Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Abu Garcia Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel

The optimum balance of rugged durability and advanced design, the redesigned 300 series is loaded with features typically found on more expensive reels. The advanced drive system is powered by high-performance gearing for precise gear mesh, smoothness and durability. The graphite frame is engineered for high strength without excessive weight. The exclusive advanced oscillation system lays line even and precisely across the spool for effortless, tangle-free casts. Plus, an oversized line roller reduces line twist. The multidisc drag system produces a wide range of precision adjustments. Ever last spring bail system ensures fail-free reliability. Instant anti-reverse for solid hooksets. AccuBalanced rotor eliminates wobble.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
26 out of 35(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Review 21 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2008

Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel

By
I have serached for this reel in a few stores with no luck. I ordered it right away once i found out that Cabels had it in stock. It performs great. very smooth and it casts light lures very well. I currently own Abu Garcia series 301 and 302, as wells a 5600 bait caster and all have held up very well. This line of reels are a great value and perform just as well, if not better than, reels of higher price values. I'm very satified with my all of my Garcia reels having switched from shamano products with in the last year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2008

Quality for the Price

By
Location: Southern Illinois
I've always liked the Cardinal Spinning Reels by Abu Garcia. This "new generation" performs well, is smooth on the pickup, and has an easy to adjust drag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2008

Great Deal

By
Location: Sacramento, Ca
It has seven bearings that really balence the reel when casting and reeling in a fish. Solid performance! I would compare this reel to a mid-level Shimano or Quantum any day. Other reels at this price don't compare, they just price high because of their name.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2007

Cardinal reel

By
Location: MN
so far seems like a good quality reel for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2007

CARDINAL 300 SPINNING REEL-A GOOD IDEA

By
Location: THE DALLES,OREGON
THE (2) 300 REELS I PURCHASED HAD SOME VARIATION IN THEM THAT I WASNT TOO PLEASED ABOUT.THE BAILS WERE NOT IN THE SAME POSITION AND ONE SEEMED TO BE A LITTLE TIGHTER TO FLIP THAN THE OTHER.I SPOOLED THEM UP AND MY WIFE AND I WENT OUT TO TRY THEM WITH OUR NEW GOLD LABEL CABELAS 1-PIECE 6' RODS.THEY ACTUALLY WORKED REALLY WELL CASTING LIGHT WIEGHT GRUBS FOR SMALLMOUTH USING 8 LB TEST LINE.I LIKED THE WAY YOU COULD REALLY THROW THEM WITHOUT THE BAIL FLIPPING OVER AS MANY SPINNING REELS DO.I GUESS THE QUALITY AS FAR AS BEING CONSISTANT IN WORKMANSHIP IS NOT WHAT I WOULD EXPECT,BUT THAT DID NOT SEEM TO HAMPER THE PERFORMANCE.MY WIFE WAS VERY HAPPY WITH HERS AND I WAS ALSO WITH MINE SO FAR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2007

Abu Garcia Ultra Lite Reel

By
I purchased this reel for my St. Croix ultra lite rod that I wanted to use when I went a recent crappie fishing trip. The reel was great. I was able to cast far and had no issues with 'birds nests'. The drag could be a little better, but it was easy to adjust if needed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2007

Drag problem

By
Location: West Virginia
I bought this reel as a back up (model C302). I fish for smallmouth in moderately fast-rocky rivers. The reel casts well and retrieves smoothly using 6 lb Pline floroclear. The drag system is horrible. The drag is either on (stop) or off. I am willing to pay the extra price for a complete reel...and I have several of another brand. To be fair, my basis of comparison are to reels that cost 2-3 times more. One fix on this reel and it would be very nice indeed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2006

look beloe

By
Location: md
be careful what you order its a neice reel but but its not made where abu is located so when you think its swedish its not its china made
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2009

There's a serious flaw with this reeler

By
Location: MN
If you are thinking about this reeler, don't get it. There's a serious flaw. I'm not sure what that part is called, but its where the line comes out of the spool, under and over the metal ring. Its the metal part you lift to open to cast. For some reason, my line kept getting caught on this ring. It completely ruined my fishing trip. When fishing, you'd have to stop to pull the line back out and if you didn't pull it out, it could cut your line. I don't reccomment this to anyone. I know someone who has the same reeler and has the same problem, too bad I didn't talk to him about it first. That's ok because I've returned this product and got something better. Aside from this flaw, the reeler is pretty smooth and worked well when I caught my 6lbs largemouth, so I give it 2 stars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2008

not good for salt water

By
Location: Mobile, AL
I bought this reel about 9 months ago and it has needed constant oiling. It will be fine one cast, and the next it will catch terribly. The reel came with a combo, and I have ordered another reel for the rod. This reel is going on the shelf. I live on the Alabama Gulf Coast, and it could be the salt water. I gave this reel an extra star because I really liked it on my first couple of trips, and it could be a good fresh water reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008

Terrible always tangles

By
Location: East Washington
I have tried every line and the thing always tangles. I might be doing something wrong but no matter what happens the darn line always gets tangled around the reel! I also have the Shimano Trion and that never tangles at all! pay a little bit more for a lot better real. You will like the Shimano Trion a lot more!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2008

Bird Nest City

By
Location: LA
After many hours of research online and looking at/testing several reels in the store, I made the decision to buy the 301. I was very dissapointed with the performance of the reel, it seemed to produce horrible bird nests on every 5-10 casts, and did not seem to wrap the line evenly or tight. The problem was with both 6 and 10lb test.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2008

Poor choice for a reel

By
Location: Lutsen, MN
From the moment I took the reel out of the box the bail kept slipping out of the reel. Very unsatisfied! It's going to be a pain in the rear to return it while living in a remote area with the nearest Cabela's nearly 115 miles away. So, I may just have to live with it for now. Online purchases are great when nothing goes wrong, but when it does....uhhhhhggggg!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2007

Piece of Junk

By
Location: Beaufort, SC
i bought one of these and it worked great up until about the fourth time i used, it when the anti-reverse switch broke and messed up my whole day of fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Abu Garcia® Cardinal® 300 Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2007

not very good

By
I bought one of these rells to fish for walleye. The first time i tuck it out it work just fine, but the next time i tuke it out the anti-reverse did not work i lost a few fish. I now by shimanos only.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-35 of 35