Customer Reviews for ABU GARCIA Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel

ABU GARCIA Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel

It's hard to improve on a classic design without taking away from what made it a classic. Abu Garcia shows how to do it right with the new Classic C3 Reel. It features high-performance gearing (lasts up to 200% longer, improving on the hand-cut quality that Ambassadeur reels are famous for). You'll also appreciate a more durable levelwind. The Carbon Matrix Drag will handle battle after battle without fail. Two precision stainless-steel ball bearings and one roller bearing make for dependable and smooth action. Also includes adjustable six-pin spool centrifugal brake to handle any fishing conditions. The Classic C3 is one reel you can rely on when it's time to hammer those trophy fish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.83 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
98 out of 100(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Review 1 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good reel

Date:August 27, 2013
cast smooth and landed three 30Lb. Plus salmon.
good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best in Class

Date:August 13, 2013
Worked Flawlessly, great drag and spool brake, casted well even into the wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Casts like a dream

Date:July 16, 2013
I bought the reel for drift fishing for Chinook Salmon from the bank of the Rouge river OR. I loaded it with 25 Lb. P line. Using an 8 foot 6 in. Heavy action Ugly Stik, it casts the 1 ½ oz weight like a dream. The star drag system worked perfectly. I was able at land a 19, and a 22 Lb. Salmon without a hitch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great trolling reel

Date:June 11, 2013
This reel isn't too big and isn't too small!!! Handles Stripers and Salmon with ease. Never go in the boat without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Definately worth the money

Date:June 8, 2013
I purchased the 6500 model of this reel a couple of months ago and it works like a charm. I use it for tog and flounder on 20 lb power pro braid and it holds up to anything. The casting is fantastic and reeling is very smooth. It's easy to use, and I recommend this reel to any fisherman looking for a durable piece of work they can use on any species of fish that swims their way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Round Reel Baitcaster Ever

Date:March 17, 2013
I cannot say enough about this reel. It is amazing! I picked up a 5500 c3 at Cabela's back in December, after hearing incredible reviews, and the weather's finally nice enough to use it. Yesterday, I just landed a 5 pound channel cat on this out of my pond. It held up amazingly. It didn't backlash once, and I'm no pro at bait casting for sure. Pair this up with a Shimano Voltaeus rod, and you can't go wrong. I can't wait to take it to Virginia Beach on spring break! :D
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't ask for more

Date:November 4, 2012
I bought this reel upon the recommendation of a friend who is my fishing mentor. He uses it with a St Croix Wild River rod. I don't have that kind of money, so I paired it up with an 8'6" Berkley Air IM8 heavy casting rod. I'm using it with 15# Maxima Chameleon line. I've had it out a few times now, trolling for steelhead and salmon in the confluence of the Snake and Clearwater rivers in Lewiston, ID/Clarkston, WA. It handles perfectly. Casting is smooth. Drag works flawlessly. Like the title says--I couldn't ask for more!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Saskatchewan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great reels. Built to last. Gotta love ABU C3s!

Date:October 3, 2012
I own 3 C3s: 4600, 5500, 6500 (I also have a 6600 C5 which is the 6500 C3's now-discontinued close cousin). I use them mostly for walleye, pike, burbot and lake sturgeon. (The 4600/4601 is actually an excellent bass reel but there are no bass near me.) These reels cast well, have a smooth retrieve and a fantastic carbon drag. You can use them equally well with mono or braid to suit your style of fishing. My C3s tend to be a bit more prone to birds nesting with thinner lines (< 0.014") than they are with thicker lines. These reels are well made and with some routine maintenance (once or twice a year) there is no reason why an ABU C3 shouldn't last a lifetime. The 6500/6501 C3 is a superb reel for big FW fish (e.g., catfish, salmon, pike, musky, lake sturgeon, lake trout) or for light SW applications. For example, I have my 6500 C3 mated to a 10' 6" Rapala Northcoast Tyee Bottom Bouncer rod (made specifically for the Canadian market) and it's an awesome combo for fishing bait with 3-5 oz weights in strong river current for lake sturgeon, burbot and monster walleye. And for folks who like to modify their reels there is probably no reels on the market for which there is a wider selection of aftermarket parts than the Swedish-made ABUs. For big fish applications you might consider the ABU Power Handle Kit (available from Cabela's) which provides cranking power and more sure grip under adverse conditions. One final note, I've read other misinformed reviewers state that the 4600/4601 & 5500/5501 are not as strong as the 6500/6501 but this is false. The truth is that the internals (e.g., gears, drag, anti-reverse, construction of the frame and spool, etc.) of the 4600/4601, 5500/5501 and 6500/6501 are IDENTICAL. The only differences between the various reel models is the width of the frame and spool, and the configuration of a few external features such as thumb bar (4600/4601) vs. push button (5500/5501 & 6500/6501) spool release, or the presence of line-out clicker (6500/6501 only).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

# 5 reel

Date:September 17, 2012
This is my fifth- 6500 c3 that I now own. I have had great service out these reels both salt & fresh water. Keep them serviced and they will perform every time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I own 6 of this series

Date:August 28, 2012
4 7000ic3's and 2 of the 6500c3's. The 7000's are spooled with 80lb braid and are my Missouri river work horses. Biggest fish I've taken with the 7000 series is an 87lb blue cat which it handled no problem. They have been on river duty for 3 years and are fished year round in the weather.
The 6500's are spooled with 30lb braid and used for dip bait/small cats.
I do also own a Shimano Tekota and have to say for less money the Abus do handle very well compared to them at almost twice the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

If your going to own one reel

Date:August 9, 2012
I purchased this reel after researching a lot of different casters and this one had the best reviews hands down. This has turned into my do-all reel. The only fish im not using it for is trout on the river because I also fly fish. If you are going to own one reel, I would buy this one. I purchased the 5500 and put 30lbs braided on it. I really never see a reason to buy another reel after how well it works. Except buying another one to have a second setup, so i can switch between lures quickly. The casting is very smooth and works flawlessly bringing the big fish in. Im using this reel for blue gill and bigger and have no problems. My friends have reels that cost a lot more then my entire setup and their reels always has problems. When they tried the C3 they said they had to get it. It may be heavier then the low profile casters out there, but I rather have the extra weight and know my gear will always work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value

Date:July 8, 2012
Ive been a fishing guide in Alaska for 15 years this is the best level wind reel for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a great reel!!!!

Date:June 20, 2012
Great reel, very durable this is my second one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Choice

Date:May 17, 2012
A reel that will last a lifetime if properly maintained. Well worth the money. My only advice is I've typically bought a size to big thinking that I needed it, when I didn't. Not too impressed with the clickers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Abu Garcia Classic C3 Casting Reel

Date:May 16, 2012
I have owned this brand of reels since the 1960's, and have four of them thru the years. This C3 model is the best of any of them. Smother, better distance on mono, casting drag is better. The problem with my older reels is that the company no longer supplies replacement parts. I hope a company man responds to this comment. I am a Surf Fisherman and these can't be beat. I tried out a friends C4 and the push bar was very awkward, especialy if you are used to the button.
Go to a local shop and see for yourself. Then buy Cabellas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel

Date:March 28, 2012
Great reel, very durable this is my second one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sierra Foothills, CA
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur Classic C3 Casting Reel

Date:January 24, 2012
Excellent reel. I've looked at and tried other reels and the C3 6501 left hand is the best. I've used it on my last 5 trips in lake trolling for trout and coho salmon. This reel is smooth and the drag is smooth. The clicker is perfect in use and location. Very happy with purchase and Cabelas offering the full range of reels to pick and the opportunity to look at Reviews to decide and save.
This is my go to reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

high quality reel

Date:January 16, 2012
I have several different models of this reel, and love fishing with all of them. They are dependable and perform well for all types of fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ville Platte , La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependable

Date:January 16, 2012
I wouldn't purchase anything else. Keep these reels clean and you will have very little trouble with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Abu Garcia&reg Ambassadeur&reg Classic C3 Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hayward, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Reel

Date:January 13, 2012
Use for Muskie fishing in northen WI, casts smooth, good balance, solid reel.
Well worth the price paid - look forward to many years of service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 100