Customer Reviews for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel

With a polymer-stainless hybrid 8-bearing system, the Catalyst PTi? reel from Quantum? will provide smooth action for your angling endevours. The scratch-resistant titanium vacuum deposition coating makes for a long-lasting reel with a ultra-sharp look. The ThinLine? aluminum body and sidecover help keep the weight down. It also features Quantum's LMS? controlled line management system for cast after cast consistency. The TiMAG? III titanium bail with magnetic bail trip enhances the light feel of the reel and makes for smooth casts. A multistack ceramic drag system gives you the power to tackle those hard-fighting fish and disposes heat for those epic battles with a stuborn leviathan. The machined-aluminum handle gives you a solid feel that is backed up by the Maglok? II Magnetic Continuous Anti-Reverse?. The extra-hard PT gears are fueled with Quantum Hot Sauce? lubrication for years of use. This reel will be the "Catalyst" for many great angling adventures.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

Not happy

By
Reel makes a rubbing sound when turning.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2009

Not impressed

By
Location: Rutland VT
Just got mine today in the mail--its a 30. It is not as smooth as a reel with 8 bearings should be. It is also big and clunky. My okuma inspira 40 is smaller and lighter. And my Diawa 25 holds more line than this 30. If I spend this kind of money on a reel, or as it claims to be a $100 reel, then it should be smooth when I reel it. Not the case here. I compared it to all my other reels and it is comparable with my 10 year old 3 bearing shimano discount reel. Only good feature is the drag, and the bail does work smoothly and better than my others, to bad it takes a gorilla to crank it around. Buy something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009

Spinning Reel

By
Location: Biggs, CA
I am right handed so the reel works fine for me but my son is left handed and when we changed the reel handle to the other side the reel binds up. I was careful with the threads and I have dozens of other reels which we have shared over the years and this has never happened. I almost sent the reel back but because it wasn't happening on the right side I keep it. Other than that it has a nice feel, good drag, comfortable size and weight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

nice, pretty, works good

By
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
i've never bought an expensive spinning reel, i usually fish with baitcasters. saw this one on sale so i gave it a chance. paired it with a 7ft medium action allstar rod, 12lb berkley big game. cast smooth, reels in smooth. fights the fish well...but havent caught anything other than speckled trout on it.
the only problem i have with this reel (and why it got 4 stars) is that the handle comes loose often, every other cast i have to tighten it. i havent had time to see if i can locktite it yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

PTi30

By
Location: white plains,ny
pros-titanium bail,magnetic bail trip(no spring to break)smooth cranking(8bearings)...cons-at 13oz. a little heavy for a size30 reel..wore out my 8yr old kinetic which was lighter(all graphite)vs.aluminum in newer models(less flex under load)handles braided line well but be sure not to over load spool as with any reel when using braid
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009

Catalyst

By
Location: LBI,NJ
I needed another spinning reel to replace some worn equipment.So far this reel has been well worth the $$$.It is very smooth and seems like it will hold up to some tough fishing days ahead.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009

Quality product

By
Location: Saint Paul, MN
This is the second Catalyst that I purchased and I've learned you can't go wrong with this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2009

just returned it

By
Location: Southern NJ
Received this reel two days ago and it has some really great features. The bail tripping mechanism is fantastic and the reel is completely balanced and smooth. The only reason I returned it was I could not get past the size.
I ordered the 30 but this reel is at least a full class bigger. This size discrepancy coupled with the weight meant it was going back. The only problem is they are sold out of the 20's!!
If you are in need of any of the other size classes, this reel is a very good deal at half price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

very smooth

By
Location: delaware
very smooth reel at a great price ,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

2 complaints

By
Location: uvalde, tx
The reel feels very smooth, like it overall but the bail has a plastic piece before the roller that was catching my line and not letting it get all the way to the line roller. I put 10# test berkly vanish and was getting a lot of line twist. I have an older Catalist and never had line twist problens. I don't know if it is the line or the reel. I am changing the line and put superline on it to see how it does.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009

Not a bad deal

By
Location: Buffalo, NY
Extremely smooth, silent, easy to reel in. The magnetic mechanism on the bail lets it click over very easily after the cast. Drag adjustment is very precise. Reverse is instant at any point during rotation. Catching this reel on sale helps out alot too.
I didn't give 5 stars for a few nit-picky reasons. One, as some have mentioned it is heavy for its size (I got a 30 and swear it looks and feels like a 40). Two, the entire spinning portion of the reel (bail, line winder) is pretty bulky. Three, the spare spool included looks completely different than the installed spool. No gold accents, different marking/labels, and appears to even be smaller.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2009

Nice Reel

By
Location: Va
Smooth reel, fine drag, only issue is that it is a little weighty when compared to some other price-level reels. Highly recommend this reel!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009

Quantum Catalyst PTi Spinning Reel

By
Location: Upstate NY
Great Reel, Really Great Price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009

excellent

By
Location: MD
This handels the big ones on lake erie. Has at good cast and return. Fast enough for top water lures. Fit magt 6.6 pole and your ready to go fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2009

Quantum Catalyst PTi

By
Location: Atlanta, GA
This reel rocks. It is as smooth as silk and can cast a country mile. The drag system is very smooth as well. Cant beleive I have a reel with all the bells and whistles for under sixty bucks. What a Deal....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2009

a great reel

By
Location: Moss Beach Ca.
Just used my new catalyst pti spinning reel. It is a very smooth and great casting reel. The #10 size with a Loomis trout pole was a great match.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2009

Quantum catalyst PTi spinning reel

By
I haven't used this reel yet but like the look and feel of it.
I'm impressed with the way the bail clicks back so easily
compared with other brands of reels i have had.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Quantum calalyst pti

By
Location: Bismarck, AR
This is one of the best reels I have ever owned. It is extremely smooth and obviously a very high quality reel. I recently purchased one, but this is the second catalyst reel that I own. I would highly recommend to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

simply put... the finest spiinning reel I've used

By
Location: Monroe, GA
I bought a size 30 first and after using it I ordered a 10. These were the first Quantum brand I've owned and to be honest I purchased them on their sale price and only after fishing with the first one did I do begin to research these reels and discover how others felt about them. These reels, at the sale price, are an absolute steal. I expect to get years of service and enjoyment out of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quantum® Catalyst PTi® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

Quantum Catalyst

By
My Pa. nephews would rather fish than eat. They liked it, enough said for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 34