Customer Reviews for ST. CROIX St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod

ST. CROIX St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod

St. Croix has taken its already famous Tidemaster Inshore series of rods and completely redesigned them to make them stronger, lighter and more sensitive with increased hooksetting power. Each rod is handcrafted using exclusive SCII graphite blanks and is fitted with premium saltwater-grade hardware. The Fuji® DPS reel seats with frosted silver hoods are tough, durable and look great. Premium- grade cork handles deliver comfortable, durable and aesthetically pleasing performance. Three-piece travel rods. Made in USA . Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Review 1 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2008

TideMaster is heavy and dead feeling!

By
Location: Hebron, KY
I own numerous St.Croix Premier/Avid regular (as well as musky) rods and enjoy fishing them.
The quality, fit, and finish of the rod is execellent- as you expect from St.Croix.
I was very surprised and disappointed at the heavy/dead feeling of the Tidemaster Travel Rod. It does not have the powerful alive feeling of the other St.Croix products. The tip is very soft and the rod loads very slowly.
Would be good as a live bait rod but not for casting plugs/jigs all day. I don't know if this is due to the rod series or the 3 piece rod design.
I would not suggest this rod to a friend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2009

st. croix travel rod

By
I purchased the heavy duty model 3-piece rod and I paired it with a Diawa Emblem spinning reel, the heavy line capacity model, which I felt was a good match as far as "service duty", which was "heavy".
The problem was the plactic reel seat and plastic knob that you use to tighten the reel in place. The foot of the reel just never fit tight/secure and after a few casts i could feel the reel move a little and had to keep tightening the knob on the rod.
I was using the rod and reel for tarpon and cuda and I just don't think the plastic seat and knob will hold up to an extended number of days/years with this reel.
I actually had paid more to purchase this heavy duty rod since all the cabels travel rods just don't have the stiff action needed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2012

Good rod, but would prefer a different reel seat

By
Purchased the tidemaster for a bonefishing trip to the Bahamas. The rod performed very well overall, but the reel seat could be improved by providing 2 lock rings instead of one. A metal reel seat would also be better in my view. The reel tended to become loose on a tough fight giving a sense of insecurity just when you don't need that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

Best Inshore Rod

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I received this as a gift awhile back and have never felt a better saltwater rod. I have the 7'6" MH model, and use it typically for large spoons and jigs, as well as some live bait fishing. The rod handles heavy bodied fish like stripers and big redfish as well as fast running fish like false albacore and mackerel as well. The travel case it comes with is the perfect packing size and although I haven't put it in checked baggage myself yet, I'm sure the case would keep it perfectly safe if tucked inside a suitcase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011

Great inshore rod I ever have

By
I recently bought this traveller inshore fishing rod preparing for my fishing trip in Australia. It is so compact size and light weight. the rod tube is rigid and perfectly fit these 3 pieces rod. and provide good protection while travelling. highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2008

Tidemaster

By
Just got back from Nantucket and using the Tidemaster with a Shimano Stradic 4000 and 15 # power pro. The rod performed extremely well on schoolie bass up to 15 lbs and blues up to 6 lb. Moreover I was able to throw 3/8 oz light swimmers well when the bass were on sandeels and switch to a 2 oz. popper for the blues. The range of weights handled by the rod was impressive and the hook setting terrific. 5 star rating without hesitation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2008

A great rod

By
Location: Florida
The 7'6" tidemaster is a heck of a rod, lots of power and great at casting long distances. I caught sharks and barracuda first time out. The 3 piece makes it pretty handy for airplane travel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2008

Well Made Rod

By
Location: Knoxville, TN
This rod is very well made. It has the medium power and fast taper I expected and it comes in a nice travel case. The case has an elliptical cross section. I had been buying G. Loomis Escape travel rods but I have switched to St. Croix. Same quality at about half of the price and you get a case. I had to buy the case separately for the Loomis rods which cost me an extra $50 or so. Note that the warranty on the St. Croix is only 5 years vs. a lifetime warranty for G. Loomis. But, of course you can afford to buy two St. Croix for about the same price as one G. Loomis with a case.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2008

Rod Does the Job

By
Location: CO
We bought this rod to take down to Mexico so we could do a little spin fishing on what was basically a fly fishing trip for permit, bonefish and tarpon. Out of it's case, the rod just fit in the Simms suitcase that held our other rods. Note to St. Croix: you might want to make this rod about two inches shorter, for ease of transport. We caught big barracuda and jack and the rod performed very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for St. Croix Tidemaster® Traveling Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2007

St. Croix Tidemaster Traveling Spinning Rod

By
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
It's 3 piece construction makes it great for carrying on the plane when I fly off to Alaska to tangle with silvers during September. It also makes it really easy to store in the front hatch of my sit on top kayak. What I really like about it is it's 7 1/2 feet. Out here in Hawaii, we use longer rods for more distance and it also gives us more leverage at a higher angle to muscle trevally away from coral. This makes it the perfect wade fishing rod. Also, that extra 6 inches makes it great for kayak fishing. It's extra length makes it easier to fight fish when a fish decides to run around the bow of your kayak. Even though it's 3 pieces, it's well balanced enough that it fishes better than most two piece rods. It's fast taper action makes it a great silver salmon & trevally rod. I bought one rod but I get to use it in Alaska and Hawaii.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.