Customer Reviews for LEW'S Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

LEW'S Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel

Premium construction includes a deep, large-capacity, machine-forged aluminum spool that will help you cast deep to suspended fish and throw beyond the rocks at the jetty. The strong one-piece, die-cast aluminum frame is outfitted with sturdy graphite side covers. Easy-to-remove palming sideplate. High-strength, solid-brass gearing. External handle side spool-tension adjustment with audible click. Zirconia line guide. External lube port.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Review 1 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lew's Reel

Date:November 25, 2014
Not planning to Fish with it. I am a member of The Old Reel Collectors Association. Added it to my collection. Have both Old and New Reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:September 2, 2014
This is the second Lew's Tournament MG casting reel I have purchased from Cabela's in the last 2 years. I liked the 1st one so much when an older reel needed replacing I purchased another Lew's. It is very smooth and the anti backlash control works very well and is easy to adjust. I use 30lb braid for line and am very pleased with it. I mainly bass fish with them but it has landed several mid 40 inch muskies that bit my bass lures and the drag worked perfectly allowing me to land and release them. I recommend these reels to anyone that is looking for a smooth casting dependable reel with a good drag for a reasonable price.
Mwal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooooooooth........

Date:August 12, 2014
This is my second Lew's MG reel, both are on Duckett rods...one cranking and one topwater casting.
One reel is 6.4 and the other is a 7.1 gear ratio. Both are extremely smooth and cast with little effort.
These outfits were purchased from Cabela's and I'm completely satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2nd Lews reel but won't be last

Date:July 22, 2014
This is the second Lew's reel I've purchased in the last few years, and I'll never buy another brand again. These things cast unbelievably.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't go fishing without it.

Date:July 15, 2014
One word----terrific. Great for beginners and pros.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lew's Tournament MG Casting Reel

Date:July 9, 2014
I purchased this reel to replace a damaged US reel. With all the proper adjustments it is a fantastic casting reel. It is extremely smooth and has excellent back lash control. I can cast my lighter lures with this reel without worrying about casting into the wind. It is extremely light and actually casts better than my Johnny Morris reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Panama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great reel....

Date:April 22, 2014
I purchased 2 of these and they are excellent reels. They are very smooth, cast excellent, feel good in your hand and are very good reels at any price yet very affordable.
I also own 2 LewsTournament Pro reels and all they are all matched up with Lews Tournament SL Speed Stick rods with micro guides. All 4 combos are wonderful to fish with.
I'm 64, have been fishing since I was 4 years old and have never fished with equipment that even comes close to these Lews combos..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best new reel in years

Date:September 19, 2013
This reel is so smooth you can cast a 1/4 ounce lure into the face of a windy day.I have owned many high end bait casters but none can match this Lews MG casting reel in that way.Also very tough compact construction and easy to adjust magnetic spool.
Great smallmouth bass reel.Excellent value,I am going out next week and buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Reels money can buy

Date:August 5, 2013
I purchased the Tournament MG as a replacement for my Quantum reel. I needed a reel that can cast anything from the lightest baits to the heaviest. Very smooth, once you set the brakes this thing will cast 50+ yards without thumbing the spool and no backlash. Took it shore fishing twice so far now i can cast to the other side of the river. Buy this reel! It's better and way cheaper than any Abu Garcia.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Favorite Reel!

Date:January 15, 2013
I fish a couple of times per week and the Tournament MG is an awesome reel. A lot of my fishing friends have tried my set ups and have switched to this reel. I am going on two years of using these reels without a single hiccup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More Than I ever expected

Date:December 4, 2012
The Mg was my second Lews reel. Personally I bought 2 of them in
5.4:1 so I could make one of my tourment pro 's 5.4:1 and the Mg 6.4:1 witch are not avaliable in left hand retieve. I don;t like magnetic spool control. I've had many different models not happy with any of them. How ever this mg tournament is unbelievable. Throw a crankbait or top water plug to the end of no where. This reel is priced on the low side and is loaded with performance and features you would find in more expensive reels. I am amazed at how good this reel casts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lew's® Tournament MG Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great feel

Date:October 2, 2012
Paired with Mojo Bass. By far the best, smoothest baitcaster that I have used. No backlash, easy to set. Gives you confidence every time that you use it. Much better then any Revo that I have used. I like my Revo at times, but this is just that much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.