Customer Reviews for SHIMANO Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel

SHIMANO Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel

Never be outmatched. Bank on the tournament-proven dominance of this lightweight, low-profile reel, with the line capacity and fish-turning torque you need to wear long-fighting trophies into submission. The Magnumlite® spool with a titanium line guide provides unparalleled line control and long-distance casting. Super Free® pinion gear system offers frictionless freespool. Assist Stopper anti-reverse results in consistent, solid hooksets. Corrosion-resistant, double-anodized spool and handle. Cold-forged drag star. Recessed reel foot adds to the low-profile setup. Easy-access 1/8-turn graphite sideplate. Septon® nonslip grips for optimal control in wet or dry conditions. Aluminum frame and aluminum Magnumlite spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.853 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
65 out of 68(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Review 1 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Selah, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Reel EVER

Date:August 29, 2011
I have been fishing for everything from crappie to Steelhead and Salmon for 33 years. I have owned almost every bait caster on the market. I purchased the Curado 301E a year ago and it is truly the best reel that I have ever used! It holds plenty of line, the drag is durable and smooth and it casts almost anything I put on the end of the line. I own three Calcutta's and this by far puts those to shame. I like the lower profile and it fits nicely in my hand. If they would let me, I would be a spokesperson for this reel! It is moderately priced and that makes this reel even more apealing.....Don't read anymore reviews.....GO BUY ONE.....NOW!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to cast

Date:December 24, 2013
I now have five of these reals. As my family has transitioned into bait casting and musky fishing our Curado reels have made it very simple. My. One year old daughter picked it up and started casting with no lessons or backlashes. I use them min twice a week all summer and no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great reel

Date:October 22, 2013
One of Shimano's best! Very smooth,I love it. I got lucky and found this one as a return in the bargain cave. To bad Shimano's doesn't make this one anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Average

Date:April 15, 2013
I purchased the Curado in spring of 2012 along with a friend because we were looking for a durable baitcasting reel that could handle casting large topwater baits for hybrids. Late April-September these reels get used 5 times a week minimum of 30 hrs a week. The reel is still intact that's why it has received 3 stars. Overall it is just an average reel. I have tinkered with the brake system to try and tune in with lure weight and inconsistent heavy winds here in the midwest, but just could never get the casting distance or performance that i expected from a "Higher End" reel. I still use this reel because I'm a little gun-shy of spending good money on another reel. Currently it rattles and feels like some gear teeth are missing, but nonetheless i will grind this reel out until it no longer functions. Next purchase will be a chronarch or calcutta.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:March 18, 2013
This is a great reel! Very smooth and cast very far.It also has a big spool for a lot of line.This is no dought my favorite baitcasteing reel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great All-purpose

Date:November 10, 2012
I bought this shimano a year ago. I used it on two or three trips last year for musky. It's the best real I own for any species of fish. Smooth and easy to use with 80lb braid. The manufacturer recommends using this for jigging big baits or jerkbaits for musky but I've used it for every application. If your starting out in Musky fishing and don't want to spend the money on a lot of different reals for different applications, this is the one for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: India
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A powerhouse !

Date:September 5, 2012
i got the 200 e7 on sale and was skeptical of this as i have been a spinning guy my entire life.
i read online about how to adjust the brakes and after a very short time and a few overruns (inevitable i guess) i have been able to come to the point where all brakes are off and i can cast it better that most of my spinners. she landed my largest mahseer after a 10 min fight with no fracas,
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shimano rules

Date:June 2, 2012
what can i say about this reel is nothing great all round reel, i use the 300e for calico bass and white seabass, i paired it with a powell max swim bait rod, best reel, you can mark it down to about 200 bucks but thats hear or there. thanks shimano
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome reel

Date:June 1, 2012
This is by far the best reel i have bought for the money! for those of you who have given a poor review saying the reel is to complicated stick to the spinning reels they are basic and you should have no problems! never had a problem with this reel and would recommend this product to everybody
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: RO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best

Date:March 13, 2012
Use to fish with Daiwa but now I've got Cu301E and is one of the best bait casting reel for big boys and big jobs, I use to fish with heavy jigs, big lipless baits and crankbaits. Never let me down. I'll get the new little sister Curado 201 G7...soon. It worth....buy one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good reel

Date:January 17, 2012
One of the best reels i own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic

Date:December 24, 2011
I used this reel for a fishing trip to minnesota and i'm glad that i did. From trolling for pike and walleye to bass fishing with spinner reels and jigging for crappie and perch, this reel worked for everything. For fishing for a week i think i only had 2 rats nests (could have just been my poor judgement of casting into the wind). Had no problems with the drag, all-in-all a fantastic buy for the money. Not to mention the reeling on it is super smooth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST reel I've ever used

Date:November 17, 2011
I've always been a shimano fan, so this was the first name I was looking to when looking for a new reel. I'm not a pro, nor do I spend high dollars on my gear, but I will pay the price for quality gear. I had my eye on the Curado 200e7, but wasn't ready to pull the trigger based on the price - when i saw the sale I jumped on it.
By far, the nicest, smoothest reel I have ever used; everything from casting to retrieving to drag to adjustments. I think this reel is well worth the asking price, and a steal at any less. I immediately turned and bought another for my wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marietta Ga.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Reel !!!!

Date:October 5, 2011
I purchased one of these based on the advice of about 40 different people in the industry. With that sort of good word of mouth I had to try one and am very glad i did. After 2 days and about 30 largemouths I went online and ordered two more. Now I have 3 with 2 paired up with Vertas rods and 30lb braid you would be hard pressed to find a more sensitive set up. (BTW when the Veritas is paired with a Smoke reel you wil be able to fish all day with no fatigue. Its the lightest combo I have ever held.)I have caught well over 100 bass on it so far and have enjoyed every one a little bit more with this reel. Not to mention absolutely zero problems and will cast 2 country miles into the wind. That type of performance with the quality of Shimano and the lifetime supply of parts for repairs for the off chance you will need one. No need to worry about not being able to find em for the entire life of just about every reel they make.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A "Reel" Game Changer!

Date:September 11, 2011
I've been a baitcaster skeptic for several years, mostly because I could never cast one without ending up with a nest on the spool. A few weeks ago my friend let me use his Curado and showed me how to properly adjust the reel to prevent this problem. I cast a few times and under proper guidance was able to successfully cast.
I opted to purchase the CU200e7 when it was on sale. With the knowledge of proper adjustment on my side I set out for the lake and after several hours of use I could not be happier. This thing can really pull in some line! Perfect for what I intended it to do. I am enjoying this reel so much that as soon as the CU200e5 is back in stock that I'll be picking one of those up to replace my spinning reel.
I am a baitcaster convert after seeing how fast and easy it is to cover the water with this setup. The cast distance is phenomenal, and the fine tuning adjustments are easy to make. I wish I had found this product years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hoffman Estates,Il
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano has the Best Reels!!!

Date:July 4, 2011
I own many top end reels nothing beats "SHIMANO" just straight up smooth!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

curado

Date:July 3, 2011
Just used this reel for the first time this weekend and it is unbelievable. I have it matched with the mojo bass crankbait model. I was switching back and forth between this and a couple other poles depending on depth and lures and it was unreal how much more smooth, longer casting and faster this was compared, and I use good fishing equipment. This is the best reel I own and my new favorite. At this price I will be getting at least one more, highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: snohomish, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bait Caster, PERIOD!

Date:June 3, 2011
People that give this a two or three rating just don't know how to fish this reel. The adjustments are quick and easy, the casting is as controlled and smooth as it gets and the drag is awesome. I use this for Steelhead, salmon and sea bass, even caught a few good sized lings on it. Being saltwater rated truly sets it apart from the rest. You can spend more, but it won't be as good. Putting together my 3rd setup with the Curado, float gear, drift and spoons/jigs, I don't want to fish with anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eugene, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Steelhead Reel!

Date:April 3, 2011
Several months ago I bought a Curado 201 for winter steelhead drift fishing. I liked it so much I bought a second one for throwing spinners. Several steelhead have put the drag to the test, best I've used. Smooth, precise, tough....buy one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano® Curado E Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Katchinurfish, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding!

Date:March 9, 2011
Absolutely outstanding reel. I own two of these reels and won't fish with anything else. The centrifugal braking system is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 68