Customer Reviews for PACIFIC COAST Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PACIFIC COAST Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line

A premium choice in braided line, featuring advanced Cajun Guard technology. Protective coating maintains the signature red coloring that nearly disappears under water. Virtually invisible to fish, it’s the perfect braid for difficult presentations. Heavyweight strength in a small diameter that offers superior strength, durability and abrasion resistance. This is a must-have braid for your arsenal. Made in USA. Sizes: 125 yds .; 8, 10, 15, 20, 30, 40, 50, 65-lb. test. 300 yds. ; 15, 20, 30, 40, 50, 65, 80, 100-lb. test. Color: Red.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
8
13 out of 22(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Review 1 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Durable Braid

Date:December 28, 2012
I put the 30# on a Cabelas Pro Guide Salmon/Steelhead spinning combo. The line cast well with minimal resistance through the guides. Durability seems to be quite well. First trip out I hooked an 11# coho which wrapped around my anchor line 5 times. I pulled and pulled against that fish and was never able to break the line. When I finally retrieved my anchor with the Cajun Braid still wrapped, there was very little abrasion on the line.
The only down side I see to this line is that the color fades out very quickly.
I have used many other brands and I feel this one is just as good. Specially when you find it in the Bargain Cave!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

would not buy

Date:August 3, 2012
first time out salmon fishing in the ocean the line broke 5 times losing gear and fish 65lb test should be able to handle 20lb salmon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst super line

Date:June 28, 2012
You get what you pay for with this line. I tried this for halibut fishing . The first day it worked fine. The next weekend, the current was stronger and we would tangle as we would bring the fish up from 450'. The cajun line would fray as it crossed the spider wire as we had fish on. We lost 5 halibut over the weekend from the cajun line breaking. Switched to spare rod with Tuf line to get our fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Brazil
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excelent

Date:June 3, 2012
I have being using in my fishing trips to Amazon, looking for peacock bass (using 50 and 65 lbs) and I have nothing to complain about it. Very good, smooth and resistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great braid

Date:May 7, 2012
I have recently bought some more of these, I really like the price for the amount of line. The only problem with it is that it fades a little bit after a few uses. Overall it is a great product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ky.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good line at the price

Date:March 12, 2012
I have used this line now for several years and have yet t find a flaw with it. At current price I intend to buy as much as I can get. I caught a 78 lb. blue channel on the 30 lb. braid line with dia. of mono. 10 lb. using a prodigy reel and mag touch med. light reel with absolutely no problem out of the KY. river. I will admit it was a long fight getting him tired enough to bring him to the surface but I had that fish weighed because I thought I might have a record, ( not even close ) and the line not only held but did not stretch to the point that I needed to replace or cut in off. I am sorry for the folks that had problems but I use this line on many of my outfits and have never had a problem. I am either extremely lucky or **************. I use it on 6 of my outfits currently and am buying it again as it does not kink, and I don't have to replace it yearly as I do with mono line. At the current price it is a steal.
I also want to say that the Prodigy reels are the best that money can buy and we all know by now that they are made by Diawa, and if you are looking for a great rod under 400 hundred bills please check out and read the reviews on Mag Touch rods as they are tough, sensitive and play like no other rod in my arsenal. I own 2 and am looking to buy several more. These are the best rods money can buy period. I only wish I could find a short UL for my collection. I own G-Loomis and St. Croix rods at many times the cost and they are no better, Hmmm, wonder who makes these for Cabelas?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Absolute favorite line!

Date:January 10, 2012
I purchased this line because I wanted something cheap and easy to replace if it failed, well all I have to say is this line in a beast. I used it in saltwater and fresh and never had a single problem! Excellent knot and pure strength! Never lost a fish, or lure! For this dirt cheap price, you get pro-quality! I am just a fisherman on a budget and would say this is my all around favorite line of all time, love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Russia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No good

Date:January 6, 2012
I tested 20lb braid with weight scale and used palomar knot. Braid broke at a load of 3.7 kg
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: India
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Useless Line

Date:October 25, 2011
It is the worst line I have ever used Buy Power pro or Sufix or Daiwa Samurai Braid..What you pay for is what you get......The line loses its colour at the first fresh water trip and is much thicker than other braided line....Pay a liitle more and get a better line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

as good as you can expect.

Date:August 29, 2011
got it to try just because of the price. seems about as good as any other dyneema/spectra line. The main differences i've found between brands is how tightly they braid the line which determine's the lines profile. This line is very similar to several other braids.
To the people who said their knots slipped...ALL superlines will slip with certain popular knots. The most common is the clinch knot..this will pull out with any superline. In other words, not all good mono knots are good with these braids and the knot that slipped for you with this line slip with any brand...guaranteed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid braid from what I've experienced.

Date:August 3, 2011
I've used some 20 on spinning gear & 65 on casting & other than the color fading(have yet to use a braid that doesn't have this issue), it's been a solid line for me. I used the 20 for those tricky casting 1/4oz Scum Frogs & I pulled some good size fish out of slop without any break off issues or casting issues.
I haven't used the 65 all that much. It didn't make a good first impression when I got a Koppers frog stuck in a tree & the line broke before the small branch it was wrapped on. I didn't use it for a while after that, but I picked it up last week & yanked a couple 3lbers out of the slop like they were minnows & there wasn't much dig in, even when I had to yank the one out of some weeds he had me wrapped in. Casting isn't the greatest on it, but it's passable.
Overall I've found it to be a very solid braid, although I like Power Pro & Stren Sonic better, but when it's at these prices, it's a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT.
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Braid

Date:July 10, 2011
I use 30# on my Quantum T.E. no problems.
This line casts well,spools well and holds a Palomar
knot well.Made in U.S.A.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Monticello, FL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Strong, lightwieght, very flexible

Date:June 13, 2011
Saltwater fishing on Florida's Gulf Coast & bays. Me & buddies catch everyting from trout, sharks & redfish. Cajun Braid didn't break, knots didn't come loose, & we got at least 5 time the casting distance compared to monofilament. A great product overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Abingdon, VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Line is not Cajun Quality

Date:June 1, 2011
This line is a deeply faded red color that turns to pink on first use. Seems to be strong, but thicker and does not cast as well as braid of the same diameter. Also, knots are VERY bad about slipping; you will have to use a Palomer Knot (or double Palomer) to keep from losing a fish. I highly recommend Cajun's other mono lines but cannot recommend this line. Buy Spiderwire or Fireline instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: the delta, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

uh-oh

Date:May 24, 2011
okay, i just received my spool of 10 lb. test cajun red braid and i have not fished it yet BUT i can already tell that i am not going to like this line. first of all, this line is not round...it is flat like dental floss which, from past experience with other flat braided lines, will result in serious line digging. secondly, this line is not thin! the package says it is the equivalent diameter of 3 lb. test mono...sorry, this may only be true if they measured the flat side but the wide side looks closer to 8-10 lbs. test mono. finally, this line is not really red...closer to 'faded rose' than red so that, even new, the line already looks used. i also just did some informal line/knot strength tests...the line does indeed seem to be very strong...however, the line slips through the knots! even if you the tag end is super long, just keep pulling and the knot comes undone. beware.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WORST LINE EVER!!!

Date:April 24, 2011
I just purchased this 20# line and used it once and I lost just about everything I tied on (10 setups). I think the line gets really slick when it gets wet and the knots just come untied. I tested new/dry line and the knots are strong, so my knots are good. I also tested used/wet line and the hook pulled right off with ease. Two of my buddies also tied their “BEST FISHING KNOT EVER” lol, it also pulled right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Chester
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent Braid

Date:April 19, 2011
Pros: price, lack of stretch, good knot strength, zero memory, excellent castiblity, very visible, WILL NOT BREAK
Cons: very visible, color does leak slightly, thick (40lb braid= 12lb mono)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: clifton,tn.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap but not worth it

Date:April 17, 2011
Not impressed i guess its true you get what you pay for. Not near as strong as advertised, broke three times in one morning, fish got away. spend the extra for power pro, spiderwire, or fireline.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never again

Date:April 9, 2011
This line seemed very similiar to other super lines I have used before, and because of the price I was hooked. WRONG DECISION. I broke of on three walleyes in one night. The line is not abrasion resistant enough to fish on a dam. After 10 casts, I could pull on my lure and snap 15 pound test every time. Needless to say, one night and I was done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cajun Line Cajun Braid Fishing Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Australia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Value!

Date:April 6, 2011
I can definitely recommend this braid now that I have tested it on many snapper down here in South Australia (up to 12kg fish). It sits well on spool and has not caused any problems so far. Great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22