Customer Reviews for WRIGHT & MCGILL Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel

WRIGHT & MCGILL Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel

Dunk it, drag it or drown it, just rinse it off with fresh water when you're done and the Sabalos will be ready to fish again the next day. The lightweight aluminum body and the components of the Sabalos are totally impervious to saltwater, so you never have to worry about corrosion. The 9+1 ball bearing system with infinite anti-reverse won't let you down, no matter how hard you fish. The smooth front drag system uses dual discs and loves to be tested by big fish in harsh conditions. Thick power bail, long-life bail spring and anti-twist line roller. One-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: jacksonville, fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one of the best reels ever,

Date:March 25, 2008
when matched with power pro, your casts will be smoother and farther. the sabalos reel is a great reel as you can just rinse it off after a day in saltwater and it is fine. as we all know when a traditional non sealed reel gets mixed with saltwater the grease inside turns to gunk. the sabalos is sealed which keeps the grease well grease!!!! The reel holds up to the pull of redfish which we all know pull like freight trains. 5 stars for this reel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Pete, Fla
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:April 18, 2008
I bought a 3500 and loved it so much I got the 4000. Goes great with braid and can handle anything you throw at it in a day on the water. Great price, drag is amazing, and will buy a couple more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wright @ McGill Reel

Date:June 30, 2008
I use these reels mainly for topwater fishing for Reds inshore and stripers hybrids on the freshwater. Long cast are critical. I have them on 7 1/2 Shimano Teramar inshore rods. They cast very long and very smooth. I have tried many different brands of reels over the years - I prefer the Wright & McGill Sabalos spinning reel over any other spinning reel I have tried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent reel

Date:September 25, 2008
EXCELLENT REEL FOR THE MONEY. ACTION GOOD, KEEPS WORKING TIME AFTER TIME. HAVE THE 4000.
GREAT BUY!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jersey Shore
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome reel

Date:January 8, 2009
This is a quality reel that cannot be matched for its price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NSB, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sabalos

Date:March 1, 2009
This reel is amazing for the price. I went on a camping/ fishing trip to the Laguna Madre in South Texas for a total of 6 days and I matched the 4000 to a St Croix Tidemaster and spooled it with P-Line 20 lb braid. There were no sources of freshwater to rinse/ clean this reel off. It fell in the sand and it got dunked it in the saltwater. It went 6 days without any cleaning and it still works like it was new. In that timeframe it landed several reds, a couple trout, and a 30 pound black drum. The drag is silky smooth and can tame the hardest runs. Its 10 bearing system is a dream to fish. But the thing that really impressed me was it truly is saltwater grade. Take my advice and get this reel. It is a great value. You can bet I'm bringing mine on my next fishing adventure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Smooth

Date:March 11, 2009
I bought the 3500 and what a great choice. This reel is super smooth, casts great, looks very nice and not too mention the drag is very efficent. I am definetly going to buy another and I highly recommend you to give it a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wright & mcgill sabalos 2500

Date:March 25, 2009
excellent reel.would highly recommend to others.will easily compete with high end shimanos,diawas,plueger,penns,quantums reels.bought 2500 reel for a ultra light rig and it has been flawless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel

Date:April 8, 2009
good quality, solid product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST SALTWATER REEL PERIOD!

Date:April 9, 2009
This reel is hands down the best reel out there for the money!
I've purchase other reels at almost twice the price and they only lasted two seasons. I recently tested it's mettle on a saltwater fishing trip. After three days and no cleaning it was still smooth as glass and it cast a mile. Not once did I have a line issue where as my other two reels kept me busy untangling knots. If you are looking for a real sleeper this reel is it. I've already ordered two more. My father-in-law was so impressed he's looking at buy one as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Galveston,Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sabalos spinning reel

Date:May 4, 2009
Sloppy reel, save your money and buy a quality reel. Didn't like it at all. Only used it once, and gave it away. Stick with well known name brands for your hard earned money, I don't think it would have lasted 1 season. Noisy, sounded and felt like a coffee grinder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ridley Park, Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

what a find

Date:May 5, 2009
as the title says , what a find . you will not find a better reel for all around use ( that includes salt water ) Smoothhh, going to buy a few more. you will not be disapointed bet on it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sabalos 3000 spinning reel

Date:May 26, 2009
Excellent reel. Smaller than other 3000 series reel which came as a surprise. Bail closes effortlessly. Line lay is very even. Able to adjust drag minutely. Smooth and precise link between handle and gears. Easy to clean. Robust unit. Handles fused braid well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Texas inland salt water
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but not great!

Date:June 3, 2009
I recieved a 3000 and a 3500 that both had exterior finish problems. The reel seat stems where the reels attaches to the rods had big chips missing from the finish on both sides of the stems. Other areas had missing chips and bubbles under the finish too. Both reels were replaced without a problem however the replacement reels also had bubbles under the finish. I kept both of them but after my first trip out the reel seat stems ended up with the same kind of missing chips as the first two! I thought the first two were rough housed at the factory but now know it was due to sitting in rod holders. The second concern I have is when you remove the nonsealed rear protector plate a back corner of a drive gear is exposed. I can't immagine a quick dunking in sandy surf not choking the drive gears to a total disassembly,cleaning and relubing situation with them so exposed. In all fairness these reels have a great fluid feel and perform quite well. I feel with propper care of cleaning and lubrication they will do just fine. As far as just rinse with fresh water and you are ready to go, I am not willing to test that claim!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Merrit Island, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Impervious To Salt Water

Date:June 10, 2009
I bought this reel ( the 3000 ) with the high hope that I would finally be able to have a reel that I would not have to worry about getting wet while wade fishing . I am very dissapointed to say the least. I have had the reel about 6 months followed the intstructions to the letter about rinsing it off and the reel still seized up internally. I must have cleaned it out and re-lubed several times in the past 2 months. When the reel was working properly it was great but again everytime I took it out after I washed it down it was stiff. I have the 3500 and so far it seems to be working better than the 3000. I should have just bought the Penn Slammer or SG like I wanted to but I was told by several people this was a good reel. Blair Wiggins doesn't know what he's talking about!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good reel for the money

Date:March 17, 2010
I bought two of these reels because saltwater environments are tough on reels no matter how careful you may be with your equipment. Impervious to saltwater? Well, my girlfriend dropped it in the river (brackish water). Imagine that! I had to fish the rod and reel off the bottom, so it was down there for several minutes. A couple days later it was sticking and a little harder to crank just like every other reel that gets dropped in saltwater and eventually seizes up, but to my surprise it smoothed out with continued use as if the lubricant eventually counteracted the effects of the saltwater on the internal mechanism. It continued to improve with continued use and eventually I could not tell the difference between the dunked reel and the new reel. Its not rated a "5" because its not as smooth as a top notch reel but its smoother than most reels in the price range and has held up well even after being dunked. All I did was rinse the reel with fresh water and use it. It is still working great and has never been taken apart for cleaning. I'm impressed.....Still don't recommend dropping them in the saltwater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the price

Date:July 5, 2010
Do not fool yourself into thinking this is on the same par with a Shimano Stradic or Saros but it is a great reel for the money.
I have the 4000 and it is larger than the Shimano 400 series. its loaded with 50lb power pro and casts a mile.
Smooth but not as smooth as the Shimano.
Finish started chipping after the 2nd use.
Handle is smaller than I would prefer.
Great reel for a backup or the casual fisherman- would not buy it for a primary reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FL
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It is very well-made reel for the money.

Date:September 15, 2010
I bought 4000 reel about 2 months ago and fished with only this reel since. I landed numerous numbers of redfish, couple snooks, lots of spanish mackerel, and some small sharks. The drag is very smooth and has pretty good strength. For the money that I paid, I would never complain.
The one thing that I didn't like about is that the screws on frames are octagon shape not the cross shape...
But except that matter, 5 stars so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GULF COAST OF FLORIDA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SABALOS 3000

Date:December 22, 2010
VERY GOOD REEL,GETS THE JOB DONE DAY AFTER DAY. EXCELLANT DRAG. MONEY WELL SPENT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wright & McGill® Sabalos Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE GLOCK OF REELS. Salt water resistant!!!!!!

Date:May 15, 2011
I was looking for a reel that I could beat the heck out of. I came across this reel bc my neighbor swears by it. I fished with him many times and noticed that whenever he was done fishing he would take it the reel completely off the rod and rinse in the sink and it was like new everytime. One time we went to the beach and walk/ swam about 100 yards off the beach and while I had my Shimano above my head jump over waves, he was dunking this thing under water swimming with it. Make a long story short, I was confident his reel was done son. The next day I went over to his house, picked up the Sabalo 4000 and wouldn't you know it... Like new. He steps on it, bangs it, dunks it and everytime, rinse in the sink; and like new. After a year of watching this fine piece of machinery take a beating, I purchased the 3000 and 4000. I love them. I never review anything, but I felt I had to let you guys know. If your looking for a cheap reel that will never die (as long as you rinse after your done in the sink) get it. Your welcome. Thank me 1000 lbs of fish later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.