Customer Reviews for ABU GARCIA Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel

ABU GARCIA Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel

Now you can take legendary Ambassadeur dependability to the big water. Choose from a high-speed 5.3:1 gear ratio in the 7000 series or a powerful 4.2:1 gear ratio in the 9000 and 10000. Two shielded, stainless steel ball bearings team with precision brass gears for rugged, yet smooth and reliable performance. Each also has a corrosion-resistant anti-reverse bearing and line alarm.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
31 out of 36(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Review 1 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2011

Abu Garcia 7000 Big Game

By
This reel will do any thing you ask it to do and much more . I have mine loaded with about 250 yards of 50lb baraid and have caught just about every thing on it from 70 lb King Salmon in AK to Lake trout in Canada even a couple shallow water halibut . This is certinly the best reel for the budget concerned but hardcore fisherman. The only thing i think abu Garcia should concider adding to these reels is a 2 speed function for bottom fishing but i can live without it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Excelent Purchase

By
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been used the Abu Garcia Reel in my last fishing in Brazil. This reel is fantastic as my others Abu Garcia Reels. The price is very good too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2010

Big Game-Big Action

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Awesome reel. I use it for big gator fishing (Pikes aye) and its power:speed ratio is excellent for keeping baits on top of the water and also for getting through weedy areas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Abu Garcia 10000i

By
Location: live in North Bay , Ontario ,Canada ,however alsoh
Recently purchased this unit as we take the occasional shark while bone fishing throughout the caribbean. and had good sucess with the 7000c3, however stepping up to the larger model gave more capacity and worked terrific on sharks varying from 100 to 300 lbs. I'm very happy with this reel and would highly recomend it for this type of fish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2010

Big Game

By
Location: southern indiana
I needed a catfish reel to take to the river and didnt really no what to get untill i saw this bad boy! I was a little nervous because people talk about using these in the ocean which i dont live next to any ocean. haha i was worried it would be to huge and bulky. i risked it and bought the 7000. I love it! it is a good size reel (20 oz) but its what i wanted. havent caught anything yet on it since its still only feb but i have big plans for it. I can tell its quality made and will hanlde those big channels i go for! buy it, put braid on it, and head to the river. you wont be disappointed!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2009

Abu Garcia 7001HS

By
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
I bought 2 of these in the bargain cave. These were a great buy and I can really cast these as far out in the surf as I need to. Caught 2 drums the first time I used them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2008

Awesome

By
Location: Arizona
I am a steadfast Abu fan and use nothing else for catfishing. This is the real deal. This will do what you need it to do. Do not hesitate. This is quality and just what the catfish doctor ordered.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Abu Big game rocks!!!

By
Location: Padre Island National Seashore
This reel has been more than I expected. I could cast it past the second gut and catch as many pompanos as I wanted. Thanks for selling me a great product!!!!
SSapo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2007

Great Reel!!

By
Location: southern california
Exactly what I was hoping for--a well made smooth winding, but powerful reel for rockfishing at 280' or more. And the level wind feature does what my arthritic hands cannot-stacks the line evenly on the spool. I can't wait to try casting it on a longer rod. I looked at it in the catalogue and online for months before I finally rewarded myself and bought it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2007

awesome reel

By
Location: Scarborough, Maine
I bought this reel for my son to surf fish with. It is the best reel I have ever bought. The gear ratio is perfect. It is smooth and incredibly strong. The price is a bonus compared with other reels. My only regret is not buying one for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2007

big game reel

By
Location: brooklyn new york
EXCELLENT GOOD PRICE TOO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® Big-Game Reel
Based on the average of (26) ratings-only reviews
Overall Customer Rating: 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 20 out of 25