Customer Reviews for SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels

SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels

The Synergy Titanium series outperforms its competitors and takes on the belief that light and ultralight tackle isn't tough enough for big fish. The Ti6 and Ti6U models have two ball bearings and Insta-Grab&#8482 dual titanium pickup pins, while the SYMS and SYMC models have only one ball bearing and a stainless steel Insta-Grab pickup pin. All reels feature polished stainless steel front cones and rear covers, titanium line guides, elastomer pinch rings for reduced line wear and are already filled with Supreme&#174 line.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.704 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Review 1 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointing.

Date:October 2, 2014
purchased 2 for the grandkids to learn to fish as this design prevents line foul up. YES that part is good.
Very well priced so thought could be excellent value, but hugely disappointing to use .The thumb release is inefficient , only works properly at half the press. When fully pressed it jams & wont release line for casting. Basically can only use by dropping over the side of boat, but bought to teach grandkids to cast & retrieve.
Will now look to buy traditional reels with bar & underrod operation. Not the end of the world ,they looked good but underimpressed with operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the money

Date:February 7, 2014
i have owned 2 and own 1. They have been good to me.I gave 2 away which is why i said i have owned 2. i have had to take one back because when i opened it and used it-it didnt work but with the store warranty on it i got another and its been good. Not a big problem since i got to trade it in. its very good for casting. i actually prefer this spin cast over my Shimano spinning when im fishing with crank baits. it is really good for a beginner and if you got kids and want to take them out fishing and not care about how the reel is treated and want something thats descent then this is one to keep in mind...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Purchased 2 of these

Date:July 23, 2013
now only 1 works. Have yet to find a decent spin-cast reel for kids. Maybe I expect too much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Severely Disappointed

Date:June 18, 2013
Had one given to me a few years back and really liked the light weight, smooth cast and trigger lever. With many children, and a lot of time spent undoing bird nests using my open-bail reels, I thought I had the perfect solution. Evidently, Shakespeare no longer cares about qualitity. The first reel would not even protrude the line pick up pin out of the package, and the second reel casted smooth for two hours of fishing and then started "sticking" on casts, like so many other reels of this type. Still looking for a quality reel out there!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Reel for the Money

Date:June 13, 2013
Personally I Think you Folks Could ask for twice the Money your asking for But that's only my opinion This is a Great reel I Have fished for 45+ years and Love this reel I have become Incredibly accurate with It fishing small trout, waters I use it with a (spinning) rod Thanks FishmanTroy (It was a Gift)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel for kids

Date:May 23, 2013
I have 3 of these reels and they can't be beat for kids or just having fun. If taken care of should last a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice small reel

Date:November 19, 2012
Nice little reel for a pack rod. I use this for all my fishing. The only problem is the line pick-up pin wears out to soon. Then when you push the line release button the line let's out before your ready to cast. Can't beat the price.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice reel

Date:July 2, 2012
My wife purchased the reel so she would have a matching set, she had the same reel before and she liked it so much she had to have another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Closed face reel

Date:June 13, 2012
Obtains good casting distance. Smooth operation. I have packed the reel in saddlebags and bumping around on trails it is still operating as it did when new.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:March 28, 2012
Works great. Would recommend to any one who crappie fishes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice reel

Date:September 26, 2011
I bought the under spin model for stream trout fishing. The reel has 4# test line & is perfect for that. The reel casts easily, is smooth, is tangle free and dependable. The Synenrgy is light weight and a very reasonable price. Good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst product ever

Date:September 8, 2011
Save yourself money and don't buy this product. I bought 2 and had nothing but problems with them. I spent more time working on them than fishing. If you like working on reels than this is the product for you, personally I like fishing with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:July 19, 2011
Two reels purchased for my grandsons. They proved easy to install, and even easier for my grandsons to learn to use and have fun with. Great fun watching them catch their first fish with these reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super reel, great price

Date:June 7, 2011
Purchased this reel to replace my youngest sons (7yo) cheapo beginner reel. He was having a hard time casting as is common with the beginner reels. Bought this not expecting much, but knew it would be better than what he had. Wow, what a surprise! Smooth, easy to cast, crisp action and lightweight. Not to mention a great price. Considering getting one for myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Genoa, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good starter/small fish reel

Date:June 5, 2011
I purchased this reel (in the womens series) for my 6yr old daughter. For a beginner, this reel works great. It's very smooth, easy to use, tangle free and is small enough to fit in small hands. I find myself using this when she gets tired to pull in small crappie/bluegills. The only complaint I have is that the drag slips excessive. I have it set on the highest setting and with a 1-2lb fish on the line, it will slip too much. I've dis-assembled the reel in attempt to adjust the drag system, but without discs and just a spring, I had minimal success. We will just stick to the small fish with this reel. Overall, it's a nice reel, especially for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Synergy - good starter for kids

Date:May 16, 2011
I bought one of these for each of my 2 kids about 4 years ago. They are great starter reels for 6 & 7 year olds. One of them wore out in two years, which is to be expected for a reel of this quality. But the other one is still going strong. Great for panfish, but my daughter caught a few bass in the 1-2 lb range, and 24" northern pike. It has two features that I wish more expensive reels would have: anti-reverse that can be disengaged, and a clicker that can be turned on or off. I recommend this reel for any kids just starting out. Match it up with an ugly stick for durability, and you just can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MO
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good small reel

Date:March 2, 2011
Bought sveral of these for grandkids to use and have carried a couple as spares for my self . They are reliable and simple enough for young to use (5yr old boy ) . Great for bluegills and crappies .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice little reel for ice fishing

Date:February 6, 2011
Bought the smaller one for ice-fishing and have it on a short ice fishing pole. I can't comment on casting ability since I simply push the button and let my lure/bait drop down the hole. For ice fishing I have had it out on the ice all day with no problems and no freeze ups. I was reeling in 11-12 inch rainbow rainbow trout with no problems. Good little reel for what I use it for and for the inexpensive price it is a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St. Charles Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shakespeare Synergy Spincasr reel

Date:June 14, 2010
I would recomend these reels , they are dependable and I give them hard use crappie fishing after two crappie seasons they do wear and skip picking up the line when reeling in due to a fiber washer on the spool wearing down the lever on the cam.But for the price you just cant beat them. I just bought three at one time. Good fishing. God Bless !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shakespeare® Synergy Titanium Spincast Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ellington, Ct
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"Real" Review

Date:May 20, 2010
Purchased to replace an older reel that I had. Plan was to use it mysekf but the granddaughter had better ideas. Her first trout was her reward, not bad for a 6 year old.
But the reel is light, smooth and easy to use. Won't be the only one I purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27