Customer Reviews for SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels

SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels

The Synergy Titanium series outperforms its competitors and takes on the belief that light and ultralight tackle isn't tough enough for big fish. The Ti6 and Ti6U models have two ball bearings and Insta-Grab&#8482 dual titanium pickup pins, while the SYMS and SYMC models have only one ball bearing and a stainless steel Insta-Grab pickup pin. All reels feature polished stainless steel front cones and rear covers, titanium line guides, elastomer pinch rings for reduced line wear and are already filled with Supreme&#174 line.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
33 out of 45(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Review 1 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2016

Casts a Mile

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I'm approaching 70 and have owned many fishing reels. This one I've had for about 4 years. It is the easiest to operate that I have found and I can cast a 1/8 oz. Rooster Tail about 45 yards with it. It's great on ultralight gear for trout The only problem I have had is that the inside cap tends to develop rust spots which cause the line to catch. I just sand these spots off and apply a good true silicon spray (not WD-40) at the start of each season and I'm good to go. Have 2 now, up for more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2014

Great Purchase for Kids

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
This is a light weight very easy to use reel. We bought two. Grandkids fished several days without any tangles or problems. Made fishing easy and we are very pleased with this purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014

disappointing.

By
Country: Australia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
purchased 2 for the grandkids to learn to fish as this design prevents line foul up. YES that part is good.
Very well priced so thought could be excellent value, but hugely disappointing to use .The thumb release is inefficient , only works properly at half the press. When fully pressed it jams & wont release line for casting. Basically can only use by dropping over the side of boat, but bought to teach grandkids to cast & retrieve.
Will now look to buy traditional reels with bar & underrod operation. Not the end of the world ,they looked good but underimpressed with operation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2014

Good for the money

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i have owned 2 and own 1. They have been good to me.I gave 2 away which is why i said i have owned 2. i have had to take one back because when i opened it and used it-it didnt work but with the store warranty on it i got another and its been good. Not a big problem since i got to trade it in. its very good for casting. i actually prefer this spin cast over my Shimano spinning when im fishing with crank baits. it is really good for a beginner and if you got kids and want to take them out fishing and not care about how the reel is treated and want something thats descent then this is one to keep in mind...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013

Purchased 2 of these

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
now only 1 works. Have yet to find a decent spin-cast reel for kids. Maybe I expect too much.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2013

Severely Disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Had one given to me a few years back and really liked the light weight, smooth cast and trigger lever. With many children, and a lot of time spent undoing bird nests using my open-bail reels, I thought I had the perfect solution. Evidently, Shakespeare no longer cares about qualitity. The first reel would not even protrude the line pick up pin out of the package, and the second reel casted smooth for two hours of fishing and then started "sticking" on casts, like so many other reels of this type. Still looking for a quality reel out there!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2013

A Great Reel for the Money

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Personally I Think you Folks Could ask for twice the Money your asking for But that's only my opinion This is a Great reel I Have fished for 45+ years and Love this reel I have become Incredibly accurate with It fishing small trout, waters I use it with a (spinning) rod Thanks FishmanTroy (It was a Gift)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2013

Best reel for kids

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have 3 of these reels and they can't be beat for kids or just having fun. If taken care of should last a long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

Nice small reel

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Nice little reel for a pack rod. I use this for all my fishing. The only problem is the line pick-up pin wears out to soon. Then when you push the line release button the line let's out before your ready to cast. Can't beat the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2012

nice reel

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My wife purchased the reel so she would have a matching set, she had the same reel before and she liked it so much she had to have another.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2012

Closed face reel

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Obtains good casting distance. Smooth operation. I have packed the reel in saddlebags and bumping around on trails it is still operating as it did when new.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Great product

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Works great. Would recommend to any one who crappie fishes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2011

nice reel

By
Location: iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
I bought the under spin model for stream trout fishing. The reel has 4# test line & is perfect for that. The reel casts easily, is smooth, is tangle free and dependable. The Synenrgy is light weight and a very reasonable price. Good product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011

Worst product ever

By
Save yourself money and don't buy this product. I bought 2 and had nothing but problems with them. I spent more time working on them than fishing. If you like working on reels than this is the product for you, personally I like fishing with them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2011

Great purchase

By
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Two reels purchased for my grandsons. They proved easy to install, and even easier for my grandsons to learn to use and have fun with. Great fun watching them catch their first fish with these reels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011

Super reel, great price

By
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased this reel to replace my youngest sons (7yo) cheapo beginner reel. He was having a hard time casting as is common with the beginner reels. Bought this not expecting much, but knew it would be better than what he had. Wow, what a surprise! Smooth, easy to cast, crisp action and lightweight. Not to mention a great price. Considering getting one for myself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2011

Good starter/small fish reel

By
Location: Genoa, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this reel (in the womens series) for my 6yr old daughter. For a beginner, this reel works great. It's very smooth, easy to use, tangle free and is small enough to fit in small hands. I find myself using this when she gets tired to pull in small crappie/bluegills. The only complaint I have is that the drag slips excessive. I have it set on the highest setting and with a 1-2lb fish on the line, it will slip too much. I've dis-assembled the reel in attempt to adjust the drag system, but without discs and just a spring, I had minimal success. We will just stick to the small fish with this reel. Overall, it's a nice reel, especially for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

Synergy - good starter for kids

By
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought one of these for each of my 2 kids about 4 years ago. They are great starter reels for 6 & 7 year olds. One of them wore out in two years, which is to be expected for a reel of this quality. But the other one is still going strong. Great for panfish, but my daughter caught a few bass in the 1-2 lb range, and 24" northern pike. It has two features that I wish more expensive reels would have: anti-reverse that can be disengaged, and a clicker that can be turned on or off. I recommend this reel for any kids just starting out. Match it up with an ugly stick for durability, and you just can't go wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

good small reel

By
Location: MO
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought sveral of these for grandkids to use and have carried a couple as spares for my self . They are reliable and simple enough for young to use (5yr old boy ) . Great for bluegills and crappies .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2011

Nice little reel for ice fishing

By
Location: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought the smaller one for ice-fishing and have it on a short ice fishing pole. I can't comment on casting ability since I simply push the button and let my lure/bait drop down the hole. For ice fishing I have had it out on the ice all day with no problems and no freeze ups. I was reeling in 11-12 inch rainbow rainbow trout with no problems. Good little reel for what I use it for and for the inexpensive price it is a good buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 30