Customer Reviews for REBEL Rebel® Hellgrammite

REBEL Rebel® Hellgrammite

Hellgrammites are a carnivorous aquatic insect larva used for fish bait. If it's defined as fish bait, then it must work. Fish won't be able to tell this little sinking lure from the real thing, and to them it looks delicious. Pick up a few and you'll see they're worthy of their definition. Per each. Size: 1-3/4", 3/32 oz. #14 treble hooks. Color: (056) Fire Fly.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Review 1 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

REbel Hellgrammite

By
Location: Maryland
I went fishing with a friend of mine who fancies himself to be quite a Bass fisherman. He was using a texas rigged worm while I was using the rebel Hellgrammite.
I wound up catching over twenty blue gill, crappie, and bass with him no getting a bite. At the end of the day I got online to order him one (and myself several extras)!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

Perfect Companion!!

By
Location: Henry, Illinois
One my very first cast with this tackle i landed a 3lb bass. I have since landed many many more fish with this tackle. I swear by this and have bought all my friends one to use so they dont have to borrow mine!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2007

Rebel Hellgrammite catches shoal bass

By
Location: Georgia
I use these small crankbaits fishing the Flint River in Georgia which is full of shoal bass (aka Flint River bass). They are aggressive and hit almost anything and its easy to catch numerous small ones with spinners.
But when I started using this lure, the bigger bass came out of hiding (from under the rocks) and pounced on it. Hellgrammites are common in this river and is a main staple for their food.
Its a slow sinker so its best to let it get down deep as you can to where the bass are waiting under rocks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2008

awesome crankbait

By
Location: Omaha, NE
this is a killer bait for gills! ive caught several largies also
its hard to go wrong with this productive lure tied on!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2008

Hellgrammite lure

By
Location: Ga
This worked well in the Flint River in Ga. on a Shoal Bass fishing trip this March. Deeper shoals required a weight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2010

trout, bass, crappie

By
Location: Glenside, PA
I have caught Rainbows, Browns, Large and Smallmouth and Crappies on this lure. It gets down to where they hold on streams of PA. Last spring no one else was catching anything when I walked in. I dropped this over a big rock and let it settle to the bottom. Wham! Bass takes it where the guy across the stream thought there were no fish. Only problem it has to work on the bottom so I loose alot of them. Worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

GOOD

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Red eye destroyed this thing, really nice lure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2013

Great for pan fish!

By
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I use these for pan fish, and they work very well! Originally, I wanted these lures for trout! I must be doing something wrong, I haven't gotten a trout yet! But they work well, swim well, like some other reviewers said you have to run them on the bottom, so you lose a few, but the price is OK, so no big deal!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2015

Excellent product

By
Works great on bass and trout thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rebel® Hellgrammite
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015

Fish Like It But It Kills Them

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Don't use this if you are fishing C&R streams or do not intend to keep the fish you catch with it. Fish swallow it deeply from the tail end and extracting it does too much damage for fish to survive. I debarb everything and I'm sure that helped but trout chase it down and deepthroat it from the end worse than live bait. Perhaps putting barbless single hooks might make it more release friendly but I don't want to test that theory. It worked well on trout but I mostly fish C&R streams so its of no use to me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.