Customer Reviews for ZEBCO Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

ZEBCO Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods

Slab Seeker rods sport the exclusive Tap Action Tip™, designed to detect the slightest movement of the bait or lure. The high-visibility tip also provides the right contrast to ensure even the lightest strikes are seen. EVA foam grip with slips rings allows you to position your reel for the perfect balance and reduces the overall weight of the rod. For fast measuring action at the livewell, these rods have a handy fish ruler graphic printed directly on the rod.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Review 1 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NWI Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brian 135

Date:April 3, 2012
Cheap and usable crappie poles great deal for the money. Great action and response.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great crappie and white perch pole

Date:January 9, 2012
Great little rods.. I have 2 that is 8 feet and one that is 12 feet. Have landed everything from crappie, largemouth, bluegill, to catfish.... This rod stood up without an issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Crown Point, IN
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zebco crappie rods

Date:June 14, 2010
God quality. tip could be colored down to first eye.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ultra Sensitive and Durable

Date:February 28, 2009
I have several of these rods. They are terrific for that "soft crappie bite." The red tip is easily seen and I can not tell you how many fish Ive caught that Ive seen bite, but never felt! Can not imagine using a rod without these same characteristics for hunting crappie.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: acworth ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

slab seeker

Date:February 10, 2009
i have 3 slab seeker's 2 12 footers and 1 8 footer they are great i troll for crappie with them and also wally marshall rods slab seekers are better with the small flexable tip they hook there selves ...,, a;so last year i was trolling for crappie and on the 12 footer i hooked into a big stripper took me almost 2 hrs to get her in the boat she weighed 19lbs 12 oz with 4 lb test line what a blast so yes they are very tough i hope to have all my trolling rods be slab seekers soon love them and there not too costly either
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Versaille, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:November 22, 2007
This rod is a great value. I went fishing with it and it preformed great. This rod is excellent for the lite bite. I used it while trolling. Compared to other crappie rods on the market this one is the one to have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MURRAY KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ONE OF THE BEST

Date:November 20, 2006
I OWN 12 OF THESE FAMOUS SLAB SEEKERS, AND THERE NAME TELLS IT ALL. THESE RODS ARE GREAT FOR CATCHING SOME OF THE BEST CRAPPIE WHEN THE BITE IS REALLY TOUGH AND THEY BITE SO LITE THAT YOU NEVER SEE THEM.
THESE RODS ARE NOT LIKE A STIFFER ROD, WHEN THE BITE IS SO LITE THAT ALL YOU SEE IS JUST A LITTLE TWITCH, WITH THESE RODS YOU'LL ACTUALLY THINK YOU ARE HUNG IN SOME BRUSH, BUT REALLY YOU HAVE A FISH ON. THE FISH 9 TIMES OUT OF 10 NEVER KNOW THEY ARE HOOKED UNTIL YOU SET THE HOOK, THEY ARE THE LIMBEREST RODS I THINK I HAVE EVER USED, BUT THEY ALSO HAVE ENOUGH BACKBONE TO PULL SOME VERY BIG FISH UP. I ACTUALLY COUGHT A 41 POUND BUFFALLO WITH ONE IT TOOK A WHILE TO GET IT IN BUT I GOT IT IN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

go ahead and get it

Date:May 11, 2012
i purchased 2 8ft rods before and love the sensitivity, i decided to try the telescopic 12ft. It is big, when compacted it doesn't fit in a suit case for travel unless you have a HUGE luggage, with the tip guard it measures 37 1/2", i had reservations about the reel seats but the solution is cheap and easy. One plastic tie wrap, that it, too easy. Use it to hold the reel seats together. As for the rod, I really like it, it is a bit heavy but the trade-off is in the casting and the sensitivity. I took it on vacation and fished off the rocks at night, caught a red snapper and 2 yellow fin.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Tn.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crappie Rod

Date:July 6, 2010
I have had good success with this Rod without any Trouble at all. I have recommended this Rod to Friends of mine. Worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pole

Date:December 15, 2009
I love the incredibly senstive tip on this rod. It's ideal for fishing Lake Michigan Whitefish from a pier. You will see ever hit. The only drawback is the cradle for the real, as it is not the most secure in the world, but I would still buy another as the combination of price and the sensitivity of the pole is unparallelled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Phila., Pa (Delaware River Basin)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT blank / LOUSY components

Date:January 16, 2009
I am a big fan of hike-in fishing, but I hate short rods and pack rods. I have actually spent a month in the woods with a Cabela's 64" PVC tube strapped to my 80-lb. backpack! The hiking was pure torture, but hiking is just a way of getting to that inaccessible honey-hole. When I hit the water -- I had the right tackle for ANY situation! I had fun, but I would have had more fun with a 60-lb. pack and a 40" rod-tube.
The SL103L was my only option for a 10' 3-pc. UL, under $100. This is really a noodle rod with SERIOUS BACKBONE -- not a true crappie rod. You can actually ENJOY catching 4-6" alewife & herring, then use them as bait for medium stripers ON THE SAME ROD!!! I haven't tried this yet, but I did land a few 10-15 lb. carp, while fishing for stocked trout. NO GRAPHITE BLANK HAS THIS MUCH RANGE -- on a scale of 1-5 it's a 10+!
Unfortunately, aside from the FANTASTIC blank, the rod is VERY poorly made with the cheapest, most inferior, and inappropriate components. Not that anyone would expect Fuji SiC guides & Portuguese cork in this price range, but ALUMINUM slip-rings and single-foot ceramic guides are certainly in order. The 1-pc. EVA handle is big and comfortable enough, but the plastic slip-rings will WILL NOT HOLD ANY REEL, for any length of time! All they are good for, is to keep your reel positioned while you tape it down. The wire snake guides and tube-less tip-top simply don't belong on any rod that isn't a flyrod, and trying to chip off the globs of excess Flexcoat takes the chrome off. To me, the unfinished blank would be worth more than the complete rod, and I wouldn't hesitate to put Recoil guides on it!!!
In short, I would not recommend this rod "as is", especially not for braided line (despite the fact tha the slow/soft action is PERFECT for ultra-thin, non-stretch superbraids). If you are willing to do some rebuilding, however, BUY IT NOW!!! Buy two, just in case you mess one up while stripping off the junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Crappie Poles

Date:July 28, 2008
I have six of these poles, and i think that they are good crappie poles and are extremely limber. Only reason that i gave them 4 stars is because sometimes when i try to spider rig with bell weights they are too limber. But for jigging they are the best pole i have found.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: IL.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Satisfied

Date:January 24, 2011
The rod had to soft of a feel. Did not care for the slidding reel seat, just not what I expected it to feel like when the reel was put on the rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: SEDALIA,MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SLAB SEEKER RODS

Date:November 27, 2006
I FOUND THE 12' SLAB SEEKER A AVERAGE ROD. BASED ON THE FACT THAT IT IS A LITTLE ON THE HEAVY SIDE WHICH MAKES IT CUMBERSOME TO USE WHEN TRYING TO JIG IN THE SHALLOW BRUSH PILE.HOWEVER IF YOU CAN HANDLE THE WEIGHT THA ACTION OF THE ROD IS GREAT FOR THOSE DAYS WHEN THE CRAPPIE ARE A LITTLE INDEIFFERENT IN BITING.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zebco Slab Seeker™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Columbus Tx.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

possibilities

Date:July 5, 2009
Ipurchased this rod for my wife because of the rod action and ease of carrying and storage. It did not have a good reel seat but I thought that we would give it a go. And for the price; Why not? However; The minute I arrived home with it, I managed to break the tip off. Upon examination I realized that I had help with that straight from the manufacturer!
The eye tip guide id. was larger than the rod tip creating a bite whenever it was bent. The only good thing about this was that I could cut the rod down to the proper fit! Which is what I did. Now I have a 11' 4" rod that still has very nice action!
My wife used it the other day and caught several nice bass, the largest, 3Lbs. SHE WAS NOT HAPPY!!
IT seems that every time she put it down, the reel fell off of it! Why anyone would design a rod this nice with a reel seat this cheap and worthless is beyond the scope of even my imagination!! And I have a rather vivid imagination! So now I am trying to find a reel seat to match up with the diameter of this rod. I have removed the old one and the foam grip and when I find what I need I will undoughtedly have a very nice rod!
I will probably buy several more of these if I can find a good reel seat, But because of the effort involved, I would not reccomend this to someone who just wants to fish hassle free.
P.S. I will at some point probably also replace the eyes. They are also in my limited opinion sub-standard.
If properly built I would have no problem paying much more for this rod!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.