Customer Reviews for PENN Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel

PENN Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel

A high-performance spinning reel that offers dependability at an affordable price. Four shielded stainless steel bearings (and anti-reverse bearing) give you high-speed, smooth retrieves. Features a stainless steel main shaft, machine-forged aluminum spool and all-metal body and sideplate graphite rotor. Dependable oiled-felt drag system.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice gear

Date:June 3, 2014
I needed not expensive reel with high quality.
This one was the write.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:April 16, 2014
This reel went overboard and sat on the bottom in the sand for 2 hours before I was able to find and retrieve it. Needless to say, the reel is still in action and is smooth as silk. Gotta love that you get a full metal body reel for such a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best reel for the dollar

Date:April 1, 2014
I bought this reel specifically for float fishing steelhead. I have several top brand reels from competitors. However the options this reel has comparative to top end or priced reels I dont believe you can find at this price point. I fish hard, offten, and put my gear through its paces. I highly recommend this reel at this price for any large species fish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor - especially for a Penn

Date:March 3, 2014
What they mean by anti-reverse bearing is that this reel has no anti-reverse/reverse lever because it has no reverse. That's right - one direction only. You want slack? Open the bail because you can't back off using the handle, nor can the head free-spool. The handle grip is too large for the reel. The handle itself screws in place by holding the entire head of the reel while cranking the handle - just like the cheap dime store reels of yester-year. It's a shame they got so chintzy because the body seems to be well machined and the operation is smooth. Of course, it's also skirted spool - a bulky, heavy solution to a problem that never existed. It's sure nothing to compare to the 722z or the like, regardless of the "inexpensive" price tag. Go figure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel ever for the price

Date:December 20, 2013
From schoolie Spanish mackerel to 60lb cobia while also being able to survive the long blistering runs of False albacore We have purchased 6 of these reels and they have been bullet proof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Seems to be fine

Date:July 9, 2013
I paired the Reel with a Tsunami rod for what appeared to be a good combo. Tsunami Rod end eye broke after only a few casts (one use). Reel performed fine and assumethat it will continue to do so. Broke rod limited real testing of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hauled in a big one

Date:June 16, 2013
I have this reel set up on a cabelas pro guide 7' medium action rod with 10lb Cajun Red Lightning line, as a fresh water set up.I was able to land a 32lb Flathead catfish with zero issues. the reel worked flawlessly drag was great would buy again no issues
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty good reel

Date:March 28, 2013
I have 2 of them, a 2000 and 3000. Both have been quite good. Drag is good and they have held up for an entire season plus a trip with just simple freshwater rinse offs. I've caught some decent fish on both of them. Had one fish that the drag wouldn't stop but I'm guessing it was big one. They aren't as smooth or as tough as my Sargus but a great entry level saltwater reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid reel that is nicely balanced.

Date:March 12, 2013
This reel has a all metal body and feels very solid. It is smooth and balanced. I spooled it with 50 lb spiderwire line. It cast a mile with braid line and a 8' medium heavy pole. I use it for redfish, small sharks, grouper, trout so far. This set is strictly for larger heavier fish. The reel is a bit heavy, but it is made out of metal and has not flex. Black and red colors contrast well and look good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handles big fish Salt & Fresh

Date:December 15, 2012
Bought this reel as a backup for one of my boys for our annual upstate NY salmon fishing trip. It became the main reel the first day when the old time-worn reel got put to rest. My son is tough on reels, I don't mean damaging, he just likes to put the heat to fish early for quick releases…very good idea. This FRC 6000 performed admirably on numerous king salmon up to 26 pounds. So much so that it got removed from the salmon/steelhead rod and strapped onto my 9 foot surf stick where it performed equally well on stripers and blue fish along the RI coast for the remainder of the season. My only gripe about not just this reel company, but most…no more spare spools included. In this day and age of braided lines vs. mono lines I like to carry a spool of each. When it comes to fishing around jagged structures especially those found in the saltwater environs, I'll tell you what you can do with your braid… It has cost me a number of fish due to its poor ability to handle abrasion. It would be nice to open a new reel box and find that extra spool so that I can carry that mono filled spool for switching when the structure gets rough! A fresh water rinse down after each use has kept this reel running very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Montenegro
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent reel

Date:August 25, 2012
i have buy Penn fierce 6000 reel 2 month ago. I have ordered 2 more reels. Great full metal body reel for great price. I have some shimano reels they look like a toy next to Penn. Casting and drag are great. I would recommend it to all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yeah, it's got that.

Date:June 13, 2012
29 inch snook? No problem
32 inch Jack Crevalle? Got that.
4 foot hammer head? Doesn't flinch.
And this is on a 4 series. Seriously great reel, keep it lubed up and it will sing.
Tight lines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Reel

Date:May 30, 2012
This reel is very solid and performs the way you want it to. Glad I made this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Reel

Date:October 20, 2011
I purchased the 4000 model searching for a light inshore spinning solution and paired it with 15 lb. braid. I can say that the reel performs perfectly even under heavy pressure. The drag works well and the reel is rather lightweight, perfect for fishing tight areas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern, NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

solid reel!

Date:March 23, 2011
I paired the 2000 with a 7' ml Cabela's Torny Trail rod and is as tuned as a samurai sword! Good drag and good stuff!! Another solid and well crafted reel at a great price. Good weight too considering its a solid metal reel. Should last me 30 years if i take care of it. It cold become an heirloom because its that well made!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Penn Fierce-Big strong reel

Date:December 25, 2010
I got this beast for Christmas and when I put my hands on this reel I knew I was dealing with something powerful. The handle has awesome cranking power and can reel in a semi truck. I attached it to a 7 foot ugly stik tiger. I haven't used it yet but I can't wait to!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.