Customer Reviews for Quantum Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Quantum Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel

The Quantum Energy PT Spinning Reel has a performance-tuned 10-bearing system for high-end smoothness. Scratch-resistant titanium vacuum finish. Lightweight Thinline™ aluminum body and crank handle. Stacked ceramic drag. Exclusive TiMag magnetic bail. LMS™ line management system. Long Stroke™ spool. MAGLOK™ anti-reverse. PT gears.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bass for life.

Date:June 19, 2010
Well i have had so many different reels that i thought i had found it with many of them, but when i laid my eyes and hands one this one, i had fell in love. I had snapped my last one about a year ago from fault. Well i had recently purchased another one that will be protected with my life, real smooth with the catch, and no failing at all. It could not be mechined any better then what it is. Quantum has out did there selfs with this reel, thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Energy PT (E-20)

Date:June 8, 2010
I bought my original Energy back in 2005 (when they were a new item on the market). This is now the sixth year using it and so far I have NOT had one problem with it. Other reels get sluggish after a while and require a strip down and full cleaning. I strip all my reels completely during Jan/Feb and by the end of autumn the Quantum still feels like brand new where the others costing alot more start getting sluggish around July/ August but not the Quantum. It stays a smooth as heck all year..... and I fish 3-4 times every week.
It's slightly heavy but you get used to the feel of it. I have Shimano's, Pflugers, Abu Garcia's and the Energy always goes out with me. Some reels get a little beat like chipping paint, worn plating and nicks but this darn Energy still looks new. Why.... I don't know. It was worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saginaw, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid reel

Date:June 3, 2010
After 2 years and a lot of casting I have no issues with this reel. I really like the smooth drag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Energy PT

Date:February 28, 2010
I was very happy with this reel. Smooth, lite, and casts to the limit. I use my rods and reels to the max... dirt, rain, and snow you name it this reel has been through it! I've had this reel for almost a year now and haven't cleaned or added any reel oil since i got it and it still works as good as the first day i pulled it out of the box! Im buying Quantum from now on!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lower michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PT

Date:January 25, 2010
Very nice very very smooooth, worth the money especially on sale!! I have not been let down yet. Effortless casting very very little line twist, smooooth drag.. I have landed 50lbs salmon with this reel, and the next day switched spools and toasted blue gills I got the biggest one and ..Wow!! Best open face I have ever owned... and not the most costly either! Not a pro but I do buy nice when I buy, I would strongly tell someone to get this !!! I rarely say that about anything !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Reel

Date:November 1, 2009
This reel is sweet. It is very smooth, casts far, and has a cool look. Sweet reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saxon, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:August 28, 2009
I've purchased two of these reels in the past two years, they are very well built and extremely smooth. My first one is the same now as when I bought it. If I could give it 6 stars I would!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for.

Date:August 28, 2009
I have used this reel all summer long, it's great no problems at all feels and works great. haven't lost a fish yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Perkasie, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Energy spinning reel

Date:August 14, 2009
The smoothest spinning reel I have ever owned, and I've had a few in 50 years of fishing. This is a gem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel

Date:May 22, 2009
I just got this reel about a week ago. this reel casts great, smooth retrieves. drag system works great. the quality for the price is great. anyone who wants an all around good reel this is the one to buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: guam
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smooth

Date:March 23, 2009
I added 20lb braid to this reel. Super casts. Had it on a 7' Ugly stick, great for bottom fishing. However this super smooth reel excells on the casting, very solid feel, pulls like a bigger reel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel

Date:January 3, 2009
extremely smooth reel. great drag. very solid feeling as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keep it Clean!

Date:July 29, 2010
I love this reel. I went without food while I was at school for months so I could buy it after a friend let me use one paired with a XMLti. However, I don't fish from a boat very often, and if this real gets in the dirt.... it gets gritty and super hard to clean. Mine fell in the dirt accidentally and the bale hasn't been the same since. The magnetic trip, which is why i got this reel, picked up all the metalic dust from the soil and even though I have taken it apart and tried to clean it, the trip isn't the smooth quantum trip it used to me. However, it still casts alright. The drag is amazing. I have the smallest size of this reel and I brought it an almost 40lb tigermusky using suffix braid, no sweat! Oh, and even though I've had this reel for three years and a lot of back packing/horse riding excursions it still looks brand new unlike my pflug., mitchell, and even my Dad's stratic!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional value at the sale price

Date:June 25, 2010
I got it when it was on sale and it was a no brainer; I've used the older model Energys before and they performed well for the money. I pulled a lunker from the weeds without any problems. With the new model, i got a size 20 and the only downfall is that it's hefty at almost 11 oz. so expect to get a 7ft rod to balance things out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Madison, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Energy PTI

Date:February 23, 2009
Overall, for the price that I got it for, really no complaints whatsoever!!! Butter smooth drag...only thing I would change is the weight...a little heavy for a reel of this price (in my opinion).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk

Date:October 25, 2010
I had two of theis reals and tha both fell apart thay are junk!!!.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum® Energy® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Port Arthur, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quantum Energy PT spinning reel

Date:December 30, 2009
I bought this reel about a year ago because Cabelas had it on sale. After using it for about 3-4 months it became rough feeling. Stopped using it and decided it take it to a tackle shop to have it cleaned. It needed some parts so the tackle shop tried to order the parts from Quantum (ZEBCO) and they were listed as not available so the tackle shop called Quantum (ZEBCO) and they informed him that they did not support these parts. I am going to call Quantum and let them know that this is probably the most expensive spinning reel that I ever bought but don't worry because the Garcia and Shimano reels that I had long before I bought this one are still going strong! At a fraction of the cost of this reel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.