Customer Reviews for SHIMANO Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel

SHIMANO Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel

Shimano has shaved even more weight off one of their lightest baitcasters. It now weighs 2 oz. less than previous models. A Lo-Mass™ Drilled Spool uses a large arbor that has been cross-drilled to reduce weight and keep the mass of the spool closer to the rim. VBS® hub further reduces the weight of the spool, increasing freespool and reducing start-up inertia. While this does sacrifice line capacity, it means the reel can make longer casts because more energy goes into the line. VBS uses centrifugal force to provide consistent spool speed cast after cast. Super Free system promotes spool rotation for longer distance on your casts. A drilled handle shank eliminates unnecessary metal without sacrificing integrity. Three stainless steel ball bearings plus one roller bearing deliver smooth fishing performance. High Efficiency Gearing™ system uses oversized gears for high-speed retrieves. The 1⁄8-turn easy-access sideplate allows quick adjustments. By flipping up the turn-key on the sideplate and rotating it counterclockwise, the sideplate can be opened for VBS adjustments. Super Stopper™ II and Assist Stopper eliminate backplay for solid hooksets and increased durability. Dartainium® Drag gives a wide range of drag settings and smoother performance. Ceramic line guide for smooth casts and retrieves. QuickFire II clutch bar naturally positions your thumb on the spool for control. Disengaging levelwind system for even line lay. Positive click drag adjustment. Lightweight aluminum frame and graphite sideplates. Recessed reel foot.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Review 1 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2008

Not what I expected

By
Location: Louisiana
After using the Citica for only 4 outings, I found that the length of casting was really poor. I was throwing a crank bait and could only manage a 15-20 Yard cast. I compared this to my co-angler's brand X and found that it was not my casting abilities, but in fact it was the reel. This reel would be ideal for short casts only. Great retrieve speed and good overall performance, just lacking in the cast department.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2008

Much Improved Reel

By
Location: Macon, GA
I have some older Catica reel that are good, but I was really surprised when I received thee new 2009 model. This reel is slick and smooth. Once properly adjusted, it cast like dream. I use 3/8 lures and 3/8 Texas rigged worms a lot. With the 6.3:1 retrieve, I have to remind myself to crank slow when fishing the worms. All my fishing is on Georgia's rivers so the reel is subject to a lot of abuse. I also like the low profile of this reel. It doesn't get in the way if I'm in a boat or kayak. I wish I had 2 more Catica reels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008

Job weel done

By
I got the citica for christmass and two days later caught the biggest bass of my life. Fought a big twelve with no problems. Smooth casting and retreive. Well worth the money!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

Citica 200E

By
Location: Stephenville Texas
Very Pleased with this Product! Best Reel Yet! Very
light and smooth, casts well.
Highly Recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2009

awesome choice

By
Location: Angels Camp, CA
a great buy especially for the price. great casting distance and very low to the rod. small and compact makes it easy to hold in your hand. don't be fooled by the 3 bearings + one roller bearing, many companies label their reels as 8-11 bearings, when they are counting the bearing inside the handel, on the two handle grips, etc...... so not all bearings they list are in the spool gearing itself. the citica lists only the 3 bearings + one roller in the spool. very smooth, great breaking.....outperforms many others. buy it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2009

Great Reel.

By
Location: Houma, La
This is a awsome little reel, I do have some that cast further "Daiwa" but its not like day in night. Its so so compact, light, and low it feels reel good in your hand. Very, very smooth retrive and drag. I have used it about a 1/2 dozen times in saltwater only and have landed many trout and reds and so far so good, smooth as the first trip. I wish I could take the rating back I gave the Quantum Accurist PT because after a few trips out it makes a very loud noise when casted and the retrieve is not as smooth, it is not even in the same class as this Citica. I swore from here on out to use a product 6-12 times before posting a reivew. I dont care if its on sale, the Citica is worth twice the price in my book.
Shimano is just hard to beat...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2009

bang for your buck

By
Location: Middletown, DE
gotta love shimano...they've done it again. worth every penny. with this reel, you cant buy a bird's nest. super, super smooth and it will cast a country mile. can't wait for the new season to get in full swing so in can start rippin lips. (paired with a 7' medhvy premier w/ 12# power pro)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009

Shimano Citica E

By
Location: Louisiana
The Citica is simply a less refined Curado. But the Citica performs far beyond its price. Smooth casts, quiet retrieves, and a solid drag along with Shimano durability make the Citica a good choice for a go - to bass reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2009

sweet

By
Location: Duncansville, PA
This is probally the best reel you can buy for your money. You cant beat this reel for the price. Ive caught numerous largemouths over 6 pounds with no problem. Cast far and is very smooth..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2009

Citica Reel

By
Location: East Kentucky
I really like the weight of this reel. I like the little adjustment that is needed to cast different weight lures. It is small yet the handles are of the right size. I just love the cast ability of this reel and the distance I get from it. It really responds when you catch a large fish with it. No slippage and great retrieve action from the first strike. I highly recommend this reel to the serious bass fisherman.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009

SMOOOOTH and dependable

By
Location: Adirondacks, NY
I purchased three of these reels early last season and they performed flawlessly. I have already been fishing 2-3 days per week for the past 2 months and the reels are still smooth as silk even when cranking in the 6 pounder I caught yesterday.
Tonight I will be setting up my daughter's rod with one of these reels. I figure its easier to teach my daughter about thumb control than it is for her to deal with all the line kinks and hang ups she is experiencing using a closed faced spincaster. Usually I wouldn't recommend a baitcaster for a beginner fisherman but these reels imo are just that good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

dig it

By
Location: Lake Palestine in East Texas
Flippin awesome. Second one that I have purchased. Small, smooth, east mntc, adjustable as any, zings 1 oz slabs to 1/8th oz inline spinners & all between. Value>cost.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

my choice

By
Location: coffeyville, kansas
After reading the reviews, I agree with all the good ones. I set out about a year ago to find "my" reel. One that I would go with exclusively. I purchased 8 reels in the $100-200 range(one was a Curado), and after a year I find this one to be NOTICEABLy the best. All the reels were good, but not as good as this one, in my opinion. I'm amazed at the pinpoint casts I can make with this little beauty, and how it handles big fish. Good job, Shimano .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

fish on

By
This reel worked just ok.
It did tend to load the line to one side.
And it seemed a little sluggish on the cact.
IT did proform very well on controlling backlash.
I would spend the extra money and get the next modle up
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

Citica E is the Best money can buy

By
Location: louisiana
Without a doubt the best reel money can buy. I bought two of them for my saltwater adventures down in south louisiana. First trip out with them was on a 4 day trip, they casted and operated like majic from the first cast to the last. Great buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2009

Great Reel

By
I love this reel. I've used Shimano reels for years, thought I'd get a new one, this year. It is so smooth. it's unbelievable. Going to get another soon. Great Reel. Thank you Shimano and Cabela's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009

very good reel

By
Location: evergreen park,IL
This reel is very nice and worth every penny.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2010

citica is better than the curado

By
Location: ct
i have owned a lot of reels since ive became an avid fisherman. this reel is by far the best reel i have ever owned. infact, shimano is the only brand i will buy for spinning or baitcasting. this reel cant do it all, jigging, spinners, cranks, and pitching and flipping. it is so light weight and yet so powerful. my buddy has a curado and we were casting the same 3/8 jig and the reels were both set correctly, there was no difference. the citica may as well be called the curado jr. i have caught a nice 5 pounder burried in heavy grass and mossy cover, this reel pulled that sucker out so fast i was amazed. the drag is so smooth, the braking system is just right, and the country mile casts, you cant go wrong. i would not leave the house with out this reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2010

Tricky brake

By
Location: Georgia
I like the Citica reel a lot, but there is one big caveat. The braking mechanism is very cool, and has a lot of different settings available, but the little brakes can actually pop all the way off of the 'spokes'. Having this happen in the field is a real pain, and losing one would be a huge pain, there aren't any extra ones included with the reel....
I have popped the little brakes off several times, even being aware of how careful you need to be. Putting it back on is a real chore, and you really need tweezers/forceps, although I have managed to get one back on with my knife blade. I feel this braking adjustment method is a real negative, otherwise the reel is really great, as others have said it is so close to the Curada.
I would only recommend this to someone if they inspected the braking system, and popped one of the little brakes off to see what would be in store if it happened accidentally in the field. Adjust it before you go fishing for sure, makie your best guess at the weight lure you will use, and set accordingly before your out fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano® Citica® E Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010

More than I anticipated

By
Location: Schertz, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had taken my Revo SX to be cleaned in San Antonio. The guy who did the maintenance said the Revo was ill-suited for saltwater. He told me to try a Citica. I bought one that day. I love the feel, the casting, the weight system. But it was an out of world experience that showed me I made the right decision. I hooked a 6' Alligator Gar in St Charles Bay. I was using 10 lb Suffix Performance Braid on a St Croix 6'6" Tidemaster. Battled the beast for 20 minutes. Got it up next to the boat. But we had no way to hoist or net it. We let it go. The Citica was a beast. This fish weighed at least 70 lbs. Obviously I didn't horse the thing. But the rod, the reel and the line did marvelously. I'm glad I listened and bought the Citica.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 21