Customer Reviews for U.S. Reel US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

U.S. Reel US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels

The lightweight, high-capacity SuperCaster can accommodate a wide range of monofilament from 2-14 lbs., making it the world’s most versatile spinning reel. The 230SX and 240SX contain aircraft-grade carbon fiber, the same type of material used on the B2 bomber. This material is much stronger than graphite and even stronger than some metals. The Steady Drag System™ (SDS) incorporates precision-matched drag discs and a large-diameter spool for a drag that is consistently smooth. The short-stroke wrap pattern is ideal for braided lines. Line capacity can be adjusted using the included snap-on line arbor. Convertible right- or left-hand retrieve. The large 1.8"-diameter spool allows you to cast to those hard-to-reach spots that are beyond the capabilities of ordinary reels. Aluminum spool and spare graphite spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
49 out of 69(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Review 21 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: FL, Masquito lagoon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OKAY

Date:August 27, 2007
Ive used the reel about 5 or 6 times now and so far its alrite. Its not quite as smooth as i would figure for the price. I do mostly topwater plugging in the indian river. the main reason i bought it was for the lower line twist and that the reel does decrease on, i use 20lb power pro and no problems yet. overall its an okey reel for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Troy, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not what I expected

Date:January 14, 2012
Much smaller than what I expected for some reason but I put it to good use on my jigging rod for ice fishing. Line comes off nice in cold weater and the drag remains smooth
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pulaski ,NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

US REEL 180

Date:May 26, 2011
over all nice reel casts very smooth drag worked fine ,used it for jigging walleyes , just ordered up another for the wife so i can have my rig back
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

us supercaster spinning reels

Date:June 14, 2010
I recently used my newly purchased spinning reel to take a big south texas redfish. The spinning reels performed well the drag was smooth and they casted well. The only thing I didnt like was for some reason it felt kind of flimsy at first I dont know if its because the reel is so light and it just felt weird. I mean mechanically it did well took a couple 0f 24-26 inch reds no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sunrise FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one very minor draw back

Date:July 27, 2009
These reels are fantastic and worth every penny. One minor issue I have with them is that they have a small amount of play at the handle. Let's level the playing field and say that all reels with ball bearings have some play. It is unavoidable because the ball bearings themselves have a small amount of play which is amplified by the length of the handle. I guess because of the relatively high sticker price I expected a greater level of perfection. Still a great buy! Everything that is said in the product description is accurate. Significant reduction in line twist, longer casts, and wicked smooth drag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: prior lake, mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

US REELS

Date:February 25, 2009
Literature included boasts drag advantages over competitors. I am eagerly anticipating the spring to prove it. Solid construction. A larger spool will lessen coiling memory that ALL LINES have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tried it with Salmon in Alaska

Date:August 20, 2007
Have yet to try the reel in a casting environment but it handled 12 lb silver salmon like a champ. I will be ordering another. Next test will be on Largemouth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Island Lake, Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far, I'm Impressed

Date:April 20, 2007
Like I said, the reel is impressive.I got the 240 SX in late may and had a chance to take it out ice fishing on Lesser Slave Lake, not far from my home in Northern Alberta, Canada, just before they closed the season, April one.I like the consept of the wide spool diameter and thought it would help the cork screw looking prophile and sloppy action I would get when fishing light lures on other reels. I spooled about a hundred and fifty feet of six pound Fireline crystal over the factory supplied backer, which brought the line to about a sixteenth from the lip of the spool,and that i liked. With the price of braided line that feature helpes. Even in the cold weather, the line unraveled smoothly with out falling off over it self and tangeling. We caught a lot of nice walleye that day, some big perch, and the odd burbot (or what my three year old boy calls,"squishey-fish"). One thing I found with using a wide spool on a short rod (18"), with a fish on, there is some tention when the angle of the line coming off the bale is at its greatest degree from in line with the rod.It's not that hard to turn through,but you felt it. My three year old had a 24" walleye on and he wasnt strong enough to turn it through that sticky part of the revolution, so I had to teach him how to do pull up and reel down method which worked fine, that fish, by the way was the biggest wqalleye of the day. So as an ice fishing reel it was better than average because of lac of line twists and ice build up, and if it wasnt for the friction of the angle and the first rod guide, it would have rated excelant. its great with light lures and pan fish. I cant waight for the ice to melt so i can really test this reel with what it was designed for.
I'll let you know some time this summer how it goes.
I'm confedent enough in these reels that I've allready bought the 230 SX to add to the arsonel.
Thanks for your time, and pllease dont mind the spelling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Near the Cedar River in WA.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't go wrong at this price.

Date:August 20, 2011
I bought the XL at the sale price, paying only 36% of the regular price. What a deal!
Lots of quality in this reel, though I did notice a bit of side to side play where the handle goes into the reel.
I don't know if that's the bearings or what. It's just a little noticeable. I'm getting used to it.
I'm very impressed by the overall feel of quality.
It has a dry disc drag which seems Very nice.
It was lubed with a blue colored grease which I think to be synthetic. It was easy to take apart that far and seemed to be a quality reel.
I was able to get 233 yards of Trilene 8#, which is .010" diameter line, (.25mm) and could have wound it a bit further.
I counted the yards by turns of the handle (350), multiplied by 2, (24" per turn) and divided by 3. That's a lot of line.
I received 3 of the spool fillers that will allow me to cast well with much less line, two different sizes that will allow for differning amounts of line to be wound on.
I'm thinking about winding some fly line on to the spare spool and letting the river take that down, with a fly, and see what happens.
The law enforcement officer who checked my fishing license at the lake this morning told me that I could fish for trout in the river with a single barbless hook, catch and release.
I don't have a fly reel. Maybe I will give that a try.
Funny thing. Just now after I took the reel apart, put in a bit more grease, and put it back together, the play seems gone.
I know I am going to like this reel the more I use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dubuque, Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reel smooth!

Date:August 11, 2011
This is my second US Reel and this one is much smoother than the first. Instructions about the use of the arbors could be more clear. Regardless, this is a quality reel that should hold up over time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North bergen NJ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What's up with the bad reviews

Date:May 25, 2011
I saw that this reel was on sale and wished I wasn't so broak so i could get another one. I love mine. It casts a mile, no line twist and performs flawlessly. i don't know what the bad reviews are about. I'm really surprized that oter guys are not as pleased as i am. Get one and see. This is a great sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoooooth!!!!!

Date:May 21, 2011
I just got this reel in the mail yesterday and took it out about an hour after it showed up. I spooled it with 6lb Stren XS mono and I can tell you for sure, this is one of the longest casting reels I own.
I was using a 1/4 oz Storm shad lure and was able to cast about 75 feet INTO a 12-15 mph wind. This thing is awesome!!
I am considering buying another one of these reels while they are still on sale! Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: saint louis, mo
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Spinning Real

Date:May 17, 2011
I had a lower end Shimano reel prior to this. I bought this reel and change all of them out. I fishes like a $150.00 real.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One NICE Reel

Date:April 15, 2011
AWESOME little reel!! Casts like a dream and hardly any line-twist to speak of. What a deal at this price! Get yourself one of these... you'll NEVER regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cape San Blas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel ever

Date:April 15, 2011
I have guided for Trout and Reds for 22 years and this is regardless of price best spinner I ever used .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: reno nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

supercaster xl180

Date:January 27, 2011
I purchased two of these reels , I live in northern nevada and fish lake Pyramid for cutthroat trout and will cast all morning long, these cast farther and I have had no problem landing fish up to 10 lbs so far,My buddie's are amazed at how far I can cast with these reels and the size of the fish I can land with these very small reels,I can't wait for the Sierra lakes west of me to thaw this spring so I can test them for big brown trout. One note when you get one make sure you put the O ring that comes on the thumb screw on the outside of the little gear piece, they ship with it reversed so you don't loose the little gear piece ,( but they don't tell you this)!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NorC ali
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

180Sx

Date:November 25, 2010
Have used the 180SX with a 6' 6" ML Fish EagleII spinning rod. Ballances out well and creats the perfect rig for 4-6" tubes on a jig head & the like. Pickin up another one today to pair up with a Fenwick HMG 6' 6" ML.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cape coral, fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worried about drag

Date:May 22, 2010
I have two 240 sx's and two 250 pro's. I love these reels! I have not had a problems with wind knots like I have had with small arbor reels spools when using braid. I did wonder about the drag since I haven't caught a really large fish with them. While fishing recently I hooked and 4-5 foot shark and any worries I had about the drag were gone out the window. Totally happy with the performance of the 240's drag. Have caught snook up to 36" on the 250's no problem with the drags on these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stewartsville, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worry free rat nest

Date:March 8, 2010
I've had problems in the past with rat nest only with braided line. The wide fat spool is the answer!! Its the best casting reel i have ever owned so far for braided line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for US Reel SuperCaster Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

u.s. super reel

Date:December 16, 2009
us reel spinning reel model 240 is one of the best reels I ever purchased... excelent drag system. I own 2 now! In the north east, they don't seem as popular,but, I think people need to try one,these reels are fantastic! for largemouth and anything else that swims!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 69