Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel

Step to the head of the field with a reel that has all of the features required to compete at the tournament level. The Tournament ZX HS Reel has seven stainless steel bearings for smooth performance, housed in a durable metal frame featuring metal gears. You'll enjoy problem-free fishing with tandem cast control that reduces backlashes. Adjustable magnetic and centrifugal controls manage the spool during casts to maximize distance and minimize backlashes. Infinite anti-reverse for solid hooksets. Titanium-shielded line guide. Audible star drag with multistack drag system to stop even the strongest run. Quick-access removable side cover simplifies maintenance.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
32 out of 37(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Review 21 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First baitcaster reel

Date:March 11, 2008
I've been wanting a baitcaster for a while now, and took the plunge with this one.
Not as easy to cast as it looks on the videos! I had quite a few birdnests before I could do a worthwhile cast. I don't think it's the reel, though I wouldn't know (never casted one before either). I suspect it's lack of talent from the user.
It's very polished and smooth running, and unquestionably the faster reeler I ever used. THe magnets and friction wheels are easy to use and indeed can prevent the birdnesting, but then casting distance suffers.
If anybody has a suggestion on a website to instruct on proper baitcasting technique, I'd love to hear about it.
Pat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: London, Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Reel

Date:February 22, 2008
It looks to be a very good reel for what I need it for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southwest virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome

Date:January 7, 2008
I bought this reel for the 7.0:1 gear ratio. I put it on my carrot stick and within 15 practice cast I was fishing. This is not your daddy's fishing reel, this thing will cast for 15 to 20 feet with very very little effort. Flipping is a breeze along with slow trolling. Very versitle reel. For the price you CANNOT find a better deal. The reel is worth far more than what you pay for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Tournament ZX HS baitcast reel

Date:December 23, 2007
I own a couple of these reels . Nice reels and fishes well. I am not sold on the Pinnacle / Silstar handle design on this reel which was obviously a joint venture with Cabela's. Other than that if you pick them up on sale at Cabels's they are well worth the money for that price............but no more !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

muskie reel

Date:October 23, 2007
used the reel for muskie fishing w/ 50# spider wire. this reel may not really ment for this type of fishing but it seemed to work well with the heavy line. casting with this reel was very nice even into the wind which is a bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Clarks Hill Lake, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's ZX HS Casting Reel

Date:October 16, 2007
I purchased this mostly for bass fishing. It casts very smoothly and it prevents backlashes with fluorocarbon line better than some big name reels I have. I don't know how long it will hold up with regular use but for now it seems like a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seville, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW

Date:September 25, 2007
I really do think this is the nicest reel that I have ever used. I always though you had to spend a lot of money to get the best, not so. It is so smooth. Just got back from perch fishing on Lake Erie and it was fun to use. May take some time to get used to if you have only used spinning reels. Proper setting of the anti back lash control will help with not getting a birds nest. I think you will be happy with this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Terra Ceia Island, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel

Date:September 17, 2007
This reel is very smooth. It's very well balanced and cast's for distance with any high dollar reel. It has a very smooth drag system, and is comfortable to cast with its low profile frame.
I haven't gotten around to taking it apart for oiling yet, since it's very new, but I don't find thumbscrews on the side plate to open the reel. Like some others I use, this seems odd that it does not have the thumbscrews, and perhaps a bit inconvenient, particularly if I need a screwdriver to get into the reel. Other than that, the reel is a bargain at the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakeville, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An Excellent Cranker

Date:August 18, 2007
I bought this reel immediately before going on a week long trip to Kabetogama Lake in northern Minnesota, and it was unbelievable, it took me all of ten minutes to get the brakes set and I was throwing crankbaits further than I ever thought I could with a reel under $100. This one is definitely a keeper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: reedsburg, wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best reel

Date:August 7, 2007
this is the smoothest reel I've ever used, casts like a dream and have yet to get a backlash, even into the wind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disappointed

Date:July 16, 2007
I purchased two of the reels as I was looking for a 7:1 ratio reel that was a bit lighter than other similar ratio reels that I own. I was very encouraged in the look and feel when I received and the price. They were lighter and fit nicely in my hand. I fished them five times casting for striper with top-water baits. By the fifth trip they were making a loud noise during the cast. They seem to do this on and off from one cast to the next. When they did not make the "skreeching" noise their performance was excellent. However, I would recommend spending a bit more to not have this intermittent issue occur.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Red Bluff, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:July 9, 2007
I bought the tournament Zx HS casting reel. For the last 40 years I've only used spinning reels because of the back lash associated with casting reels in the past! A friend convinced me to at least try one, once. I did and got the technique down in about 15 casts! Surprise, surprise! smooth, easy and no backlash! I'm convinced! Goes to show you, "You are never too old to learn!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

is ok

Date:June 19, 2007
well i bought this reel back in april and just last weekend the bearing went out on it and the reel got locked. i exchanged it for another one because i like the 7.0:1 :). if this new one brakes im goin for another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tournamentzx

Date:April 24, 2007
Overall its a good reel for the money.A little noisy on a hard cast with a heavy spinnerbait or rattletrap but it doesnt affect performance.Worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Atlanta GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

fishkillr1

Date:March 6, 2007
I bought 2 of these reels recently.They throw light lures well,but the cast control seems to lose it's setting after a little while.Also,the reel whines noticeably when casting larger lures and the side plate moves a little when in the locked position.I was disappointed in the reel.I exchanged it for a Diawa.However, this IS the first time I have felt let down by a Cabela's product.The Prodigy is a much better reel for $10 more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mtn.Home,AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel for the money period!

Date:February 16, 2007
I am both guide and tournament angler and spend over 150 days per year on the water. I am far from rich but I do like nice equipment. I used Shimano curado reels for the past decade and they were good reels for the money but after they have doubled in price I decided to try the new Cabela's tournament ZX. It had the high speed I was looking for and looked good. It is about the same size as the curado but far less in price. The rubber grips feel good and it casts great!
I cannot believe you can buy a reel of this quility these days for under $90 bucks! I give it 5 stars for its price,look,feel,Quility,light weight and construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Tournament ZX HS Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Austin, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reels

Date:January 15, 2007
awesome reel, virtually no backlash if you know what your doing. smooth! smooth! smooth!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-37 of 37