Customer Reviews for SPIKE-IT Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®

SPIKE-IT Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®

Anglers everywhere agree lure color is one of the key - if not the most important - factors in fishing success. But choosing the right color every time is the difficult part. The Color-C-Lector® shows which colors fish see best at any depth and degree of water clarity, allowing you to choose the correct color with confidence, regardless of species. Spike-It™ lure company has teamed up with Dr. Loren Hill to reintroduce the revolutionary color-selection tool he originally developed in the late 1980s. This new digital version has been completely re-engineered to give anglers a slimmer handheld unit that is much more user-friendly than the original mechanism. Dr. Hill's painstaking research is interfaced with digital technology to provide anglers with the best possible lure color for any fishing condition and any fish species. As the former director of the University of Oklahoma's Zoology Department and Biological Research Center, Hill spent more than nine years establishing a range of 26 colors that fish could distinguish best under different degrees of water clarity and varying levels of light penetration. The Color-C-Lector® is the result of that continuous and repeated scientific experimentation, reflecting actual responses of fish to color under all conditions an angler can possibly encounter. Use it to take the guesswork out of selecting the right lure color. Use Spike-It's custom coloring products to come up with the perfect color match. Is color really that important? The Color-C-Lector® will answer that question the moment you first try it - guaranteed!
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Review 1 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WENATCHEE, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I Am Impressed

Date:January 13, 2012
I have used a Color-C-Lector for years, and this new model is even more reliable than my old one. The flourescent feature is spot on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spike it

Date:June 5, 2012
I recently purchased this device hoping it would help to take away the guessing game for fishing. This product works very well and caught fish with the colors it indicates. The only thing that you really have to work on is knowing what type of water clarity your fishing in. It has 3 types of water selections clear, stained and murky. If you chose the wrong type of water reading. You will be using the wrong color. Otherwise, this device works and recommend to all anglers looking to stop getting skunked and take away the color guessing game.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does what it Claims

Date:March 30, 2012
use mine for crappie fishing, and love it.
This device is of little use during the spring spawn when crappie will hit almost anything, but contrary to popular belief; CRAPPIE EAT YEAR ROUND.
When the fish are being more selective this device really pays off. I've used it many times when my go to baits didn't go.
Following its color recommendations has been the difference in catching some fish on the days when others were catching none, and catching MORE fish on the days when others were catching some.
This devise helps you select the color that will be MOST visible to fish given the conditions (water clarity, & light) you are fishing in that day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good as they say

Date:March 28, 2012
I purchase Color-C-Lector and it work grate.I like how it tell you what color to use.Best purchase i made for fishing this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Somewhat impressed.

Date:September 18, 2011
I've had my Color C Lector for about six weeks and about 18 trips out on the water. Here's what I learned about it. If you fish for bass and panfish (just as the model listing says), this unit seems to work well. If you fish the great lakes or other bodies of very clear water, well not so much. I live in the Keweenaw Peninsula in Michigan's Upper Peninsula surrounded on three sides by Lake Superior. Whether you are on Lake Superior or in any of the surrounding waterways, the water is always clear and this unit recommends the same colors each time out, varying only SLIGHTLY depending on the time of day or available daylight. I found on this type of water, it didn't seem to help much with color selection. BUT, I also fished some inland lakes where bass and panfish and water clarity varies a little more than Lake Sup. Here I found what I believe is noticeable results using this unit. The model I purchased states it is for bass and panfish (I could not find any other models other than this in Color C Lector), so I guess my findings make sense. I followed its recommendations on colors and was extremely successful each time out on inland lakes. As per the instructions, I checked the water several times a day and used the colors recommended and did very well. Just to test it further, I used other colors not recommended at that specific time and found the fish were not hitting nearly as much on those colors as the ones that were recomended. The drop in action was about 90%. I then switched back to the recomended color and it was like someone hit a switch and turned the fish back on. Again, this was on an inland lake fishing for bass, panfish and a few walleye. I had no noticeable luck on the clear waters of lake superior and it's connecting waterways.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ENTERPRISE, AL.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great piece of electronics

Date:February 8, 2011
ON THE FIRST DAY OF USE THE COLOR SELECTOR INDICATED WHAT COLOR OF CRANK BAIT TO USE, AND ON THE FIRST CAST MY SON CAUGHT A NICE BASS AND ON THE THIRD CAST I GOT ONE. WON' FISH WITHOUT IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: mi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:July 30, 2010
The spike it is garbage it dont work at all its always stuck on 40 no matter where i go whether it be a lake or a river farm pond it stays on 40...depth dont matter sun dont matter.... i was sent one and it was broke i recieved my second an its just junk i would not recommend this product for anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Watertown, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it works

Date:February 28, 2010
I have been using this for several years now, and have proven to my buddies that it works. I have also used it ice fishing but haven't had the opportunity to really make a decision yet. My son and I won a tournament last summer using the color C-lector, and second place wasn't even close to our weight...it said to use purple, so we did and we were the only team using that color. With the way my luck is, I need any help I can get, and I turn to the color C-lector everytime out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Just a gimmick

Date:July 12, 2007
I've used it every time I go out and try the colors it recomends. They never seem to work so I go to my proven colrs very time. It seems like it is just a gimmick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Saddle Brook, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Color-C-Lector

Date:July 3, 2007
It's a little early to tell, but I'm pretty impressed so far. Most of my fishing days are on a boat that'd be any "geek's dream come true"... so this had to be 1 of the electronics (targeting bass, pike, crappie, muskie etc). I picked this and a Biosonix last year, but got lazy and hardly messed with them. Started taking them seriously this year- and limited with largemouth once (about a 12 lb total weight- which is great for me!). Played around with it smallie fishing a week ago, and put more fish in the boat while the other guys got skunked. The interesting thing on both days is I was using colors I normally would not have chosen. It's worth the few seconds to help make the right color choice or at least add some thought to it.
Happy fishing!
:)
jr
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Standard,Alberta,Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

color selector

Date:June 12, 2007
I have used the color selector any many different water bodies and it proved to be right on with the color selection and helped immensely in producing some great fish:two walleye @ 8 1/2 lbs. One @ 8 lbs. one @ 6 1/2lbs.
Six Northern Pike between 5lbs.& 10 lbs. I think it is a fishing aid that really works and should be in everybody's tackle box. The unit is very easy to use, the instructions explain it all. Iwould like to see the unit come with its own case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Much better than any of the previous models

Date:May 21, 2007
Much better and easier to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spike-It™ Color-C-Lector®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sedro Woolley,WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Color-C-Lector

Date:May 3, 2007
The new slim line Spike-It Color-C-Lector is amazing. I have
been using it while bass fishing in my Kenebeck float tube.
The new slim size is ideal when space is limited. The probe
is easy to see in the water to select which scale to read.
The colors selected to fish with amazed me and incresed
my catch greatly. A must have when you don't have time to
try every color in your box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.