Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel

CABELA'S Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel

These reels feature a 10-bearing system for smooth casts and a one-way instant anti-reverse clutch for solid hooksets. The main spool is aluminum, while the body is a hybrid of metal and graphite for lightweight strength. Anti-twist, titanium-coated line roller. Convertible aluminum fold-down handle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
29 out of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010

Nice Reel

By
Location: Georgia
Very smooth and well made spinning reel, especially for the price. Great job Cabela's!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2010

excellent

By
Location: hartford, wisconsin
The reel performs at a higher value than what you are selling it for. Very smooth, easy to use drag system and works well with your gold label rods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2010

Wonderful reel

By
Location: A.H. IL
I was lucky to get this as a "Combo". Toss the handle and cover some real territory! SMOOTH! My favorite reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2010

Handle Problem

By
I would give this reel a 5 star review but i absolutely hate how they have the handle on this thing...normally the side piece of plastic screws into the handle but not in this case...i find the handle coming loose sometimes which is just aggravating.
Other than that, this reel has been absolutely amazing. Have easily caught over 30 or 40 bass and it has held up well against several 3lb+ fish. Get some smooth casting line and your ready to go!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2010

worth the money

By
Location: wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is as smooth a reel as i have used, i will order another asap
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2010

Reel is exactly the same as Shakespeare Deceiver

By
Location: Washington, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Fair warning, this reel is the exact same reel made by Shakespeare, the Deceiver. And if you know anything about Shakespeare reels, you know not to bother if you are a serious fisherman. I checked every part, and they are identical. I made the mistake of getting the Shakespeare version and got a refund when it broke on the 2nd use. Locked up and parts were jamming inside the reel. Some parts and screws were not even put together properly. Because of this the gears stripped, making it useless. I brought this reel home as a replacement and realized my mistake when I compared the two prior to sending the SS model back. Exact copies. Not sure if I will keep, but be fair warned. Love Shakespeare rods, but not their reels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2010

cabelas pro guide

By
Location: orchard park, ny
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i do not reccomend this reel! i purchased this reel and it seized up on me after 2 casts. also sounded like parts were rattling around inside.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011

Best Reel I have ever Owned

By
Location: Western N.Y.
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I asked for this reel for my birthday last year ans since then i have used it in a variety of places. I paired it with a 7 foot ugly stick, i have cought Bass, Brown Trout, Pike,and even hooked a 21 lb carp and the reel preformed excelent. The drag is very smooth and easily adjustable. The reel is still as smooth as the day that i recived it. My friend boutgh the same reel a few weeks later. i recomend this reel to anyone who is looking for both longevity and preformance at a price that will not brake the bank.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2011

Great reel!

By
Location: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought this reel and paired it with a 6'6" Fenwick Silverhawk and 10 lb Power Pro line for jigging walleye. Caught a 7 lb walleye this weekend a long with snagging into a 25 lb. paddlefish. The reel handled flawlessly. For the price I would recommend this reel to anybody who will listen.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2011

Seems to be Pflueger Clone

By
Location: Norheast PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I would guess that Cabela's has their branded reels made by Pflueger. This reel seems to have the same spool as the President XT, the body of the President and the handle of the Supreme. All in all that makes a great reel. Super smooth retrieve, excellent drag, and durable. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is I think the Pro Guide decal on the spool looks a little gaudy. Highly recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2011

Bang for Your Buck

By
Location: Hermitage, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
finally got my reel two days ago (on backorder over a month). first thing i noticed out of the box was just how good this reel looks. the looks aren't decieving. got it on my new rod the next day, and couldn't help but go use it. the instant anti reverse clutch works incredibly. no slipping what so ever. i went with the largest size, which is some what big, and was very surprized at how light it is. i have a slight rubbing somewhere, i think its the spool. shouldn't be hard to fix. other than that, i couldn't have gotten a better reel for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2011

Great reel for the Price

By
Location: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this reel to use on my all purpose spinning rod. It is a great reel for the price. It casts very well and is pretty smooth. It is not as smooth as some of the $200 reels, but performs very nicely and has held up through several long days on the river now. Definately worth the money I spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2011

Great reel for the price

By
Location: Nesbit, MS
Gender: Male
I purchased this reel expecting it to have the same quality as the cheaper ones sold at discount stores. i was surprised at how smooth it is and it is a big jump in quality over the reels in its same price range. I did catch it one sale though!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2011

My 1st impression is that it is excellent!

By
Location: Corydon, IA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
On a recent trout fishing trip the two reels I had with me started to act up. Being close to Cabela’s, and about 250 miles from home, I stopped in and purchased this reel. It is smooth in operation, casts were good, and I experienced less line twist than on reels costing twice as much. I hope it performs as well on future trips and I will update this review, if possible, after I have more experience with the reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2011

Great reel

By
Light weight, smooth casting, and all around quality reel. I have never gone wrong with the cabelas brand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Great reel!

By
Location: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got this reel as a gift and use it in fresh water for jigging, spinning and bait fishing. The action is smooth, casting is great and when you get a fish on the drag works flawlessly. I'd recommend this without hesitation, it's GREAT!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2012

Good value...

By
Only used several hours but first impression is good. Smooth functioning reel for its price range. I did get this in store on sale which made me feel better about the value. This reel comes with only one spool though which limits its versatility.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2012

Great value

By
Location: Bellingham, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recently got the Cabelas ProGuide PG2000. I've loaded the reel with 6 lb high vis line and paired it with an Okuma 7' Kokanee rod. Both a fantastic value. The reel is super smooth with great features and the rod is fantastic for casting yet is sensitive to light bites.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2012

Great Reel for Great Price

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I fish for Macks regularly and needed a reliable reel that could handle deep water (over 250 feet) and reel in large trout.
I bought the 3000 model and loved it. Have had it 2 months and use it every weekend all day. So far so good. Still smooth and very solid.
I bought the 2500 and use if for the same purpose, still works great. Cant beat Cabelas brand. I plan on ordering the 2000 model for small streams.
All in all, no complaints after months of use. Solid reel for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Pro Guide® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Good reel!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Good reel at a good price. Use it on my 8' bobber rod for walleye.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 31