Customer Reviews for QUANTUM Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel

QUANTUM Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel

The C4LF™ carbon-fiber rotor minimizes flex under heavy drag loads, while the ultrasmooth CSC™ drag system withstands high-heat fighting pressure. LMS™ line management system reduces friction, while the titanium nitride-coated ball-bearing line roller reduces line twist. Nine stainless/polymer hybrid bearings for smooth casts and retrieves. Continuous Anti-Reverse™ for outstanding hooksetting power. Lightweight aluminum body and side cover. Light EVA handle knobs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
31 out of 35(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2015

Best reel I ever owned!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the SL30 PTi and used it all Spring and Summer. I am very impressed with the overall performance. Very light weight, smooth casts and retrieves. Caught many Large mouth and Pickerel on it with no problem. The only problem I've had is depending on position, I sometimes can't flip the bail wire. Other than that it's a fantastic reel. I find it hard to switch back to my Shimano and Diawa reels
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2015

Best Reel I've Ever Had!

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this spinning reel back in the summer, and I paired it up with an ultra light St. Croix Premier 6'6". Let me tell you this setup is the to-die for; perfect balance and casting is a dream. I can't say enough about the performance of this reel. I would buy another in a heartbeat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015

reel

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Worked like a dream. Just spent 8 days on Lake of The Woods catching walleye. SMOOTH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015

smoke

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this real is NICE !,
Don't be put of by the offset handle, its smooth casting, super drag and light weight frame makes it the perfect reel for any situation! I own two 30's, fishing them on finness rods and light line, it does'nt get any better!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2015

short comings

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This reel although nice. has a big miss, you can not reverse this reel, meaning there is no way to spin reel in reverse direction. Other quantum reels do. So if you have a tangle, your pulling this reel apart. removing spool or even deeper to get line out. At this level of reel, you might expect more. On the plus side, It has a smooth easy retrieve, and lite weight which is great for a long day of fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2015

awesome reel

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
i bought the pt 25 and matched it to a ugly stik elite rod, first day out i caught a five pound brown trout and the reel worked flawlessly , one of the smoothest reels i have fished,awesome drag
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2015

Disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
While the reel looks great and is very smooth, I was surprised to find it had no switch to go from anti-reverse to reverse reeling. While the description does state 'continuous anti-reverse', it does not state that it is ONLY anti-reverse. May be my fault but I need a reel that I can back-reel on the fish, no matter how good the drag might be.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015

Excellent reel

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is my second Quantum Smoke reel. I have nothing but good things to say about them. I have used them many times fishing fresh water and fishing the coast and have never had an issue with them. Very reliable and tough enough to get the big ones in.
FISH ON !!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

Smooth as silk

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have been using Quantum spinning reels for 25 years . I have NEVER been disappointed. Well made , I am still using the first one I ever bought. The smoke is very light and a pleasure to fish with. Drag is smooth and bail easy to open and close.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015

Great Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have used the SL25 several times and find it to be absolutely fantastic. I have a lot of quality reels and I think this reel is the best I own. It has a smooth action, with a smooth drag and is light weight. Spool capacity is great when loaded with braid. I got this one on sale from Cabelas; I wish I would have bought two of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015

Smoke Sl15PTI

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I got the SL15PTI for sauger, walleye, decent compact reel, not as smooth at reeling as I'd hope, one good spin on the handle with no line on it and you may get a turn or two out of it on its own, all in all..... Ok reel, but I feel that I've bought better reels at half the price. Not to turn you off the reel, but I would check them out in the stores before buying untouched.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

Good for bass and small salmon

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this for bass but have caught as many Coho as I have bass using this reel.
The good:
* Very light, making all day casting easy
* Very smooth operation
* Powerful drag
The less than desirable:
* No line out alarm
* Small handle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2014

Quantum finally has it right

By
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
No complaints this is by far the lightest and toughest spinning reel Quantum has made and I wish they would make the Smoke bait caster with a flipping switch.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014

Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am typically a Shimano buyer but recently tried the new Quantan! It is extremely light! Very smooth retrive and cool matte black finish. the only negative that I can find with this reel is it does not have the back pedal feature that most other higher end spinning reels have.so I give it a 4 star rating!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014

Quantum Smoke

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Really nice reel. ....smooth drag. Accidentally I ordered the wrong size to go with my 9' steelhead rod, I was going to return the smaller one. I decided to keep them both and ordered a new 6' ultralight. Sorry trout you don't stand a chance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014

Worth it

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a nice upgrade to the Quantum Energy PTi, good looking reel and solid craftsmanship. I have two PTi 25s that I use for perch and walleye fishing on Lake Erie (jigging). I'm looking forward to using them again this Spring..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014

WORTH EVERY PENNY

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
USED THE SMOKE ON A TROUT FISHING TRIP AND ENJOYED THE SMOOTH ACTION. HANDLED TROUT WITH EASE AND PERFORMED FLAWLESSLY. SMOOTH BAIL AND CASTED LINE LIKE SILK. NICE PRODUCT. WORTH THE MONEY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014

not impressed

By
First off I bought this reel because the reviews on cabelas although I have not had any problems with this reel I feel for the money I could have bought something better. the reel is not that smooth but on the up side it very light weight . but I guess what I am trying to say is you could get something better for less money or spend a little more and get a better reel . this reel is just ok too me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2013

Excellent reel

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This reel is absolutely fantastic. I have 40# daiwa samurai braid on it and it's smooth as silk. There is absolutely no noise and it catches 5lb bass with ease. I also own a stradic CI4 and the smoke is just as good, if not better, than it. Although the CI4 is lighter; it is really hard to tell a difference when you have them both in your hand. This reel has amazing value and I'm so happy to own the smoke. The only downfall to this reel is that it is so good that I don't want to try anything else!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2013

You should own one... Or two!

By
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I simply love my SL25PTi and I'm going to order a SL10PTi to use on my awesome Daiwa Presso Rod. I have use it for both trout and salmon and I would not go back to the Shimano reels I paid almost twice as much for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 35