Customer Reviews for DAIWA Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel

DAIWA Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel

Experience the proven performance of a Saltist™ reel with the added convenience and efficiency of a levelwind. Enjoy fish-dominating cranking power, a super-smooth multidisc drag that can produce up to 22 lbs. of drag and the pleasantly smooth operation afforded by four corrosion-resistant CRBB bearings. The foundation of this reel's all-metal construction is a rigid one-piece aluminum frame. High-strength alloy gears deliver up to 30% greater winding power than lesser reels. Dual anti-reverse systems. Dual-position power handle. Rod clamp included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Review 1 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A diesel truck with turbo.

Date:July 10, 2014
This reel is like having a diesel truck right in your hands. The reeling power is astonishing. On one of my fishing days, my hook got snagged on an underwater structure maybe 20 yards away. I only cut my line when I get as close as possible to the source. So I pull up the boat anchor and started reeling from the boat. I wasn't faster than my trolling motor but I was definitely reeling myself in. This reel makes 20 lb and under Striped bass way too easy to reel in. For the stripers 30 +lbs, this reel is a big helper. The speed is incredible. I was able to make a 4 oz. lead weight sinker skim across the water from about 50 yards as if it was a topwater lure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A reel sleeper

Date:May 27, 2014
Large tarpon are my primary target. I have two of these reels, purchased to replace a Trinidad 30 and an Avet 6/3. These are fine reels, but the Daiwa is better. It's smoother, has a better drag system and the level wind feature is really useful when fighting fish that can rip off 100 yards of line in a few seconds. I was doubtful when I got the first one, but after landing several dozen tarpon in the 80-120 lb range I'm a believer. Great reel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value

Date:October 20, 2013
I have used my 50 that I bought at the Cabelas store in Connecticut for cod, bluefish and strippers. The first time out I caught seven cod, pollack and haddock. The drag worked beautifully as these fish have soft mouths and a responsive drag is key in bringing these in. The last fish of the day got grabbed by an 8 foot blue shark, I tightened down the drag and after a five minute battle the shark released the cod! The reel was able to handle the shark, I was impressed to say the least. I have since brought in blues up to 20lbs and strippers to 40lbs. The reel has the strength to crank them in. I plan on buying another to have it in backup for when the fish are biting and I lose a lure or snap a line....great reel!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel

Date:July 7, 2013
Took 40 to Mazatlan filled with 15 lb test and landed 5 Rooster fish 25-35 lb range, not giants but great fighting size. Reel performed great no glitches on long runs, smooth drag, and the retrieve speed was nice. Much lighter than my P-16's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional value

Date:September 4, 2012
I use my models 30 & 40 during the summer at my vacation home, for Big Water Salmon Fishing in the Queen Charlotte's/ Haida Gwaii, B.C.Canada. These reels have exceptional value and features for true trophy class fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: San Carlos Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Choice for the Money

Date:February 19, 2012
The Salitist levelwind is an excellant choice for fishing Salom in Washington and Oregon states. The fast retrieve keeps up when the Salmon runs towords you.
The reasons I gave this reel a 4 instead of a 5 is it is high maitainace around Saltwater and the drug wears down in a short period of time. The repairs are costly. But I do like the reels for Jigging Yellowtail on the Sea of Cortez. and more so for Salmon up north.
Mike, Sea of Cortez on the Costa Lotta
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mn
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Musky Reel

Date:January 11, 2012
I purchased a Saltist 20 to cast large blade bucktails for muskies. There is a learning curve involved with this application, but considering the price compared to that of other suitable reels, the Saltist is a good option.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Daiwa Saltist™ Levelwind Conventional Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington(the state)
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast

Date:September 19, 2011
Probably the best reel I have used for Salmon. When the big one makes a run at the boat , with barbless hooks, you have to be fast and it has to hold up to the rigors of salt and drag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.