Customer Reviews for PENN Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PENN Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel

A high-performance spinning reel that offers dependability at an affordable price. Four shielded stainless steel bearings (and anti-reverse bearing) give you high-speed, smooth retrieves. Features a stainless steel main shaft, machine-forged aluminum spool and all-metal body and sideplate graphite rotor. Dependable oiled-felt drag system.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.695 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
132 out of 137(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015

great purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
great reel use primarily bass fishing.. performs well
.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015

Penn Fierce

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is an absolutely great reel, except for, the 4000 series that i got does not have a switch to allow back-reeling. for simple aesthetics though, the Penn Fierce matches up great with the Shakespear Uglystik GX2
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014

This is an update!

By
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Got this reel last year! It worked very well all season, no grinding, binding, no problems what so ever! This year, is totally different! I lubed and oiled it up before trout season! I use it for broke trout, the reel is a 2000!
I went out to my favorite spot, casted out, hooked a fish, not to big about 10 inches, on the retrieve the reel started to make a clicking sound, almost like a sewing machine! I don't abuse my reels, I take care good care of them, but this Penn Fierce truly dissapointed me! I thought that Penn was a good reel, I've had good luck with them before, but this one let me down! The warranty is over, and it's not worth sending it to Penn for work, because with the shipping and the cost of repair, it's gonna be more than the reel is worth! Don't know if I got a lemon, but it's the last Penn reel I get!
If anyone knows what is wrong, please tell me! Other than that the reel works well, truly broken hearted!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014

Nice for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
First let me say that I love my President's but I needed something that would handle heavier line and has a heavier max drag. The Fierce 6000 has a max drag of 20 lbs. and that is pretty darned good for a reel in this price range. It does not have a free-spin reverse and that may be a problem for some people, that is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. With this reel cleanliness is next to godliness. You need to keep it clean and properly lubed to keep it in good working condition but that is easy to do with this reel. I have had no problems with my reel and it suits my purpose well. I like it very much for fish up to maybe 40 lbs. I have seen videos of the larger 8000 model bringing in sailfish or sharks, I can't imagine doing that for very many seasons but then again, it's probably cheap enough that if that's the kind of fishing you want to do you could just buy a new one each year. It will compete with the reels that cost hundreds of dollars more, maybe just not in longevity if used under heavy use. Yes I would recommend this reel to a friend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

Penn Fierce

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I needed a dependable yet inexpensive saltwater reel. This was an excellent choice!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014

nice gear

By
Country: Russia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I needed not expensive reel with high quality.
This one was the write.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014

Well worth the money

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
This reel went overboard and sat on the bottom in the sand for 2 hours before I was able to find and retrieve it. Needless to say, the reel is still in action and is smooth as silk. Gotta love that you get a full metal body reel for such a great price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

best reel for the dollar

By
I bought this reel specifically for float fishing steelhead. I have several top brand reels from competitors. However the options this reel has comparative to top end or priced reels I dont believe you can find at this price point. I fish hard, offten, and put my gear through its paces. I highly recommend this reel at this price for any large species fish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014

Poor - especially for a Penn

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
What they mean by anti-reverse bearing is that this reel has no anti-reverse/reverse lever because it has no reverse. That's right - one direction only. You want slack? Open the bail because you can't back off using the handle, nor can the head free-spool. The handle grip is too large for the reel. The handle itself screws in place by holding the entire head of the reel while cranking the handle - just like the cheap dime store reels of yester-year. It's a shame they got so chintzy because the body seems to be well machined and the operation is smooth. Of course, it's also skirted spool - a bulky, heavy solution to a problem that never existed. It's sure nothing to compare to the 722z or the like, regardless of the "inexpensive" price tag. Go figure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2013

Best reel ever for the price

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
From schoolie Spanish mackerel to 60lb cobia while also being able to survive the long blistering runs of False albacore We have purchased 6 of these reels and they have been bullet proof.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013

Seems to be fine

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I paired the Reel with a Tsunami rod for what appeared to be a good combo. Tsunami Rod end eye broke after only a few casts (one use). Reel performed fine and assumethat it will continue to do so. Broke rod limited real testing of the product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2013

Hauled in a big one

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have this reel set up on a cabelas pro guide 7' medium action rod with 10lb Cajun Red Lightning line, as a fresh water set up.I was able to land a 32lb Flathead catfish with zero issues. the reel worked flawlessly drag was great would buy again no issues
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2013

Pretty good reel

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have 2 of them, a 2000 and 3000. Both have been quite good. Drag is good and they have held up for an entire season plus a trip with just simple freshwater rinse offs. I've caught some decent fish on both of them. Had one fish that the drag wouldn't stop but I'm guessing it was big one. They aren't as smooth or as tough as my Sargus but a great entry level saltwater reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

Solid reel that is nicely balanced.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This reel has a all metal body and feels very solid. It is smooth and balanced. I spooled it with 50 lb spiderwire line. It cast a mile with braid line and a 8' medium heavy pole. I use it for redfish, small sharks, grouper, trout so far. This set is strictly for larger heavier fish. The reel is a bit heavy, but it is made out of metal and has not flex. Black and red colors contrast well and look good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2012

Handles big fish Salt & Fresh

By
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought this reel as a backup for one of my boys for our annual upstate NY salmon fishing trip. It became the main reel the first day when the old time-worn reel got put to rest. My son is tough on reels, I don't mean damaging, he just likes to put the heat to fish early for quick releases…very good idea. This FRC 6000 performed admirably on numerous king salmon up to 26 pounds. So much so that it got removed from the salmon/steelhead rod and strapped onto my 9 foot surf stick where it performed equally well on stripers and blue fish along the RI coast for the remainder of the season. My only gripe about not just this reel company, but most…no more spare spools included. In this day and age of braided lines vs. mono lines I like to carry a spool of each. When it comes to fishing around jagged structures especially those found in the saltwater environs, I'll tell you what you can do with your braid… It has cost me a number of fish due to its poor ability to handle abrasion. It would be nice to open a new reel box and find that extra spool so that I can carry that mono filled spool for switching when the structure gets rough! A fresh water rinse down after each use has kept this reel running very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2012

Excellent reel

By
Country: Montenegro
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i have buy Penn fierce 6000 reel 2 month ago. I have ordered 2 more reels. Great full metal body reel for great price. I have some shimano reels they look like a toy next to Penn. Casting and drag are great. I would recommend it to all!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2012

Yeah, it's got that.

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
29 inch snook? No problem
32 inch Jack Crevalle? Got that.
4 foot hammer head? Doesn't flinch.
And this is on a 4 series. Seriously great reel, keep it lubed up and it will sing.
Tight lines.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

Good Reel

By
This reel is very solid and performs the way you want it to. Glad I made this purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2011

Solid Reel

By
Location: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased the 4000 model searching for a light inshore spinning solution and paired it with 15 lb. braid. I can say that the reel performs perfectly even under heavy pressure. The drag works well and the reel is rather lightweight, perfect for fishing tight areas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Penn® Fierce Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2011

solid reel!

By
Location: Northern, NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I paired the 2000 with a 7' ml Cabela's Torny Trail rod and is as tuned as a samurai sword! Good drag and good stuff!! Another solid and well crafted reel at a great price. Good weight too considering its a solid metal reel. Should last me 30 years if i take care of it. It cold become an heirloom because its that well made!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 22