Customer Reviews for BERKLEY Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BERKLEY Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards

If it were any clearer, it would be a mono. Years of research and development by the scientists at Pure Fishing® have culminated in this incredible fishing line - the first translucent superline for near invisibility. Provides the ultimate in diameter-to-lb. test ratios along with the stealth needed for spooky fish and clear water. Length: 300 yards.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
88 out of 106(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Review 21 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berkley fireline Crystal

Date:September 23, 2007
The line seems to have line memory and seems to cut itself. It is very easy to tie knots in it but you have to retie very often or the knots will fail. I have tried several knots that are recommended for super lines and it is the same with all of them. the line also does not seem to become clear under water. on the up side the line is very easy to tie knots in and it cast very easily and has low wind drag duing casts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Haddon Township, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

crystal fireline

Date:November 6, 2007
tried the crystal in 20 lb on spinners. I have it on a 9' saltstick with okuma vs reel. Cast a 2 oz jig further than the 30 lb braid I was using. I was impressed with the distance so I spooled an emcast pro on a breakaway LDX 13'. I have not compared distance on the breakaway to the braid.
The line is different than braid and I like it's knot ability; ties easily and tight, trims cleanly.
The memory is only after spooling; straightens right out in use.
Visable or invisable under water, couldn't tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Flaws in line ruin otherwise great product.

Date:November 12, 2007
As I always spool line onto my reels with the line held between my thumb and forefinger, I can detect inconsistency in the line by touch. I spooled two reels with 150 yards each of the FireLine Crystal Line 8 pound test. On both I felt rough spots in the line. On close visual inspection, I could see the braided line was chaffed or somehow flawed. A weak spot!!!
I cut these spots out and tied the line back together, but who wants to start out with knots in your newly filled spools.
Otherwise this a very good product, but who wants the hassle of having to rewind the line and returning it in hopes of getting a different spool with no flaws.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pacific NW
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unhappy experience

Date:December 18, 2007
I was very disappointed with this line. Purchased 300 yards in July rated at 14 lb for casting 1.5 ounce lures on a 7 foot Ugly Stik spinning rod. After loading it on to my reel I experienced multiple line failures between the rod tip and the lure during casts. I'd never experienced this with monofilament lines of the same weight rating and ended up throwing this "super line" into the garbage can. Replaced with mono in September and the problem disappeared completely. Have to conclude the spool of Fireline Crystal I had received was faulty or the product is junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product...Some Consistancy Problems

Date:January 1, 2008
I have been fishing the great lakes for 35 years. I have used Fireline Crystal with very good results. I have used it during the spring walleye run on the Maumee River and on zebra mussel infested waters around the Lake Erie reefs. These locations are known to be brutal on tackle. The bottom is full of limestone rocks, boulders as well as nests of broken line and tackle. Fireline (14 lb) frays less than other superlines I have tried including Power Pro and various Spiderwires. The strength and sensitivity are as advertised with quite good abrasion resistance. When I switched to Crystal I did get some weak spots due to inconsistent diameter on a few spools (I have noticed this with Power Pro as well). I recommend when spooling if you feel any thick or thin spots return the line to your retailer immediately for replacement (preferably from a different manufacturing lot). Polmar knots work well as long as you run the tag end through the loop one or two additional times and wet the knot. Although not clear as mono it works well in all but very clear water. In clear water applications I recommend a quality mono leader such as Sufix Elite attached with ball bearing swivel or good blood knot. I also noticed no "digging in" to the spool (must be spooled with extra tension and some mono backer) and better casting distance than superbraids. Handling characteristics improve after one day of use. I have noticed no accelerated wear on my guides and respooling is only necessary after about 20 to 30 days of hard use verses 3 to 7 days with mono.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salmon River, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Line

Date:January 8, 2008
Good line. I liked the small diameter of the line, allowed more line on the spool than a comparable mono line. Great strength, untangled very easily. Would definitely buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berkley Fireline Crystal

Date:January 15, 2008
Excellent line for both spinning reels and casting reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Escanaba, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful

Date:February 20, 2008
For night time fishing, this is excellent fishing line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Offshore fisherman - Florida - Naples, Keys
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berkley Fireline Crystal

Date:February 26, 2008
I actually think this line is an advantage ( albeit slight ) when it comes to fishing in clear water conditions. I will say that this line casts farther than other lines of similar diameter, probably due to its waxy smooth surface. Watch your knots and make sure they're VERY snug to avoid knot slippage - that's how waxy smooth this line is! It's basically a pretty darn good braid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Estelline, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

crystal bad

Date:March 25, 2008
love the smoke or flame green but the crystal breaks all the time weaker than the cheapest mono
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vicenza, Italy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FireLine

Date:April 22, 2008
Easy to use and I can get some really long casts with this line. I love the small diameter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glendale - California (I am a beader and I use Fir
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berkley Fireline 6 lbs.

Date:April 23, 2008
I am an avid beader and I use fireline for almost all my beading projects. After trying different types of beading thread I ended up with fireline and now for the last three years I have been using nothing but fireline, usually thr 6 lbs. weight and sometimes the 8 lbs. weight.
However, I have one complaint. During all these years fireline never broke while I was working with it; however, last week while I was working on a crystal bracelet, it broke on me not once but twice on the same bracelet; especially the second time that it broke, I had just finished the bracelet and was putting on the clasp. You can imagine my frustration. When I spoke to a couple of beading friends, they told me they were experiencing the same problem lately and maybe the batch we were having was a bad batch. I would hate to go on using a bad batch and have the problem of the fireline getting broken; after all the main reason why I use fireline is that it never broke before.
I do also have one question. Is there any difference between the Berkley Fireline fishing thread and the Berkley Fireline Bead Smith beading thread. There have been different rumors and talk going around. I would really appreciate it if you can clarify this matter.
Thanks you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Discover Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fireline

Date:May 5, 2008
Hands down the best line on the market today. The days of mono are dead thanks to Fireline Crystal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Try it!

Date:May 11, 2008
I have been using this line for 2 seasons now and find it is making it's way onto more of my reels. I like my mono but this stuff when it comes to vertical jiggin or pulling cranks is a well rounded line. Your sensitivity is increased in a huge way!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dillon, Montanna
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Line abrasion

Date:May 20, 2008
I tried a spool of 4# on the Bighole and Beaverhead rivers. The line casts very nicely but proved worthless at that strength in those conditions. The line abraded and the knot at the hook failed three times -- twice on lite snags and once on a fish. I tried different knots with the same result. After the third failure, I reverted to mono. It may have worked if I had used a mono leader but that seems silly after spending way too much for fishing line. I completely regret the purchase and feel silly for wasting so much money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great line

Date:May 28, 2008
Line dissapearred in the water like mono and its strong!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fireline

Date:June 10, 2008
I've tryed alot of lines, I still think this is the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: QLD AUS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

JUST WRIGHT

Date:June 23, 2008
what can i say , over here in Australia we pay 3x the amount for the same stuff an im very happy with this line its the best we have used.
tight lines to all..
MCG Australia QLD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sydney, Australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

crystal is a blast

Date:July 28, 2008
what a great addition to fireline.tough as guts too. using 20lb crystal I had no trouble winding in port jackson sharks(about 25kgs(55lbs)) the other day. managed to crank up 12kgs(26lbs) of drag while testing one of my rigs. also the color is visible above water but becomes almost transparent under water- a real bonus on grey days when smoke firelineline becomes invisible above water. dont use anything other than fireline.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Berkley® FireLine® Crystal Line – 300 yards
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: md
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smoke & green are better!!!

Date:September 11, 2008
great line but smoke and grren i gave a 5star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 106