Customer Reviews for QUANTUM Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel

QUANTUM Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel

The C4LF™ carbon-fiber rotor minimizes flex under heavy drag loads, while the ultrasmooth CSC™ drag system withstands high-heat fighting pressure. LMS™ line management system reduces friction, while the titanium nitride-coated ball-bearing line roller reduces line twist. Nine stainless/polymer hybrid bearings for smooth casts and retrieves. Continuous Anti-Reverse™ for outstanding hooksetting power. Lightweight aluminum body and side cover. Light EVA handle knobs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel

Date:August 12, 2014
I am typically a Shimano buyer but recently tried the new Quantan! It is extremely light! Very smooth retrive and cool matte black finish. the only negative that I can find with this reel is it does not have the back pedal feature that most other higher end spinning reels have.so I give it a 4 star rating!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Smoke

Date:June 3, 2014
Really nice reel. ....smooth drag. Accidentally I ordered the wrong size to go with my 9' steelhead rod, I was going to return the smaller one. I decided to keep them both and ordered a new 6' ultralight. Sorry trout you don't stand a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth it

Date:April 29, 2014
This is a nice upgrade to the Quantum Energy PTi, good looking reel and solid craftsmanship. I have two PTi 25s that I use for perch and walleye fishing on Lake Erie (jigging). I'm looking forward to using them again this Spring..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WORTH EVERY PENNY

Date:April 15, 2014
USED THE SMOKE ON A TROUT FISHING TRIP AND ENJOYED THE SMOOTH ACTION. HANDLED TROUT WITH EASE AND PERFORMED FLAWLESSLY. SMOOTH BAIL AND CASTED LINE LIKE SILK. NICE PRODUCT. WORTH THE MONEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not impressed

Date:March 12, 2014
First off I bought this reel because the reviews on cabelas although I have not had any problems with this reel I feel for the money I could have bought something better. the reel is not that smooth but on the up side it very light weight . but I guess what I am trying to say is you could get something better for less money or spend a little more and get a better reel . this reel is just ok too me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent reel

Date:August 10, 2013
This reel is absolutely fantastic. I have 40# daiwa samurai braid on it and it's smooth as silk. There is absolutely no noise and it catches 5lb bass with ease. I also own a stradic CI4 and the smoke is just as good, if not better, than it. Although the CI4 is lighter; it is really hard to tell a difference when you have them both in your hand. This reel has amazing value and I'm so happy to own the smoke. The only downfall to this reel is that it is so good that I don't want to try anything else!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You should own one... Or two!

Date:July 27, 2013
I simply love my SL25PTi and I'm going to order a SL10PTi to use on my awesome Daiwa Presso Rod. I have use it for both trout and salmon and I would not go back to the Shimano reels I paid almost twice as much for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super spin caster

Date:June 18, 2013
A very high quality reel..and ease of use...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent reel

Date:June 18, 2013
wish you had the quantum rod to go with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:June 17, 2013
This reel is awesome!!! I always bought cheaper reels but they did not last very long. This thing is the 'real' deal. It casts a mile on my IMX G. Loomis 7'. I feel everything and it handles bass with style.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive!

Date:June 2, 2013
I recently purchased two of the Quantum Smoke spinning reels, and was very impressed! I am a big saltwater fishing fanatic!
I have always been a huge PENN Reels fan, but I was looking at the great selection of reels at one of the local Cabelas locations and this reel caught my attention. The Smoke 25 & 30 series were beautifully designed reels that fit my style of saltwater fishing.... BIG REDFISH!
I was very skeptical about trying another brand, let alone reels as light weight as the Smoke. I paired both reels with Falcon HD 7' medium-heavy action rods. I have never fished with rigs so light... But the reels performed flawlessly! From the ability of the reels drag to withstand the scorching runs of big Red's to the durability,quality and stylish construction of these reels, I became a fan of Quantum reels. I plan on buying a few more to add to my collection. Thanks for a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

twenty five yr. Quantum fan

Date:May 15, 2013
I was a little upset to find that there was no selector switch for switching back and forth between free spool and instant anti-reverse. It seemed like an important piece of information to leave out of the sale literature. I had ordered both 30 and 40 size reels. I called Quantum to complain and they suggested I spool the 30 (the 40 was back-ordered) and try it out. They were right. The reel fishes so sweetly (not an adjective I've ever used to describe a reel before) it totally blew my mind. I wanted to stay indignant but couldn't. It's hard to believe that such a small difference in weight could make such a huge difference in performance. I babied it at first confusing lack of weight for lack of strength but there was really no need to. It handled the larger fish as well as any size 30 reel I've owned. If my wife doesn't like the lack of a switch I'll be taking them for my own and giving her the Catalysts, and if I get the longevity and ease of repair I've come to expect from Quantum I'll probably be a fan for a second twenty five yrs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looks Great, Runs poor

Date:April 16, 2013
I have never spent that much on a reel, so i was expecting greatness. Used the reel one time jigging in depere and was not impressed. Was not smooth and made a humming noise while retrieving. Right out of the box it never seemed to spin freely. Took it back the next day. May have just had bad luck but for that kind of money they need to up the quality control.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it

Date:June 19, 2012
I upgraded from an Abu Garcia Cardinal because after many years it was starting to have issues. I spend more time fishing now so I wanted to upgraded to a nicer reel. I've used this on a few spring walleye trips and some bass fishing and it works amazing. I have 10 lb Fireline Crystal spooled and it casts far and is very smooth. I would highly recommend this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome reel!

Date:May 18, 2012
I have three other Quantum spinning reels. This one beats them all. Light, smooth retrieve, long smooth casting (with braided line) and hauls in the bass with ease. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod & Reel Combo

Date:May 1, 2012
I must admit I have yet to put line on the reels yet, I bought 2. But I spent so much time on trying to decide the best rod to match with this reel and finally selected the medium-lite 7' Falcon Bucoo. I had not seen the rod in the stores so when I received yesterday was very happy with the quality of construction of both the rod and reel and the balance of the combo is perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:April 30, 2012
I recently picked this up in the 25, and wow, I am impressed. I was a little worried if it had the power for my bass fishing needs, but that was quickly forgotten with my first hookup. Its super smooth and super light. I have 20lb Power Pro on it and havent had problem one. Totally recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nicholson, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME!!!

Date:January 12, 2012
Looks beautiful and seems really smooth. It does seem a bit stiff like it could use a drop of oil before the first use, but maybe this is normal with this reel? I have paired it with a Fenwick HMX 6'6", 2 pc Medium power, Fast Action Rod. Can't wait to get out with this setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sackets Harbor, New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Smoke - Well worth the Money!

Date:January 9, 2012
This reel is light weight, smooth and has the backbone to handle whatever you're going after. I used it several times in the past two weeks and if handles Northern Pike without any problems at all. I'm planning on getting another "Smoke" before summer to have two rigs ready.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quantum® Smoke PTi Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Smoke!

Date:January 2, 2012
I just purchased the 30 series and this reel is smoth as silk and light as a feather! I paired it with a Cabellas recoil rod and it weighs in around 12 oz. I was a bit worried about the open design of the smoke but the open chamber below doesn't contain any moving components where debries can enter. I couldn't believe how sensitive this pair was together. I've only fished it once so far but I see many more fish in the boat this season with this set up as I could feel every little thing my lure came in contact with. I highly recommend and am very pleased thus far with my purchase! Quantum makes a great reel as this is my third and not my last! I love the bail the smoothness and the durability! The Cabella recoil rod is a home run as well, very light and very sensitive!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22