Customer Reviews for COLLEGIATE Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

COLLEGIATE Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel

When developing the new SS, Penn incorporated consumer feedback and the latest innovations. The result is a lightweight reel with all the top features you'd expect from a Penn. Trip Friction Ramp prevents premature bail trip when casting. Ergonomic, contoured frame. Stainless steel main shaft. Five stainless steel ball bearings plus one infinite anti-reverse roller bearing. Sealed drag knob. Penn power drag. Techno-Balanced™ rotor. Leveline™ spool wrap system. Corrosion-resistant, gold-anodized, machined handle.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
9
29 out of 42(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Review 21 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reels by PENN

Date:October 26, 2007
Great reel ..I purchased it to catch small striped bass in RI... a 38 pound bass was no problem...I always loved penn reels
PS I used FIRELINE strong as heck ...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Martinsburg, WV.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Penn Spinfisher SS

Date:May 1, 2007
This reel is smooth and handles excellently. I would recommend it to anyone that fishes fresh or salt water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best reels made.

Date:January 29, 2007
I started using these reels when they were still called "Spinfisher". As a matter of fact, the one I still have is from that time. I've owned a 420(they held 200/4# then), a 450(they were 4500 then), and I still have a 4300. I've never had any problem with these reels, they've been unfailingly excellent. I used to routinely take Carp, Pike, and Walleyes with my 420 and 4# test, the front drag is so beautifully smooth. And the 450(0) whipped numerous and sizable Pike with ease. I now use the 430(0) with 8# test as an all around reel(I've switched to casting tackle for Pike), and it works really well. I think people are so taken in by inflated prices, unnecessary glitz, more ball bearings than even make a difference, and long cast spools(just keep it full!)that these reels have been looked down upon. If they don't feel as smooth as others, I think it's only because they're built much heavier than so many other reels. A friend of mine had an incredibly smooth Japanese reel(you can guess the brand name), smoother than my Spinfisher, but in a few months he was cursing it as it fell apart, because for all it's smoothness, it just didn't last. I love the high capacity of these reels, they're durable, and they're made in USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: baltic,ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Penn SG Spinning Reel

Date:November 21, 2006
Penn continues to produce fine U.S. products. This reel is smooth,light weight,and holds up to strong salt water fish such as Bonita,Blue Fish,and Strippers. I do not believe you can set a hook faster with any other reel. The Penn name means you can rely good support and service. I recently had a penn reel repaired that I owned for forty years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4 out of 5 stars, on 1 of 15 reels, the rest all 5

Date:October 7, 2010
I was a saltwater angler for years and have used Penn Internationals from 965's up to the 130ST's. I love that Penn HT-100 drag system --and because of it, I have been using the 430SSg as my freshwater bass reel for a few years. I have more than a few now, and the only problem I can come up with is an occasional line tangle on the line roller (line loops on the roller) upon initial closing of the bail when the angler (me) is lazy or careless and not paying attention after a cast and lets excessive slack line hang down from the spool (I confess I've been able to do this with almost any spinning reel, so it's operator error)
The 430 is compact and lightweight. I like the size and added capacity when fishing 8# test. A long cast break off isn't going to cost you a set up during a tourney or give cause for a re-spooling to get it back into operation. The drag is fine, precise and everything you already have read or like about a Penn HT-100 system (the best)! The graphite body is tough and doesn't get boat rash easily.
I've fished with a multiple number of these (now over fifteen) and had one reel break down in three years (requires a bail spring spacer from Penn) which has been remanufactured into all newer 420's and 430's and is noted as a repair bulletin on Penn's website should you have an older reel with a malfunctioning bail. The newer ones are fine. The older ones, well it happens or it doesn't is my experience - so far and these reels have each been fished on average between 20-50 days a year.
As with any rod and reel, you have to do maintenance (check for loose screws, rinse, check/clean line, and lube) but the few minutes spent on such maintenance will normally give one a much greater degree of superior fishability for years to come. This is a quality product and has yet to fail me beyond the bail spring spacer issue which there is a fix. Thank you, Penn. Superior warranty service here in the USA.
Overall a great little reel that does everything I want it to and has helped me land many large (12# +) catfish and my last 6# plus largemouth bass with greater confidence and never a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: europe
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok reel

Date:April 1, 2007
I use this reel for lure fishing, fresh and salt inshore, 4400SSg it's a very nice reel with an exeptional drag, this reel doesn't work very well with braided lines, tried to fish it with powerpro, didn't work at all, tried fireline and that works better, but not very well... I guess these reels are for mono
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lake Champlain, Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Penn SSg 420 Spinning Reel

Date:November 21, 2006
The reel is compact and well balanced. The frame is long enough to keep the bail from hitting your rod hand. It feels smooth when reeling in line, with no wobble or play. The line is wrapped evenly onto the spool. I have not lost a fish due to any problems with the drag. I would give it fives stars had the bail not stopped tripping after several several months of use. However, getting it repaired was straightforward (keep your receipt).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Northern Slayer

Date:September 11, 2012
Great reel but wish it had a release or reverse option.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Penn 440 SSg

Date:July 14, 2009
I bought the Penn 440 SSg reel to go with a new Fenwick HMG rod (great rod, by the way). I was disappointed when I openned the box a found the reel to be noticably heavier than their one step smaller 430 SSg and almost twice as large. The big disapointment was when I went to put it on the rod and found the foot didn't fit the Fenwick's reel seat without a little custom filing on the reel foot. All my other reels fit the rod, so I suspect it to be Penn's poor design. Although I haven't gotten it out in the boat yet, the reel action is balanced and smooth and the reel is probably better suited for salt water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Leesburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Penn 430SSg

Date:July 15, 2008
I bought this reel for bass fishing the upper Potomac river. Generally the reel works fine, but I have the following comments:
>This reel does not feel as smooth as my three other "Made in the USA" Penn reels. Hopefully this will disappear with use. .
> Line twist is much more of a problem with this reel than with others I own.
> The bail will close during a cast more frequently than with others. The Penn "Trip Friction Ramp" needs work.
> Sometimes the line will hang up on the bail after a cast and I have to manually place the line on the roller.
Despite these annoyances, I use this reel a lot and have caught quite a lot of bass with it using 6 lb test line. Given what I know about it now, I would probably choose a diffenent reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Nj
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what expected for the money

Date:April 23, 2012
Reel is heavy and the casting poor. The line on the spool i uneven when you reel it in, that causes poor casting and the line getting dangled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looked Good But..

Date:January 9, 2012
The design of the bail would not pick up the line after the cast. The line had to manually put in the groove of the bail. Really very annoying. I returned this for a different brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

420SSg, great drag

Date:September 2, 2007
Reel has a fantastic drag and a solid feel to it. Unfortunately it's a little out of balance when reeling, though not nearly as much as the old SS version. Tolerable but shouldn't be there on a reel at this price. I've also found that the bail snaps shut during a cast from time to time, which might just be a position issue with me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Penn is now overseas with the lower end products

Date:July 31, 2012
Very simple, Penn moved their operations for most of their product line overseas. I own 10 Penn spinning reels that were made in America, not a single problem. The first reel I purchased since their move is broken and will stay that way. A very bad decision on their part to move production, all in the name of profit for a certain few. I will never purchase another reel from this company. I work too hard for my money. When will we wise up !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No antireverse lever

Date:June 17, 2012
Puchased thru catalog, surprised it did not have antireverse lever. First reel I ever saw without one.
Bad design! You cannot backreel, When you reel up to cast you may go too far or not far enough to pick up the line with your finger; Also, if you get hung up while in a boat thats moving you can't back reel before the boat gets turned around. When you have a good fish on and you get it to the boat it may break the line even if the drag is set right .Back reeling helps these problems. I'm sending it back!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: san francisco
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad reel

Date:July 26, 2011
after i got five 5 lbs bass, all nut or screw loose ????
hmmm ???
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointed

Date:March 22, 2011
i have used Penn Reels for years and decided to add to my collection. The 420SSg is a newer version of the 4 I currently own. I fished with the new reel two times and each trip I missed large rainbows because the bail malfunctioned. this is unacceptable for the maker of great products like Penn!!! i returned the reel and dusted of my ole reliable ones!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Penn 230ssg

Date:September 1, 2009
I bought two 230 ssg's. After no more than 5 fishing trips, both are permanently retired with the exact same problems: the bails wouldn't snap shut completely. When I took the bail assemblies apart, the trip cam had broken off their plastic stems rendering them useless! Very cheaply made and poor design. It would cost more to replace the assemblies than to buy new! Also, the line continuously got caught in the bail roller--a pain. There are much better buys out there. Disappointed in Penn!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality & Disappointed

Date:July 4, 2009
I've been buying the whole line of Penn reels for many years and have always been very satisfied. I bought the SSg550 model for the line capacity(275yds/12lb) and convenient weight, since I'd be using it for hours of casting & jigging. The internal gears grab/bind during a fast run. I first thought the line was crossed on the spool, but after carefully respooling the problem persists and I've lost some nice fish. It is not as smooth as the old metal bodied SS models. I also have the smaller SSg430. It's okay, but still not the same quality as expected from Penn. Maybe these last 2 Penns will be my last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

550ssg

Date:December 14, 2008
I own two 5500ssg and everytime i cast, the bell use to close on me. So i decided to buy the new version, the 550ssg, but two week later, it just broke. So what i'm trying to say is tat i on't recommened this reel to no one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 42