Customer Reviews for PENN Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PENN Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel

Experience legendary Penn reel performance and you’ll never go back to lesser fishing instruments. 10 stainless steel ball bearings and one roller bearing make the Conquer among the smoothest-operating anywhere. Infinite anti-reverse results in hooksets with fish-smacking authority. Its patented, one-piece, machined-aluminum gear box provides a rugged housing without added bulk or weight. The Easy Access System is the most innovative maintenance feature ever introduced. Simply remove a single screw and the rear hatch opens to provide full access to components. The Eternal Alloy™ spool resists scratches and dents. The Superline Spool™ needs no backing for superlines. HT-100™ drag washers put you in complete control of the battle.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
4 out of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mass and RI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

decent plugging reel

Date:January 12, 2012
I use all my reels almost exclusively for casting from shore using artificial bait, poppers, swimmers, bucktails, sluggos. This reel, when matched with the right braid and rod, gives you decent distance and has an excellent drag, smooth and powerful. The only thing I wish this had is a higher gear ratio for faster retrieves for when you need to get your lure in to recast to breaking fish on the move.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: North Fork of Long Island...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointing...

Date:September 26, 2010
I purchased this reel last winter as a back-up to other time tested ones, and haven't used it allot, because I just don't like it...it's noisy cranking, and more disappointingly, stiff...like a new out of the box Van Stall...but it ain't a Van Stall...so I've just pretty much shelved it, and use it only as a spare in a pinch...save yourself some bucks and aggravation and get a Slammer, still the best Spinner Penn's made in years...maybe ever...at a very fair price...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Texas inland salt water
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointed

Date:August 5, 2010
At first this reel felt great with very a very solid and fluid like feel however try as I might I could not get the spool adjusted for correct line lay. Line would keep stacking up at the bottom of the spool leaving the top of the spool with less line. Penn includes an assortment of washers to correct this problem but the problem persisted even after I installed the correct washer that supposedly would fix the problem. Cabela's was more than happy to exchange the reel for a new one but it too started stacking line at the bottom of the spool. I did not attempt to adjust the second one, I feel for the price the reel should not have any issues!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth the money-GARBAGE

Date:July 31, 2010
What a piece of garbage this reel is. I bought it about 2 months ago and you could feel the gears when reeling it. Greased it 3 different times with no change. Contacted Penn, was told to send it back to them and Penn sent me a new reel. This new reel had a knocking when reeled so I sent it right back. Penn just loaded this reel up with grease to the point that grease was coming out of the reel handle, side plate, and bail arm attachment. Used it one time and it was worse than ever. I've owned Penn reels for over 40 years and never had garbage like this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Myrtle Beach,SC
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

conquer

Date:July 22, 2010
great reel overall!!! i didnt find one bad thing about it holds more line than anyother reel this size and is very light and easy to clean!! it is great for flounder and redfish and anyother target species! GREAT REEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great reels

Date:July 11, 2010
I have owned Penn Spinfisher SS reels for 20 years. All iterations from the 4200/420 to the 7500/750. Although more money, these reels are far superior. Weight savings and drag are far better. I have a 2000 and a 4000. Casts like a dream. No problems for six months and thousands of casts and many fish. Handles braid without any difficulty. Highly recommended. For my money, better than the Stradic and at least the equal of the Sustain. Penn has a winner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Penn® Conquer™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: the East Coast
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Reel

Date:May 26, 2010
You wont' be disappointed with this reel. I have used mid to upper series Shimanos for years and didn't think anything could compare. I purchased the 4000 size recently and have been very impressed. I'm using 20lb braid have had no wind knots. Line flows off the spool smooth. Very tight anti-reverse and it's built like a tank. HT100 drag is bomb proof like most Penn reels. For the amout of line it holds, it is really compact compared to others. It is .5oz lighter than a Stratic FI as well. I just caught a 44" redfish over 40lbs. on this reel with no problems. Drag was silky smooth the whole time never heating up and getting jerky or sticky during the fight or after. I'm sold....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.