Customer Reviews for U.S. REEL U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

U.S. REEL U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel

Engineered for superior strength with one-piece aluminum body and sideplates, machined solid-brass gears, a stainless steel spool shaft, stainless steel bearings and a forged-aluminum handle. Strong titanium-nitride-coated ALBe™ levelwind lays and feeds line smoothly. Fixed levelwind height set for optimal distance and line control. Magnetic spool control reduces backlash. Multidisc drag system. Thumb-bar release. Forged two-tone aluminum spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.969 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
26 out of 32(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Review 1 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hibdon 800

Date:March 26, 2013
This is a very good reel for the money. It will cast further than regular bait casters. I am a real believer in US Reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Caster

Date:January 29, 2013
Must lubricate the reel before using. Good quality and weight for rod balance. I put 8 lb. test line on it for greater distance~~it worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the price.

Date:January 22, 2013
With all our lakes frozen and daily temps below zero I haven't been out casting, but the reel appears well built and designed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the money

Date:January 22, 2013
I was impressed with the US Supercaster once I got used to throwing it. Had a few issues early then got the hang of it. My first catch was a nice red fish about twenty inches. No problem handeling bringing it in. Have since bought another Supercaster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Right Handed Only

Date:January 15, 2013
Came in as a right handed setup when a left handed setup was ordered. Returned it. Looked like a great deal for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800 SX

Date:January 8, 2013
The U.S. Reel is very smooth but I don't know if I'm really sold on the retreaving yet. It seems to gather the line in the middle of the reel. I'm sure after I have a chance to practice and learn the charactoristics of the real it will be just fine. I own serveral U.S. Reels and they haved performed excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this reel

Date:December 11, 2012
Throws longer and with few backlashes. I have 3 of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Chrome peeling off.

Date:December 8, 2012
I ordered this on July 11, 2012, it is now December 8, 2012 and used it very little. I was pretty underwhelmed with it's performance, thus it spent most of it's time in my rod locker. Pulled it out, along with all my other rods in November. Noticed that the chrome was peeling off the star drag and the handle. NONE of my other reels had any signs of damage. Mind you I have some pretty high end reels, but none the less, the chrome should not be peeling off after 4 months of VERY light duty. I would not buy one of these at ANY price, I think they belong in the junk heap! YMMV. I wanted to post a picture, but apparently I decided to toss it. Since I am not going to dig through the dump, I suppose my description will have to suffice. Well, it's where it belongs now I guess anyway. To be fair, the only reels I own in this price range are a Revo S, and some Carbon Lites. The rest are more expensive. Be that as it may, I still believe it's performance as a reel is substandard, and obviously I think nothing good of it's longevity. At this price point a Revo S is a far better choice, at it's blow out sale price, I'd think Pflueger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD REEL

Date:December 6, 2012
I like this reel. .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not good

Date:December 5, 2012
horrible bait casting real, traded it in for a Dawia Lexa 100 so nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really Nice Reel

Date:November 25, 2012
I was a bit afraid of getting the reel after reading some of the other reviews on the Internet about the reel. But at the sale price, I decided to take a chance....and I am glad that I did. The lever-wind works really well. I don't have a problem with the line retrieve. This is only my second baitcaster, so if I can use it, everyone else should as well. Just remember to put the line under the bar (not over). The reel feels very solid and should last for years and years. Get them before they sell out. I see that the left hand retrieve is already gone (that's the one that I got). I am not disappointed. I don't think that you will either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bargain

Date:November 19, 2012
Bought one because they were on clearance, I own 3 now. I can throw this reel as good as any of my other more expensive ones, and the quality definitely exceeded my expectations. Told my buddy about it and he's got one now too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Malaysia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to casts and further too.

Date:November 5, 2012
For the price I bought this reel, it is worth it. It casts further than my 3 other casting reels of diffrent makes. For accurate effortless casts nothing can beat this reel. Externally, this reel is all aluminium including the side plates. It is built to lasts and especially suitable for persons with large hands.
However on the minus side, it is on the large/heavy side. It could be improved by making it smaller and more compact while retaining the same spool dimension. The built quality lacks finesse. The thumb bar plate is horizontal/parallel to the rod instead of angled towards the rear and this makes it less comfortable when thumbing. The star drag is too pointy. It should be made more rounded and comfortable to the touch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: British Columbia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel for salmon

Date:November 4, 2012
Just bought it for its price and my curiosity about the wave bar. Great design! I drift fish for salmon and steelhead here in BC. With other low profile, my line sometimes got caught up by the angle from the level wind to my spool. With this reel, I had much smoother drift when I float went down the river. Also, when I got a big fish on, it's a much better experience with this reel. Smooth drag plus no line angle.
Couple things about this reel I don't like quite much.
1. the reel seat is too big! I have to force it into my GL3 and some time it comes out when a big one is pulling which is not cool!!
2. it's a great design but I wish it could be built better. Everything feels ok but you can tell it's made by some small factory.
3. the wave bar is not as strong as they advertised. I got a hot running fish, and the "titanium" coating peeled off a bit.
Over all, nothing beats this reel with the price cabelas offering right now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Brazil
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best in this price

Date:November 1, 2012
This reel is the better in his price.It is excellent for casting and the retrieve is wonderfull.The pawl of the retrieve in others reels is the worse part of a reel.I dont want other reel never more.I use the model 810 , retrieve with left hand.Who make the casting with rigth hand ,change the hand and retrieve with rigth hand is wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcaster

Date:November 1, 2012
My first baitcaster and I am more than satisfied. Took me some time to adjust, but it is now one of my favorite reels. Obviously, casts further than any of my spinning reels, retrieves smoothly and it looks even better than in the pictures. The level wind bar is doing what is supposed to be doing and so far, I’ve had no issues. It does back flash occasionally but as I mentioned it is my first baitcaster so it is probably on me. Overall, I'm very impressed, a very nice real and you can’t beat the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost sent them back, glad I didn't

Date:October 31, 2012
Got two of these on sale and took them out fishing for the first day. Didn't bother to read the manual and ended up with birds nest after birds nest. I was totally disgusted and determined they were junk. Once at home took two minutes read the manual to understand the magnetic breaking system and now I love them. Lesson learned on my part. These will allow you to cast even the lightest lure further than before without throwing your shoulder out. I am very happy with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fit and finish poor.

Date:October 4, 2012
The reel cast okay, and the drag seems to work fine. But there is a lot of noise when casting, and the right side plate has a gap between the frame and plate that is ugly. I like the level wind system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

US Reel 800sx

Date:October 2, 2012
Ordered 2 at the closeout price. Had to ship one back because the level wind bar was skipping gears and piling up line on one side of the spool...completely unacceptable....the other reel seems to function correctly. It casts a mile and doesnt backlash much. I'm keeping the functional reel to see how it holds up. This reel seemed to have a good concept with the levelwind bar...but unfortunately..a 50% success rate for me isnt enough to give this reel a very high rating. I'll stick to my go-to brand...Shimano.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for U.S. Reel Hibdon SuperCaster 800SX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SuperCaster is super!

Date:September 20, 2012
I was a bit leery of the level wind system, but after a few adjustments, this reel casts and retrieves like a dream! Paired with a Cabela's Gold Series rod, it makes a very nice entry-level outfit that will also please more advanced fishermen.
At the price, I don't think it can be beat.
Thanks, Cabela's!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 32