baits to the heaviest. Very smooth, once you set the brakes this thing will cast 50+ yards without thumbing the spool and no backlash. Took it shore fishing twice so far now i can cast to the other side of the river. Buy this reel! It's better and way cheaper than any Abu Garcia.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

My Favorite Reel!

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I fish a couple of times per week and the Tournament MG is an awesome reel. A lot of my fishing friends have tried my set ups and have switched to this reel. I am going on two years of using these reels without a single hiccup.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2012

More Than I ever expected

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Mg was my second Lews reel. Personally I bought 2 of them in
5.4:1 so I could make one of my tourment pro 's 5.4:1 and the Mg 6.4:1 witch are not avaliable in left hand retieve. I don;t like magnetic spool control. I've had many different models not happy with any of them. How ever this mg tournament is unbelievable. Throw a crankbait or top water plug to the end of no where. This reel is priced on the low side and is loaded with performance and features you would find in more expensive reels. I am amazed at how good this reel casts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2012

Great feel

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Paired with Mojo Bass. By far the best, smoothest baitcaster that I have used. No backlash, easy to set. Gives you confidence every time that you use it. Much better then any Revo that I have used. I like my Revo at times, but this is just that much better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.