Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo

CABELA'S Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo

Create the perfect rod/reel combo with a Gold Series reel and matching composite rod. All rods feature cork grips, graphite reel seats and stainless steel guides with gold inserts. The Zebco 33 has been redesigned to continue its legacy as one of the most popular reels ever developed. And with the Gold series offering smooth, professional equipment quality at a price lower than most other closed-face reels, Zebco is sure to be the name every fisherman will continue to trust. This design includes many features found on top-quality baitcasting reels. Three-bearing drive supports extremely fluid retrieves while the electro-tuned crown gears and a tuned gear train prevent the reel from locking up under heavy pressure. Continuous Anti-Reverse™ gives instant hooksetting power without any handle play or wobble. The modern design matches up with a soft-touch handle and ergonomic thumb button for comfortable all-day casts.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
42 out of 49(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Review 21 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2008

zebco 11t fishing combo

By
Location: Kanses city,MO
the 11t combo was great!
The action is perfect and the reel is great.
The reel has some issues though.
the reel needed to be greased and lubed up as soon as i got it, and the trigger isnt consistent, plus after a couple times out it would clog up with the standered 4 pound line.
i refilled it with some regular stren fishing line in 6 lb test and it worked great.
i would defiwntly recomend this to a freind but i would grease and lube the reel first.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008

Cheaply made

By
Location: Cottondale, TX
I used this once and the neck that connects to the reel to the rod broke. I was not very happy. Cabellas is to far away from my house to just go and exchenge it so i threw the thing away.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008

Zebco gold series rod

By
awesome fishing rod for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2009

Very surprising

By
Location: TN
The picture doesnt show this reel as a spincast, but it is its very smooth and acurate, great for a beginer fisherman.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009

Best trigger-spin combo on the market

By
Location: Stockton, CA
This combo is the best trigger-spin on the market. Good quality with smooth retrieve and flawless drag. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Nice Combo

By
Location: Parkersburg, WV
This was my son's first real rod and reel - he's only six and is a little rough on it, but it has held up great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2009

the best

By
Location: Lansing, MI.
In all the years that I've been fishing and buying rods and reels, this is the best that I have come across for the price. The combination is great, and the rod and reel were meant for each other. I most often buy the combo's because of the price, and end up mixing and matching to get the right feel and action, but this one is perfect. It is smooth and quite, and is just right for what I like. I plan on getting my grandsons the same combo just for that reason. Thank You, Cabelas and Zebco
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2009

Zebco gold reel

By
Location: Michigan
I bought these reels for my granddaughters because I thought they would be easy to use. What a joke. The reels would jam up and not easy for young people to use. The kids actually did better with their Snoop rod and reels. The rods that came with set were good but the reels were junk. I plan on sending back. The releases were not syncronized for easy use and you had to really play with them to let the line out. The return would jam up and not rewind.
Sorry Cabelas, but you should test these first before you sell them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2009

Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo

By
Location: Cape Cod, MA
The rod is OK but the reel is of flimsy construction. It's OK as an outfit for a preteen child who does not fish seriously.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009

Great Rig

By
Location: Lake Cuyamaca CA
Bought this for my wife. I got the 'trigger' model. Works great, less fatigue since the reel hangs below, and her casting has really improved.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009

Bang for the Buck!

By
Location: Florida Cracker
The best 1st rod!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2010

zebco gold series

By
product is for sunny fishing only rod broke in 2 parts taped it for the grandson broke again not the taped part find another rod garbage
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2010

good beginner pole for wife

By
Location: Grand Prairie Texas
Perfect for teaching new fisher
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2010

This is a great general use rod

By
Easy to use, holds up well in all weather use. Catches fish. What can i say. Zebco does a great job with the 33.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010

fisherman

By
Location: muskegon,mi
Very good product,dose what I want and more
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010

Poor design

By
Location: West
I bought the 11t for my kids for Easter, but noticed that the reel does not fully seat in the rod. The reel is clamped in a far as it will go, but there is still significant play between the reel and rod. It doesn’t come out, but it is still a concern. Bad design in Zebco’s part. I’m not sure if I will return it or just wrap the reel legs with tape for a secure connection. This shouldn’t happen with a rod and reel that are “matched” together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2010

Good Value

By
Location: tennessee
Good Value Good Quality.......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010

Awesome bargain

By
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I intended to buy just the Zebco 33. However, after Christmas, Cabela's was sold out of pretty much all the spincast reels. I found this spincast combo (33 Gold/6" 2-piece reel) on clearance! It's cheaper than the cost of just the reel!!!
I finished using it for a day and am quite impressed. It casts beautifully! Even with light lures (1/8 oz.) it casts smooth. The only cons I can see so far is that when you reel in the line, it tends to bring water with it and found myself having to dry off the reel on occasion. The other con (my personal preference) is the rod feels a bit flimsy but I was able to reel in a nice rainbow with it. All in all, this is a no-brainer bargain!!! Buy one for yourself (as a backup w/rod or full-time reel).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

ZEBCO COMES THRU AGAIN

By
Location: Old Station , California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have numerous Zebco combo's . I have my Grandkids and friends that use them when visiting us . We all enjoy fishing and hate equipment that you have to repair or fix when you should be fishing . I have yet , and I am 65 yrs old . had to stop and fix anything on them . Great equipment , keep it going Zebco....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Zebco Gold Spincasting Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Zebco Combo

By
Location: Deerfield, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Good value for the money. Great begginers combo for my 8 and 5 year old sons.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 49