Customer Reviews for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel

With a polymer-stainless hybrid 8-bearing system, the Catalyst PTi? reel from Quantum? will provide smooth action for your angling endevours. The scratch-resistant titanium vacuum deposition coating makes for a long-lasting reel with a ultra-sharp look. The ThinLine? aluminum body and sidecover help keep the weight down. It also features Quantum's LMS? controlled line management system for cast after cast consistency. The TiMAG? III titanium bail with magnetic bail trip enhances the light feel of the reel and makes for smooth casts. A multistack ceramic drag system gives you the power to tackle those hard-fighting fish and disposes heat for those epic battles with a stuborn leviathan. The machined-aluminum handle gives you a solid feel that is backed up by the Maglok? II Magnetic Continuous Anti-Reverse?. The extra-hard PT gears are fueled with Quantum Hot Sauce? lubrication for years of use. This reel will be the "Catalyst" for many great angling adventures.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portage, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel for the money, this is a great deal!!

Date:February 8, 2009
I've owned three of these reels for 5 years and they're still going strong. Favorite features are the TiMag bail (don't bend out of shape even after stepping on it), the magnetic bail trip which is the smoothest I've ever experienced (even smoother than the same sized Shimano Stella), and the Hot Sauce lube which really is an improvement over any other I've tried.
All the other features like the bearings, ceramic drag and constant anti-reverse only add to the already long list of quality components that make this a truly stellar product.
I have recommended these reels to several friends and they all like them very much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Rutland VT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:February 11, 2009
Just got mine today in the mail--its a 30. It is not as smooth as a reel with 8 bearings should be. It is also big and clunky. My okuma inspira 40 is smaller and lighter. And my Diawa 25 holds more line than this 30. If I spend this kind of money on a reel, or as it claims to be a $100 reel, then it should be smooth when I reel it. Not the case here. I compared it to all my other reels and it is comparable with my 10 year old 3 bearing shimano discount reel. Only good feature is the drag, and the bail does work smoothly and better than my others, to bad it takes a gorilla to crank it around. Buy something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cape coral , fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel

Date:February 23, 2009
love the reel. I do light tackle saltwater fishing and this reel is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nashville,Tn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Reel, Good Price

Date:March 9, 2009
Great value for the price. Smooth and trouble free. I use this reel 3 or 4 times a week, and have had no problems. I plan to buy additional Catalysts in other sizes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Catalyst PTi

Date:March 9, 2009
Nice reel for the price - I have been using Shimano but decided to try this one on sale. Just ordered another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Reel

Date:March 10, 2009
Smooth reel, fine drag, only issue is that it is a little weighty when compared to some other price-level reels. Highly recommend this reel!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a bad deal

Date:March 26, 2009
Extremely smooth, silent, easy to reel in. The magnetic mechanism on the bail lets it click over very easily after the cast. Drag adjustment is very precise. Reverse is instant at any point during rotation. Catching this reel on sale helps out alot too.
I didn't give 5 stars for a few nit-picky reasons. One, as some have mentioned it is heavy for its size (I got a 30 and swear it looks and feels like a 40). Two, the entire spinning portion of the reel (bail, line winder) is pretty bulky. Three, the spare spool included looks completely different than the installed spool. No gold accents, different marking/labels, and appears to even be smaller.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OkanaganFalls,B.C
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

still crankin

Date:April 10, 2009
Awesome reels especially for the money.I have owned a 40 since they first came out i dont 7 ro 8 years ago andhave caught so many smallies pickerel and trout with it.One problem was that there are these plastis sleeves in the bail mechanism that wore out kast year and jammed my bail so it wouldn't trip.However i simply removed them with seemingly no ill effects.just ordered a thirty size and cant wait to get it.Going to university in northern b.c for the next five years so i want to be ready for any salmon fishing time i may have.great reels ,great sale price you will not find a better one for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: uvalde, tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 complaints

Date:April 20, 2009
The reel feels very smooth, like it overall but the bail has a plastic piece before the roller that was catching my line and not letting it get all the way to the line roller. I put 10# test berkly vanish and was getting a lot of line twist. I have an older Catalist and never had line twist problens. I don't know if it is the line or the reel. I am changing the line and put superline on it to see how it does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: delaware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very smooth

Date:April 20, 2009
very smooth reel at a great price ,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

just returned it

Date:April 28, 2009
Received this reel two days ago and it has some really great features. The bail tripping mechanism is fantastic and the reel is completely balanced and smooth. The only reason I returned it was I could not get past the size.
I ordered the 30 but this reel is at least a full class bigger. This size discrepancy coupled with the weight meant it was going back. The only problem is they are sold out of the 20's!!
If you are in need of any of the other size classes, this reel is a very good deal at half price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality product

Date:May 11, 2009
This is the second Catalyst that I purchased and I've learned you can't go wrong with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Reel

Date:May 11, 2009
I would like to address a couple of things that have come up in other reviews. As far as the weight of this reel, it is heavy, but it is actually one of the lighter 40 size reels on the market. Compare it to others and it usually comes out an ounce or so ahead of things in its price range. It does seem a bit bulky, but that is because of its huge line capacity. Some manufacturers offer low and high capacity 40's, Quantum just goes with the high line capacity on this reel. The size hasn't been a problem for me.
At first, this reel was not as smooth as a comparable Shimano, and turning on the anti-reverse made it noticeably less smooth. However, after a few hours of fishing, the bearings seem to break in and this thing is incredibly smooth. Because of the size of this reel, it took some effort to match a rod to it so that it fished ergonomically and balanced well, so take your time with rod selection. Once that is considered, this is an excellent reel. The stiff aluminum body and hard gears have me hooked. The difference is very noticeable, and I liked my old reel. The 40 is great for big fish, get a smaller one for your general usage unless you slay monsters all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rhode Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A well made reel

Date:May 12, 2009
Ahoy,
I have three of these reels and i have used them in salt water with good performance. A great reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Catalyst PTi Spinning Reel

Date:May 19, 2009
This is the 2nd reel of this type I have and they both work great!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saxon, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nathan

Date:May 22, 2009
This is the best reel for the price I've ever owned. It's very smooth, and is very durable. I purchased one for myself a year ago and love it. When I seen the great deal cabelas had on it this spring, I had to get one for my father. He couldn't believe how much of a difference it is to the other reels he owned. My dad and I will never purchase any other brand on the market we're sold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: McCordsville, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel

Date:May 23, 2009
Very smooth, feels great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: LBI,NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Catalyst

Date:May 26, 2009
I needed another spinning reel to replace some worn equipment.So far this reel has been well worth the $$$.It is very smooth and seems like it will hold up to some tough fishing days ahead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: minneapolis, mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smooth

Date:May 27, 2009
The product is very nice at a good price, very smooth and it looks very good. Being a bigger reel it is perfect for trolling and heavier setups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Antioch, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SMOOOOOTH

Date:May 30, 2009
I received my 2 - Catalyst 10 PTiA's a couple of days ago. That evening I spooled up with 4lb test, preparing to head out the next morning. I primarily fish for "big fish" on ultralite, so the reel was paired up with my favorite: 4-8 lb. 9 1/2 ft "noodle" steelhead rod. As many comments suggest ... The reel IS somewhat heavy for it's size class, yet you have to appreciate that the reel IS built like a soldier and appears to have the durability and precision to last a good long while. I was very impressed with the workmanship and the crispness in operation. The line wound on smoothly and perfectly even. The bail clicked over easily and with a distinct soundness not found in most reels in the $100 and under catagory. The next morning I was out, hoping to hook into something that will help me with an evaluation of the reel's "on the water" performance. Haha, I didn't have to wait long ... I cast the float rig and let it settle before slowly working it in, with slight pauses. After about 15 feet, near the creek channel, the float started to do the "bobber dance" before submerging to the depths below. Giving a couple of feet before sweeping the circle hook to a set, I saw my rod fully load as line began to RIP..... off the reel. Without any question: THE DRAG IS FANTASTICALLY SMOOTH. The fish made repeated 10 to 20 ft runs without the reel suggesting as much as a hiccup. Can't say that about most of the reels I was using before. After about 20 minutes the fish began to wear out and I was finally able to land this 8 lb 13 oz Channel Catfish. The reel looks as nice as it performs. I would reccomend this reel to anyone who needs a solid performer ... especially at this highly reasonable reduced price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34