Customer Reviews for U.S. Reel US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

U.S. Reel US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels

The lightweight, high-capacity SuperCaster can accommodate a wide range of monofilament from 2-14 lbs., making it the world’s most versatile spinning reel. The 230SX and 240SX contain aircraft-grade carbon fiber, the same type of material used on the B2 bomber. This material is much stronger than graphite and even stronger than some metals. The Steady Drag System™ (SDS) incorporates precision-matched drag discs and a large-diameter spool for a drag that is consistently smooth. The short-stroke wrap pattern is ideal for braided lines. Line capacity can be adjusted using the included snap-on line arbor. Convertible right- or left-hand retrieve. The large 1.8"-diameter spool allows you to cast to those hard-to-reach spots that are beyond the capabilities of ordinary reels. Aluminum spool and spare graphite spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
49 out of 69(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Review 1 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:March 10, 2012
Pros:
1. Lightweight
2. Casting
3. Line capacity
4. Appearance
Cons:
1. Build quality, sloppy assembly.
2. Cheap components, unit has a plastic gear in the drive mechanism.
3. Old school bail design and weak spring
4. The drag is lumpy, surges, starts very hard and adjustments are twitchy.
5. Ergonomics, unit has a ridiculously short handle, the handle looks and feels like it belongs on a much smaller reel.
6. Finger tip size handle knob.
7. Flimsy body stem
8. Poor factory/OEM lubrication
9. Anti reverse sometimes fails under quick hook sets.
10. Pricey for what you get, there are way better options at half the price point.
For some reason I still have this reel, but I shouldn't. It fails to instill any confidence to say the least and as a result it gets very limited use.
Practical application: This is basically a pan fish/small trout class reel and should only be limited to small species due to the poor drag mechanism, questionable anti reverse and the shameless use of plastic gear parts in the drive mechanism. This is not to be trusted on any larger species. Due to the teeny tiny handle it is impossible to put any pressure on a fish. On extended outings, a readily available back-up reel is a must.
What it gets right: Due to the large arbor it does cast a small lure a mile on light line; it handles braid reasonably well and controls unruly fluorocarbon satisfactorily. It makes good on its namesake, you can truly make some super casts.
Bottom line: I would not purchase another one of these at any price. Sportsman demand quality and dependability and this product fails on both. Unlike the operation of this reel, the promotional materials that came with the reel are super slick, but you can't fish with hype. This is an almost product, not ready for prime time. It falls short and disappoints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Dissappointed

Date:August 8, 2011
I purchased this reel recently on sale. I'm glad I didn't pay full price! The drag is fair for the price paid, but well below par for the regular price. The reel is not very smooth, and the line has caught on the "line clip" on the spool several times while casting leading to a lure flying across the lake no longer atttached to my line! Save your money and don't buy one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a good choice.

Date:March 28, 2011
I recently bought two 180 Us reels the other week and upon receiving them, I immediately went to the nearest lake to test them out. Good points- Very small and cast good. Bad points- Drag and durability. Overall NOT pleased.. The Pflueger Arbor reel is the was to go, small and lightweight, casting is very effective, very Durable and finally the drag is Very Smooth!!!! Us Reels shipped back to the factory!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bergen Cty, NJ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

U.S.? Reel

Date:January 6, 2011
So I order this reel because the sale price looked too good to pass up. In the instruction booklet the company president thanks the purchaser for buying this reel. Then when I inspected the reel, it's made in China!! Shimano, Okuma, ok I get it; but I naivley thought this " U.S" reel should have been made here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Knoxville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

US Reel 230SX

Date:April 30, 2010
Line twisted!! Reel does not have a ball bearing in the line pick up ( bail pick up). The carbon washer that was installed for line pick up was broken. This is a major problem for the line twist problem. The spare graphite spool was poorly make with unfinished cracks. I will not buy another Spinning Reel without a ball bearing in the bail to prevent line twist!!! I purchased a Spinning Reel from Cabelas made by a differant company that works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: knoxville tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

the truth

Date:February 26, 2010
everyone with a good reveiw on this reel has not used it very long. was very proud of my supercaster for about a month, except for the line notting up around the spool,everything was fine and for the amount of money i had spent on the supercaster 230 xl i try to ignore the line notting. but then the rotor started wobbling, line notting,hard to crank even with the smallest of fish i benched the reel dont get caught up in the in the media market like i did .the long cast is is no benifit with all the other problems this reel has.i just packed my supercaster up and sent it back to us reel with a letter to fix it or throw it away.iddint wont it back if they dont fix it for free.bottom line there are way better reels out there.for that kind of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: delco pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Biggest waste of money ever!

Date:January 15, 2010
I really cannot say anything good about this reel,
I purchased it a few years ago after the glowing reviews it received.
I have the 180XL only because the SX was on backorder,
the reel is way too big for ultra light fishing, the bail trip works only every other time I cast
and is probably the worst reel I ever owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Needs Repair

Date:July 24, 2009
I bought the 180XL model from the Bargain Cave about three weeks ago. My first impressions were good. It was light, reasonably smooth and I loved the arbors. I spooled it with 4lb test and took it fishing for sunfish. The reel made an odd grinding noise as soon as I began to retrieve a 1.5" Rapala. It was not drag related. It seemed to be coming from the drive train. It worsened while fighting fish. I am sending mine back to US Reel for repair or replacement. I can't recommend the 180XL based on my sample, especially at the full price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chino, CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Worth the Price!

Date:March 20, 2008
For what you pay for this reel, You can get a reel that casts just as good and has the drag you need for all around fishing. for alot less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

garbage

Date:February 11, 2008
I own nine Shimano Stradics, which I love. I went against my better judgement and purchased an SX240 due to the large arbor and the media that I had been reading about it. On my first cast in Pine Island Sound, the bail fell off. Not to worry, I had a great trip fishing with my Stradics. After exchanging the reel for a new one, I was off to Florida Bay. Second cast, the bail fell off. I tried to repair it, to no avail. I exchanged it once more for the new Shimano Saros, which has done great. I should have never thought about changing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SW Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Garbage

Date:November 28, 2007
This Reel is the biggest piece of garbage I have ever used. Don't bother buying one...it is junk. The bail assembly keeps tangling the line and the knots are once every three casts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dallas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Line pickup terrible

Date:November 4, 2007
I bought the 230 XL and it is my least favorite reel. About 1 out of 5 casts, the line is picked up by the drag knob instead of the spool and you can end up with a nasty knot. Also the 'chrome' trim is cheesy plastic and most of the suface has already worn off. When I first got it the bail would often fail to close so I had to close it manually. That seemed to get better with age.
It casts smoothly and with great distance but if you forget to watch the line pick-up you will spend the next 10 minutes picking out a knot. I was going to throw it away but instead I filed down the drag knob so it won't pick up the line anymore. Since then I've not bothered to put it back on a rod. Probably never will. I use 20 lb. Ultracast. The reel may work better with other braids, but I don't use other braids. I expected a quality reel at this price. I didn't get one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SC and fishing 50+ times each year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Major Disappointment

Date:September 25, 2007
I purchased a 230 SX because I was impressed with the large spool concept and the product reviews. After my purchase, I was disappointed because the large spool creates large loops of line that have a tendency to twist around the bail assembly on approximately 50% of the casts when the crank is engaged and the bail closes. I refilled the spool with a different brand of line but the problem continued. I sent a letter to the president of U.S. Reels and, in a response, was informed that this was not a problem but an advantage of the reel. I was told that I had to learn how to "feather" the line during a cast to stop the line tangles. I found it far easier to request a refund from Cabelas. I urge U.S. Reel to fix this design problem. There are too many other good reels on the market to fool around with "feathering". Also, the reel is not as smooth as reels priced much lower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Holland Patent, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

US Reel Supercaster 240SX

Date:May 7, 2007
The reel arrived and was unusable as the knob screw used to tighten the handle was stripped or the handle shaft itself was. Therefore, it was impossible to use it. After looking at the design I believe the knob screw is to short and may cause problems in the future as to the use and durability. It may also effect being able to allow folding in the handle for transport. I emailed the company as to the problem and have had no reply.
However, I had purchased the company's original Supercaster 225 reel directly a few years ago and although there were things I would improve it is still working okay.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mississippi MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not so good

Date:February 23, 2007
although it did cast fairly well i did not like the durability of this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Beware of rust

Date:November 23, 2011
I bought this on sale and it's barely worth the price I paid. It casted well and but didn't add any distance to my cast. My big problem was the bail wire rusted while stored. I was shocked. I used this 2 or 3 times from shore and rinsed it with fresh water out of habit and sprayed it down with reel magic. Went to use it 8 months later and the there was rust the whole length of the bail wire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

US Reel 180

Date:May 6, 2008
This reel came highly recommended by fishing magazines because of the spool size and ease in casting long distances. For the same money I could have gotten two Shimano reels. I have been a Shimano user for ten or more years. This reel has two places on it that snag the line and must be checked almost each cast. I am disappointed in the operformance of this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Could've made it better.

Date:July 7, 2010
I've used this reel on the ocean many times targeting rockfish, lingcod, cabezon, and surfeperch. I do love how small it is with a larger line capacity compared to other reels. It brings in the fish but with more difficulty. As you reel in your catch you could feel the reel flex. Also the reel does not feel solid and their is some play in the handle itself. The biggest problem I have is that the drag is very sticky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: central.pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

first fishing with this new reel

Date:April 1, 2008
first day of trout season came in this past saturday in pa.I purchasaed this new reel for the coming year.I was unhappy,with all the advertising,that the reel would almost be loop free,I was wrong,I fished all day,and had many loops in the line at the reel.it did not do any better than my mitchel,s 308.I will not judge it on only one days fishing,so will try it out for the trout season,then decide whether to return it or not.I filled my reel with 6lb. weight stren line,and followed the instructions with the reel. It was cold that day,I don,t know if that was the problem or not,I will find out,because I,am going to give the reel a workout=========k
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: lower florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

us reel

Date:February 20, 2008
you have to get use to using this short face reel. Need to learn to feather the line with your fingers or you can get loose line over the face causing fouling of line on reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 69