Customer Reviews for ESKIMO Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger

ESKIMO Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger

A combination of a high performance, quick-response starting and a very competitive price makes this ice auger an excellent choice for anglers wanting a great auger that won't drill a hole through their budget. The superb 33cc Viper engine with ball-bearing transmission delivers unmatched drilling performance and value. A primer button helps start the auger quickly. The fingertip throttle trigger gives you precise power control, and a muffler guard protects you from hot areas on the engine. Use the see-through gas tank to montior fuel level. The dual stainless steel blades and centering point provide superior drilling speed, and an exclusive centering ring prevents drilling angled holes. Eskimo's red powder-coated finish has proven to be among the most durable in the industry. An included blade protector extends the life of the blades. Available: 8" only. Weight: 28 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Review 1 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015

Eskimo Auger

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recently upgraded to a new Eskimo power auger. It is very good. Light weight , easy to start , plenty of power and quick. I would recommend the auger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

Sooo Easy

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a great investment for somebody who enjoys ice fishing. It is so easy to use and once it is primed, it starts on the first pull of the cord. It's affordable and easy to haul. I would absolutely recommend this to everybody looking to get a power auger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013

Not bad Auger for starter

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this auger last week on sale, and so far it seems to be powerful enough to bust through 16 to 20" of solid ice here in southern Minnesota.
Only issue I have had is when it gets really cold, or if it wasn't used in awhile it can be difficult to get started. Good beginner's auger, can't beat the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After buying this auger at the end of October I finally had the chance to use it. First off, I just want to say with options available to spend twice the money on other augers - save your money. The Stingray started in a snap, one pull and I was off and running. During the course of the day I punched about 20 holes quickly, with no bogging down or catching. The Stingray drilled faster than I thought which was a great surprise. Don't let the 33 cc engine fool you, it has the power you need. Heck, even my father in law was impressed and he's been a Jiffy man FOREVER!
Also, the gas leaking was a concern but with the self venting gas cap I had no problems.
For the average guy who gets out maybe a couple dozen times a year this is a great, reliable and durable auger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013

Eskimo Auger

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought this for a good deal at Cabelas. I have had no complaints, starts great every time. I had concerns about the 33cc engine being slow but this thing rips through ice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2013

ok machine

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
ok machine, used twice and got a gas leak, took it back and upgraded to shark otherwise not bad for money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

good deal

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Have used this twice and it's working great, starts easy, runs well and cuts very fast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012

Great Auger!

By
Location: northern wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It always starts right up due to the primer. (keep choke closed while priming ). This cuts through the ice better than any other auger I have used. If you would happen to have a problem the company is very good to work with. Since I have had this auger the only problem I have is that now I have to drill all of the holes. I fish quite a bit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2011

Great Auger, Great Price

By
Location: Ankeny Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased 2 years ago and used dozens of times in 12"-36" ice. Starts easily every time and never bogs down in the ice. Gas cap leaked once, now just store with gas cap pointed up. A great auger!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2011

great buy

By
Location: nothwest ct.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was looking for a lite gas auger. I bought this one and have not had a problem at all. It has plenty of power, starts easy and stay's running and it's lite.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2011

recoil breaks

By
Location: ct
Gender: Male
i had this ice auger for one season and the recoil broke twice.CAN NOT fix your self and have to order whole part when rope breaks. the spring broke the second time after 2 pulls. there goes my trip for tom.,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010

Great buy

By
Location: Colorado
I purchased this auger last year.We put it threw 2 feet of ice several times and it hardly ever sticks.33cc for an 8inch blade is plenty good.The coldest I had it out in was around 5-10 degrees so it was not tested in severe cold weather yet.Plus the price is great. So many of these augers are over priced so im glad they came out with this one.Great Job Eskimo!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

Good machine

By
Purchased this unit recently after returning a new, high end Jiffy which I was not happy with. This unit started 1st pull out of the box, and has started 1st or 2nd pull every time since.
Initially I thought there was a gas leak from the carb but came to realize I needed to crank pretty hard on the gas tank cover. No leaking since. Also, drills alot of holes with very little gasoline consumed.
So far this auger has drilled 12" ice no problem. A very nice, economical unit for the occasional ice fisherman.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

DO NOT BUY

By
Location: Ak
This is a trap. I have this auger and I HATE it. It is a piece of junk. It will not start readily, run smooth or stay functional. The pullcord broke, it drills through a foot of ice or so then bogs out, it does not have much power. Don't buy this auger, it is BAD. The 1st one I had would not start at all and the 2nd one is just junk. Put your money to a better auger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010

Eskimo stingray ice auger

By
Works well if you can get it started.
Have to prime it a lot more than I think I should and still a struggle to get it started.
Now, after 4 outings (one trashed because it wouldn't start) it has a fuel leak from the carburetor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eskimo Stingray Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

great auger for the price

By
Location: upstate,NY
Used this auger several times in the extreme cold and started right up everytime. Its also light weight and cuts ice really fast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.