Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Abu Garcia Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels

Abu Garcia's® Black Max reel is an affordable fishing tool packed with performance. A total of five bearings create a rugged and dependable reel. Precision-machined Duragear™ brass gears deliver a smooth performance. Power Disk Drag System for playing even large fish. MagTrax™ Brake System for reliable casting and quick adjustments.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
36 out of 45(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Review 1 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst reel ever!

Date:April 7, 2012
This reel is horrible. Doesnt cast, doesnt reel good. I know that the Revo S or Revo SX are nice reels for a decent price but I cant bring myself to buy another Abu Garcia just because of this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Topeka Ks
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst reel ever

Date:March 24, 2011
Casts smooth works fine... Just wait all that ends in a short order! It will not last! Had 5 of them.
None last a season!! If you only fish 2-3 times a yr then you might get a couple yrs out of it. But if you fish alot...
Forget It!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Loomis, California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk

Date:June 12, 2010
Save the money and buy a better caster. the casting has to be right on or will birds nest every time. the fit and finish was poor every fourth or so cast the line would get cot between the spool and the case, some times meaning would have to take reel apart to free line . Good way to mess up a fishing trip. The good it is smooth reeling and fast, but that is it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Smooth as rocks in a meat grinder!!!

Date:July 4, 2009
Bought this reel as a temporary (cheap) reel, as I eagerly awaited the arrival of my Diawa. Backlash nightmare, especially when using any lure lighter than 1/2 oz. (and yes I know how to adjust the braking system properly). Started making a grinding noise during retrieve after the third outing. Cannot fully access the gears to assess/lubricate the origin of the grinding noise. In addition to all of that, the reel foot was sooooo much larger than the reel feet on my Diawa and older Shimano, that I had to grind it down to get it to fit the reel seat on my rod (custom made Castaway).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The Lemon

Date:June 7, 2008
I bought this reel and paired it with a 6.6 MH IM7 and tried 14lb trilene fluorocarbon and 14lb cajun red cast and practiced in the yard until I was used to it and then used it on a 12hr bass fishing trip.
1st I bought the left handed model and the magnetic drag was backwards from what it indicated on the reel (maybe they use the same template for the left and right models) according to the reel the max magnetic drag was all the way counter clockwise but the manual said it was clockwise which was right.
2nd the main drag on the reel was sticking witch made it almost impossible to set the hook (I had to put my thumb on the spool to stop it from spinning when it broke free) I have a spinning rod that does the same thing and I thought it would break in but three years later it still hasn't.
3rd after a lot of casting the spool started to make a weird loud buzzing sound (even the person I was fishing with at the back of the boat thought it was loud and could here it good) almost like it was lose even after checking and resetting the spool drag it continued until I stopped using it for a while.
4th This is probably related to some of these other problems but I got backlash after backlash most not very server but a pain none the less.
I Probably got a lemon going by what I read on the other reviews before I bought this reel. I ended up returning it and went with a quantum accurist and am very happy with the performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for beginners

Date:November 15, 2010
When I've got some weight on it, it works great. Will cast really far.
I found a combo with it and a matching Abu Garcia Rod that is FANTASTIC. I may get a different reel and still use the rod.
Even after a few months with it I'm backlashing every 3 casts or so. maybe it's me, but judging by other reviews, maybe not.
one review mentioned adjusting it by taking it apart, will try that, cause I'm about fed up with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: East St.Louis IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for beginners

Date:March 20, 2010
I purchased this reel thinking since i was a begginer that it would work for me not the case. This reel backlash every other cast. If the reel isn't set just right you will have a horrible fishing experience. I decided to go a different route and purchased a DAIWA STRIKEFORCE for the same price and I have been enjoying fishing again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Abu Garcia Black Max Casting Reel

Date:February 7, 2010
It was ok. It was preety good for the money but not that good of a reel, it was not reel smooth and would not cast far. But it does have great line capacity. It is a good reel for the money but spend a little more and you will get your moneys worth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

almost there but not there yet

Date:October 26, 2009
I been using Abu Black Max for almost a month now, no problem what so ever BUT watch out for those Kick Lever, Cluch Cam coz i think they're just made of low quality lead or some sort of metal which they painted in chrome to hide it's lousyness. Also the levelwind got lot of play. Above all a GOOD REEL!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ok for the money

Date:January 9, 2009
I returned this reel before I used it. It felt a little cheap and the line release button was loose. Otherwise, it seemed like an ok reel for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hoffman Estates,Il
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great starter Reel!!!

Date:December 1, 2011
Great reel for the beginner to start of with so far so good. Fish On!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kokomo, IN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Adjusting for light lures

Date:August 6, 2010
If you are having troubles with this reel backlashing with light lures (1/4 oz or lighter) please read the following carefully. Remove the side plate for quick changing the spool. There are 2 screws (springs under them) that hold in the magnet brake and turn each one counter clockwise 1 turn. Re-install side plate and set magnetic brake on max and back off friction brake to no tension. Attach 1/4 oz lure and hold pole straight out with lure 2 feet off ground. Release spool with thumb button and lure SHOULD NOT fall to ground. If it does repeat above steps until it doesn't fall. Turn mag brake to min and release thumb button. Lure sure fall quickly to ground and cause some minor backlash. Set mag brake to 75% max and cast lure. Adjust from there and never tighten friction brake. I wish they would adjust these screws more precise from the factory. I can cast a Baby Brush Hog with 1/16 oz bullet on 12 lb fluoro 100 feet with no wind. I just got done measuring in driveway.
Now for my review LOL. For the price, it's not bad at all. It's not my favorite reel but I do use it alot. It has always performed well with heavier lures (1/2 oz or bigger) until I adjusted it like stated above. I would recommend it for heavier lures or only if you are willing to adjust it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: HCMC, Viet Nam
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel to buy with price

Date:July 16, 2010
I am very please with the left hand model.
Will buy more
Thanks for the support from Cabela's Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Its an ok reel for the money

Date:June 29, 2010
It is an idiot proof reel if u know what u are doing. Before I bought this reel i used 3 of my dads old baitcasters (they were antiqe and very hard to cast) Great reel the money but i have had it 4 about a year and the gears are starting 2 go out.....but i have it on a ugly stick with 30 pound test spider wire......very acurate reel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Twin Cities Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice affordable casting reel

Date:September 25, 2009
i bought this as my first casting reel and it's worth the money. it takes some time getting used to it, lots of practice and bird nests but once you get the hang of it and learn how to adjust it to your lures and correct line to use, then you got a good thing going. nice sturdy built piece of machinary. holds up well to the abuse. nice quick return and smooth casting too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: newburyport MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

greatstarterreel

Date:June 26, 2009
i got this real as my first decent caster and am very impressed
hardly any backlash with great distance
would definatly recomend as starter reel or for any experienced caster who dosnt want to spend too much on a new reel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Based on price

Date:March 11, 2009
I bought this as a seashore, sharp rock beater reel for light lures, and to see if it is worth having more than one.
Spooled with line, cast around the yard... Casts a dream and very very easy to adjust the mag control. Precise, easily made casts with expected results.
It sounds & feels like a low-cost plastic reel, but that is tolerable for its' performance.
The AR bearing failed in 9-10 casts. Not good. Took it apart, the AR bearing just fell out of the reel onto the table. Very unusual. Abu have yet to respond to service-request emails.
I found the gears and bearings were not lubed at all, but the AR bearing was over-greased. I cleaned the AR and greased the gears, oiled the bearings. Now it works.
The drag disks do not fit well as they are cut too sloppy for the fit. Don't over-loosen your drag as the disks may slip over the gear-edge and next time you tighten the drag, you might mash your disks (terminal for your drag). Store with the drag loosely snugged to avoid that potential hazard.
It is a very low cost plastic reel. I knew that and didn't expect much beyond. I bought it because it was plastic for corrosion-resistance potential. Will it last?.. I won't bet much on a yes.
Four stars is because aside from the two substantial glitches, at any price, the performance is very good. It is exceptional that casting this reel gives you absolutely predictable accuracy, regardless the weight, 3/16+, without any line problems whatsoever, with exceptional distance and precise control over your distance... Predictable and exactly as intended. User-friendly.
Because of that, if you are starting with baitcasters, looking for a rough-service reel, or to leave behind your seat or in the trunk, or a loaner for friends... service it first, and I highly recommend this reel.
Cheers!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Reel for the Price

Date:June 23, 2008
I like this reel. Normally I have not had good luck with reels under $50, but it was a Abu Garcia and I decided to take a chance and I am pretty happy with it. It casts well with little or no backlash and the drag is decent and I have been able to land a few fish with no difficulty. If you need a decent and inexpensive reel, this is a good reel to have. It is better than the Daiwa that was the same price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yuba City Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it works

Date:June 10, 2008
I got my first two ten lb largemouth of my life with this reel and no problem there. However I did have a problem at first with the line catching in the area between the spool and the body , maybe had too much line on it. Its worth the money , Ijust don't want to py hundred plus bucks and feel let down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Abu Garcia® Black Max Casting Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bloomington, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

How many rods/reels does 1 guy really need?!

Date:June 3, 2008
All of my other BC reels are Daiwa: from the Rojo and Viento, to the TD Zillion 7.1:1, but this little $$.$$ combo is sweet for the money. I think someone called it a good little beater reel, but it is quality made and I wouldn't freak out too much, if it dropped overboard on some choppy waters.
The reel is light, looks like a Shimano Core Mg knock off, but performs well. It has smooth drag, plenty of free spin in the red drilled spool, variable adjustable mag breaks with plenty of clicks from min-max, easy adjustment of tension control knob, but no micro click drag, then neither does my Rojo. No biggie!
Swedish Design and Ambassadeur are printed near the line guide, plus it has a metal worm gear to evenly lay line back on the spool, no plastic junk.
For the money it is very solid and performs great, and the matching 6'6" MH, IM6 graphite rod with "blank through" reel seat and great action is making me question some of my Kistler purchases. After all, they ALL catch fish. ;)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 45