Customer Reviews for Quantum Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Quantum Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel

Redesigned for 2005. Built on a sturdy, lightweight, one-piece aluminum frame, this updated reel has ACS II cast control and a super-free pinion design. Ultra low profile for easy palming. Continuous anti-reverse. Five stainless steel ball bearings promote smooth operation. Flippin' switch. Gear ratio: 6.2:1. Line capacity: 150 yds./12-lb. test. Colors: Gold.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
35 out of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Review 1 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

difficult to use reel

Date:August 18, 2008
This is a difficult reel to use .... lots of adjustment issues and lots of backlash.
I plan to keep it and maybe grow into it because everyone says its a great reel.... in the meantime I purchased two nice inexpensive (mash the button reels) and they work great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Red Hook, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

My first baitcaster.... a big disappointment

Date:May 31, 2008
My brother who is a very talented fisherman choose this real as a christmas president. I was all smiles until i got out on the lake with it. The first few casts it was ok, but after that we only heard a buzzing noise, pretty much the nose you hear when a bug flies around your head. I was very disappointed but was willing to give the reel another shot. We called Cabelas and sent the real in, and a week later received a new real. I was hoping the second time would turn out better than the first one. That it did... until about the second time using the reel. The noise started out quiet but eventually got louder... im going to send this reel in yet again. and spend a little more money and go for the energy pt which is a very good reel... hope this helps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

terrible!!!!!!!

Date:June 11, 2007
bought it. used it multiple times, and it was terrible. backlash every time. did not cast over forty feet, did not feel as if it had great sensitivity either. I will never buy a reel for under 100 dollars again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: beautiful western NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok reel

Date:April 21, 2008
I bought the reel in march 08 used it a couple times, its not as good as I hoped, but it was ok ,the centrifical adjustment was all oiled up had to dry it out , still very fine line between to lose adjustment (backlash),and too tight(no distance on the cast), but it is ok considering it was on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Buckeye, Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum AC500CX

Date:November 20, 2006
I bought this reel as a secondary to my Pflueger, I used it a couple of times and I began to like it more and more. The best thing about the real is the way it feels in your hand, it fits perfectly. The flipping switch is a feature that can come in handy for those that flip. All in all it casts well and fits in the hand very well and is a good real for the price- in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurist 500cx Reel

Date:May 29, 2008
For the money it is a very good value. The only drawback is the brake system has 4 settings ( 1, 2 , or 3 bearings then free spool) and I was used to a completely variable control. The "click" settings on the drag are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Burnet, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel

Date:May 27, 2008
A friend has one of these and, after seeing it was on sale, it didn't take me a minute to order my own. It casts smooth and has a good drag, you can't beat it for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Reel

Date:April 22, 2008
it woorked prety well once I got it set up,a little touchy to set up works better with heavier lures. havn't fished with it yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Q. Accurist

Date:October 27, 2007
Very nice reel. The flippin switch got hung up on me once in a while. I had it give it a tiny " bend" to stop it from "sticking". Usually this is something I couldn't tolerate, but It is otherwise a very well built reel. (I own Diawa's, curado's etc.) Wanted to give it 5 stars but with the switch thing, had to make it 4. The flippin switch is a very useful feature. It's a quality reel for the price point. I'm willing to assume I got that "rare" reel that had a problem. In a word, now that it works fine, I like it so much I forgive it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eden Prairie, MN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurist AC500CX

Date:September 17, 2007
I received the reel a few weeks ago and have used it 3 or 4 times to date. It has performed very well so far. Casts really well but the free spool adjustment has very little play. By that I mean just a little turn makes a big difference in spool tension. The flipping switch works well. I'm not totally up to speed on flipping and pitching but I found that the flipping switch works great while trolling for letting line out one handed. Overall I think this will be a solid performer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pomfret Center, CT 06259
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Reel...Reasonable Price

Date:May 8, 2007
This reel is a smooth, solid reel for any bass fisherman. The balance is nice, winding is smooth as silk, cast is vibration free and doesn't over run.
Just the thing for those with hands smaller than hams. Great feel and palms nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good reel for the price

Date:April 10, 2007
Great value...casts as well as more expensive plueger and pinnacle reels that I own...A little heavier than my other reels which took a while to get use to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang 4 your buck

Date:February 19, 2007
I have 3 of these and they are great reels for the price. I bought them onsale and they rival reels that are much more. Great weight, size, design and drag. Once the brakes settings are set correctly, you won't have any problems with these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ennis, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel

Date:November 21, 2006
I purchased this reel a few months ago and have found it to be a very good reel. Cabelas sells it at a great price for a reel of its quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel

Date:August 19, 2008
This reel takes a little skill to use. I wouldn't recamend for first baitcaster, but once mastered it will out perform reels twice as expensive. I leared how to flip in no time even though i had trouble with my other baitcasters. Cast effortlesly even with light crankbaits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ponca city oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quantum ac500cx

Date:August 5, 2008
this is a great performer for oklahoma waters from bass to strippers and a buget that fisherman can afford
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sheridan, or
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful

Date:July 21, 2008
It always works for me. I go steelhead fishing with it and it always catches the fish for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana Delta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Accurist AC500CX Reel

Date:July 7, 2008
Wanted to match this reel with a flippin rod. Got the reel for a great price, and it performs really well. The flippin switch feature on the reel is sweet, and the reel is very smooth. If anyone is looking for a truly nice reel that will not break the piggy bank, this is it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice reel

Date:June 29, 2008
first practice cast ended up in a birdsnest had to reline spool. Then I made some ajustments to cast control and breaking it worked flawless I really like this reel. I like the flippin switch I can flip right into cover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quantum Accurist AC500CX Baitcasting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SOUTHERN,MAINE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quantum gold

Date:June 10, 2008
This is my first baitcasting reel ever and I have to say that I was pretty hesitant on buying one. This reel is so easy to adjust that it made learning how to cast it a snap. Thanks quantum for this great product along with a great price.I think my spinning reel is going to be lonely for a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 38