Customer Reviews for QUANTUM Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel

QUANTUM Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel

The Quantum Energy PT Spinning Reel has a performance-tuned 10-bearing system for high-end smoothness. Scratch-resistant titanium vacuum finish. Lightweight Thinline™ aluminum body and crank handle. Stacked ceramic drag. Exclusive TiMag magnetic bail. LMS™ line management system. Long Stroke™ spool. MAGLOK™ anti-reverse. PT gears.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2010

bass for life.

By
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Well i have had so many different reels that i thought i had found it with many of them, but when i laid my eyes and hands one this one, i had fell in love. I had snapped my last one about a year ago from fault. Well i had recently purchased another one that will be protected with my life, real smooth with the catch, and no failing at all. It could not be mechined any better then what it is. Quantum has out did there selfs with this reel, thank you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2010

Energy PT (E-20)

By
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought my original Energy back in 2005 (when they were a new item on the market). This is now the sixth year using it and so far I have NOT had one problem with it. Other reels get sluggish after a while and require a strip down and full cleaning. I strip all my reels completely during Jan/Feb and by the end of autumn the Quantum still feels like brand new where the others costing alot more start getting sluggish around July/ August but not the Quantum. It stays a smooth as heck all year..... and I fish 3-4 times every week.
It's slightly heavy but you get used to the feel of it. I have Shimano's, Pflugers, Abu Garcia's and the Energy always goes out with me. Some reels get a little beat like chipping paint, worn plating and nicks but this darn Energy still looks new. Why.... I don't know. It was worth every penny.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010

Solid reel

By
Location: Saginaw, MI
After 2 years and a lot of casting I have no issues with this reel. I really like the smooth drag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010

Quantum Energy PT

By
Location: Florissant, Mo
I was very happy with this reel. Smooth, lite, and casts to the limit. I use my rods and reels to the max... dirt, rain, and snow you name it this reel has been through it! I've had this reel for almost a year now and haven't cleaned or added any reel oil since i got it and it still works as good as the first day i pulled it out of the box! Im buying Quantum from now on!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010

PT

By
Location: Lower michigan
Very nice very very smooooth, worth the money especially on sale!! I have not been let down yet. Effortless casting very very little line twist, smooooth drag.. I have landed 50lbs salmon with this reel, and the next day switched spools and toasted blue gills I got the biggest one and ..Wow!! Best open face I have ever owned... and not the most costly either! Not a pro but I do buy nice when I buy, I would strongly tell someone to get this !!! I rarely say that about anything !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2009

Sweet Reel

By
This reel is sweet. It is very smooth, casts far, and has a cool look. Sweet reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2009

Great buy

By
Location: Saxon, WI
I've purchased two of these reels in the past two years, they are very well built and extremely smooth. My first one is the same now as when I bought it. If I could give it 6 stars I would!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2009

You get what you pay for.

By
Location: Ogden, Utah
I have used this reel all summer long, it's great no problems at all feels and works great. haven't lost a fish yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2009

Quantum Energy spinning reel

By
Location: Perkasie, PA
The smoothest spinning reel I have ever owned, and I've had a few in 50 years of fishing. This is a gem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2009

great reel

By
Location: iowa
I just got this reel about a week ago. this reel casts great, smooth retrieves. drag system works great. the quality for the price is great. anyone who wants an all around good reel this is the one to buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009

smooth

By
Location: guam
I added 20lb braid to this reel. Super casts. Had it on a 7' Ugly stick, great for bottom fishing. However this super smooth reel excells on the casting, very solid feel, pulls like a bigger reel!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2009

great reel

By
extremely smooth reel. great drag. very solid feeling as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2010

Keep it Clean!

By
Location: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I love this reel. I went without food while I was at school for months so I could buy it after a friend let me use one paired with a XMLti. However, I don't fish from a boat very often, and if this real gets in the dirt.... it gets gritty and super hard to clean. Mine fell in the dirt accidentally and the bale hasn't been the same since. The magnetic trip, which is why i got this reel, picked up all the metalic dust from the soil and even though I have taken it apart and tried to clean it, the trip isn't the smooth quantum trip it used to me. However, it still casts alright. The drag is amazing. I have the smallest size of this reel and I brought it an almost 40lb tigermusky using suffix braid, no sweat! Oh, and even though I've had this reel for three years and a lot of back packing/horse riding excursions it still looks brand new unlike my pflug., mitchell, and even my Dad's stratic!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2010

Exceptional value at the sale price

By
Location: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got it when it was on sale and it was a no brainer; I've used the older model Energys before and they performed well for the money. I pulled a lunker from the weeds without any problems. With the new model, i got a size 20 and the only downfall is that it's hefty at almost 11 oz. so expect to get a 7ft rod to balance things out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009

Energy PTI

By
Location: Madison, WI
Overall, for the price that I got it for, really no complaints whatsoever!!! Butter smooth drag...only thing I would change is the weight...a little heavy for a reel of this price (in my opinion).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010

junk

By
Location: alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had two of theis reals and tha both fell apart thay are junk!!!.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

Quantum Energy PT spinning reel

By
Location: Port Arthur, Texas
I bought this reel about a year ago because Cabelas had it on sale. After using it for about 3-4 months it became rough feeling. Stopped using it and decided it take it to a tackle shop to have it cleaned. It needed some parts so the tackle shop tried to order the parts from Quantum (ZEBCO) and they were listed as not available so the tackle shop called Quantum (ZEBCO) and they informed him that they did not support these parts. I am going to call Quantum and let them know that this is probably the most expensive spinning reel that I ever bought but don't worry because the Garcia and Shimano reels that I had long before I bought this one are still going strong! At a fraction of the cost of this reel!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.