Customer Reviews for .30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

.30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad

A must-have in every tackle box. Incredible swimming action when fished as a jerk bait using a rapid retrieve or at a slow-steady retrieve. AquaGlow baits produce a fish-alluring glow to stimulate strikes in low light and stained water conditions. Each is salt impregnated, triggering a fish’s natural response to attack and hold on. They are also garlic impregnated to mask fish-spooking odors. Per 10. 
Overall Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Review 1 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Clearwater, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hoochie Koochie

Date:December 8, 2009
I bought these "swim shads" because I was looking for a replacement for ones made by Charlies Worms, who went out of business. I was excited when I found these and ordered several packages in all the colors..........MISTAKE. Although they have good action in the tail the plastic is way too soft. I can barely get a hook in these things without destroying them and they just do not hold up period.
I would NOT recomend these to anyone and will NOT buy them again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wyandotte , Mich . , Detroit River Rat
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

change tail !

Date:July 1, 2007
I like the bait and have caught a lot of walleyes on it , but cut off the tail , so I can have a stinger hook near the end of bait.
Would like to see a tail change , gets to thin, no good place for a stinger, don't like the paddle end for vertical jigging.
Would like a tail like the aqua glow worm(diamond) or a V taiL with that would flip up and down with rise and fall of bait .
Fish seem to like the heavy scent and glow
Perch color could use some more gold specs in it
Would like to see a white with silver and black specs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cold Weather winner

Date:January 26, 2012
The fish cannot resist these baits. The bites are slow in cold weather but they bite this when they won't bite anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Boston, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks good but beware colors...

Date:February 17, 2012
I ordered a couple of packs of these because I like jerkbaits that have lots of tail action. These have them! They are a true finesse style jerkbaits but the color description on the site leave a little to the imagination. I ordered the watermelon candy shad and it's watermelon on top and completely pink on the bottom half from head to tail. The picture doesn't show this on the site. I don't think it will be a problem as it could pass for a baby perch and smallies will hit it, but keep an open mind when ordering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent action

Date:January 9, 2012
One of my favorite soft baits. It produces a lot of strikes! My only complaint is that the tail is connected by too thin of a section and sunfish can pull it off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern,Wi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thin profile

Date:March 9, 2011
I mainly use these for walleye fishing and they have a thin profile and work well a a cheaper cost than other brands.I also tried them when the fish were hammering swimbaits and they caught the same number of fish. The only negative is the color fades in the sunlight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: upstate newyork
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

god

Date:July 19, 2010
excellent bait but gave it only four stars because the tails on the baits dont hold up to well aftera few hits.will still buy more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bait

Date:September 1, 2009
These swinbaits work well for me on Bass and Walleyes. Weightless they can be fished on top of weeds and with a 3/8th oz jighead they can be used to probe deeper rocks. Tail can be bit off rather easily but I still get at least a few fish on each one before that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Action

Date:May 8, 2009
Ordered some of these up a few months ago and finally got to try them. WOW. love the tail action and it brought out the walleye action. I really enjoyed them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cudas love em too!

Date:February 14, 2009
Brought them with me to Belize this Feb. 2009. Found them great for baracuda and snook. They have great action that I originally intended for smallies but I found saltwater fish like em too. The only drawback was you will need to buy extras because they only last for 1 or 2 fish and the tail rips off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Isabela, PR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the AquaGlow line of products

Date:October 21, 2008
Loyal fan of AquaGlow, They work!!!! Only 4 stars because I don't fished the shad that often however, the salty worm is awesome!! They are my go to tournament winner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hopkinton, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bait

Date:July 17, 2008
The HOOCHIE KOOCHIE is a great swim shad! I've had great luck fishing smallmouth in strong current and calm water. I've had the best luck rigging it weightless wacky style and through the nose weedless. I would recommend this product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wausau, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Catches Fish!!

Date:July 14, 2008
When I received the Hoochie Koochie Swim Shad's I had mixed feelings about them. I like the idea of the bait. It resembles a fluke, which I throw a lot, and a swim bait which can always be a hot ticket. I think the best time to use the Hoochie Koochie is in lilly pad's and or thick grass. I like how the bait stay's on a straight retrieve when being twitched, instead of a walk the dog action. It helps the bait move around pads and grass easier
I caught several fish the first time out with the Hoochie Koochie. Sizes ranging from 8 inches to 3.5 pounds. We had alot of fun, all of the fish we caught were in the pads.
Thanks for making a great bait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leavenworth Ks
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Hoochie Koochie Swim Shad

Date:January 11, 2012
I have caught dozens of large mouth bass in local farm ponds but I had the most fun in Florida with this little jewel. While on vacation in Florida I would fish in the canal behind the house we rented and was amazed when I started to catch Spotted Sea Trout. This is a great little bait super soft and no special skill is needed. Just throw it and real it in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bait I have ever used for Bass

Date:September 12, 2011
Why oh why are these so difficult to obtain ??????
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Albans,Wv
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best swim bait on the market.

Date:April 26, 2011
Ive caught multiple species on these baits, and some of the biggest bass ive ever caught to get rid of these would be ashame cause theirs not another swimbait on the market with the tail action that the Hoochie Koochie has the slender profile and constant tail action trigger strikes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Crivit, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hoochie Magic

Date:February 24, 2011
An awesome tail action bait.
"I mean a terrible bait - I would never buy these again."
Thats what I should say about this product if I wanted to keep it to myself. I started using these baits in an inland lake in Ontario. I've used other swim baits before - but none like this one.
This is one of the only swim baits that I have found that has enough tail action to vertical jig with.
The fish just slam this thing. Mostly reaction or aggression bites I'd guess.
So - if I wanted to keep this bait to myself - no I would never buy it again is what I would tell you. But if I was to go fishing ( casting or jigging for walleyes) I would not go without My Hoochie Koochie Swim Baits. An Awesome product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NorthEast PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great baits for variety of fish/conditions.

Date:January 17, 2010
Awesome bait, shorter baits on jig heads great for smallmouth/walleyes. Longer baits hooked weightless/weedless work wonders on Largemouths in thick weeds or lillypads. Best bait I've found for lilypads, weightless and weedless, just shake along the top of the pads for explosive top water bites.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They worked for me

Date:December 22, 2009
I bought these to use vertical jigging for fall walleye. They caught several nice fish and will remain part of my jigging arsenal, primarily for those times of the year when there are a lot of shad around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's AquaGlow™ Hoochie Koochie Swim™ Shad
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: belfast n.ireland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:November 20, 2009
these work well for pollock fishing of rocks and in deep water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29