Customer Reviews for SHIMANO Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel

SHIMANO Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel

Never be outmatched. Bank on the tournament-proven dominance of this lightweight, low-profile reel, with the line capacity and fish-turning torque you need to wear long-fighting trophies into submission. The Magnumlite® spool with a titanium line guide provides unparalleled line control and long-distance casting. Super Free® pinion gear system offers frictionless freespool. Assist Stopper anti-reverse results in consistent, solid hooksets. Corrosion-resistant, double-anodized spool and handle. Cold-forged drag star. Recessed reel foot adds to the low-profile setup. Easy-access 1/8-turn graphite sideplate. Septon® nonslip grips for optimal control in wet or dry conditions. Aluminum frame and aluminum Magnumlite spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.861 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
69 out of 72(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Review 1 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2011

Best Reel EVER

By
Location: Selah, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been fishing for everything from crappie to Steelhead and Salmon for 33 years. I have owned almost every bait caster on the market. I purchased the Curado 301E a year ago and it is truly the best reel that I have ever used! It holds plenty of line, the drag is durable and smooth and it casts almost anything I put on the end of the line. I own three Calcutta's and this by far puts those to shame. I like the lower profile and it fits nicely in my hand. If they would let me, I would be a spokesperson for this reel! It is moderately priced and that makes this reel even more apealing.....Don't read anymore reviews.....GO BUY ONE.....NOW!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2016

Awesome All Around 300 Reel!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great for swimbait, a-rigs and jigging most inshore, but works fine offshore wrecks. Reds, Rocks, Tautogs, Mahi, works on all just fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Reliable

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Love this reel! The low profile design fits the hand perfectly. Easy to set up for tangle free casting. It's my go to reel for salmon wether I'm trolling in the ocean or fishing the river. Love the smooth drag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

shimano perfection

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Thees reels are perfect for large heavy swim baits. with lots of power and plenty of line capacity yet still fits in your hand very nicely.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2014

Solid and smooth

The curado lives up to its reputation. I catch 30+ lb. salmon on the Sacramento River all summer long and the curado performs flawlessly. I have other reels of different makes that can't match the solid and smooth feel of the curado.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013

Easy to cast

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I now have five of these reals. As my family has transitioned into bait casting and musky fishing our Curado reels have made it very simple. My. One year old daughter picked it up and started casting with no lessons or backlashes. I use them min twice a week all summer and no problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Great reel

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
One of Shimano's best! Very smooth,I love it. I got lucky and found this one as a return in the bargain cave. To bad Shimano's doesn't make this one anymore.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2013

Average

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased the Curado in spring of 2012 along with a friend because we were looking for a durable baitcasting reel that could handle casting large topwater baits for hybrids. Late April-September these reels get used 5 times a week minimum of 30 hrs a week. The reel is still intact that's why it has received 3 stars. Overall it is just an average reel. I have tinkered with the brake system to try and tune in with lure weight and inconsistent heavy winds here in the midwest, but just could never get the casting distance or performance that i expected from a "Higher End" reel. I still use this reel because I'm a little gun-shy of spending good money on another reel. Currently it rattles and feels like some gear teeth are missing, but nonetheless i will grind this reel out until it no longer functions. Next purchase will be a chronarch or calcutta.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2013

Great

By
This is a great reel! Very smooth and cast very far.It also has a big spool for a lot of line.This is no dought my favorite baitcasteing reel!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2012

Great All-purpose

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this shimano a year ago. I used it on two or three trips last year for musky. It's the best real I own for any species of fish. Smooth and easy to use with 80lb braid. The manufacturer recommends using this for jigging big baits or jerkbaits for musky but I've used it for every application. If your starting out in Musky fishing and don't want to spend the money on a lot of different reals for different applications, this is the one for you!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2012

A powerhouse !

By
Country: India
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i got the 200 e7 on sale and was skeptical of this as i have been a spinning guy my entire life.
i read online about how to adjust the brakes and after a very short time and a few overruns (inevitable i guess) i have been able to come to the point where all brakes are off and i can cast it better that most of my spinners. she landed my largest mahseer after a 10 min fight with no fracas,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2012

shimano rules

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
what can i say about this reel is nothing great all round reel, i use the 300e for calico bass and white seabass, i paired it with a powell max swim bait rod, best reel, you can mark it down to about 200 bucks but thats hear or there. thanks shimano
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2012

awesome reel

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is by far the best reel i have bought for the money! for those of you who have given a poor review saying the reel is to complicated stick to the spinning reels they are basic and you should have no problems! never had a problem with this reel and would recommend this product to everybody
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2012

One of the best

By
Location: RO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Use to fish with Daiwa but now I've got Cu301E and is one of the best bait casting reel for big boys and big jobs, I use to fish with heavy jigs, big lipless baits and crankbaits. Never let me down. I'll get the new little sister Curado 201 G7...soon. It worth....buy one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

good reel

By
One of the best reels i own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2011

Fantastic

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I used this reel for a fishing trip to minnesota and i'm glad that i did. From trolling for pike and walleye to bass fishing with spinner reels and jigging for crappie and perch, this reel worked for everything. For fishing for a week i think i only had 2 rats nests (could have just been my poor judgement of casting into the wind). Had no problems with the drag, all-in-all a fantastic buy for the money. Not to mention the reeling on it is super smooth.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2011

BEST reel I've ever used

By
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've always been a shimano fan, so this was the first name I was looking to when looking for a new reel. I'm not a pro, nor do I spend high dollars on my gear, but I will pay the price for quality gear. I had my eye on the Curado 200e7, but wasn't ready to pull the trigger based on the price - when i saw the sale I jumped on it.
By far, the nicest, smoothest reel I have ever used; everything from casting to retrieving to drag to adjustments. I think this reel is well worth the asking price, and a steal at any less. I immediately turned and bought another for my wife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

Fantastic Reel !!!!

By
Location: Marietta Ga.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased one of these based on the advice of about 40 different people in the industry. With that sort of good word of mouth I had to try one and am very glad i did. After 2 days and about 30 largemouths I went online and ordered two more. Now I have 3 with 2 paired up with Vertas rods and 30lb braid you would be hard pressed to find a more sensitive set up. (BTW when the Veritas is paired with a Smoke reel you wil be able to fish all day with no fatigue. Its the lightest combo I have ever held.)I have caught well over 100 bass on it so far and have enjoyed every one a little bit more with this reel. Not to mention absolutely zero problems and will cast 2 country miles into the wind. That type of performance with the quality of Shimano and the lifetime supply of parts for repairs for the off chance you will need one. No need to worry about not being able to find em for the entire life of just about every reel they make.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011

A "Reel" Game Changer!

By
Location: TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've been a baitcaster skeptic for several years, mostly because I could never cast one without ending up with a nest on the spool. A few weeks ago my friend let me use his Curado and showed me how to properly adjust the reel to prevent this problem. I cast a few times and under proper guidance was able to successfully cast.
I opted to purchase the CU200e7 when it was on sale. With the knowledge of proper adjustment on my side I set out for the lake and after several hours of use I could not be happier. This thing can really pull in some line! Perfect for what I intended it to do. I am enjoying this reel so much that as soon as the CU200e5 is back in stock that I'll be picking one of those up to replace my spinning reel.
I am a baitcaster convert after seeing how fast and easy it is to cover the water with this setup. The cast distance is phenomenal, and the fine tuning adjustments are easy to make. I wish I had found this product years ago.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2011

Shimano has the Best Reels!!!

By
Location: Hoffman Estates,Il
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I own many top end reels nothing beats "SHIMANO" just straight up smooth!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 72